Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fort Pitt Classic Cars LLC

Phone: (412) 781-2277 230 15th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15215 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.fortpittclassiccars.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Auto Restoration


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fort Pitt Classic Cars LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Fort Pitt Classic Cars LLC include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Fort Pitt Classic Cars LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Fort Pitt Classic Cars LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 26, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2008 in PA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ron Libengood, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Libengood, Owner
Business Category

AUTO RESTORATION AUTO DETAILING AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • 230 15th St

    Pittsburgh, PA 15215 (412) 781-2277

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We Delivered the '67 corvette on January 02, 2015 to be repaired and painted. Car was initially painted and after exchanging numerous emails and phone calls they decided to paint it again. They added multi parts, more paint, and additional expenses. The job was suppose to take until spring, and we insisted on picking up the car after leaving it there for many months. We finally got it in early September 2015, and with it came an additional $5400. bill. After limping the car home with transmission problems, and inspecting it we found that it had sags, chips, dry spots, paint rubbed to the primer, paint over dirt. It needs a complete new paint job.

Desired Settlement: We feel Fort Pitt Classic Car is not capable of painting the car correctly to a standard. So we want the car painted by some other body shop and paid for by Fort Pitt Classic Cars.

Business Response:

February 24, 2016
Re: Complaint ID ********

I am in receipt of the referenced complaint dated 2/11/2016 received at our office on 2/18/2016, and herein provide a response.
The customer's car arrived to us in January, 2015. After taking possession, we noticed a problem with the transmission shifter and advised the customer. The customer said it had been that way for years. Later the problem got worse. Again we contacted the customer and offered to fix the problem at minimum cost. The customer said , "No, *** and **** will fix the shifter problem." and agreed to pick up and take the car home with the problem.
In the course of preparing the car for the painting process, several serious body problems were found that had to be repaired prior to painting. These items included a damaged windshield pillar and window gutter, and cracks in the fiberglass body that were not evident until after the old paint was removed. After painting, during the reassembly process, we found it was necessary to replace all deteriorated window gaskets, repair a non-functioning window gear system, and repair defective headlight mechanism. All of these repairs were documented, discussed with the owner, and approval was given to make the repairs. Each of these problems caused the project timeline to be lengthened and the cost of the project to increase.
Upon completion of our work, the owners came, inspected the car in a well lit area and took the car without paying the final invoice, saying he inadvertently 'left the checkbook at home'. Subsequently, they complained about several minor paint issues. We went to their home, verified their assertions that the defects in questions should be repaired and agreed to fix them at our expense. They have yet to return the car or allow us to pick it up, choosing instead to damage our reputation via the Internet.
At the beginning, the customer demanded the car be prepared as a 'daily driver' since they had planned to drive the car without concern for stone clips and other potential damage that might occur, and to keep the cost of repainting the car at a minimum. The car was repaired and painted in that light. Certainly at Fort Pitt Classic Cars, we know what it takes to repair and repaint a Corvette to meet and exceed the National Corvette Restoration Society (NCRS) standards as we have successfully completed several Corvettes at that level. The cost for those projects is substantially more then what was agreed to in this case and at no time was there a requirement that this is a 'show quality' or NCRS level car. That being said, we acknowledge there are fixable blemishes in the paint of the car. We stand behind our work and our offer to rework the trouble spots at no additional cost to the customer.
Respectfully submitted
Ronald L********, Owner & Manager

Consumer Response:

29 February 2016

ID #********
Dear Sir/Madam,
i would like to open with: our vehicle was painted in a warehouse atmosphere and NOT in a paint booth. We thought that when we hired Fort Pitt Classic Cars to paint our vehicle it would be done in a professional environment by professionals. What we hired were incompetent people with no experience in what they advertise. To our dismay we received a $15,000 paiht/repair job on a '67 Classic corvette that is worse off now than when we delivered it to the business. We delivered our vehicle 02 January 2015, and were originally told our price would be $11,385. + taxes. With the delivery we paid $2,000 up front to get the work started. On January 28th they asked for another $2336.18, and again on Feb. 8th $1,320, and on Feb 12th $3869.03 and on March 13, $5313.15 for a grand total of $14,838.36. We paid all this up front and before the jobs were completed. After 8 months of patiently waiting and exchanging emails we began to suspect something was wrong. We found out that the car was painted in March and then they wanted to paint it again in July. They lied about removing the windows to paint the car, they lied about many things and we trusted them. We trusted them to do a decent job and that is not what we received. We wanted our car back! So late August early September we said enough is enough we want our car now. So we went to pick it up and they presented it to us in a dimly lit area which we couldn't see the bad paint job that was lurking in that unlit area. By email they presented us with another bill for $5495 in addition to the $14,838.36 for the 2nd paint job and extra materials.
FPCC sent three employees to our home to view the vehicle and they came to the conclusion that the car did indeed need repainting and they would send a trailer to tow our vehicle back down to their location and paint 2/3 of the car. We were advised to not let them take the car and we did not want them to repaint the vehicle for the 3rd time. Why would we have them paint it again when they couldn't do a proper job the first two times? This is ludicrous!

The quality control of FPCC is poor and the car should have not been released in its current condition. And furthermore if FPCC believes they are qualified with the NCRS, we can and will have them judge the car for the quality and standard that go with that label. We asked for a good paint job and did not by any means receive what we paid for. They scratched the windows with buffers, scratched and nicked the paint, painted over dirt and sags are noted all over. They replaced rubber gaskets and charged us for the materials which if done properly would have been ok. But the replaced gaskets were cut short and replaced like someone who doesn't know what they were doing. Upon receiving our keys to remove our vehicle from this business, we were told to not use 1st and 2nd gear and reverse as the transmission would lock up and not be able to drive. Our son drove it home in 3rd gear. Not sure what they did to it there but upon getting it back home and getting it repaired, a screw was found in the transmission. The boot around the shifter was totally destroyed by one of their workers. This transmission fix cost us several more hundred dollars to repair.
This whole charade makes us sick to look at this vehicle now with great sadness. Ron L. proudly says that he works with older adults and helps them with their prized vehicles. We totally disagree with this. We have owned this vehicle for over 30 years and finally in our golden years would have it painted and enjoy some fun time with it. Not in this case, it sits in the garage and just creates much sadness for us. We saved for this and for what, our money be tossed in the garbage. We are so disappointed in what they have done to us and we trusted them.
Enclosed is a copy of an estimate we acquired to have this vehicle repaired and repainted by a professional who knows how to get the job done right. Also attached please review the copy of the inconsistencies found on the invoice which was presented to us for the $5495.
Thank you.

****** *****
PLEASE WARN CONSUMERS OF THIS BUSINESS. THEY ARE NOT PROFESSIONAL IN THEIR BUSINESS AND WORK ETHICS AND FALSE ADVERTISING. We learned the hard way.


Business Response:

March 16, 2016

Re: Complaint ID ********

I am in receipt of the additional concerns of the customer dated 2/29/2016 received at our office on 3/4/2016, and herein provide a response.

The vehicle was painted in our paint facility where we have painted a large number of Corvettes and other high quality vehicles by an individual with more than 15 years of automobile painting experience. However, we acknowledge that there are fixable blemishes on the paint of the customer's car and, again, we offer to correct those blemishes in a timely manner without charge to the customer. Regardless of the amount of work required, we are committed to providing the customer with satisfaction and a blemish-free paint job according to the original contract which was for a driver quality vehicle (i.e. not a show car or NCRS level). Further, through the customer's attorney, we have offered to allow the customer to take the car after our correction of the blemishes without paying the balance of their invoice in the event the customer is not satisfied with the quality of our work.

In addition to the contracted payments, the customer made several payments to pay for repairs and replacement parts that were out of scope of the initial estimate. In each case, the customer was made aware of the necessary supplemental repair and gave approval prior to any work being performed. This is a fairly frequent occurrence in restoration projects and this possibility was called out in the original contract. The outstanding balance of $5,495 is for work that was all approved by the customer in accordance with the contract. Further, the customer was not charged any extra labor or material cost for the painting of his car beyond the amount he approved in the original contract.

In regards to the transmission, the customer was notified soon after his initial drop off of the car to us that there was a problem with the transmission. The customer acknowledged their awareness of the problem, but declined to have us repair it for $450. At that time and then again a few days before the customer picked up the car, the customer said 'he and his son would repair it when they got the car home'.

The proposal the customer solicited from another individual to repaint the car is within reason and, if done as presented, should produce, " a #2 quality repaint per industry standards, and should equate to a nice local show car" as that individual has stated. We made a similar proposal to the customer at the beginning our discussions with the customer but that offer was immediately rejected by the customer, strongly stating then, and on several occasions thereafter, 'We don't want a show car. We want to drive our car and not have to worry about it.'


As we continue to state, we remain ready to resolve the issues with the customer. Our team has the skills and experience to provide quality work for this customer as we have provided to our other customers for many years.

Respectfully,

Ronald L********* Owner &

Manager

Consumer Response:

Our response to the recent letter dated March 16, 2016 from Fort Pitt Classic Cars, Ron L.

Our vehicle was painted in their paint facility (not paint booth) two different times by someone at that company.  The individual with more than fifteen years experience did NOT paint our vehicle.  Someone with no experience painted it and it shows.  We know for a fact that Ron L. was looking to hire two people for his shop.  An AutoTechnician/apprentice and a Body Shop Manager.  He also wanted to hire a full time auto restoration Automobile Painter at the same time period our vehicle was supposed to be given a good paint job.

The corvette does NOT have fixable blemishes on the paint the whole car needs to be taken down to its fiberglass and totally repainted by some who knows what they are doing. We have had this car looked at and that is what we were told.  Furthermore, their offer of a blemish free correction is not possible without redoing the whole vehicle.  Did I mention that I have had this 67 corvette for 40 years!!  And now I find it hard to look at now. 

Fort Pitt Classic Cars did not notify us after the initial drop off.  We were aware the vehicle had a small problem, and did mention it to FPCC.  We know that the car was driven by numerous individuals and made the small problem a bigger problem.  There was proof that they were looking at the issue of the transmission because the shifter booth was totally ripped open and upon having the transmission repaired by us, a screw was found inside the transmission upon repair.  This screw was not in there prior to us leaving the vehicle with FPCC. It was  dropped or put there while at this shop.

As far as a proposal solicited from another individual to repaint the car and create a #2 quality repaint is not to be determined by FPCC.  We paid FPCC $14,838.36 in full prior to getting the vehicle back and expected a quality paint job after leaving it with them for almost 9 months.  They broke our original windshield and lied about what happened.  We were told that the windshield had broken when they tried to put it back in after painting, and then were told that they laid the windshield on the floor for the night and in the morning it was found broken. Two paint jobs were applied because they were trying to cover up something and then they added another $5,495 for multiple unknown charges. 

We remain unready to deliver our vehicle to FPCC for another unprofessional paint job.  We want our car painted by a professional who knows what they are doing and not deal with all the turmoil that FPCC has caused us.  They DO NOT provide quality work at least not in our case and we are not happy with what we have been delivered.  Bad paint, bad installation of new weather stripping around the vent windows and doors the old stripping was a better quality than the new that they installed, which looked like it was done by someone not familiar with doing that type of work.

The window pillar that was repaired by them, incorrectly, needs to be redone by someone with the  knowledge and professional workmanship .That is why the windshield broke when they tried to replace it.  Plus FPCC claims that they repaired everything at their cost, this is not true.  They want us to pay for things that were not requested by us and things that were ordered not for our use.  They need to prove the restorations and expenditures that they have supposedly done that meet NCRS standards, it’s a lie

We cannot accept another unprofessional paint job from FPCC. 

As a solution to all of this, should FPCC amicably agree to a financial arrangement! We would suggest that they (FPCC) agree to return all of our money that we have paid to them. Again I want to mention that our vehicle has been devalued by (FPCC) - $22,000 as stated by a professional and trustworthy painter.  If this is agreed too, we would remove any complaints made on YELP and any further business with FPCC, that could possibly devalue FPCC in the future.

For information on this complaint and pictures, please feel free to look at ****/Fort Pitt Classic Cars and now the BBB of Pennsylvania at your convenience.

We want to thank the BBB of PA for allowing us to hopefully get help and get to the bottom of  this dilemma.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response:

April 18, 2016

Re: Complaint ID ********

I am in receipt of the additional concerns of the customer received at our office on 4/5/2016, and herein provide a response.

As previously stated, the subject vehicle was painted in our paint facility where we have painted a large number of Corvettes and other high quality vehicles, by individuals who have more than 15 years of automobile painting experience. As an illustration of the high quality of our paint work, we invite Mr. ***** or any of his representatives to come to our facility and examine any or all of the several Corvettes and other brands of cars that we have painted.

We acknowledge there are fixable blemishes in the paint of the customer's car. At no additional costs to the customer, the blemishes can be totally corrected by spot repair, section repaint or, if necessary, repainting the entire car

The defective transmission in the customer's car was not disclosed to us at drop off. Only after we called a few days later to report the issue was there an acknowledgement of the longstanding defect and instructions that the customer would take care of it themselves at a later date. In addition, the customer declined two separate offers to repair the transmission for $450 prior to him picking up the car.

Regarding the replacement of the windshield, we advised the customer the windshield that had been broken by a professional auto glass firm and that we would replace it at no cost. The broken windshield was not original, likely being replaced due to the car being in a previous accident.

Lastly, the customer was made aware of all extra charges to the contract and approved the supplemental work which resulted in a greater cost than the original estimate.

Consumer Response: Regarding: complaint ID ********
I am responding by snail mail because I couldn't enter the proper page on your website. There was a problem, then I was able to enter but I couldn't send the response. So I decided to do it by mail.
I am hoping this is the last time we need to correspond with Fort Pitt Classic Cars.
We are so done with this company.
We are ready to have our information posted on BBB website.
In response to FPCC last communication dated April 18, 2016.
Our vehicle, 1967 Corvette Stingray was painted (butchered) at FPCC paint facility twice, once in March of 2015 and the second time in July of 2015. We do not know for sure why they insisted on painting it the second time, but can only guess that the first one was a mess as was the second one. Now to make things worse they have offered to paint it again, or touch it up to correct the "blemishes" by spot repair, section repaint or if necessary the entire car. We will not release our vehicle to FPCC ever again. Be warned they did one/two horrible paint jobs. These blemishes consist of chips, sags, scratches, dirt under the paint, too thin or too thick painted areas and areas that were buffed and rubbed down to bare fiberglass and for this we paid almost $15,000 and to make matters worse they billed us for an extra $5400. for supplemental work as they called it. These charges were reviewed by an expert and we were told that they overbilled us for more paint, clear, putty to paint three more cars and numerous other items.
FPCC said we dropped off our 67 Vette and did not disclose a defective transmission. There was no problem with the transmission, we drove that car for 30+ yrs and it ran perfectly. But they of course offered to repair it for another $450. We declined and had it repaired elsewhere, which upon repair a screw came tumbling out of the transmission. We only had 3rd gear to drive it home. Also, they broke our windshield after removing it for the initial paint job, then they lied and said it was placed on the floor of the shop and when they came in the morning after it was broken. They also lied and said it broke when they tried to put it back in. They replaced the weather stripping and butchered that job where there were gaps with no stripping and replaced it with the cheapest grade they could get.
They broke off a wheel stud and said they would replace it! They did replace it but they neglected to put the lug nut back on and we drove it home without the lug nut. Dangerous!!
We need the public to know that this company is bad news. Take your vehicles to be painted and repaired elsewhere. Do yourself a favor and BEWARE!!
P.S. ******** ***** thank you for speaking with me 2 wks ago and contacting the company for a final response. I am hoping that our information above will make it to your website as a warning to others to be aware of what this company is doing. We didn't and don't deserve to be treated like this. Thanks again ******
 
**** * *** *****

3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted in December 2015 to have some modern upgrades performed on my 66' Mustang and submitted down payment. Long story short, finally received car back in late October. Once I received the car back I discovered a number of issues to be addressed with the work performed. A remanufactured Ford rack was installed instead of the brand stated in the contract. The brake calipers are too large and do not clear the wheels without spacers. The sway bar hits the tie rods on bumps due to a lack of clearance. The steering column is held in place by a primitive homemade rig made of an old piece of metal and a muffler clamp. I had requested from the beginning of this ordeal for a list of parts used so I would be able to buy replacement brake pads, rotors, calipers, etc. when needed. For example, if I needed brake pads, all I know is they are Ford. No year or model. Also, the contract states parts are invoiced at 115% the cost of the parts. I do not trust that this was the case. I have been promised this information both verbally and by e-mail numerous times, however after my most recent conversation with the owner I do not feel he has any intention of supplying me with this information. Something to hide? Despite a written warranty on the work performed, I have no intention of returning my car to this shop. I simply have no confidence any future work would be done with any more competence. I want copies of the receipts so I can determine what I need to do to correct the issues and to determine if I have been overcharged for the parts. After being paid for what I consider substandard work, I would think the owner would want this resolved as much as do.

Desired Settlement: I want copies of all parts receipts so I can contact the vendors for help in correcting the issues, and if overcharged for the parts, a refund for the overcharges. If I find incorrect parts were used for the application, I will return the wrong parts to Fort Pitt for a refund.

Business Response:

February 15, 2016

Re: Complaint ID ********

I am in receipt of the referenced complaint dated 2/2/2016 and herein provide a response.

The complainant first contacted my company in November 2014 not December 2015 as he stated to upgrade the steering and brakes of his 66 Mustang. His car was not delivered to us until late April (due to the weather) and the car was returned to him in mid-September not late October as he has stated.

Throughout the upgrade of his car we kept him up to date by email and photographs of the work in process. Due to a large number of defects of his car that were unrelated to the proposed initial work but had to be addressed, we recognized the cost of the upgrade and repairs was going to be substantially greater than the initial upgrade estimate. On July 12th we advised the customer it was necessary to change the supplier for some parts to be installed on his car to reduce the total cost and offset the work for the additional, unplanned repairs. In the end, the total cost for the upgrade was 23% higher than the original budget in spite of the fact that we achieved the initial contracted scope or work at a lesser cost than originally proposed.

We expected the customer was pleased with all the work since he promptly paid the invoice and reported on October 8th that 'he had put some miles on the car' and was satisfied except for the turning radius. As we were requested to keep the costs at a minimum, we did put a spacer on the wheel to gain space between the present wheel and the newly installed brake caliper. However the spacer could have been eliminated with the added cost to purchase new 14" wheels with a greater 'offset' or purchase 15" wheels - either of those options would have greatly increased the cost significantly. Those options are still available to the owner on his own. 

The complainant commented about a fabricated item in the steering column. He should understand that item was necessary to allow the steering column to be removable if necessary in the future otherwise it could have been permanently welded.

To satisfy the complainant's request for a listing of parts and to satisfy that he was not charged more than 115% of our parts and supply cost, I have attached a link to a file that presents a complete listing with costs of the parts used in the repair and upgrade of his car and a copy of all of the parts receipts/invoices. This listing is more detailed than the parts list we provided to the complainant on October 12th. An analysis of the parts cost to the billed cost will clearly show that overhead markup was significantly less than 15% at was allowed.

Finally, I must apologize that our work was not done as promptly as we had expected primarily due to our Mustang specialist not being able to work full time as he was recovering from triple bypass surgery - a fact of which the customer was aware.

Regardless, we have attached the final invoice for the repair and upgrade work that shows that we provided a 10% discount to the customer as consolation for the delay in not completing the upgrade as quickly as he had desired.

Respectfully submitted,

Ron L********, Owner and Manager

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Received business response. In my original complaint I stated I contracted (signed contract) in December 2015. It was December 2014. I stated I received car back late October 2015. I got the car back the 1st time, September 23rd, not October. I apologize for the errors. I did not intend to misrepresent the timeline. I have received most of the parts receipts and now know most of the parts installed, so now can move forward with corrections. I was overcharged on some, undercharged on some, double charged for some parts and not charged for some parts. Assuming I find no major surprise with the final receipt, we can most likely move on and I will consider it all a valuable lesson. I have decided not to even respond to the many untruths in the business' responses, most of which I have e-mail correspondence to prove untrue. It is clear the owner will say anything to try to protect his business. The only thing I will mention is the ridiculous response regarding the steering column bracket. I have attached a picture. No other words are necessary. Please submit to me a copy of the receipt from ******** Mustang for 300.00   


Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: On Fri, Mar 4, 2016 at 9:23 AM, Ron L******** ****************************> wrote:

Ms **** 
Please find attached a copy of the ******** Mustang parts Invoice of 8/13/15 in the amount of $300 that was inadvertently left out of the previously sent receipt package and has been requested by the customer.  

Thank you 

Ron 

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *******

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I use Fort Pitt Classic Cars (FPCC) winter storage service. The most recent usage was November 2013 to May 2014. As per agreement my vehicle was delivered to the facility with a required car cover for storage.I retrieved my vehicle from FPCC on 05/09/2014 (a Friday).Once home, I discovered the car cover I provided FPCC for use on my vehicle was torn and poorly repaired. Damage acquired while the vehicle was in their possession.Confused, I returned to FPCC thinking I had another customers car cover since this matter was never mentioned during my retrieval earlier in the day. I spoke with one of **** employees and I left with the assurance that *** would contact me regarding this matter.Later I took a call from the employee I spoke to earlier admitting my cover was damage while moving the vehicle. The cover was not removed from the car for repositioning, the material caught on the front wheel as well as passenger side mirror causing the side seams to burst destroying the side mirror pocket.FPCC gave my damaged car cover to their auto interior guy for repair. The stated reason as to why no one mentioned the damage or incident during my retrieval of the vehicle was, during & after the repair my vehicle was not covered for storage.This employee assured me *** would contact me & to give *** a copy of my car cover invoice. After this phone call, on Friday May 9th, I went to FPCC with a copy of my cover invoice, and handed it to said employee. I also emailed a copy to *** with a message regarding this matter.On Tuesday May 27th I contacted *** ********* regarding my car cover since I had not heard from him. We agreed to meet on the afternoon of May 30th to review the damaged cover. *** also wanted the part number from the physical cover. We met, *** reviewed the damage, noted the part number, instructed me accidents happen and agreed to replace the cover.June 19th, July 18th, July 30th are my attempts to have *** contact me. *** made no effort to return.

Desired Settlement: $319.99 for the cost of my damaged car cover.$732.95 for improperly storing my vehicle without a cover. Not contacting me when the damage happened. Not being straight or forthright when I retrieved the vehicle. No attempt to rectify the issue or to follow through after-the-fact.Total: $1052.94

Business Response:

This letter is in response to a complaint submitted by a ***** ***** regarding a cover for his car during winter storage at our facility. From reviewing the complaint, I find the allegations and statements by Mr. ***** are not correct, and he has not responded to my offers to resolve the matter before and, now, after the complaint was filed.

In the complaint, Mr. ***** correctly states he used our winter storage services most recently from November 2013 to May 2014. Mr. ***** failed to say, he, as well as each of his parents, separately, used our storage services for each of their individual cars for three previous years and were satisfied with our service.

Mr. *****'s reporting of the situation whereas the cover of his car was damaged during the most recent storage period is basically correct. However, Mr. ***** failed to mention my immediate attempt to resolve the problem by loaning him a replacement cover until I could obtain an exact replacement.

Mr. *****'s statement that his vehicle was not covered during the entire storage period is absolutely not correct. From recent conversation with Mr. *****'s representative (his father) I learned that his father came to our facility on a particular day and on that day and at that particular time the car was uncovered for a short period of time in support of a photo­shoot for an article to appear in the Pittsburgh Tribune. At all other times, including immediately before the photo-shoot and after the photo-shoot, Mr. *****'s car was covered. Therefore, Mr. *****'s request for refund of his entire storage fee has no basis.

It is correct Mr. ***** and I met on May 30th and I agreed to replace the cover. I followed up on the meeting by attempting to purchase a new cover for Mr. *****. Since the cover was custom made, it was out of stock and not available. I called and left a message for Mr. ***** informing him I had a cover to loan him until the other cover was obtained. Mr. ***** never acknowledged my call.

In the compliant Mr. ***** claims he made an attempt to contact me on June 19th, July 18th and July 30th. My office has no record of any such attempt to contact me. It is strange Mr. ***** would have made such a comment since he lives very close to our business and could have stopped in anytime.

Upon receiving this complaint, I called for Mr. ***** but had to leave a message. In that message I requested Mr. ***** call or stop in to discuss the complaint. We have had no response from Mr. *****.

Mr. *****'s father stopped in last week (after his son's compliant was filled) to check on the status of the cover. Interestingly, his son had not told him he filed the complaint or of our offer to loan him a cover while I was getting a direct replacement.

Since that time we have received a direct replacement for Mr. *****'s cover and have offered that cover to him. His father is expected to pickup the cover in the near future.

In summary, allegations regarding the car not being covered during the storage period are not true therefore a refund of the storage fee has not basis, and a direct replacement cover has been offered therefore no reimbursement of the cost of the cover is warranted.

 

Fort Pitt Classic Cars

****** *********

, Owner

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the car replacement cover does resolve my complaint, but the business written response is incorrect.

 

 

Mr. ********* fails to acknowledge both he and his business were not proactive in resolving this matter. This failure begins with a lack of notification when FPCC destroyed my car cover.  It continued when I retrieved my vehicle without a mention my cover was torn.

I then gave FPCC an invoice to my car cover to assist with purchasing a replacement, two weeks pass without word from Mr. *********.  We meet on May 30th since I pursued Mr. ********* two days prior.  At this time Mr. ********* questioned me what was currently covering my vehicle and I mentioned I was using a car cover I owned from a different vehicle.

After this meeting no call or message from *** ********* occurred regarding the car cover being out-of-stock.

Side note:  I have purchased an estimated seven custom car covers and I can attest these are a special order item that will take at maximum three weeks to fill.  They ship immediately when/if in stock. If *** would have ordered the cover in late May, I would have had the cover by mid June.

This story exacerbates with denial that I attempted to contact *** June 19th, July 18th and July 30th.  I am simply speechless.  If possible we should contact *******.

*** did contact me six days after I filed the BBB complaint.  I did not hear from *** for nine weeks prior.

My father and I discussed my BBB complaint the evening before he visited *** *********.  *** never offered a temporary cover.  I had my personal temporary replacement, *** never suggested his services. This is moot.

I do live near FPCC.  I also work two office positions and freelance.  *** will understand. Time is money. If this matter could have only been resolved with my periodically and physically standing in FPCC over the course of nine weeks, there is a severe customer service problem.

I did receive a replacement car cover from *** *********. This cover was void of packaging material, shipping box, invoice, etc.  When I have time I will contact*** *** ***** **. to see when this order was made.

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contact this company 4 years ago to restore a 1969 Camaro. I received a signed agreement stating that this vehicle would be completed 1 year later. It is now 4 years later and the owner refuses to complete this vehicle. There were a number of issues that are left to repair in order to complete these vehicle. However, every time I have contact the owner "*** *********", he stated it would only be a few weeks longer. He stated this vehicle would be completed on atleast 10 different occasions over the past 4 years. None of which were true. I have nearly 100 emails that go back and forth promising this car would be completed. Roughly around 6 months ago I came to the shop to see that a number of mistakes have been made when restoring the vehicle. *** stated he would resolve these issues and was responsible for the charges since the job was not done right the first time. Out of frustration and the simple fact they he refused to complete this car, I told him I was going to pick this car up and have it completed at another shop. To my surprise he sent a bill totaling 4,835.53 for labor charges. He claims these charges are for fixing the issues that he first claimed he was responsible for. This is has an absolute nightmare and now he is resulting to downright criminal behavior. Please help me resolve this issue by getting my vehicle back without these extortion charges. Thank you for your help.

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle back. I refuse to pay the charges that I am not responsible for and did not agree to in no way shape or form.

Business Response: *** from company called BBB and indicated he spoke with you and the issue is being resolved. If this is not the case, please let BBB know asap.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Fort Pitt Classic Cars LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart