Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

B & B Motors & Auto Center

Phone: (724) 282-8888 Fax: (724) 282-8030 2118 William Flynn Hwy, Butler, PA 16001 http://www.bandbmotors.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of used cars & trucks, state inspection, detailing, towing, repair facility, plus total automotive care.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that B & B Motors & Auto Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for B & B Motors & Auto Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on B & B Motors & Auto Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 14, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is MV091411L.

Business Management
Mr. Brian Ferne, President Mr. Robert Ferne, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Ferne, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Industry Tips
Auto Repair Auto Service Contracts

Additional Locations

  • 2118 William Flynn Hwy

    Butler, PA 16001 (724) 282-8888

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 23, 2014, I bought a 2005 Chevy truck for $14,000 total with a one year/15,000 mile warranty.Took truck back on 8/15 for braking system repairs as well as headlight for an extra $150. Headlight was not fixed. *** from B & B said I never told him. It has not even been three months and this is what is wrong with the truck:1. Brakes and rotors need replaced; 2.Driver headlight is still falling out; 3. Tire is making a rubbing type noise when turning; 4. Service air bag light is on; 5. Right license plate light is broken; 6.Power windows are starting to stick; and 7, Console is broken which I knew when I bought it. *** from B & B offered to charge me to look it over (which he said his mechanic did prior to me purchasing the truck and everything supposedly was fine) but I do not feel that I should have to pay even more money for problems that I did not cause in less then three months. B & B should pay for, at the very least, the headlight, brakes and rotors, fix what is causing the tire turning problem, and the air bag. *** even admitted to me on the phone 10/14 that they "very well could have" put new brakes on bad rotors. He even admitted he never saw rotors go bad in a couple months. The rotors were bad when they sold me the truck and bad when the truck was in on 8/15. I completely understand that I will need to service the truck for wear and tear, but not in less then three months.

Desired Settlement: Fix, at their expense, what is wrong with the truck that they know I could have not possible caused in three months. 1. Brakes and rotors2. Tire Turning problem3. Headlight4. Air bag

Business Response:

I have received your letter concerning **** *********** and the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado.

I've had several conversations with *** in the last week concerning ****'s truck issues.

First of all, I purchased this truck on 1-31-2014 with 105,746 miles on it. Since the purchase, I have spent $2427.94 on parts and labor to insure that this vehicle not only passed PA state inspection, but that everything worked and was 100% road worthy at the time of sale. **** purchased this truck on 7-23-2014 with 105,949 miles on it. 203 miles were put on from the time I purchased it until the time **** purchased it. We and **** knew that the truck operated 100% at the time of purchase.

As far at the problems that **** has brought to your attention, the front brakes were at 6/32 when we inspected it. 2/32 meets state minimum. New is approximately 12/32, depending on the manufacturer of the pads. As pads wear, they create brake dust and when they get close to discard, a brake squeal would be evident to indicate that rotor damage may soon occur; if not immediately replacing the pads. This vehicle weighs 5185 lbs. It is unknown to us how much weight has been in the truck during ****'s ownership or how many miles have been put on after her purchase. All things considered, brakes wear, noises occur and mechanical parts need replaced sooner or later, especially when there are indicators to prompt attention.

 

 

 

 

As far as the headlight goes, all lights worked at the time of delivery and all lights worked on 8- 15-14 when **** brought the truck to our shop. We have no idea what she means with it needing something.

 

 

 

 

Tire rubbing noise is a new item that we were unaware of and the air bag light and rear license plate light being broken are also items we knew nothing about, but I assure you that all things worked and were intact on 8-15-2014 when we last checked her vehicle.

?

I am saddened when people have problems with vehicles, but as we all know they are not built to last forever. Things wear and electrical items can and will quit working at any time.

We did not build this truck, however we did spend $2427.94 on it to ensure safety and reliability to the best of our ability. Being 10 years old and with over 105,000 miles, things are going to wear our and electrical items can and will stop functioning at any time . At the time of purchase, **** had the option of choosing a much more comprehensive warranty, She declined its purchase. At the time of purchase, **** acknowledged that B & B Motors owed her nothing and the only warranty was on the Drive Train (engine, transmission and operating gears). She also acknowledged that any repairs other than warranted items,(through the warranty company), were her responsibility.

If I had a crystal ball, I would avoid customers that think and act like **** has. The responsibility with the maintenance and the necessary repairs that are required since 7-23-2014 are clearly hers. The language she has used on *** and on my phone recorder are evident to me that she is upset with herself and wants to blame us for her lack of knowledge of vehicles and what is required to maintain them.

I have enclosed copies of the signed documents at time of purchase for your review. Also I have made two attempts to contact **** since your letter, but no response.

?
Please feel free to call me if I can be of further assistance.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on B & B Motors & Auto Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)