BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Three Rivers Volkswagen?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Three Rivers Volkswagen

Phone: (866) 243-9606 Fax: (724) 941-9632 View Additional Phone Numbers 3694 Washington Road, McMurray, PA 15317 http://www.3riversvw.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a car dealership.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Three Rivers Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Three Rivers Volkswagen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 10, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1996 in PA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Bauer, Sales Manager Ms. Kathi Tennant, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Bauer, Sales Manager
Principal: Ms. Kathi Tennant, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Products & Services

Three Rivers Volkswagen sells the following brand(s): VOLKSWAGEN

Three Rivers Volkswagen offers the following product(s): USED CARS

Method(s) of Payment
VISA, MASTERCARD, AMERICAN EXPRESS, PERSONAL CHECKS

Additional Locations

  • 3694 Washington Road

    McMurray, PA 15317 (724) 941-6100

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (724) 941-6100(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an ECU (Car computer) problem in my 2003 Volkswagen GTI, in which I was sent to Three Rivers Volkswagen for repair. I had a new motor replaced in my car. Old motor : 2.8l Vr6 24v motor to a 3.2l vr6 24v motor. I had bought a new ECU for the 3.2L motor which I was taking to Three Rivers Volkswagen to have the immobilizer deleted so the computer would work in my car. Since my car was still running off my current ECU (the 2.8l computer) I had driven it there the day of March 19th, 2014. Three Rivers Volkswagen was informed of all motor modifications as well as the motor swap prior to doing the service. The ECU service was to take approximately an hour, and if the service couldn't be performed than the 3.2l computer that I purchased had possibly been faulty. The service proceeded to take about 6 hours and resulted in me towing my car down to another shop because my old ECU (2.8l) was now fried, the 3.2l computer was faulty, and the wiring harness was now fried in my vehicle. Three Rivers Volkswagen claimed to have no fault in this, and refused to repair or even compensate my expenses. I had driven my vehicle there and had to tow it out. Three Rivers Volkswagen had informed me that the cost of damages was going to be roughly $3,300 in which they were not going to pay, saying that the computer and the harness had caused the problem, not their technician. My car has now been repaired 2 months later with the same wiring harness they said they had burnt out and the same 3.2l ECU they said was faulty. Both of these items were said to have caused the problem in my car as well as been broken. However, the only damage was the destruction of my 2.8l ECU which i had driven the car there with. I was unable to drive my vehicle for 2 months as well as cost me well over $600 in repairs due to their technicians mistakes. The technician also refuses to reveal what he did, or how the problem occurred. Owner of Three Rivers Volkswagen has also threatened to never service my vehicle if I went to the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated for my expenses.

Business Response:

Dealership Statement of the Problem

In response to the ECU issue described in Case ID#********.

The engine that was swapped in this vehicle was not a new engine nor was the 3.2L ECU that was supplied, The customer was recommended to have the vehicle brought here because the facility that performed the engine swapped could not get the 3.21 ECU to unlock and operate with the vehicle. He informed us of the concerns the initial shop had encountered and asked if we could try to install this ECU. When we installed the ECU (which he knew had an existing concern), we determined the wiring harness was still the 2.81 harness, and not the 3.21 harness which has a different configuration. After many attempts to unlock and configure the ECU it was determined in order to operate properly with all function data. The 3.21 ECU would require a 3.21 wiring harness so the input and output data match. The customer then declined having this service performed to correct the data match concern and requested the 2.81 ECU be re-installed.

When the 2.81 ECU was re-install it failed to communicate with the system and would not allow the vehicle to start. The customer declined any further service on the vehicle and towed it out of our facility.

After bringing in parts that are known to be faulty, requesting their installation and declining a proper repair option. We did in fact compensate the customer by not charging him for the 6 hours of diagnostics and work we performed on his vehicle at his request. We also recommended to him not to acquire used parts for electrical repair because of the possibility of underlying concerns like these.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Three Rivers Volkswagen service department did not fix my car after 2 sevice attempts and over 14 days in the shop. I brought the R32 home 3/20/14 to find the parts I asked the service department to return to me and examined the ground cable given to me- it looks nothing like the one on my car. It is from some other car -the cable has the wrong ends and is 18 inches longer than the one on my car. The relay was the correct one - I verified that through the part number on the relay. As far as the ignition switch goes -I will never know as MY part was not returned to me. I thought that service departments are obligated to return any and all used parts replaced when requested by the customer. On 3/21/14 the car started, but it was a little hesitant to start running. I parked it in my garage and on 3/22/14 the car and it would NOT start again! It would crank with no problem, but it would not start. I have spent close to $700.00 ($475 labor, $175 parts)- on two service trips for this problem which was not resolved. The parts did not need to be replaced - they did not fix the problem. I decided to see what I could find about the starting problem using the web, and found a few references to R32's with similar problems. The most interesting one is the following:*********************************************************************************************** was posted on VW ******- it was a thread that described similar problems and the 13th post described a 30 amp fuse with arcing marks as the problem. The 16th post showed a picture of the fuse- this really got my curiosity going. I went out to the garage and removed the cover of the fuse box in the engine compartment and pulled the 30 amp fuses one at a time. I replaced the fuse with a new one and the car starts every time. The service tech at 3 Rivers VW was stumped and guessed which parts needed to be replaced. None of the 3 parts replaced needed to be replaced EXCEPT for the fuse.

Desired Settlement: The charges to my credit card should be refunded:2/27/2014 - $192.92(labor & tax)3/20/2104 - $470.61 ($297.12 labor, $173.49 parts, $28.24 tax)

Business Response:

In reference to the recent customer complaint filed on ID #******     
?
In dealing with intermittent electrical issues such as the one this customer was experiencing. We perform extensive tests and diagnostic procedures to confirm each step towards the repair for the vehicle are valid and required for the issue described. Unfortunately as with a lot of electrical concerns, the electrical current will find the path of least resistance through the system and can affect other components in the vehicle. Often times the issues must be reverse diagnosed. Starting at the result and then trace back to the cause while making needed corrections along the way. As damaged components are determined, verified and corrected, diagnostics continue until traced back to an end point where the symptoms are no longer present. Also with intermittent electrical concerns such as this, once corrections are made and the vehicle passes its posttests, further tests are not required or possible until the vehicle would show symptoms of the concern again. These issues can be very time consuming and sometimes very expensive.

With the unique situation and the avoidable miscommunication of the parts to be returned to the customer from this vehicle. We decided to refund the customer the repair costs and diagnostic charges that were performed to that point. We stand behind all of our repairs and processes and will gladly at any time, answer any questions our customers have about their vehicle and the required repairs. If there are ever any questions on the work performed that cannot be properly supported with documentation or requested parts, our decisions are always with our customer's best interest in mind.

 


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1