BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Fort Pitt Classic Cars LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fort Pitt Classic Cars LLC

Phone: (412) 781-2277 230 15th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15215 http://www.fortpittclassiccars.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Auto Restoration

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fort Pitt Classic Cars LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fort Pitt Classic Cars LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 26, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2008 in PA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ron Libengood, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Libengood, Owner
Business Category

AUTO RESTORATION AUTO DETAILING AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • 230 15th St

    Pittsburgh, PA 15215 (412) 781-2277

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I use Fort Pitt Classic Cars (FPCC) winter storage service. The most recent usage was November 2013 to May 2014. As per agreement my vehicle was delivered to the facility with a required car cover for storage.I retrieved my vehicle from FPCC on 05/09/2014 (a Friday).Once home, I discovered the car cover I provided FPCC for use on my vehicle was torn and poorly repaired. Damage acquired while the vehicle was in their possession.Confused, I returned to FPCC thinking I had another customers car cover since this matter was never mentioned during my retrieval earlier in the day. I spoke with one of **** employees and I left with the assurance that *** would contact me regarding this matter.Later I took a call from the employee I spoke to earlier admitting my cover was damage while moving the vehicle. The cover was not removed from the car for repositioning, the material caught on the front wheel as well as passenger side mirror causing the side seams to burst destroying the side mirror pocket.FPCC gave my damaged car cover to their auto interior guy for repair. The stated reason as to why no one mentioned the damage or incident during my retrieval of the vehicle was, during & after the repair my vehicle was not covered for storage.This employee assured me *** would contact me & to give *** a copy of my car cover invoice. After this phone call, on Friday May 9th, I went to FPCC with a copy of my cover invoice, and handed it to said employee. I also emailed a copy to *** with a message regarding this matter.On Tuesday May 27th I contacted *** ********* regarding my car cover since I had not heard from him. We agreed to meet on the afternoon of May 30th to review the damaged cover. *** also wanted the part number from the physical cover. We met, *** reviewed the damage, noted the part number, instructed me accidents happen and agreed to replace the cover.June 19th, July 18th, July 30th are my attempts to have *** contact me. *** made no effort to return.

Desired Settlement: $319.99 for the cost of my damaged car cover.$732.95 for improperly storing my vehicle without a cover. Not contacting me when the damage happened. Not being straight or forthright when I retrieved the vehicle. No attempt to rectify the issue or to follow through after-the-fact.Total: $1052.94

Business Response:

This letter is in response to a complaint submitted by a ***** ***** regarding a cover for his car during winter storage at our facility. From reviewing the complaint, I find the allegations and statements by Mr. ***** are not correct, and he has not responded to my offers to resolve the matter before and, now, after the complaint was filed.

In the complaint, Mr. ***** correctly states he used our winter storage services most recently from November 2013 to May 2014. Mr. ***** failed to say, he, as well as each of his parents, separately, used our storage services for each of their individual cars for three previous years and were satisfied with our service.

Mr. *****'s reporting of the situation whereas the cover of his car was damaged during the most recent storage period is basically correct. However, Mr. ***** failed to mention my immediate attempt to resolve the problem by loaning him a replacement cover until I could obtain an exact replacement.

Mr. *****'s statement that his vehicle was not covered during the entire storage period is absolutely not correct. From recent conversation with Mr. *****'s representative (his father) I learned that his father came to our facility on a particular day and on that day and at that particular time the car was uncovered for a short period of time in support of a photo­shoot for an article to appear in the Pittsburgh Tribune. At all other times, including immediately before the photo-shoot and after the photo-shoot, Mr. *****'s car was covered. Therefore, Mr. *****'s request for refund of his entire storage fee has no basis.

It is correct Mr. ***** and I met on May 30th and I agreed to replace the cover. I followed up on the meeting by attempting to purchase a new cover for Mr. *****. Since the cover was custom made, it was out of stock and not available. I called and left a message for Mr. ***** informing him I had a cover to loan him until the other cover was obtained. Mr. ***** never acknowledged my call.

In the compliant Mr. ***** claims he made an attempt to contact me on June 19th, July 18th and July 30th. My office has no record of any such attempt to contact me. It is strange Mr. ***** would have made such a comment since he lives very close to our business and could have stopped in anytime.

Upon receiving this complaint, I called for Mr. ***** but had to leave a message. In that message I requested Mr. ***** call or stop in to discuss the complaint. We have had no response from Mr. *****.

Mr. *****'s father stopped in last week (after his son's compliant was filled) to check on the status of the cover. Interestingly, his son had not told him he filed the complaint or of our offer to loan him a cover while I was getting a direct replacement.

Since that time we have received a direct replacement for Mr. *****'s cover and have offered that cover to him. His father is expected to pickup the cover in the near future.

In summary, allegations regarding the car not being covered during the storage period are not true therefore a refund of the storage fee has not basis, and a direct replacement cover has been offered therefore no reimbursement of the cost of the cover is warranted.

 

Fort Pitt Classic Cars

****** *********

, Owner

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the car replacement cover does resolve my complaint, but the business written response is incorrect.

 

 

Mr. ********* fails to acknowledge both he and his business were not proactive in resolving this matter. This failure begins with a lack of notification when FPCC destroyed my car cover.  It continued when I retrieved my vehicle without a mention my cover was torn.

I then gave FPCC an invoice to my car cover to assist with purchasing a replacement, two weeks pass without word from Mr. *********.  We meet on May 30th since I pursued Mr. ********* two days prior.  At this time Mr. ********* questioned me what was currently covering my vehicle and I mentioned I was using a car cover I owned from a different vehicle.

After this meeting no call or message from *** ********* occurred regarding the car cover being out-of-stock.

Side note:  I have purchased an estimated seven custom car covers and I can attest these are a special order item that will take at maximum three weeks to fill.  They ship immediately when/if in stock. If *** would have ordered the cover in late May, I would have had the cover by mid June.

This story exacerbates with denial that I attempted to contact *** June 19th, July 18th and July 30th.  I am simply speechless.  If possible we should contact *******.

*** did contact me six days after I filed the BBB complaint.  I did not hear from *** for nine weeks prior.

My father and I discussed my BBB complaint the evening before he visited *** *********.  *** never offered a temporary cover.  I had my personal temporary replacement, *** never suggested his services. This is moot.

I do live near FPCC.  I also work two office positions and freelance.  *** will understand. Time is money. If this matter could have only been resolved with my periodically and physically standing in FPCC over the course of nine weeks, there is a severe customer service problem.

I did receive a replacement car cover from *** *********. This cover was void of packaging material, shipping box, invoice, etc.  When I have time I will contact*** *** ***** **. to see when this order was made.

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contact this company 4 years ago to restore a 1969 Camaro. I received a signed agreement stating that this vehicle would be completed 1 year later. It is now 4 years later and the owner refuses to complete this vehicle. There were a number of issues that are left to repair in order to complete these vehicle. However, every time I have contact the owner "*** *********", he stated it would only be a few weeks longer. He stated this vehicle would be completed on atleast 10 different occasions over the past 4 years. None of which were true. I have nearly 100 emails that go back and forth promising this car would be completed. Roughly around 6 months ago I came to the shop to see that a number of mistakes have been made when restoring the vehicle. *** stated he would resolve these issues and was responsible for the charges since the job was not done right the first time. Out of frustration and the simple fact they he refused to complete this car, I told him I was going to pick this car up and have it completed at another shop. To my surprise he sent a bill totaling 4,835.53 for labor charges. He claims these charges are for fixing the issues that he first claimed he was responsible for. This is has an absolute nightmare and now he is resulting to downright criminal behavior. Please help me resolve this issue by getting my vehicle back without these extortion charges. Thank you for your help.

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle back. I refuse to pay the charges that I am not responsible for and did not agree to in no way shape or form.

Business Response: *** from company called BBB and indicated he spoke with you and the issue is being resolved. If this is not the case, please let BBB know asap.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.