Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

S & T Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 325-2265 Fax: (724) 465-1488 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 190, Indiana, PA 15701 http://www.stbank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial bank services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that S & T Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for S & T Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on S & T Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 23, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1902
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
17 N Second Street, Suite 1300, Harrisburg PA 17101
http://www.banking.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-722-2657
Fax Number: 717-787-8773
The number is 11124.

Business Management
Mr. Todd Brice, C.E.O. Mr. John A Orszulak, Assistant Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd Brice, C.E.O.
Business Category

BANKS FINANCIAL PLANNING CONSULTANTS INVESTMENT ADVISORY SERVICE LOANS LOANS-SMALL BUSINESS CONSUMER FINANCE & LOAN CO. MONEY ORDERS & TRANSFERS MORTGAGE BROKERS RETIREMENT PLANNING SERVICE FINANCIAL SERVICES MORTGAGE BANKERS ESTATE PLANNING & MANAGEMENT

Industry Tips
Mortgage - New Laws

Additional Locations

  • 1077 Freeport Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15238 (412) 798-3340 (412) 781-2106

  • 2003 Lincoln Way

    White Oak, PA 15131

  • 256 Main St

    Brookville, PA 15825

  • 324 N 4th St

    Indiana, PA 15701

  • 602 Salt St

    Saltsburg, PA 15681

  • 7660 Saltsburg Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15239 (800) 325-2265

  • 800 Philadelphia St

    Indiana, PA 15701 (800) 325-2265

  • PO Box 190

    Indiana, PA 15701 (800) 325-2265

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: S&T cashed a check 2 days before the date listed on the check, thus causing my checking account to go into overdraft status. This resulted in the account being overdrawn until it was eventually closed by the bank and they automatically took the balance out of my joint account with no notice, no communication, they just went in there and took it and said nothing or sent me anything about it to this day. I had spoken to 2 different individuals prior to it closing, and I had indicated to the first representative to go a head (at that time) and take the balance owed from the joint account and close the checking that was overdrawn. I was under the assumption it was closed until about a week later when another individual called me and said it was still overdrawn, still being charged $10 per day for being overdrawn, and that they could not take the money from the account and that I needed to do that myself or have a bank employee at the branch level do it for a fee. However, a few days later S&T closed this account and DID take the money from the account without letting me know about it. I believe the bank wanted to keep this account open to collect the $10 per day fee until the very last day they could, and then take the money...which they told me they couldn't do but now they magically can!

Desired Settlement: I do want a refund. Had they NOT cashed this check prior to the date listed (which is why they have a date line on the checks themselves), this wouldn't have gotten to be a hundreds of dollars problem that it is! They were rude to me when they spoke to me, and treated me like a number, not a customer and offered no explanation as to why they cashed a check before they should have. They told me 2 different stories which lead me to believe one thing happened, but in reality it hadn't.

Business Response:

S&T Bank is in receipt of the above referenced complaint.

The Gramm-Leach Bliley Act and FDIC I 2 CFR Park 332-Privacy of Consumer Information states that the Bank is not authorized to disclose any nonpublic personal information about a consumer to a nonaffiliated third party unless we have provided the consumer a reasonable opportunity to opt out of the disclosure

Sincerely,


******* ** ******

Senior Vice President Retail Banking


S&T Bank believes that discussing this complaint with the Better Business Bureau would constitute a violation of these regulations. We would be happy to discuss this matter directly with the complainant

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 12th of December 2013 I, **** ** ******, attempted to close my checking account, but was unsuccessful. ***** then claimed my mortgage interest rate and principal amount would both increase, and there could even been a service termination fee of $350.00. At the end of our thirty minute conversation, ***** attempted to have me sign a loan modification paper (for a rate and principle increase). I went to close my checking account, which did not happen, and the bank representative attempted to hoodwink me into a loan modification.

Desired Settlement: Proper training for your employees, the employees representing your company should be educated on the products and services they sell and maintain.

Business Response:

S&T Bank is in receipt of the above referenced complaint.

The Gramm-Leach Bliley Act and FDIC 12 CFR Park 332-Privacy of Consumer Information states that the Bank is not authorized to disclose any nonpublic personal information about a consumer to a nonaffiliated third party unless we have provided the consumer a reasonable opportunity to opt out of the disclosure

S&T Bank believes that discussing this complaint with the Better Business Bureau would constitute a violation of these regulations. We would be happy to discuss this matter directly with the complainant.


Sincere


******* ** ****** Senior Vice President Retail Banking


 

1/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable