Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Direct Buy of Pittsburgh North

Phone: (724) 742-1300 Fax: (724) 742-1312 106 Thomson Park Dr, Cranberry Twp, PA 16066 http://directbuyofpittsburgh.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm is a private buying club that allows members to purchase directly from the manufacturers.  Members of this club purchase items at the price that the manufacture or authorized distributor sells the item for without retail markup.  Savings to the member of the club will range from as low as 10% to as high as 50% as compared to retail sale prices.  This club specializes in furniture, carpeting and area rugs, window coverings, kitchen and bathroom remodeling, and general remodeling.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Direct Buy of Pittsburgh North meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Direct Buy of Pittsburgh North include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Direct Buy of Pittsburgh North include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Direct Buy of Pittsburgh North
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 21, 1999 Business started: 06/01/1996 in PA Business incorporated 06/01/1996 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is Not Required.

Type of Entity

Franchisee

Business Management
Mr. Doug Barrante, Manager Mr. Paul Barrante, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Doug Barrante, Manager
Business Category

BUYING CLUBS & GROUP PURCHASING SERVICE APPLIANCES-MAJOR-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS FURNITURE-WHOLESALE PLUMBING FIXTURES, PARTS, SUPPLIES-WHLS/MFG FLOORING RETAIL OUTDOOR KITCHENS HOME ELECTRONICS OVERHEAD GARAGE DOORS COUNTER TOPS DOORS FURNITURE-OUTDOOR FURNITURE-RETAIL KITCHEN CABINETS & EQUIPMENT-HOUSEHOLD SHOPPING CENTERS & MALLS WINDOWS

Products & Services

Direct Buy of Pittsburgh North sells the following brand(s): DirectBuy offers over 700 Manufactures products to its members.

Direct Buy of Pittsburgh North offers the following product(s): DirectBuy offers over 1 million products to its members.

Method(s) of Payment
The local club accepts most major credit cards, and checks.
Refund and Exchange Policy
All the products that members of this club purchase are covered by the manufacturer's warranties and return policies.  The club's members also have access to extended warranties through third party providers.  Check with the manufacturer's refund policy prior to ordering.
Alternate Business Names
Inflation Breakers
Industry Tips
Condensation on Windows Home Improvements - Windows Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 106 Thomson Park Dr

    Cranberry Twp, PA 16066 (724) 742-1300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Roughly in October 2014 my wife and I joined Direct Buy paying a fee of close to $2,000 membership fees to shop within their establishment. Actually, my wife was dead set against paying this fee because she though it was a scam. Anyway, I reluctantly talked her into joining Direct Buy. We paid the fee and in the beginning we purchase a ******* 55" flat screen television at Direct Buy. By coincidence we were at **** *** store and found our identical television at **** *** on sale for roughly $100 cheaper than Direct Buy's price we paid. My wife had to continuously hassle the franchise as he gave her the run around and through countless phone calls he finally refunded her the difference. Moving on, my reason for joining Direct Buy was to purchase kitchen cabinets. Direct Buy was nice enough to give us a $100 certificate for one of their "associates" to come out and take measurements. It cost me an additional $100 for him to do a 15 minute job. He took a couple pictures, a few measurements and was out of my house within 15 minutes. I even asked him how much he would charge to install the cabinets and he replied he would get back to me and of course, he never did. I suppose it's more lucrative taking measurements at $100 cash + $100 certificate for 15 minutes work! In April 2016, I hired contractors to install the cabinets. All cabinets fit like a glove with the exception of the cabinet above the refrigerator which is 1/2" too wide. Since May 5th, Douglas B******* (part owner) and I have been going round and round over how to make this cabinet fit. The cabinet is 36" if you trimmed a 1/4" off the sides of both sides of the cabinets (which that was his resolution) the doors wouldn't open as they would get damaged. Mr. B******* claims that I signed a contract Direct Buy was not responsible for mis-measurements. Well, who is, is it the customer? Direct Buy was the one who recommended this so-called "professional" to take measurements and got paid well for a 15 minute job without even pulling out the refrigerator! In Mr. B********* defense, he did offer me a $100 credit towards my next purchase and I could keep the cabinet. But, my wife and I are so disturbed with Direct Buy that we are not interested in purchasing another thing with them. My point is I **** well paid $100 cash to have one of his so call "professionals" to take measurements and you're going to tell me Direct Buy is not responsible for the sizing of the cabinets? I requested from Douglas B******* a copy of the contract that I signed, the invoice of the costs that I paid for the cabinets and the name and address of this "professional" that took the measurements of my kitchen. That request was sent to him on May 5th. I presume he has something to hide and he doesn't want to disclose this information.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of the cost of the cabinet above the refrigerator. Also, the $100 refund for the cost of the incompetent so called "professional" who took measurements of my kitchen.

Business Response:

Members purchase items through DirectBuy without the typical retail markup that would be incurred when the same product is purchased through a retail outlet.  When the ***** purchased these cabinets they provided us the measurements, either through a contractor that they hired or from their own measurements.  DirectBuy does not employ contractors nor do we provide measuring services.  Prior to purchasing the cabinets the ***** were asked to verify that everything on the order was what they wanted and that the measurements were correct.  Also, they agreed that they were responsible for all labor cost associated with the purchase, and that neither DirectBuy nor the manufacture would replace a cabinet for no charge, unless the item needed to be replaced due to an issue that is covered under the manufacture's warranty.

Nearly two years after the order was placed the ***** contacted the club with a concern about their cabinets, claiming that the measurements were incorrect, which lead to the incorrect sized cabinet being ordered.  Upon inspection I found that there are several cabinets to the right of the cabinet in question.  The cabinets that they purchased are constructed with "reveals" on the side of each cabinet and adjustable hinges.  Upon installation the reveals of the adjacent cabinet should have been trimmed which would have allowed enough room to install the cabinet.  I have been told by the ***** that their installer does not want to return to remove the cabinets, trim the reveals, and reinstall the cabinets.  As an alternative, as a gesture of good will, I offered to replace the cabinet only, at no cost, at a reduced width.  I instructed the ***** that I believe that the doors could all be adjusted so that there was no interference.  If after the new cabinet was installed, and we found that the adjustment of the hinges was not sufficient, I offered to pay to have a door constructed that was a bit smaller to accommodate the space.  Additionally, since they have not paid to keep their membership current, I offered to pay their back dues so that they could use the membership to purchase additional items that are needed in the home. 

At this point my offer:

1) to replace the cabinet, at a reduced width,

2) supply a re-sized door - if needed, and

3) renew their membership at no cost,

 

still stands.  I am completely dismayed as to why they are filing a complaint.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ****

Direct Buy provided us with the so called professional to take measurements and provided us with a coupon for $100 off the price of a professional to come out and take the measurements of my kitchen.

 I did not look in the Yellow Pages to find a kitchen cabinet measurement person.  Give me a break!  Furthermore,  the fraction of an inch the doors could be adjusted wouldn't work, not to mention trimming off a quarter inch off each side of the cabinet!  

You are going to tell me that when I came to your establishment I asked who do I get to take measurements and your reply was:  "Duh....I dunno?"  Who the **** do you think your dealing with?  You are a con artist!  Don't give me your **. Every reputable establishment has reputable people to accommodate individuals to ensure they get the proper and accurate measurements/treatment, otherwise, they won't be in business.

You are backed into a corner and doing your best to put the blame on someone else!

1/28/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a postcard prior to my birthday on December 13th. It stated "Happy Birthday to You" The back of the card it states as follow: Happy Birthday, my first and last name, For your Special Day, we would like to give you the following: A New 7" Tablet complete with Android O/S, Camera & Wifi. For calling within 72 hours you may also receive a $100 Discount Dining Card!! To claim this special offer, simply call 1-724-252-4555 Offer Code: ######### I called in and was offered the tablet and dining card. When the service representative discovered that I was already a member of Direct Buy and the offer was not for me. The representative no longer wanted to speak to me. Here I thought that Direct Buy was doing something nice for their members, but that was not the case.

Desired Settlement: I would like the tablet and dining card that I was offered to me for my birthday. It is not my fault the card was sent to me by mistake.

Business Response: The promotion is limited to non-members as an incentive to join DirectBuy.  This was stated on the promotional information that was sent to her.  We will contact the member and offer her a free gift of some sort for the inconvenience that we caused her.

10/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered kitchen cabinets through this location. They made a few mistakes. Luckily most were replaced by the cabinet maker. The one major mistake are 2 upper doors on a broom closet. They did not order the proper door design on the upper cabinet doors to match all my other cabinets. Yes all my cabinets were ordered at the same time with the same wood type, finish, and door design. I had to pay an additional 142.34 dollars to get the proper doors that I should have gotten in the first place. After many emails with the owner Doug B******* trying to get the issue resolved and have my money refunded I get no response. Basically because they made the mistake I have to pay for it. This is very poor business practice and I will no longer do business with this location and will encourage others to do the same! Also its now a month later and I still have no news on the doors I had to pay for or an expected ship date like I was promised! I also do not have the product that was covered under warranty.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the money I was charged and my proper product shipped to me.

Business Response: The DirectBuy business model allows its members to purchase items at the price that the manufacturer sells the product plus a small fee to cover the expenses of ordering, handling and processing the order.  So that we can do this on a complicated order such as kitchen cabinets we ask that the member read, initial and sign an agreement accepting the fact that they will receive what is on the order, and that the manufacture will not replace product for free other than damaged or defect items.  In this situation the member ordered a tall cabinet with doors that have a square top profile.  After the cabinet was received he realized that it was square, not arched and requested to reorder an arched door.  We prepared the order, waived the handling fee, and only charged the member for the door, shipping, and tax.

The other complaints that the member had were installation issues; specifically the doors need to be removed prior to installation, reinstalled and adjusted after the cabinets are hung.  Also, this brand does not offer custom cutouts for its oven cabinets, so the space for the oven needed to be field cut by the installer.  The member was informed of this upon ordering by the agreement that was signed and reminded of it once the complaint was brought to our attention.  The issues have been resolved upon installation.

It is recommended to the members to order scribe molding with each cabinet order.  This is an inexpensive piece of molding that can be used for a variety of purposes with a kitchen installation and the exact use and quantity cannot be determined prior to installation.  It is also explained in the signed agreement that although these items are recommended, they may not ultimately be used.  They are recommended so that if needed it will not hold up the job due to ordering after the installation is started.  It is explained that these items are optional, but are not returnable if not used.  After the job was started the member felt that he had too many pieces of scribe molding and wanted to return them.  I did offer to accept a return for credit, but he later said that he found a use for them and did not want to return them.

There are 3 doors that have shipping damage and/or warranty issues and are being replaced at no charge to the member.  We are having these doors remade and shipped directly to his home.

The club offered a credit on future orders equal to half of the cost of the reordered tall door with an arched top.

Please let me know if there is more that we should or could do to resolve this complaint.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Only because there is no hope of both parties being happy in this.

Regards,

******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Direct Buy of Pittsburgh North
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)