Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Dave Smith Auto

Phone: (412) 244-1030 View Additional Phone Numbers 12827 Frankstown Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15235 http://davesmithauto.net/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service of new and used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dave Smith Auto include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dave Smith Auto
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 06/01/2007 in PA Business under new ownership as of: 08/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD030857.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dave Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Smith, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS

Industry Tips
Auto Repair Auto Service Contracts

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12827 Frankstown Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15235 (412) 244-1030

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On oct 21 2014 I purchased a Nissan Altima 2005 from *******'s **** **** in North Versailles PA. The vehicle was moved from *******'s to Dave Smith's **** **** in Penn Hills Pa. To complete my paperwork and get its state inspection with Ed the salesman. Before the inspection was completed i specifically asked Ed to make sure the bottom of the car was not rusted. Due to a matter a family member was going through. Ontop of the fact that i was 4.5 months pregnant at the time i discuss some concerns for my safety for me, my daughter and my unborn child. Ed stated he did check along with have the problems fixed and that everything was taken care of (his words you are safe everything is fine). My brother ****** was present he is my witness to this. I went to take my vehicle to get its yearly inspection at Darryl' s Shop in North Versailles Nov.4 2015 at 8am. The mechanic approached me and asked did I just buy this car. Due to the low mileage on the car. I explained to the mechanic i have not drove the car much, but to doctors appointments and physical therapy due to having two major surgeries back to back. He then stated the cradle needed replaced. I asked him was this something I need to report under warranty or is this normal wear and tear. The mechanics exact words were this is not normal wear and tear. This car should not have past inspection last year. I feel like the person who inspected this car last year at Dave Smith's. Deliberately and intentionally put me, my kids and my family members life at risk and in harms way. Who ever did this has a extreme disregard for human life because this car should not have past inspection. Nor should it have even been moved off the car lot until the proper work was completed. Which was repairing the bottom rusted part of the car. Nobodies life is worth jeopardizing any shape and our form of money is not worth someone's life. You can't put a price tag on someone's life. I feel that making a sale was more important then my life and my kids life. Not only should this issue had been addressed early on, but they also had numerous times to address this issue. Being they did my paperwork over three different times on three different occasions. All I want is the work to be completed the correct way. I should not be at fault for something that was clearly looked over.

Desired Settlement: I feel the company is at fault for not completing the work and putting myself and my kids life at stack. I would like for all the work that should had been completed in the beginning to be done the correct way.

Business Response: We inspected a 2005 Nissan Altima last year, after a year later she called and told us that the cradle was
rusted and could not get her vehicle inspected somewhere else.
We asked her to come in so we could took at vehicle.
She brought her vehicle in, we looked at it and determined that the cradle was rusted and we offered to
replace it with a used cradle at NO CHARGE, both the cradle and labor at NO CHARGE just to try and
help. We performed a State and Emissions inspection on the Nissan and determined that it needed a
brake light bulb, control arm and a flex pipe adapterto pass inspection.
She has a warranty on the vehicle and the warranty company is paying for the control arm and labor, the
other items total $141.18, the customer is responsible for a $100 deductible through the warranty
company plus the other two items totaling $241.18.
We did not charge for the State Inspection or the labor to change the bulb, or the cradle, or the labor to
change the cradle.
I think we have been more than fair in trying to help.
Sincerely,

Dave S****

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dave Smith Auto
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)