Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lakeside Auto Sales Inc

Phone: (814) 898-2886 Fax: (814) 898-2254 4844 Buffalo Rd, Erie, PA 16510 http://www.writeitup.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used cars for sale.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lakeside Auto Sales Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lakeside Auto Sales Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lakeside Auto Sales Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 29, 2002 Business started: 01/01/2000 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD022595L.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andrew Gabler, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Gabler, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • 4844 Buffalo Rd

    Erie, PA 16510 (814) 898-2886

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my new car to Lakeside Auto (formerly Cramer Motors) for an oil change and its first tire rotation. I immediately noticed all four rims were damaged. There was a deep scratch down the side of the front right rim. Each lug nut hole was scraped from the tool they used to remove my lug nuts, some down to bare metal. I took the car back to the dealership and spoke to the manager/owner who assured me he would take care of this matter. The service manager gave me a loaner vehicle while they had an outside outfit repair the rims. The attempt to make them look brand new was botched to say the least. Before I took possession of my car I expressed to the service manager I was not happy with the repair work. She said that is all they could do. I called manager/owner several times to let him know I was not satisfied and he failed to return my calls. They did however, spray an obscene amount of grease on all of my door hinges to the point is was dripping down the door jambs onto the outside of the car. To my knowledge that is not necessary on a new car!! What a mess.

Desired Settlement: I would expect my car to look as good if not better than when i dropped it off. My rims need replaced and the grease needs cleaned up. And maybe no charge for the oil change.

Business Response: To whom it may concern, 

Ms. ******** brought her vehicle in for an oil change and tire rotation.

Ms. ******** brought to my General Manager, ***** ******** attention the issues as she stated.  He looked at the vehicle and told her he would review it with the service manager the following day.

I reviewed the customer complaint and although we don't feel we damaged the wheels, in an effort of goodwill and customer satisfaction I instructed my service manager to schedule the repairs as i saw Ms. ******** was a new customer to our dealership.

Ms. ******** was called, apologies made, and we scheduled for her wheels to be repaired by a specialized vendor.  Ms. ******** was given a courtesy car at this time.

The wheels were removed and sent to the specialized vendor for repair.  He stated that the wheels had been repaired prior to this.  We authorized the repairs and the wheels were returned a couple days later and reinstalled on the vehicle.  Ms. ******** picked up the vehicle.

Ms. ******** states she bought this vehicle "NEW", the Auto Check report that is attached shows this to not be the truth as it shows the vehicle was a previous "Rental/Fleet" vehicle and we suspect this was where the prior damage occurred. 

Attached are photos of the wheels after they were reinstalled on her vehicle and show"NO DAMAGE" when we returned it to her after repairing them.

At this time we don't feel that any measure of goodwill will satisfy and keep Ms. ******** a satisfied and returning Lakeside Chevrolet customer, therefore, Lakeside Chevrolet Buick will donate $100.00 on her behalf to a qualified 501C3 charity of her choice.


Sincerely, 

****** ** ******
President 

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began my search for a replacement vehicle at the Harborcreek Lakeside Auto location and I had been working with the finance manager **** *****. I chose a vehicle from the inventory at their newly acquired Cramer Motors dealership located in North East, PA and traded in my 2006 Nissan Maxima for the new vehicle. The vehicle was transferred to the Harborcreek location so that I may purchase the vehicle and sign all of the appropriate documentation. The original date that I took possession of the vehicle was February 8th, 2014. Since that day, I have been requested by Lakeside Auto to return to the dealership on four separate occasions to re-sign all of the loan and purchase documentation. Each time I would meet and re-sign the documentation, another error in the documentation seemed to be made resulting in the rejection of the documentation by my financing company, Widget Financial. I have been given multiple different reason as to why the documentation has been rejected each time. Loosing faith in the integrity of the Lakeside Auto dealership, I chose to contact my financing company directly as I have an excellent relationship with Widget Financial. I received information from Widget Financial that Lakeside Auto had not submitted required documentation such as pay check stubs and other information resulting in the continuous rejections. The 2006 Maxima that I used as a trade-in is currently financed by Widget Financial, and I chose to use Widget Financial to finance the new vehicle also. Because of the multiple errors in the loan documentation for the new replacement vehicle, Widget Financial has not received the pay-off for the 2006 Maxima. Because the payoff amount for my trade-in has not been received, Widget Financial has notified me that my bank account, debit cards, and all other assets will be frozen and that my loan is now severely delinquent. My credit report has also been impacted from the late status of my delinquent loan.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone who can make something happen for me, to own this situation and realize that myself as the consumer/customer is helpless and at the mercy of the dealerships practices. I am requesting that any and all negative effects such as credit bureau reporting, freezes on my liquid assists such as the cash in my bank accounts be released. I then feel that I should be offered additional services in an attempt to repair our obviously damaged relationship. Services such as oil changes.

Business Response:

Lakeside Auto Sales Inc. has resolved any and all issues regarding this complaint.
 

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had bought a Vehicle from the dealer, from day one the engine light came on. I took it in had the code read and it was misfiring. They told me if it did it again they would take care of it. Engine light came on again for the same misfire. I took it back in for the light again and also for some concerns with transmission (hard shift/slipping) and the fluid being very dark and riddled with metal filings. All they did was clear the code and tell me the fluid was "a little dirty" ,it was almost black! They said we are not doing anything for the misfire because it is not under warranty.Not satisfied with the explanation for the fluid I took the truck into the crysler dealer to have it flushed. The garage refused the flush the system due to it being under warranty they told me take it back to the dealer.After two days of trying to make contact with a manager I finally made an appointment for the engine light being on AGAIN, and the transmission issues AGAIN, They put the light out said we aren't doing anything about that its not under warranty, even though its the same issue since day one. they did change the filter for the transmission and gave a generic explanation of the hard shift and slip.All in all I'm very unsatisfied with the after care.

Desired Settlement: All I want is the issues I've been having resolved, all the problems I've been having since day one fixed, and the reassurance that I'm going to have good dependable vehicle for years to come and not a $14,000 hunk of junk that I'm going to have to dump thousands into.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,
Mr. ******* purchased (1) **** ***** ******* ************************ from Lakeside Auto Sales Inc. on November 21st, 2013, at which time Mr. ******* bought the 
 vehicle in question, it was sold with a 3 month/3 thousand mile limited power train warranty. Several days after Mr. ******* purchased, he called Lakeside Auto stating his 
"check engine" light came on,  He was then made an appointment for December 9th, 2013,When Mr. ****** brought in his vehicle, he indicated that his "check engine" light
had gone off the day before, Lakeside did however scan his vehicle and informed after the vehicle had been diagnosed, and that it had a random misfire. Mr. ******* called 
again at the end of January stating he was having a problem with a hard shift in the vehicle, Lakeside Made him an appointment on January 30th, 2014. Lakeside diagnosed 
Mr. *******'s transmission problem as a "hard shift" due to extreme cold temperatures, Lakeside also performed a transmission flush as a matter of "Good Will"  because of
 Mr. ******** concerns. If there are any future concens, please feel free to contact me at any time.
Sincerely,
**** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* *******

 

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service