Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Total Systems Technology, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (412) 653-7690 Fax: (412) 653-7930 View Additional Phone Numbers 65 Terence Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15236 http://www.tst5k.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This corporation is a chemical manufacturer of protective coatings for automobile finishes, & fabrics.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Total Systems Technology, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Total Systems Technology, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Total Systems Technology, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1980 Business started: 10/01/1978
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles Piscatelli, President Mr. Thomas Sullivan, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Piscatelli, President
Principal: Mr. Thomas Sullivan, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO MANUFACTURERS EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES COMMERICAL PRODUCTS WHOLESALE & DISTRIBUTOR

Alternate Business Names
TST

Additional Locations

  • 55 Euclid Avenue

    Greensburg, PA 15601 (724) 834-3113

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    57 Locust Grove Rd

    York, PA 17402 (717) 840-3940

  • 65 Terence Dr

    Pittsburgh, PA 15236 (412) 653-7690 (800) 245-4828

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/21/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rust perforation was first noticed by me on October 1, 2015. As per my understanding of the coverage on my truck, I first noticed a small hole underneath the truck below the rear door. The warranty documentation that was given to me by *** ***** of ********** Pa., states that this would be covered by Total Systems Technology, Inc... The first paragraph of the warranty documentation states that their rust remedy is warranted to the original owner to protect treated metal surfaces on trucks up to 18 feet in length against rust perforations from the inside out. There were no other holes in the truck. To me rust perforation means a hole. It was located in an area where you would not see it unless you got below the truck. I am a 63 year old man with health problems. I do not go under my truck unless its absolutely necessary. I immediately contacted the *** ***** dealership where I purchased the truck. They told me that they no longer do business with TST. So I contacted the warranty company and spoke to Janell F*****. She instructed me to take my truck to one of their service locations. They proceeded to take pictures of of the whole truck. I was then informed they would not cover it. That I should have contacted them previously when I first noticed any rust. After trying to come to an understanding with TST, I was forced to go to an attorney. After sending a letter to TST , the attorney gave up the case because he said their was not enough money involved for him to take the case.

Desired Settlement: They said they informed the attorney that as a good will jester they would send him a $500 check. The attorney told me to call up and find out on my own what the offer is because he never received an offer to settle. I think they got me mixed up with somebody else, because they said I was belligerent on the phone and would only deal with the attorney. I would never lose my temper in a matter such as this. They are denying my claim as of this date. I am requesting the repair or similar remedy. The lowest estimate for the repair is $4700 .

Business Response:

Mr. ********* contacted TST regarding rust on his vehicle, a claim form was sent and received back at TST on 10/8/15.  An inspection of the truck was set at our ********** location and was completed on 11/4/15, signed inspection report and pictures were forwarded to TST Corporate.  A letter denying Mr. *********s claim was sent on 11/5/15, due to failure to notify TST within 30 days after deterioration becomes evident.  Mr. ********* said in his complaint that he noticed a small hole in his vehicle on 10/1/16, pictures from the inspection show huge holes and extensive rust that has been evident for quite a long time.  On 11/11/16 Mr. ********* called our office to discuss his claim, a $500 goodwill offer was made at that time, during the call Mr. ********* became belligerent and threatening to Ms. F***** who ended the call.   On 12/8/15 we received a letter from Mr. *********'s attorney, ****** ********,  outlining his complaint.  We responded to Mr. ********'s letter with the pictures of the truck and an explanation of TST warranty.  We also informed him that we would still honor the goodwill offer as long as communication was done thru him and not Mr. *********.   On 12/21/15 Mr. ********* contacted TST regarding the letter we had sent to his attorney, we told him we stand by the letter and the offer and we're waiting on a response.  Now, seven (7) months later Mr. ********* files a claim with you the BBB, I've attached the claim form, signed inspection report, pictures of vehicle, denial letter, Mr. ********'s letter, and our letter to Mr. ********.    Mr. ********* failed to even come close to meeting his obligation under the warranty which resulted in him voiding his warranty.  TST has no liability in this matter in our opinion.  The goodwill offer was made and rejected and is no longer an option.  (Please see attachments)

Sincerely,

Thomas Sullivan

General Manager

 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am in disbelief that they continue to say that I was belligerent with them concerning this matter.  Also they said that an offer was made to me which is also untrue.  The picture of the rust is a distorted image which they have used to prove their argument that I was negligent for not contacting them sooner.  The rust is beneath the vehicle as I explained to them earlier.  After they rejected my claim, I offered to Janell to take the truck to their main office in ******** ***** for them to look at.  She said that it was unnecessary because the insurance company had already rejected the claim.  I do not know who these people are, but I will never recommend or buy a vehicle with their warranty protection on it.  A comment which I remember Janelle saying to me when I first called her was most people get another  vehicle within 10 years after purchasing a new one.  I should have guessed they were going to fight this.  The warranty had no time limitation on it.  That is one of the reasons I bought the truck in the first place.  Shame on them  

**** *********

11/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've had my 2014 Sierra in twice now to make sure rust proofing was done correctly I feel that I've been ripped off and I am going to protest payment through credit card. Initially when I picked truck I pointed certain spots to *** He agreed with me.They talk like they are very sympathetic and will take care of it but after 2 times and being inconvenienced I had enough

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund

Business Response: Customer emailed me his displeasure with his rustproofing and undercoating application on 10/31/14.  We spoke with customer today to make arrangements to re-do his truck.  We are supplying customer with a rental car to accomodate his schedule and to keep his inconvenience to a minimum.  We are picking his vehicle up on Monday, November 10th, 2014 to complete his reapplication.  We will inspect the vehicle, address customer's areas of concern, respray those areas, touch up any other areas that may need sprayed.   

I apoligize for his inconveniece, we are doing everything possible to make sure customer is a completely satisfied.  TST has been protecting vehicles since 1978, with the highest rating the Better Business has.  We've accomplished this by providing the highest value to the consumer and by addressing any concerns of our valued customers. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Total Systems Technology, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)