This business is not BBB accredited.

NexTier Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 262-1088 Fax: (724) 940-5401 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 1232, Butler, PA 16003 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.thebank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a bank that also offers mortgage services, wealth management, insurance services and loans.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that <em>lowered</em> the rating for NexTier Bank include:

  • Unauthorized use of BBB name or trademarks

Factors that raised the rating for NexTier Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on NexTier Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 16, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1878 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1878 Business incorporated 05/21/1993 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
17 N Second Street, Suite 1300, Harrisburg PA 17101
http://www.banking.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-722-2657
Fax Number: 717-787-8773

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Margaret Irvine Weir, President Mr. Donald Shamey, CEO Ms. Maria Smathers, VP of Marketing Mr. Mark Snyder, Chairman of the Board
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. S. J Irvine, Chairman
Principal: Ms. Margaret Irvine Weir, President
Principal: Mr. Donald Shamey, CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Maria Smathers, VP of Marketing
Business Category

BANKS INVESTMENT ADVISORY SERVICE LOANS LOANS-SMALL BUSINESS MORTGAGE BROKERS RETIREMENT PLANNING SERVICE TRUST COMPANIES INSURANCE SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
NexTier Mortgage NexTier BankNational Association NexTier Insurance Services NexTier Wealth Management
Industry Tips
Mortgage - New Laws

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Moraine Pointe Plaza

    Butler, PA 16001 (724) 282-0300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 South Argyle St

    Petrolia, PA 16050 (724) 756-2720

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 VIP Drive, Suite 108

    Wexford, PA 15090 (724) 935-9006

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    101 East Diamond St

    Butler, PA 16003 (888) 262-6331 (724) 287-3791

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    101 Northtowne Square Dr

    Gibsonia, PA 15044 (724) 449-3900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    102 South Wayne Ave

    Parker, PA 16049 (724) 399-2401

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1101 N. Main Street

    Butler, PA 16001 (724) 283-4666

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1101 N. Main Street

    Butler, PA 16001 (724) 283-4666

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11361 Perry Hwy

    Wexford, PA 15090 (724) 935-1501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    121 South Main St

    Slippery Rock, PA 16057 (724) 794-5070

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    196 Clearview Circle

    Butler , PA 16001 (724) 283-0095

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20249 Route 19

    Cranberry Twp, PA 16066 (800) 727-6077 (888) 829-2162 (724) 772-2800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    226 South Main St

    Zelienople, PA 16063 (724) 452-8500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    238 East Main St, PO Box 350

    Evans City, PA 16033 (866) 360-7864 (724) 935-8830 (724) 538-2200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    245 Pittsburgh Rd

    Butler, PA 16001 (724) 285-3344 (724) 214-5813

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    333 Main St Suite 100

    Saxonburg, PA 16056 (724) 352-9669

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5353 N 16th St

    Phoeniz, AZ 85016 (602) 795-9406

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    612 main street po box drawer D

    Emlenton , PA 16373

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    612 Main St Drawer D

    Emlenton, PA 16373 (724) 867-2311

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Hansen & Lewis Avenues

    Lyndora, PA 16045 (724) 287-7701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Hummingbird Plaza, Route 68

    Chicora, PA 16025

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1232

    Butler, PA 16003

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 250

    Evans City, PA 16033

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 250

    Evans City, PA 16033

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My former name is Angela Plonski. My son William Plonski had a bank account with NexTier Bank brought to him at his school (Rowan Elementary School in Seneca Valley School District in Western PA) with a "Save for America" kids bank account. They have banking days at the school. I divorced their dad during his time at the school and we didn't save after 2007. He left the school in 2009 or 2010 to larger schools. The account was forgotten. I received a statement showing the amount in the account ($12.27) was withdrew. The statement was for June 2013 and the monies were taken out 4/12/13. I contacted them to inquire June 2013 and they advised to go to state.pa.us to the unclaimed property site. I researched and did not find anything. We were selling our houses and moving and are now settled. I finally looked again and still nothing was listed for my son William Plonski in the unclaimed property section of the PA treasury. Today I called the bank and was given the # for the pa Treasury. I called the number and his info was not there. I call the bank again and on hold. Then I was told that due to inactivity there was a $25 fee applied and his was under that amount so they took the money to cover it. I asked why it was done without contacting me first so I could do something. She stated they contact everyone but I received nothing or I would have done something. It isn't a huge amount of money but this is accounts started in an elementary school that kids move out of. This is money taken from kids as they grow and parents may not remember. I don't feel this was handled well. I was given a line of bull and the run around taking hours out of my life to search for money they took from my child.

Desired Settlement: I want my son's $12.27 and I want all the kids who started these savings accounts via Rowan elementary school adequately notified that this could happen to their kids.

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service