Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Stanley Steemer

Phone: (800) 444-2110 Fax: (412) 788-2373 View Additional Phone Numbers 206 Bilmar Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15205 http://www.stanleysteemer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential carpet and upholstery cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stanley Steemer meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stanley Steemer include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Stanley Steemer
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1981 Business started: 12/01/1981 in PA Business under new ownership as of: 06/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is Not Required.

Business Management
Mr. Phillip Eonta, President Mr. Chris Sudsina, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phillip Eonta, President
Business Category

CARPET & RUG CLEANERS DUCT CLEANING FURNITURE CLEANING AIR DUCT CLEANING WATER DAMAGE RESTORATION TILE & GROUT CLEANING UPHOLSTERY AND RUG CLEANING UPHOLSTERY & CARPET CLEANING CARPET & UPHOLSTERY CLEANING

Alternate Business Names
Quatela-Fonta Group Inc Stanley Steemer Carpet Cleaner

Additional Locations

  • 206 Bilmar Dr

    Pittsburgh, PA 15205 (800) 444-2110

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern, On November 5th, 2014, Stanley Steemer performed services at my apartment to clean out the ductwork and ventilation system due to a suspected mold issue. I was referred to call Stanley Steemer by my property management company in order to get the issue resolved. The management company explicitly stated that if it was in fact a confirmed mold issue, they would pay for the services otherwise, the financial responsibility would be mine. When I contacted Stanley Steemer's call center on November 4th, I explained the situation and was assured that the technician would determine if it was a mold issue before any work was completed so that I could make the decision to proceed or not proceed. During the evaluation, ******* ***** advised me several times that there was in fact mold in the furnace vents and since there was evidence of mold upstairs in the living area, the issue was evident of mold being in the ductwork. With this information, I in good faith approved the work to proceed and paid the costs of $599.20. When the work was completed, I noticed the receipt did not state in detail that there was mold in the vents. Anticipating the issue collecting a refund from my management company, I asked for it to be written in detail. I was told, if they have an issue with the receipt, give us a call and we'll write up a report. And so I did. ******* ***** wrote a letter stating the opposite of what I was told. The mold was described as a "discoloration" and "build up." I was told that they are not a mold certified company and if they would have discovered mold in the vents, they would not have been able to perform the service requested and they could not get involved in a dispute with my management company. I expressed that I was misled and would never have moved forward with the service if I had been told what was on the report beforehand. Furthermore, knowing my concern, I should have been made aware of the fact that they were not certified to resolve my actual mold concern.

Desired Settlement: I do not feel that as a consumer I was provided correct information to make a sound decision. I feel that knowing my concern was fueled by the health of my pregnant wife and toddler, I was taken advantage of. I feel that the technician acted and provided a fraudulent inspection and as such, the company should provide a full refund for the amount of $599.20 OR should stand behind their work and provide a written report confirming that they determined a mold issue in the ductwork.

Business Response: After reading this complaint, it is clear to me that Mr. ****** did not understand what the Technician was explaining to him.  **** ***** did notice discoloration of some sort in the living area of the home (on the walls in the room).  After careful video inspection of the inside of the vents, there was no signs of discoloration or growth in any of the vents in the air duct system.  This was explained to Mr. ****** in detail (there was nothing wrong inside the vents) and we proceeded to clean them.  Anytime we have suspicion of growth, we will not continue the process.  What is going on inside the vents and on the walls of the living area are two separate issues.  

Thank you,

**** *****

Business Response: After reviewing the pictures on this complaint, I called Mr. ****** for him to send more pictures from a distance.  I wanted to see what the walls around the registers looked like as well.  After viewing these pictures, it was clear what was happening.  When warm air meets cold air and visa versa, condensation can occur.  That is what happened in this situation.  The discoloration on the vent covers and walls surrounding is from the condensation trapping soil, soot, debris, etc. from the air.  We viewed the ductwork with our snake eye viewer and there was no contamination of any sort inside except for dirt.  This is shown in one of the pictures supplied by Mr. ******.  There was nothing in particular that was different from a basic cleaning we do on a day to day basis. 

Thank you,

**** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
Me *****'s explanation is clear and makes sense however it does not change the fact that I was advised differently at the time of service. If I was presented this information and told they were not certified to clean mold if mold was present, I would not have proceeded with the cleaning due to the fact that I would have known I would not be compensated for the cost by my property management company. This issue has now cost me $1200 due to having to pay both Stanley Steemer and my management company. Since this matter boils down to what I was or wasn't told, my only other option appears to present this to a news venue for a consumer report. Thank you. 
Regards,

******** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Stanley Steemer
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart