This business is not BBB accredited.

Harry's Auto Sales

Phone: (814) 382-3239 Fax: (814) 382-3240 14476 Conneaut Lake Rd, Meadville, PA 16335


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Auto Dealers - Used Cars 


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Harry's Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Harry's Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is MV063466L.

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Harry Bish, Owner Ms. Wendy Bish, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harry Bish, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Wendy Bish, Partner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Harry's Auto

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14476 Conneaut Lake Rd

    Meadville, PA 16335 (814) 382-3239

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have I don't know how many times brought it up that it acts up and they can't seem to fix it when I take it in. I have had it towed five times now because it jerks and just stalls out on me. I can't be paying for it to be towed then make the payment. I need it fixed so I can feel safe to have my eight month old in it. Then they say "bring it in when it does it", it normally does it at night when they are closed.

Desired Settlement: I would just like to have it repaired then I will make the payments. For the harassment phone calls and text to stop.

Business Response:

8/21/2015 ID ********


Harry's Auto Sales and Service ***** ******** **** *** ********** ** *****

To whom it may concern,

Customer purchased a 2006 Pontiac G-6 on March 3rd, 2015 for $7,295.00 with $795.00 down plus DOC/State fees. Payments were set up for $70.00 every Saturday.

****** had an appointment March 26th, 2015; complaint was check engine light was on. The car ran good. On June 2nd, 2015, customer stated there was a hesitation and the vehicle bucked but only on rainy nights. We were unable to duplicate the problem. Car ran good. On June 10th, 2015 customer had appointment for a free oil change, they had no complaints.

As to the statement of phone calls, they are reminders that the customer had/has payments due. She is currently $420.00 behind with a new payment due on or before August 22nd, 2015. When we call her about payments she responds that her hours at work were cut and what is she supposed to do. Our reply is make arrangements to make the payments on time.

Lastly, the car has never been towed to us. It is unknown to us where the vehicle is being towed to.

Thank You,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

****** *******

4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: took my vehicle that i purchased from them , there to get fixed.was called at home told me the vehicle was done went to pick it up they told me that it was only an estimate.they told that it was safe to drive for now thati could bring it back the next day.the estimate was for over 600 dollars i drove the vehicle 45 miles and the axle broke.i have another shop estimate same parts and labor for 330. the servicemanager is a pill popper and lied to us several times.a mechanic that works there told me they never even took of the tire and inspect the part.i had to have the vehicle towed 45 miles and getting it fixed somewhere else i was told wen we bought the vehicle that we had a 1 year warrenty. now they say it was only 6 months

Desired Settlement: i think i should be reimburst for the tow bill and the repair

Business Response:

In regards to the complaint submitted on 2/26/2015 4:04:23 PM ID of ********, the customer purchased a 2003 *** ***** VIN# ***************** on July 8fh, 2014 with 129,475 miles. She also received a used car limited warranty, which stated that we, the dealer, would pay 50% of the labor and 50% of the parts for six months or 6,000 miles, whichever occurred first, which is included in the purchase price of $7,295.00. On 9/17/14 the customer had a service appointment for a free oil change. On the 17th of September 2014 the odometer reading was 133,504, On 2/24/15 the customer had a second service appointment for a free oil change and also to check for a customer complaint that she described as a tire vibration. On the 24th of February 2015 the odometer reading was 142,034 which put her out of warranty for the vibration concern. The customer was also given an estimate on 2/24/15 for the vibration which she declined to have serviced because she was out of warranty, and she would have to pay the full cost of parts and labor. It was not stated that the vehicle was safe to drive or not safe to drive. Also, my auto technicians do not discuss the servicing of vehicles with customers; nothing was stated to the customer, from any of my employees, about tires or inspecting parts.

In regards to the allegation of illegal activity, this is a malicious lie that I believe is based on charges being filed for harassment and stalking against the customer’s paramour who is a former employee,

Since this complaint was filed the customer has returned the vehicle to us for non-payment on 3/4/15 and for reference the odometer reading was 142,117. The repossession was reported to the local state police and a repossession letter was mailed on 3/4/15.


 


9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service