Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Solomon Ford

Phone: (724) 785-5500 500 National Pike W, Brownsville, PA 15417 http://www.solomonauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Solomon Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Solomon Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 17, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1993 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD023512.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD025904.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Norman Solomon, Owner Ms. Kelly Todaro, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Norman Solomon, Owner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Solomon Auto Group

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 National Pike W

    Brownsville, PA 15417 (724) 785-5500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased F-150 on 01/21/2014 from Solomon Ford with sales agreement stating "Dealer owes customer check for $1100.00 if customer brings copy of lease agreement. Customer responsible for fees and excess damage fees & mileage average if applicable. Customer owes extra set of keys with rear bumper on Chev. Malibu scuffed". Dealer paid off rest of lease as part of price of F-150. Keys were provided by third party and copy of lease faxed to 724-785-4518. Dealer refused to provide check. Dealer was rude and unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: An apology from **** ******* and a check Fed-Ex to my house in the agreed amount of $1100.00.

Business Response:

 
 
RE: Complaint *******
 
Dear Ms. *******,
 
This is in response to your letter dated 02/11/2014.
 
The customer specifically was informed that we needed a copy of his (ease agreement before we issued his check for $1100.00. To date, our files do not contain that document.
 
Upon receipt of same, we will gladly issue the payment. In my last phone conversation with this customer, he advised he would bring it in but has not as of yet. We need this document to be properly funded from the bank.
 
We await the document.
 
Respectfully,
 
** ******* *******
General Sales Manager
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

*** ****** ** ** ******** **** ****** ** * ****** ** ***** **** ** **** **** **** ** *** ********

Regards,

****** **********

 

 

Consumer Response: When vehicle was purchased on 01/21/2013 Solomon Auto took over lease for Chevy Malibu which payment was received by GM on 02/06/2014 and account credited and closed. GM notified myself with letter provided that (**** *******) put a stop payment on check for payoff of car as agreed. Title of car was transferred by signature. That's why payment was made by Solomon in first place.  Chevy Malibu was left at dealer in exchange for new vehicle. When check refund was made aware to **** ******* he decided to change deal. Letter attached it what I received from GM Financial as standard letter due to I didn't send a check Solomon Auto did.   At this point and time prior to filing small claims now I just want my car back since they have not turned it into GM per GM. Solomon Auto has changed deal. I will return truck and they will return car.

Consumer Response: Solomon FORD stopped payment on vehicle which has changed sales agreement.  Why did they stop payment on check is issue now. Why did they not inform BBB that payment was stopped. Lease agreement was faxed to dealership at in January to ###-###-####. My credit can be at issue for stop payment. Lease agreement is here for you to view but not to provided to Solomon Ford due to stopped payment on vehicle.  Resolution will be to payoff lease as part as sale of truck and refund as sales agreement check for $1100.00. Next step will be small claims with not an issue with possible legal fees.

Business Response:

 
 
RE: Complaint *******
 
Dear Ms. *******,
 
Since our last letter, we were able to be funded from the bank without a copy of customers lease agreement which he promised to send but never did
 
We cancelled payment on the check we sent to the bank because customer demanded the money and we now are able to send it directly to the customer.
 
The check has been overnighted to the customer for $1110.00. General Motors has verified they are picking up the customers trade-in. This case is now resolved and no further adjustments are due nor actions required.
 
Respectfully,
 
** ******* ******* 
General  Sales Manager
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

****** **********

 

 

Business Response:

 
RE: Complaint *******
 
Dear Ms. *******,
 
On March 5, 2014 I left you a voicemail explaining that this will be our final letter. Attached is a copy of the buyers order signed and initialed by customer that he is responsible for turn in fees. We gave him the money to pay it and its now his obligation to pay Genera! Motors from that check.
 
We are taking no further action nor writing any more letters. He can pursue any actions he deems necessary at this point. Our obligation has been satisfied and Genera! Motors has picked up the lease return.
 
Respectfully,
 
* ******* ******* 
General Sales Manager
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Solomon Auto has a remaining balance with ****** ********** of $1015.15 which was pay off for lease. The refund of 1100.00 was refunded per sales agreement.

Regards,

****** **********

 

 

10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe that the salesperson, **** *********, from Solomon Ford was using deceptive and unethical practices in selling me a vehicle. I went to the dealership on 9/21/13 to purchase an ***** *** and could not get the financing through on that day. I was informed that I would receive a call on 9/24/13 in regards to this matter. We worked out the price on this day for $30,500 after tax and fees. On 9/25/13 I received a decline notice stating the financing requested was approx. $36,500 a 20% increase. I did not receive a call on 9/24/13 nor have I to this point after leaving numerous messages and e-mails asking about where the financing stood and why the price difference. I believe this is deceptive and unethical to act in this manner. Also, the pricing on the website lists instant savings but the footnote does not say anywhere that not all qualify. I was informed this included rebates that were for a select few only. I have attached the footnote for review*Although every reasonable effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the information contained on this site, absolute accuracy cannot be guaranteed. This site, and all information and materials appearing on it, are presented to the user "as is" without warranty of any kind, either express or implied. All vehicles are subject to prior sale. Price does not include applicable tax, title, license, processing and/or documentation fees, and destination charges.

Desired Settlement: I would like this unethical practice stopped, an apology from the salesman, and the follow up call explaining the occurrence that I never received. Also I would like the price either fixed or expanded explaining what is all included in the "instant savings"

Business Response:

I am writing this letter in response to your letter referencing ID *************** ***** *******. Mr ******* came into the dealership on September 21, 2013 to inquire on the purchase of a new ***** *** truck. He was shown every courtesy in regards to the attempted purchase of this vehicle. He stayed approximately 2 hours to work on this transaction to get a lender to purchase the deal. Due to the credit history of Mr. *******, we tried reworking the numbers several different ways to include as well as the removal of the rebates on this vehicle to attempt to get him a special APR. Unfortunately with or without the rebates he was unable to be approved by our lenders. Mr ******** was not contacted on September 23 or 24 due to the circumstance that the sales person he was dealing was off sick.

In addition Mr ******* was contacted by myself, ***** ******* General Manager, on September 27, 2013 to explain the situation and why the vehicle was not approved. I also revisited this transaction on September 28 to again attempt to consummate this deal thru another lender. Unfortunately it could not be approved as well. I contacted Mr ******* on September 28 and explained that the transaction would not be approved. At this point no further action is required by Solomon Ford.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Solomon Ford
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)