BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of CGH Carpet and Upholstery Cleaning?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

CGH Carpet and Upholstery Cleaning

Additional Locations

Phone: (412) 821-5200 Fax: (412) 821-6955 1601 Marys Ave Ste 10, Sharpsburg, PA 15215 http://www.searsclean.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company cleans rugs, carpets, air ducts, tile and grout, draperies, upholstery and leather for residential and commercial customers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CGH Carpet and Upholstery Cleaning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for CGH Carpet and Upholstery Cleaning include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for CGH Carpet and Upholstery Cleaning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2001
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/hiccon.aspx?id=4502
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Heibert, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Heibert, President
Business Category

CARPET & RUG CLEANERS DRY CLEANERS DRAPERY & CURTAIN CLEANERS DUCT CLEANING FURNITURE CLEANING HEATING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS CLEANING & REPAIR LEATHER CLEANING UPHOLSTERY AND RUG CLEANING UPHOLSTERY & CARPET CLEANING CARPET & UPHOLSTERY CLEANING AUTO UPHOLSTERY CLEANING

Alternate Business Names
Sears Carpet Cleaning
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling

Additional Locations

  • 126 Lincoln Ave (former)

    Pittsburgh, PA 15209

  • 1601 Marys Ave Ste 10

    Sharpsburg, PA 15215 (412) 821-5200

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had these people come to clean my carpets and when the carpet dried it their treatment did nothing! I had them come back a second time and they said they would send their A team! Which made me question who were the first guys,their F team! The carpet is only 3 years old and has traffic soil and the rest is fine accept for a few stains which I scrubbed after their guys didn't get out.i got them out! I've called and asked for my money refunded but they just tell me they'll come back! I DON'T WANT THEM BACK IN MY HOUSE, as far as I'm consired their a terrible waste of money! I've talked to several other people who had them clean their carpets and they tell the same storythey come soak your carpet and when it's dry it doesn't look any cleaner!

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my $363.79 refunded to me! I paid top dollar for nothing!

Business Response:

I am attaching our correspondence and invoices that will explain our position.

The home that we cleaned was vacant and was being prepared for someone as I think this was his Mom's house and she had recently passed away.

When inspecting we noted in all area’s how heavily damaged, soiled, worn, stains, fading etc... the carpet was. Our technician noted it is very soiled in ail areas and can’t promise stain removal. Our technician also noted that due to previous water damage in tile basement, the areas will likely wick back up.                                   

This invoice was signed and agreed to by ******* so he knew going in the condition of the carpet He called back saying the stains were still there and we went back even though he was told this.

When our second technician arrived he also stated that there was nothing that he could do as it is worn and its in bad shape. He also stated the customer was stubbing the carpet with pine sol when they arrived. This might remove stains temporarily but will cause permanent damage. We did reclean the area’s again and left but did not make much of a difference.

Mr. ********* told us our cleaning was ineffective and was going to the top to get his money back. We offered him a coupon for future cleaning of which he refused. 

At this point we did our job, he was aware of what was happening. He did purchase $150 of sanitizing that I am prepared to offer as a refund but we will not refund the cleaning do to the fact that he was aware of the condition and everything was documented and he signed for it.

Thanks for your help

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 11/16/2013I had a very bad air duct cleaning,with bad service, I paid $224.69 for only 10 minute of service ,after adding $10 tip ( they called it fuel charge ),I took pictures of the air duct after they left and it was absolutely waste if money and time, and the air duct still the same a full of dirt. I called them 5 times trying to resolve this matter , the only response I got was " that's the best we can do" .... I paid them with a Check they already cached it from my bank account and you guys are the only way I can get my money back.

Desired Settlement: full refund

Business Response:

I am writing this letter in response to ID *******. The job was completed on 11/16/201.3, order

number ******. Sears received a complaint via phone call on 11/18/2013, and the complaint via the EBB

on 12/03/201.3. Our records indicate that we cleaned 7 air duct vents totaling $224.69. Part of this cost

includes a S10 trip charge that is added to every single Sears order and explained by our customer service

representatives on the phone.

At Sears we use a negative airflow cleaning process as is outlined by NADCA (National Air Duct

Cleaning Association). Our truck at the jobsite has a mounted zephyr vacuum machine that draws at 35

horse power to collect particulate and compressed air at 150 PSI equipped with a ‘cleaning whip’ to force

debris off of the sides and floor of the duct. The cleaning is done by attaching the vacuum at one end of the

modular unit and forcing the debris and particulate down the main run towards and into the vacuum. The

basic cleaning is strictly air and, vacuum pressure.

Mr. ******* called Sears Monday 11/18/2013 to discuss his concerns with the work completed. Our

customer service manager took the call and explained to Mr. ******* that we woujd be mote than happy to

send another set of technicians to the home to fix any problems or issues he may be having or answer any

remaining questions. Mr. ******** accepted the re-service and scheduled an appointment for 11/22/2013.

A second different set of tecimicians arrived at the cleaning location on 11/221201 3~ When they

arrived Mr. *******. explained that he was unhappy with the cleaning and would like the technicians to clean

the system again. Our technician reports that the problem occurred when Mr. ******* realized the second

set of technicians were going to complete the cleaning using the same process and tools as the first crew.

Our technician on the re-service reports that there is residual dirt

,

not removable in, duct systems ‘without??

 

replacement. He also reports that the duct is filled with rust, water, and mold which is not guaranteed

removable.

Mr. *******. then declined that the technicians complete the re-service because he did not want the

same process done. However the method used by Sears technicians is the only NADCA approved system to

clean duct work. Consequently, the order was voided in the Sears system on 11/22/2033, no re-service was

completed, and no invoice documentation was left with the customer because no work wad completed. Sears

then has no recorded phone or mail contact with Mr. ******* until the BBB complaint was received.

It is a Sears company policy that no monetary reflmds can be issued without an opportunity to

inspect our work. Each invoice clearly states our customer satisfaction guarantee which reads “Contact ???us

 

 

???

 

within 30 days from the date of service if you are not completely satisfied and we will. retifrnto make our

best effort to satisfactorily rcsolve your issues. Scars must be permitted to inspect and remedy your

concerns.”

 

 

While we do take Mr. *******’ s concerns very seriously, unfortunately we are unable to change or

 

alter our cleaning methods based upon a customers’ request. ??????????????????

 

Sears will be more than willing to extend the?

 

30 day guarantee offered to all of our customers in order to help alleviate Mr. ********* concerns and do our

best to clean the ductwork to the customers’ satisfaction while staying within the approved Sears’ system.

We do apologize for

 

any inconvenience and look forward to the opportunity to serve Mr. ******* in

 

?????????????????

the future.

Sincerely,

**** *******

Director of Technical Operations.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had my air ducts cleaned and the tech told me my blower and fans needed done also but it would be an extra charge. I desided to have them cleaned as well if it needed it. So when they left from cleaning air ducts and blower\fans i looked down in my floor vents needless to say i had to take my shop vac. to them there was still alot of dust and clumps and junk in them so, not happy about that the next day i deside to have my husband go down and take the back panel off the where the blower and fan is and there was still a bunch od clumps of dust and junk in there also i desided to take a picture of it and file a complaint i paid $358.44 for that and i can only wonder what my air duct that i cant see still look like. the techs. were very nice but i guess there work was not.

Desired Settlement: Would like a refund\ discount seeming i had to take my shop vac. and redo stuff they were supposed to do and who knows what my air vents still look like that i cant see.

Business Response:

I am writing this letter in response to ID *******. The job was completed on 11/18/2013 order number ******. Sears received a complaint via searsclean.com on 11/20/2013, and the complaint via the BBB on 11/21/2013. Our records indicate that we cleaned 12 air duct vents, deodorized the system and cleaned the blower motor totaling 358.44, this total includes a $25 discount applied at the time of cleaning by our technicians.

Ms. ****** called Sears Wednesday 11/20/2013 to ask for a refund for the work completed. Our Director of Business Operations took the call and explained to Ms. ****** that we would be more than happy to send another set of technicians to the home to fix any problems or issues she may be having or answer any remaining questions. Ms. ****** declined, the re-service appointment and requested a refund.

It is a Sears company policy that no monetary refunds can be issued without an opportunity to inspect out work. Each invoice clearly states our customer satisfaction guarantee which reads “Contact us wrthm30 days from the date of service if you are not completely satisfied and we will return to make our best effort to satisfactorily resolve your issues. Sears must be permitted to inspect and remedy your concerns.                                                                                                                                  

At Sears we do strive for customer satisfaction and want the opportunity to do the best possible iob for our customers. We would love the opportunity to remedy the situation and alleviate the customers concerns. We openly mvite Ms. ****** to schedule a re-service at completely no charge so we can re-clean her air duct system and blower motor to her satisfaction. Any upset customer has the right to schedule this service at no cost during our business hours which are: Monday through Saturday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM.

We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused Ms. ****** and look forward to the opportunity to work with her again.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Sears Carpet Cleaning to clean my 2 year old carpets. At the time of the cleaning, I was pleased with the friendliness of the technicians. Before starting to clean, they inspected the carpet and noted there were no preexisting damages. In conversation, one mentioned that my carpet looked great and I would probably get 8 more years out of it. I asked if they could tell where we had pet stains and he responded, "we see everything". They even sold me on paying an additional $120 for the extra protectant. Within 15 minutes of them leaving, we very easily noticed a hole in the carpet. After running around, checking the rest of the house, we found another one upstairs. I called immediately & asked for them to come back. I was told they would return after their next job, within the next few hours. I canceled my plans for the day and waited... and waited. They never came. I called and was told they were too busy with other appointments and that I would have to schedule a time. So I did. When they came to inspect the holes they said they would cut a patch out of one of my closets & use it to patch the holes. I was not happy with the solution and said I needed to talk to their manager. After playing phone tag with their manager. We agreed I would receive a refund for the cleaning & I would call the company that installed my carpet to see how they would go about fixing it. If they said the same thing, I would give Sears the opportunity to fix it, if not, we would discuss other options. The original installers said they would try patching, but might have to replace it. I also confirmed they still had my carpet in stock, to save my closets! When I went back to the manager at Sears and asked what would happen if the patches didn't hold or if they were visible, he responded that they were not responsible for that. He said I would have to sign an agreement that Sears would not be responsible after they fixed it. I do not find this acceptable. My carpet is two years old & now it is ruined.

Desired Settlement: I would like a professional carpet installer (preferably the one who installed my carpet 2 years ago) to replace my carpet at Sears expense.

Business Response:

I am writing today regarding the ongoing issue you are having with your recent carpet cleaning.

I understand how upsetting this situation must be for you and please understand that we want to do everything we can to help in rectify this problem.

Since there is no possible way that our technicians can see a pre-existing conditions in carpeting such as a manufacturing defect or improper

installation we can't and won't take responsibility for damage that was not caused by our cleaning process. The method of cleaning we use is very gentle and is the type of cleaning that is recommended most by carpet manufacturers. We clean carpets everyday, alt over the country with the same equipment and process and this just doesn't happen unless there is a problem with the carpeting to begin with.

Since your carpeting is only two years old we strongly suggest that you call the manufacturer and see what recourse you may have under your warranty as there is a high probability that this will happen again no matter who cleans it. Since **** has already offered a repair on the carpets and refunded the cleaning cost we would be happy to do so as long as you sign a waiver that this is full and final settlement on the issue. If this offer is not agreeable to you our next step would be to have an independent inspector come out and write a report as to the cause of the damage.

I am sure that this is not what you want to hear and I am sorry that this happened to you but I think if we work together we can find the best solution

for all parties. Please feel free to contact me via e-mail or telephone at your convenience.

Sincerely,

***** *********

Sears Carpet & Upholstery Care

###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1