Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Somerset Trust Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (814) 443-9200 Fax: (814) 443-9220 View Additional Phone Numbers 151 W Main St, Somerset, PA 15501 http://www.somersettrust.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bank


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Somerset Trust Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Somerset Trust Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Somerset Trust Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 27, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1889 Business incorporated 06/03/2000 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
17 N Second Street, Suite 1300, Harrisburg PA 17101
http://www.dobs.pa.gov
Phone Number: 800-722-2657
Fax Number: 717-787-8773
The number is 11112.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. G Henry Cook, President Mr. Roberta A. Lohr, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. G Henry Cook, President
Business Category

BANKS FINANCIAL PLANNING CONSULTANTS INVESTMENT ADVISORY SERVICE LOANS LOANS-SMALL BUSINESS CONSUMER FINANCE & LOAN CO. MONEY ORDERS & TRANSFERS MORTGAGE BROKERS RETIREMENT PLANNING SERVICE FINANCIAL SERVICES MORTGAGE BANKERS ESTATE PLANNING & MANAGEMENT

Industry Tips
Mortgages

Additional Locations

  • 116 Market St

    Johnstown, PA 15901 (814) 443-9200

  • 1416 Scalp Ave

    Johnstown, PA 15904 (814) 443-9200

  • 151 Center St

    Meyersdale, PA 15552 (814) 443-9200

  • 151 W Main St

    Somerset, PA 15501 (814) 443-9200

  • 1614 N Center Ave

    Somerset, PA 15501 (814) 443-9200

  • 2095 Quaker Valley Road

    Fishertown, PA 15539

  • 316 Georgian Pl

    Somerset, PA 15501 (814) 443-9200

  • 344 Goucher St

    Johnstown, PA 15905 (814) 443-9200

  • 4185 Glades Pike

    Somerset, PA 15501 (814) 443-9200

  • 420 Main St

    Berlin, PA 15530 (814) 443-9200

  • 612 Logan Pl

    Confluence, PA 15424 (814) 443-9200

  • 803 Barn St

    Hooversville, PA 15936 (814) 443-9200

  • PO Box 777

    Somerset, PA 15501 (814) 443-9200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiance and I are currently looking for a house and we contacted Jody W***** at Somerset Trust Company in Fishertown about a mortgage. We contacted her around February 22, 2016 for help setting up a mortgage and seeing what we qualify for as far as loans go. She asked for our pay stubs and said she would have "her" run them. "Her" was a lady at another office who Jody never gave a name to. She never called us the rest of the week. SO on the following Monday, February 29, 2016, I called her again to get our information. We then met with her to discuss everything. She never gave us the amount we were eligible for but kept saying our payments would be around $750 a month. We continued to look for houses and found a few we wanted to view with our Realtor, who needed our pre-approval paper, which Jody never gave us. So I called Jody again on March 22, 2016 and asked for this information. She then told me that the first time "they" ran our credit, "they" messed it up. Not once did she tell us this in February or the beginning of March. So I asked her to please fix this and send me the email with our approval amount. I have not heard from her since then. It is now March 29, 2016.

Desired Settlement: We would like our correct paper work, with the amount we are eligible to receive without our credit being dropped. Each time "they" check it, it is lowered. It is not our fault "they" messed it up.

Business Response:


RE: ID#********


To Whom It May Concern:

Customer came in on February 29,2016 for a mortgage pre-qualification. A pre-qualification is a request for a preliminary determination on the amount of credit for which an applicant would likely qualify. It is not a commitment. I had told them the amount they would likely qualify for. I reviewed the paperwork and I realized we made a mistake. I called her and made her aware of it. I told her the new amount they would likely qualify for. He came to the Bedford office to talk about his options. After a long discussion he said he wanted to wait. So when he left, I told him to tell her and he said he would. She called around the last week in March to see what they would qualify for in an amount for the loan. I told her I talked to him about all this as he had some concerns, and he told me he would discuss them with her. We will send a letter to the customers confirming the amount that they likely qualify for, and for their records.


Somerset

Trust Company

Jody W*****



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Somerset Trust Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)