BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Dave Smith Auto?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service of new and used automobiles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dave Smith Auto meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dave Smith Auto include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 09/01/2007 in PA Business under new ownership as of: 08/01/2007
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Smith, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS


Additional Locations

  • 12827 Frankstown Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15235 (412) 244-1030

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 251-8653(Phone)
  • (877) 870-0194(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 03/23/13 test drove van with daughter. van not inspected at time. Gave $1000 to hold van and trade was being offered. Given a 90 day warranty. Told pick up car in a fews days after inspection. 03/27/13 bought van drove to store and home called Dave Smith Back to inform of noise that didn't exist when test driving it. Then noticed rear wiper won't stay on glass interior light blown, then smelling of smoke and fluttering noise when I would acceralate. Told steering noise I heard was rack n pinion told $100 deductible and would fix other issues set a date to get things fixed. On 04/09/13 rack n pinion replaced other minor things I thought were fixed. Loaner jeep given being needed for more than a day. But after all that steering noise still there. Then another noise added when I would drive. rear wiper still would not stay down. called dave back to mention issues. Told give a few days and if not ok came back. Worried took to my mechanic. Who fixed wiper and noted issues. Noise is missing a bolt from rack being placed. then rt steering bello twisted, front bearing plates need replaced, lf stabilizer and front emergency brake broken which i though if inspected why not caught. Dave made aware and fixed some things and had to pay another $100 for emergency brake. That first date 05/04/13 was completely done. Brought again took days without another loaner at first. Plus initial noise still there. Made dave aware again told bring back but felt at this point need it done right. So had my mechanic fix and paid that bill. Wrote a letter attached bill stating I'm grateful for you kindness and loaners at time but needed the job done right and noise was finally gone. Asked if I could have been reimbursed the difference of $379.79 bill as if a deductible. Never heard from dave. Disappointed now still other noises they stated fixed such as the fluttering returning slowly. Feel maybe in inspection things were caught and I wasnt told. I feel I have a lemon I need to make payments on with regret.

Desired Settlement: Initial rack n pinion didn't fix the noise I mentioned, and emergency brake should have been caught during inspection I believe I would like refunds for that. The time I lost being in older used loaners and the weekend without one that all plans had to be cancelled if only the repairs my mechanic had mentioned were done I would like a refund for work my mechanic did. So the total refund amount would be $579.79.Too many issues for just financing a van the same day I signed I'm still disappointed.

Business Response:

We would like to address the complaint made on 6/28/13, ID of *******.

The customer bought a 2005 ***** ***** ******* from our used car inventory. After taking delivery, she noticed issues with the vehicle. In April, she brought it back for service. The invoices showing the work we completed are attached. We drove the . customer home while the work was being performed. You can see by the work performed we tried to accommodate the customer by doing a lot of work at NO charge.

In May, the customer brought the vehicle back for additional service. Again we performed service on the vehicle, charging only for the part needed. NO charge for the technicians work.

In the mean time, the customer, chose to take her vehicle to another service station for repairs. We are not able to pay for repairs made by another dealer. Any repairs or problems she would have encountered would have, gladly, been made here.

We offered her to bring the vehicle back and we would work with her; but she declined. We will give her a $ 100.00 credit to come back to use our facility.

Consumer Response:

When I test drove the 2005 van no issues existed. Now the vehicle needed inspected. I was told to leave a deposit and they would inspect it and in a few days I could finalize the deal. While handling the paper work my personal items were moved from my van to the newer one without asking me. But let it go. Then drove home less than 10 minutes away. Noticed a noise called the dealer told to bring it in then mentioned other issues I didn't notice that one sliding door doesn't slide with button, wiper blade will not remain on the glass, interior light out. Told to bring in when I could. Then few days later another noise appeared and burning smell. So mentioned all this to the shop. Told rack n pinion needed so need to make another appt to handle and will fix minor things. Fine set appt things handled paid the $100 deductible. But after that was paid and noise still there I was upset. Then the burning smell  and other noise taken away was great but never told what they were. Wiper blade still wouldn't remain down but interior light replaced. Then a new noise was added. I call shop once I got home and told give a few days and if still there make another appt. Now I didn't feel safe hearing the noise so took van to get looked over and he wrote of list of things that needed repaired even emergency brake, a bolt missing from repair done with rack, noise was strut plates. The only thing my shop repaired was the rear wiper blade. Advised of this made another appt some things fixed but again steering noise still exist and emergency brake needed repaired and I had to pay though I thought should have been caught during their inspection. To make this shorter. I feel I paid for a rack I didn't need and emergency brake should have been caught and fixed during inspection so should have paid for that either. Then finally my shop got rid of the actual noise which was mentioned to the dealer that they felt wasn't the issue but it was. If all done right I should have just paid $100 deductible and been squared away not over $500 between two shops. I still would prefer a refund if anything $100 for the rack not needed for the noise and $100 for the emergency brake that should have been caught during inspection. I will have to take the loss of the remaining done at the other shop though so soon shouldn't have had any issues. So now I will accept a $200.00 refund not a credit back to the shop. Again all were kind and helpful with all matters but repairs didn't work out and a lot of money spent and time lost. Even now the odd noise as reappeared and have no clue what it is and sad.

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1