Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Three Rivers Volkswagen

Phone: (866) 243-9606 Fax: (724) 941-9632 View Additional Phone Numbers 3694 Washington Rd, Mcmurray, PA 15317 http://www.3riversvw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a car dealership.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Three Rivers Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Three Rivers Volkswagen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Three Rivers Volkswagen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 10, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1996 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD025553.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is MV154453L.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Bauer, Sales Manager Ms. Kathi Tennant, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Bauer, Sales Manager
Principal: Ms. Kathi Tennant, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Products & Services

Three Rivers Volkswagen sells the following brand(s): VOLKSWAGEN

Three Rivers Volkswagen offers the following product(s): USED CARS

Method(s) of Payment
VISA, MASTERCARD, AMERICAN EXPRESS, PERSONAL CHECKS
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Auto Service Contracts

Additional Locations

  • 3694 Washington Rd

    Mcmurray, PA 15317 (724) 941-6100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was experiencing issues with the shifting on my 2013 Volkswagen GTI. It would not go into gear easily. I had *** tow it to Three Rivers Volkswagen because the car was dangerous to drive and Three Rivers was the closest dealership. I received a call from Three Rivers, telling me they determined the issue was with my clutch. They told me that the cost of the repairs would be $2,105.17, with tax, $2,257.98. I authorized the work and paid for the parts and labor over the phone via my debit card. Two days later, I was told that my car was ready to be picked up. I drove the car home and after roughly two days, I realized that the car was not driving properly and that the clutch pedal was "grabbing" an inch off of the floor. The car was also having problems going into second gear. I called Three Rivers and reported the problems and they told me to bring the car back. I returned the car and they determined that it was a faulty part that was causing the issue after their first repair. I picked up my car for a second time and a day later, I noticed the same issues with my clutch again. I called them to report the problems and left a message on Saturday, June 6, 2015 that I wanted a call back the following Monday, June 8, 2015 first thing in the morning. When I had not received a call from them by 11:00 A.M on Monday, June 8, 2015, I called Volkswagen Corporate. I spoke to VW Corporate about the situation and they scheduled my vehicle to be looked at by #1 ******* VW of ***** ***** on Tuesday, June 9, 2015. When I dropped the car off at #1 *******, I witnessed the service representative stall my car twice while he was attempting to drive it into the service area. When he came back, he told me that there was definitely an issue with my clutch and not with my driving. After two weeks of my car being at #1 ******* and me without a loaner car, I received a call from Volkswagen Corporate telling me that my car was ready for pickup. I picked up the car and was not charged for the additional repairs. Upon reviewing the repair documents from #1 *******, it was determined by them that faulty workmanship was conducted at Three Rivers Volkswagen. Their report indicated that 3 out of 6 bolts were found to be loose, a bolt was missing from a part, bolts were found to be cross-threaded and my tires were put on backwards. After speaking with Volkswagen Corporate a few days later, a representative, asked me if I had any additional concerns. I told her that I was concerned about the report from #1 ******* in terms of the issues that they had found with my car. She told me that the mechanic from #1 ******* VW, who wrote the report, went into "too excessive" detail and that there was a second report written. She told me that the mechanic from Three Rivers VW never removed my tires; thus, making the initial report from #1 ******* invalid. I then proceeded to ask her how the mechanic was able to replace my clutch if the tires were never taken off. She then said that she "misspoke." This whole experience has been totally disappointing. The service from Three Rivers Volkswagen was atrocious. Some of my phone calls weren't returned in a timely manner. The total cost of repairs/parts from Three Rivers Volkswagen was higher than #1 ******* VW in every category. The representatives and managers at Three Rivers Volkswagen made me feel as though I was the one who had done something wrong. Volkswagen Corporate made me feel the same way as well. It appeared that no one took my complaints or issues seriously. I was given a loaner car for approximately 4 days out of the total month that I did not have my car. After unsatisfactory attempts were made in correcting the issues with my car, I called Three Rivers Volkswagen and stated I would be going to the BBB. I received a voicemail back from the owner of Three Rivers Volkswagen in which he spoke in an arrogant and condescending tone in regards to my going to the BBB and my complaints about his dealership. My car was given back to me two times with the determination that it was in proper functioning order and it wasn't. After looking at the report from #1 *******, my car and life were at risk driving the car the way I received it from Three Rivers Volkswagen. I would be glad to provide copies of the reports for your review.

Desired Settlement: I would like reimbursed for the total $2,257.98 amount that I had paid for the poor and unsatisfactory services performed. This amount is what was shown being charged from Three Rivers Volkswagen on my bank statement.

Business Response:

In response to complaint #********.

The customer had the vehicle towed in and 5/13/2015 with the vehicle not shifting out of 3rd gear. We determined the clutch assembly failed. We quoted and received authorization to perform the repairs on 5/14. Completing the repairs test driving then released on the 15th. The vehicle was brought back in on 5/28 with concerns of not shifting properly. We rechecked the function and determined replaced part failure. The service warranty which is 1 year or 12,000 miles covered the failed component. It was replaced and the vehicle was released on 6/2.

On Saturday 6/6 the customer called in at 11:54 leaving a message that stating the vehicle was not shifting properly and needed a call back on Monday. At 8:30am Monday morning the call was returned to the customer but no answer, we left a message. At 11:06 the customer called in again leaving a message, we returned call at 11:20 with no answer and left another message. At 3:34 the customer called in stating he got the message and was returning the call. The advisor then called him back at 3:40 with no answer, the customer called back at 3:50 leaving a message that he was on another call and could not answer. We tried also later that day and I called myself at 4:30 with no answer. The next thing we heard is that the vehicle is at the ******* store being checked.

When the customer paid for the initial repairs, the paid repairs came with a 1 year or 12,000 miles warranty. Which covers workmanship and manufacturers defects. Because ******* determined it was a workmanship concern, Three Rivers Volkswagen paid for the repairs from *******. This is why the customer was not charged for any of the services, we paid for them. Since the warranty for the paid repairs has not been breached, reimbursement is not necessary.


 

 

 


Consumer Response: In regards to the response given by Three Rivers VW,  I am not here to debate phone calls.  I am here to debate the quality and assurance they provide in terms of their repairs and services department.  I have attached the three reports I received; 2 being from Three Rivers VW and 1 being from #1 *******.  As you can see in the attached reports, it shows the total amount of parts and labor and services provided by both companies.  From what I have experienced with Three Rivers VW, it seems as though they charge a high premium on parts and labor, however, they supplement that with unsatisfactory workmanship.  If you reference all three documents herein, you will notice that I was charged more in every category from Three Rivers than I was by #1 *******, including labor.  It appears as though in their response to my initial complaint that they are condoning their lackluster and quite frankly, unacceptable services.  If you reference the #1 ******* report it states that, "3 of 6 pressure plate bolts were loose. Guide pin on flywheel also fell out.  Replaced complete clutch assembly including flywheel and slave cylinder due to uneven wear.  Also had to replace drivers side axle flange and transmission mount with bolts due to damage and cross threaded threads.  All four directional tires were also installed backwards.  Rotated left tires to right to correct issue. There has been no parts failure due to manufacturing..."  I think #1 *******'s report says everything you need to know about the condition my car was given to me from Three Rivers VW.  If you reference the reports from Three Rivers VW, it states that my car was test driven and it was "OK."  The way I received my car from them was exactly the same way it felt when I took it to #1 ******* and the mechanic immediately told me that something was definitely wrong with my clutch.  I find it very hard to understand how I receive a car twice from one VW service department telling me that my car is in proper functioning order, only to take my car, unchanged, to another VW service center and get 2 very contrasting reports.  With the way my car was given to me from Three Rivers VW I could have been in a serious accident as well as damaged my car or hurt someone else.  It shows the pompous philosophies of Three Rivers VW to not only provide faulty work, over charge their customers, and pawn their poor services off to another dealership, but to make the consumer appear as though they had done something wrong.  Also, in regards to their response, the reason that the vehicle was taken to #1 ******* was because I wasn't going to risk my life or someone else's or the functioning of my car, so that Three Rivers VW could work on my car for a third time.  And I'm glad I didn't.  So with my above written response, I am profoundly rejecting their response.

Regards,

**** ******

10/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In mid-April of 2014, I purchased a 2012 Volkswagen Jetta SE from Three Rivers Volkswagen (3694 Washington Road McMurray, PA 15317) with 22,537 miles and a VIN number: *****************. At the time of purchase, the vehicle was advertised by the sales staff as certified pre-owned and assured me that since the only previous owner had leased the vehicle, all of the parts within the vehicle were up to manufacturers standards and still covered under the manufacturers warranty. Unfortunately, I found that this was not the case. On September 20th, 2014, I began hearing a troublesome noise coming from the engine of my vehicle. Upon further investigation, I discovered that the serpentine belt had begun to deteriorate and was on the verge of snapping. At this time, my vehicle only had 29,961 miles on the odometer. I had my vehicle towed to the nearest Volkswagen service center at the time for further investigation and repair, which happened to be in Fairfax, VA (***** ******* ***** ******** ** *****). Initially, the service center informed me that the service would be covered by the manufacturers warranty. The next day, I received a call from the dealership informing me that there had been an installation of an after-market tuner crankshaft which voided the warranty, and as such I would be responsible for covering all costs out of pocket. To add further dismay to the situation, I was also told that the car had many other parts that would not be covered under warranty should there be any issues, and that these parts would continue to cause mechanical problems within the vehicle. Adding insult to injury, I was also told (in the opinion of the dealership) that these parts were of a third party brand and appeared to have been installed by an amateur. I have made no modifications to this vehicle and it has only been to a service center (always a VW Service Center) two times: once for a break-down in April of 2014 and once for the 3 year/30,000 mile regular maintenance check. To my satisfac

Desired Settlement: I no longer trust the integrity or value of service provided by Volkswagen to its customers. To resolve this problem, I would like one of two things to occur:a.The option to have a full refund on all repair costs paid ($158.51)towards this vehicle that were a result of these aftermarket parts which voided my warranty, and completion of all repairs necessary to ensure that my manufacturers warranty is still valid. This is to include the replacement of the third party crank pulley and all other relevant third party parts. I would also like reimbursed for the moneys paid and personal inconvenience suffered during a 3 day wait for the vehicle to be repaired ($500.00). b.The option to receive a vehicle of equal or greater value to the MSRP of my vehicle at the time of purchase ($17,872.26), including the refund of all repairs Ive been forced to pay as a result of the aftermarket parts which voided my warranty, and all monthly warranty fees and vehicle payments made refunded and applied as

Business Response:

I would first like to thank you for bringing any and all concerns to our attention. In order to maintain our reputation, it is important that we are aware of not only the good experiences our customer have, but also the concerns that may not be up to their expectation.

As I read the letter of your experience. I noticed the vehicle was purchased in April of 2014 (which we confirmed with our records), you spoke of a break down in April and then your present concern in September. I researched the break down you mentioned in April and found that the work performed at that time was for the tension damper and belt which was performed under warranty. Is it possible that something occurred there that caused your present concerns? It appears they did not show the same concerns the present dealership is stating.

Throughout our inspection of the vehicle and certification process, all systems were confirmed to be in specification. We can happily assist you with the repairs of your vehicle for any warranty concerns that fall under the warranty guidelines. However, services performed outside of these guidelines are not warrantable nor can we be held responsible if the vehicle is not repaired properly or to meet the proper specification listed for certification by another facility.

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an ECU (Car computer) problem in my 2003 Volkswagen GTI, in which I was sent to Three Rivers Volkswagen for repair. I had a new motor replaced in my car. Old motor : 2.8l Vr6 24v motor to a 3.2l vr6 24v motor. I had bought a new ECU for the 3.2L motor which I was taking to Three Rivers Volkswagen to have the immobilizer deleted so the computer would work in my car. Since my car was still running off my current ECU (the 2.8l computer) I had driven it there the day of March 19th, 2014. Three Rivers Volkswagen was informed of all motor modifications as well as the motor swap prior to doing the service. The ECU service was to take approximately an hour, and if the service couldn't be performed than the 3.2l computer that I purchased had possibly been faulty. The service proceeded to take about 6 hours and resulted in me towing my car down to another shop because my old ECU (2.8l) was now fried, the 3.2l computer was faulty, and the wiring harness was now fried in my vehicle. Three Rivers Volkswagen claimed to have no fault in this, and refused to repair or even compensate my expenses. I had driven my vehicle there and had to tow it out. Three Rivers Volkswagen had informed me that the cost of damages was going to be roughly $3,300 in which they were not going to pay, saying that the computer and the harness had caused the problem, not their technician. My car has now been repaired 2 months later with the same wiring harness they said they had burnt out and the same 3.2l ECU they said was faulty. Both of these items were said to have caused the problem in my car as well as been broken. However, the only damage was the destruction of my 2.8l ECU which i had driven the car there with. I was unable to drive my vehicle for 2 months as well as cost me well over $600 in repairs due to their technicians mistakes. The technician also refuses to reveal what he did, or how the problem occurred. Owner of Three Rivers Volkswagen has also threatened to never service my vehicle if I went to the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated for my expenses.

Business Response:

Dealership Statement of the Problem

In response to the ECU issue described in Case ID#********.

The engine that was swapped in this vehicle was not a new engine nor was the 3.2L ECU that was supplied, The customer was recommended to have the vehicle brought here because the facility that performed the engine swapped could not get the 3.21 ECU to unlock and operate with the vehicle. He informed us of the concerns the initial shop had encountered and asked if we could try to install this ECU. When we installed the ECU (which he knew had an existing concern), we determined the wiring harness was still the 2.81 harness, and not the 3.21 harness which has a different configuration. After many attempts to unlock and configure the ECU it was determined in order to operate properly with all function data. The 3.21 ECU would require a 3.21 wiring harness so the input and output data match. The customer then declined having this service performed to correct the data match concern and requested the 2.81 ECU be re-installed.

When the 2.81 ECU was re-install it failed to communicate with the system and would not allow the vehicle to start. The customer declined any further service on the vehicle and towed it out of our facility.

After bringing in parts that are known to be faulty, requesting their installation and declining a proper repair option. We did in fact compensate the customer by not charging him for the 6 hours of diagnostics and work we performed on his vehicle at his request. We also recommended to him not to acquire used parts for electrical repair because of the possibility of underlying concerns like these.

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Three Rivers Volkswagen service department did not fix my car after 2 sevice attempts and over 14 days in the shop. I brought the R32 home 3/20/14 to find the parts I asked the service department to return to me and examined the ground cable given to me- it looks nothing like the one on my car. It is from some other car -the cable has the wrong ends and is 18 inches longer than the one on my car. The relay was the correct one - I verified that through the part number on the relay. As far as the ignition switch goes -I will never know as MY part was not returned to me. I thought that service departments are obligated to return any and all used parts replaced when requested by the customer. On 3/21/14 the car started, but it was a little hesitant to start running. I parked it in my garage and on 3/22/14 the car and it would NOT start again! It would crank with no problem, but it would not start. I have spent close to $700.00 ($475 labor, $175 parts)- on two service trips for this problem which was not resolved. The parts did not need to be replaced - they did not fix the problem. I decided to see what I could find about the starting problem using the web, and found a few references to R32's with similar problems. The most interesting one is the following:*********************************************************************************************** was posted on VW ******- it was a thread that described similar problems and the 13th post described a 30 amp fuse with arcing marks as the problem. The 16th post showed a picture of the fuse- this really got my curiosity going. I went out to the garage and removed the cover of the fuse box in the engine compartment and pulled the 30 amp fuses one at a time. I replaced the fuse with a new one and the car starts every time. The service tech at 3 Rivers VW was stumped and guessed which parts needed to be replaced. None of the 3 parts replaced needed to be replaced EXCEPT for the fuse.

Desired Settlement: The charges to my credit card should be refunded:2/27/2014 - $192.92(labor & tax)3/20/2104 - $470.61 ($297.12 labor, $173.49 parts, $28.24 tax)

Business Response:

In reference to the recent customer complaint filed on ID #******     
?
In dealing with intermittent electrical issues such as the one this customer was experiencing. We perform extensive tests and diagnostic procedures to confirm each step towards the repair for the vehicle are valid and required for the issue described. Unfortunately as with a lot of electrical concerns, the electrical current will find the path of least resistance through the system and can affect other components in the vehicle. Often times the issues must be reverse diagnosed. Starting at the result and then trace back to the cause while making needed corrections along the way. As damaged components are determined, verified and corrected, diagnostics continue until traced back to an end point where the symptoms are no longer present. Also with intermittent electrical concerns such as this, once corrections are made and the vehicle passes its posttests, further tests are not required or possible until the vehicle would show symptoms of the concern again. These issues can be very time consuming and sometimes very expensive.

With the unique situation and the avoidable miscommunication of the parts to be returned to the customer from this vehicle. We decided to refund the customer the repair costs and diagnostic charges that were performed to that point. We stand behind all of our repairs and processes and will gladly at any time, answer any questions our customers have about their vehicle and the required repairs. If there are ever any questions on the work performed that cannot be properly supported with documentation or requested parts, our decisions are always with our customer's best interest in mind.

 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Three Rivers Volkswagen
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)