Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Joseph Palmieri Construction Inc

Phone: (412) 821-1776 Fax: (412) 821-0802 View Additional Phone Numbers 2015 Babcock Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15209 http://www.palmiericoncrete.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers construction.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Joseph Palmieri Construction Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Joseph Palmieri Construction Inc include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Joseph Palmieri Construction Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Joseph Palmieri Construction Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 22, 1996 Business started: 04/01/1969
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA079399.

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA123301.

Business Management
Ms. Melina Caprino, Manager Mr. Joseph Palmieri, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melina Caprino, Manager
Business Category

CONCRETE CONTRACTORS MASON CONTRACTORS PATIO & DECK BUILDERS CONCRETE - STAMPED & DECORATIVE FLOORS - GARAGE CONTRACTORS - RETAINING WALL DRIVEWAY INSTALLATION, PAVING & REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
Palmieri, Joseph Construction Inc
Industry Tips
Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 2015 Babcock Blvd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15209 (412) 821-1776

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called Palmiei Construction to give me an estimate on replacing a retaining wall back in July. I have received the price and I had called to accept the contract. This company sent a proposal requiring only 10% down payment. I in turn sent a check for almost 40% for this contract. I had sent the check the first week of August and waited patiently for a call. Around the first part of November I had to call the company and had to cancel the contract. Through several discussions on the phone I received back everything but 10% of my money. I spoke with the owner for the last time on December the 4th and he said they will not return the remaining 10% back. I was told the contract that I signed was reason enough to hold back the remaining 10%. I argued with him stating no work was performed or material was purchased for this job. The owner in turn stated, that did not matter, I had signed a contract. In his contract proposal there is nothing stated that I will forfeit the 10% down payment if I cancel. I am now pursuing this in the legal system to see if he has a claim to my money.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have the remaining 10% of my money returned since there was no work performed or no material purchased and the contract does not state I will forfeit the 10% down payment.

Business Response:

Dec 16, 2015

Dear Ms. Cook:

In reference to ID # 10982038

,1 spoke to Mr. Tarasi and the matter has been resolved. He is satisfied with the decision and said that he will notify the Better Business that the dispute was resolved. If you should have any questions, please contact our office.

Sincerely,

Joseph Palmieri, President

Joseph Palmieri Construction

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I am pleased with the outcome and amicable resolution to this complaint.  Palmieri Construction handled this in a very professional manner.  I will refer many people to this company along with myself as I have a few more projects that need done and I would only trust this company for their expert and quality work.  They have put a driveway in my home 5 years ago this is why I called them for this project. Regardless of this dispute they are the best concrete company out there in my view.  

Regards,

******* ******

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** Construction(###-###-####) was contracted by my bourough to make necessary changes to the sidewalks in compliance with The American's With Disabilities ACT. Mr ******** completed work on the sidewalks in front of my home on 9/19/14 and 9/20/14, I contacted Mr ******** and left him a message stating he and his crew completley destroyed my front yard and requested a return phone call. After several more attempts to speak with him Mr ****** ******** finally returned my call call on 10/1/14. I explained to him my neighbors watched as he and his crew stood in my yard and washed off all of the cement from themselves, their tools and then finished cleaning by throwing a large trough of cement mixture directly onto my grass. Although Mr ******** confirmed he and his crew did use my private yard as a wash station he denied they killed all of the grass in my yard. I asked him to meet me at the home to view the damage and set a date for replacement of my yard.He refused telling me he was sending a landscaper to confirm he did not destroy my yard. I asked him to notify me when he scheduled the landscaper because I wated to be present. On 10/3/14, without notifying me,he sent a landsacpwer(the one that does his work)to check the damage. I contacted Mr ******** regarding the unsecheduled appointment and he responded "oh he was suppose to tell you" then added "you have grubs I'm done." However, there is no evidence of actually digging to test for grubs in my yard. The entire root system of the grass has been killed and the soil contaminated by his actions and the chemicals he put on my yard. I have pictures and neighbors ready to confirm my information.I have also reported to my bourough the damaged caused by ******** Construction and his complete unwillingness to correct the damage and have received minimal assistance from them.

Desired Settlement: I want Mr ******** to completly replace my front yard including new soil. In addition, I would like a written agreement from Mr ******** stating if the grass fails to grow, since it is getting latter in the season, he will appropriatley correct the issue again in the spring. I have been trying to resolve the problem for 16 days and had it been addressed initially a contract may not have been necessary.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint you received from ******* **********

Our company had a contract with the borough of New Brighton to install handicap ramps at various locations throughout the borough. We have over 36 years of experience in this type of work and take great pride that while the concrete work is done close to most residential landscaping, we take all necessary precautions to make sure the landscaping or yard area is not affected.

******* ********* complained that our company damaged her yard. JPCI evaluated the situation by having a professional landscape company come out and evaluate what the issue was with her yard. The landscape company determined that our company did not cause the problem and we were not responsible for the repair.

Even though we were not responsible for the issue, our company along with the borough of New Brighton agreed that in order to satisfy ******* *********, we had to repair the yard. The work was completed and according to the borough office, Ms. ********* is pleased. Customer satisfaction is important to our company and we are glad this matter is resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Joseph Palmieri Construction Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)