BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Washington Chevrolet?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Auto Dealers - New Cars 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Washington Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Washington Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1985 Business started: 06/01/1985 in PA Business under new ownership as of: 10/01/2007 Business incorporated: 10/01/2007 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Patrick J DeCuir, President Mr. Dave McGrogan, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick J DeCuir, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Dave McGrogan, Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • 1 Raymond Blvd

    Washington, PA 15301 (724) 222-2800 (724) 825-4048

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (724) 825-4048(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The rear suspension went bad in my 2008 ***** ***** (only 5 years old). I have not driven my car roughly through any rough roads or had been in any auto accidents. Nothing has happened to wear out the suspension. I called the GM Headquarters, they referred me to a local dealer to have the suspension check over. I took the car in to be checked. The service dept would not admit nor would they DENY that there was a defect in the rear suspension but said the entire rear suspension (including the housing) had to be replaced. I was also told by them that they could not say that it was not normal wear & tear on the vehicle. I have also had other mechanics look at the suspension and they believe the suspension is defective. Despite this, General Motors Headquarter called me this morning (December 6, 2013) to tell me they will not cover the charges for the repair (they claim there is no defect). The Dealer priced the repair at over $1200.00.

Desired Settlement: Vehicle repaired with no cost to me.

Business Response:

In regards to BBB complaint #******* ******* *******

On December 3, 2013, Washington Chevrolet agreed to inspect******* ********* 2008 ********* ***** with a complaint of rear end suspension noise. We agreed also to waive the diagnosis fee for this repair. General Motors customer assistance center called us to assist ******* with an appointment for her concern. General Motors stated they would not assist the customer with the cost of diagnosis or repair. The vehicle had no history of repairs or attempted repairs at our facility. The vehicle has no GM factory warranty remaining. We agreed to inspect her 2008 ***** at her convenience. After speaking to *******, I told her that we would bring the car in the shop and address her complaint, with a no charge diagnosis. Our service technician completed the diagnosis while ******* waited and the service manager explained the findings. She declined the services we recommended. She stated that General Motors needed to pay and she did not have the money to repair the vehicle.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011, I paid to have a mechanism in my 2007 Chevy Trailblazer driver's side door replaced, due to malfunction as a result of moisture. The total cost was almost $500. This was a recurring problem for certain types of Trailblazers, and they finally issued a recall. In February 2013 I received a notice of the recall, which said I am entitled to repayment of the cost of those repairs. I called my local dealership where the work was completed, and they filled out the appropriate paperwork electronically with the information in their system. At the time the service manager told me that it generally takes some time to process, but I should have the check by the end of March. He told me if I did not have it by the end of March to contact them. Since that time, I have called repeatedly. When I talk to them, they can't tell me what is holding up the payment. When I leave a message there is no return call (the issue started with the service manager telling me he'd check this out and call me right back, which he did not do...I had left several unreturned messages, then finally reached him, and he told me that it looks like the check's been issued...aka the check is in the mail). The most recent I've talked to them was the middle of the prior week. They told me it looks like it's been paid and the check should be on the way...this also was not true, as it's been over a week and it is still not here. This is work that had to be done at the dealership because it was "dealer only" part. Washington Chevy would NEVER stand for such late payment, I'm wondering why it is standard policy for them to make their customers wait for a refund of money they never should have had to pay to them. I would like to receive this refund sooner than much later. Whatever the money issue is with Washington Chevy, I can guarantee that it is a shared problem, and that it does NOT take 2 months to process a refund that is owed. This time lag has been inexcusable and a sign of a larger problem at this dealership.

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund owed to me asap.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

I appreciate that the dealership has record of 'doing their part' in this matter, but they supplied an image of a check dated 3/12/2013...it is now 4/26/2013 and I still do not have this check. I would appreciate it if they actually sent the check. Washington Chevrolet would have no problem sending a customer account to collection if they were to wait this long to pay them, there is no ethical way to justify this delay.

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

Consumer Response:

In the response from Washington Chevrolet General Sales Manager there is a copy of a check - when I had first seen the attachment, I did not realize that this was actually a copy of the cancelled check (I did not see the back of the check below the front). There is a forged signature of mine on this check, and another signature underneath - I do not know this individual, and have no idea where/how they would have got the check. I have no reason to believe there was ever any mail stolen from my mailbox, and have never had any issues with people stealing mail in the past. I have attached several examples of my signature to this response.

Once I realized that the attachment showed a cleared check, I reported the instance to the **** ** ********** ****** **********. A report was opened 4/29/2013 regarding this situation. I advised Washington Chevrolet that a report was opened and this should be reported to their bank:

 

"*****,  

 

A police report has been filed with the **** ** ********** ****** ****** today to assist you in your investigation. That is all I can do to help you.  

 

A fraud/forgery notice will need to be filed with your bank; the investigation needs to begin with them, as they are the only party that will know where this check was cashed. You’ll need to work with them to get that issue resolved. In the meantime I would appreciate the reimbursement due to me. I have no reason to believe this check was taken from my mailbox, however I will be available to pick one up at the dealership in person to avoid any further complications. 

 

Please advise. 

 

***** ******" 

Response from Washington Chevrolet regarding the above was that they were not going to reissue the check unless the bank reimburses them first (see below). I take issue with the fact that this check is not being reissued. I have no reason to think the check was ever actually mailed, when I have to go to the BBB in order to get a clear reply in the first place. 

"*** ******, we have contacted our bank to research the check that was mailed to you. Once they investigate this situation and advise us of any repayment, we will contact you for reimbursement. Thank you. 

  

***** ** ********
GENERAL SALES MANAGER
WASHINGTON CHEVROLET
*************

Thank you,

***** ******

Business Response:

In reference to complaint #*******, as we stated before, once our bank investigates this situation we would reimburse the customer. As of 10:00 a.m. Wednesday May 1, 2013, we received notification from our bank that they would reimburse us after their investigation so we could reissue a check to the customer. At approximately 1:00 p.m. Wednesday May 1, 2013, we prepared and delivered a replacement check to our bank for the customer. Also, a fraud/forgery form needed to be signed by the customer. The bank contacted the customer to verify all information and have him come to the bank to receive his check and sign the needed form(s). We received the original complaint without knowledge that the check had never been received by the customer. Since that first notice, we have followed through with this complaint daily. As of Wednesday May 1, 2013, at approximately 4:00 p.m., the customer received and cashed his replacement check at our local bank. Thank you. 

 

 

***** ** ********

General Sales Manager 

Washington Chevrolet 

************ ***************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I worked with ********* **** to sign the appropriate documentation and was able to get the check. I do take issue with the fact that Washington Chevrolet claims they followed up with this issue "daily", as I called repeatedly couldn't even get a return call in most instances - it became very clear that no answers would be given unless they were pressed. That is why the complaint was raised in the first place. I appreciate the attention to this matter given by the BBB and ********* ****.

Regards,

 

***** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.