BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Pleasant Hills?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Pleasant Hills

Additional Locations

Phone: (412) 655-7500 View Additional Phone Numbers 600 Clairton Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15236 http://www.ronlewisautomotive.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

New and Used Automotive Sales and Service

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Pleasant Hills meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Pleasant Hills include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 11
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 27

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 10, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1931 in PA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Ron Lewis, Owner Mr. Ronald Lewis, President Dan Mazzant, Sales Manager Mr. Steve Peterson, Advertising
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jodi Fedell, Executive Secretary
Principal: Mr. Ron Lewis, Owner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Products & Services

Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Pleasant Hills sells the following brand(s): Chevrolet, Chrysler, Dodge, Ford, Jeep, Kia, Ram

Method(s) of Payment
Mastercard, Visa, American Express, Cash and Check
Alternate Business Names
Cranberry Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, LLC Lewis, Ron Automotive Group Morrow Chevrolet Kia, Inc Morrow Ford, Inc Pleasant Hills Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, Inc Ron Lewis Automotive Group Ron Lewis Chevrolet Kia Beaver Falls Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Cranberry Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Waynesburg Ron Lewis Ford Beaver Falls Waynesburg Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, LLC
Additional Information

The BBB has not prepared a report on this
company. We have not had frequent inquiries, unanswered
complaints, a pattern of complaints, or other reason to prepare
a report. This does not mean anything bad or good about the
company. The BBB only prepares reports on companies after having
received complaints or inquiries about them.


Additional Locations

  • 1625 E High St

    Waynesburg, PA 15370 (412) 655-7500

  • 201 7th Ave

    Beaver Falls, PA 15010 (412) 655-7500

  • 21145 Route 19

    Cranberry Twp, PA 16066

  • 300 9th Ave

    Beaver Falls, PA 15010 (412) 655-7500

  • 600 Clairton Blvd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15236 (412) 655-7500

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (412) 655-7500(Phone)
  • (412) 655-7500(Phone)
  • (724) 752-0073(Phone)
  • (724) 843-1000(Phone)
  • (724) 846-1440(Phone)
  • (800) 840-5005(Phone)
  • (888) 747-0777(Phone)
  • (888) 840-5005(Phone)
  • (888) 842-5000(Phone)
  • (412) 655-7997 (Fax)
  • (412) 655-9656 (Fax)
  • (724) 752-0563 (Fax)
  • (724) 843-1071 (Fax)
  • (724) 846-0298 (Fax)
  • (724) 846-1788 (Fax)
  • (724) 847-1052 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a 2012 Ram 3500 pickup truck Nov 1, 2013. The truck was not inspected. We waited 6 hours on it to be inspected. It passed state inspection with a very bad alignment, a broken belt in a rear tire, weak tires for the weight of the vehicle and a death wobble when driving over bridge joints/pot holes. We went back to the dealership 4 times. The truck has been aligned and the tire with the broken belt has been replaced by the dealership. The tires have not been replaced with the correct ply for the weight of the vehicle. The death wobble has not been cured. The service department says we have to replace tires with the correct ply on our own. The vehicle should not have been sold nor state inspected needing safety issues repaired.

Desired Settlement: The tires on the vehicle need to be replaced with the correct ply for the weight of the vehicle by the dealership! This is so that the death wobble is cured according to the service manager, ******. This needs repaired before my family wrecks and is injured. It should not have been ignored and should have been fixed at time of inspection, not returned 4 times to still not be repaired!

Business Response: Our customer has been contacted and has agreed to a 50/50 settlement on a new set of tires.

Our customer has stated they are extremely satisfied. 

Sincerely,

***** ********
Vice President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my truck to Ron Lewis Dodge to get overhead clearance lights installed. I purchased the ligths from the parts department. Before I purchased the lights I inquired to the cost of installation. I was told it would be $132. So I went ahead with my purchase of the lights planning to have them installed for $132 by Ron Lewis Dodge. The day came for installation, so I dropped my truck off around 8am in the morning and I was going to pick it up that afternoon. Around 11am I recieved a phone call from the service department manager (***), just wanting to clarify that I wanted the lights installed because it was going to cost around $320. Obviously I was confused. I told the service manager (***) that I had bee quoted $132 for the install by ********. *** told me she would call me back after she talked to someone. *** called me back and let me know that they were going to honor the $132 and she would call when the truck was complete. The next morning I picked my truck up around 8:30am, paid and left immediatley because I had to be at work at 9am, 45 minutes away. When I arrived at work I got out of my truck and noticed a large scratch on the drivers door. I did not check the truck before I left the dealership, but I drove it from there to my office, no stops in between. So it was obvious to me that it had happended at the dealership. After work I returned to Ron Lewis to show them the scratch and see what they would do about it. The person at the counter went to get the service manager (*** ), and as *** was coimg out of her office I overheard her rudely say to her coworker that I was the person that they worked a deal for, and now I am here complaining about something. Then *** came out and walked right by me, without a word and went to my truck. She came back in an said that she was going to have one of the service guys take it back and see if they could buff it out, which they could not. She then told me that there was nothing they could do because there is no way to tell if they did it.

Desired Settlement: I would like the large scatch on my drivers door fixed. It is an obvious scratch that was done by something repeatedly rubbing on the door (like a stool or stand used to install overhead clearance lights?). I was very disapointed by the way I was treated by *** *, and I believe I deserve an apology from her.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is in response to complaint ID# *******, concerning a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Truck, serial # ****************, belonging to ***** *******After a review of the events that transpired and a conversation with all parties involved there is no way to determine when and how the scratch occurred to the driver’s door of the truck. Taking into consideration the overall condition of the truck and my conversation with Mr. ******, on 1/16/2014 at 10:34am, we feel that in the interest of customer satisfaction that we should indeed repair the scratch to the door at one of the Collision Centers within our Dealer Group at no charge.

Mr. ****** has agreed to contact our Service Manager, *** *******, to make arrangements to have the repair done and he is satisfied with our agreement.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions you may have in this matter between the hours of 8:00am to 5:00pm at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

*** *******

Service Director

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a 2011 Kia Soul found out they didnt disclose it was an accident. Then I paid more than the original invoice for the car. Went back and complained the the salesman, ******, he talked me into taking a lease vehicle. Emptied all personal belongings from the 2011 Soul and drove off the lot with the brand new Soul. ****** said they would sell the 2011 Soul. That night I was at work and I got a call from my boyfriend that ****** brought back the 2011 Soul. Of course it was too late for me to call him. Spoke with ****** again and he told me he didnt want to lose his job and he would PERSONALLY pay me every month for the lease. Now I am stuck with 2 cars and dont know what to do. I have tried repeatedly to work with them but I am getting nowhere except more in a hole every day.

Desired Settlement: Would like them to take back both vehicles. Restore my credit and give me the money back for my trade.

Business Response:

According to our records available the 2011 KIA Soul purchased on 8/30/13 had never been in an accident.

2)      The price charged for both vehicle were at Fair Market Price or the Financial Institution would not have agreed to the Contract and the customer was fully aware of the pricing and payments at the desk and after going into the Business office to complete the transaction.

3)      With the Lease of the second vehicle: the customer made no mention of even considering trading of any vehicle.

4)      Within one week of second vehicle Lease purchase the customer did come in and discussed with Mr. ****** ******** her options, because she was now only wanting to keep one vehicle. Mr. ******** advised her that she could try to sell either one on her own or trade one or both here or elsewhere.

5)      Mr. ******** has told me that he in no way told the customer that he would personally make any of her payments on either vehicle.

6)      We would be happy to visit trying to trade the customer out of one or both her current vehicles, but it would be subject to financial approval and the customer’s approval of the deal.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2005 ********* ******* ** Used from Morrow Chevrolet-Kia in Beaver Falls, PA on October 27th 2012. The sticker on the car said that the vehicle went through an 127 point inspection. the vehicle was taken back to the dealer on the same day due to them selling me a car with a leaking sunroof, on top of the leaking sunroof the car had a few other problems wrong with it which included the back hatch bracket which was broken along with a dent on the back of right rear side which to me means that the car was in an accident, even though they gave me a car fax report which shown no accidents. the car was also making a lot of noises which to me was probably sounds coming from the rear hatch since the bracket was broke. after 8 months of having the car i noticed a new noise coming from the front end of the car, i then returned the car to have it looked overed and serviced if needed only to find out that the car had even more problems then what it should have in the 4000 miles that the car was driven in the first 8 months. all of the noise was coming from the rear of the vehicle which included rear hub bearings, rear springs, rear trailing arms, shocks, brakes, rotors, and front sway bars. all of which was covered only because i was smart enough to get a 2 year warranty which they screwed me on and charged me $2500.00 for. as far as i can tell they sold me a death trap which at any time i could have been seriously injured or killed due to their lie of having that car go through an 127 point inspection. everything on this vehicle that was bad was bad since the day that i bought it. So BUYER BEWARE THIS DEALER IS NOT THE BEST TO BUY FROM AND FROM MY EXPERIENCE NOW FOR THE SECOND TIME THIS WILL BE THE LAST TIME I EVER BUY FROM THEM. protect yourself and your loved ones from buying any used vehicle from this dealership.

Desired Settlement: i would rather have a refund of this vehicle and it taken off of my hands. there are more problems still wrong with this vehicle that still have not been fixed and as far as i'm concerned is unsafe for anyone to drive. i would like the dealer to take it back and for this not to affect my credit. this car should never have been sold the way it was to me or to anyone else.

Business Response:

In Response to BBB   ID # *******:    

******* ******* ******** **. purchased his vehicle from us on 10/27/12. In the negotiating for a vehicle, everything was upfront and fully disclosed prior to the purchase by the customer. The vehicle had been safety checked and issued new State Inspection and Emission Stickers in our Service Dept., deeming the vehicle roadworthy and a safe vehicle. Mr. ******* purchased the vehicle for $6942.00, plus tax, title, license, and all fees. The vehicle was sold to him AS-IS and he signed no less than 6 (six) separate papers stating that.

He was presented the opportunity to purchase an “OPTIONAL” Mechanical Service Contract at an extra charge of 2482.00 to the insurance company, which he opted to go with. I am glad he chose this optional protection, because on 6/21/13 with 119,740 miles on the vehicle he needed service that resulted in an extensive repair that the Service Contract covered in the amount of 1791.50, and he still has the protection until 10/27/14 or up to mileage of 139,946.

We feel as an organization that we treated this customer fairly, openly and honest every step of the way, both during the presentation process, negotiating, and full disclosure of the vehicle, and service before and after the initial sale.

Regards

****** ******

General Manager

Consumer Response:

the vehicle was making a lot of nonoises from the rear of the vehicle from the day I purchased the vehicle. So by them saying it was road worthy is a false statement. When I took it in for these noises at that point it was getting worse. So this vehicle was not looked over the way it should have been. Along with when I had the repairs done the service department said additional repairs needed done before inspection which was also false. I was duped in to buying this vehicle and was never properly told anything with buying this vehicle other then the payment. 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/2/2013 my father ****** ********* goes to Morrow Chevy Kia to co-sign for his nephew to get a car. The Sales Consultant ******* *. tells my cousin ****** he could get him into this ***** ****** For $23,000.00 after factory rebate. They ran ******'s credit report it came back not so good. So they where going to need ****** to co-sign for him. ****** filled out application for vehicle traded in his auto a 98 ***** ****** and told him his payments would be $475 a month. He signs paper works where needed So they gave him the keys and put a dealer plate to go to work. Then told my father we could save him some money and make his payments lower. Bring his payment to $450. If that will help his credit score. My father said they started shoving blank pieces of papers in front of him getting him to sign them when it was all said and done. My 80 year old father purchase himself a $31,000. car. My cousin's name was not on the application at all. They had sold the car to my father not my cousin. We tried to get it fixed went back to dealership. They now tell us that my cousin ****** will have to come up with $4,000 to $5,000 dollars before they can do anything when it was their fault. They mislead an 80 year old man. A Sales Consultant by the name of ****** was helping out and he's the one who got the sale. When I went to fine out why the car was sticker priced at $28,000. and with a $5,000 rebate. The selling price this car was $31,000 a for cry from $23,000. ****** admitted to me that my father was over charge for this car, this was after looking over the application together and making him explain the contract several times. He finally said some people pay more than other people and in the same breath he said I will take care of you next time you purchase a car from us again. He said we can pay up to 30 % over the sticker price. That's only for certain people.

Desired Settlement: What I like to happen is for the car application to be done over for two reasons :1. For ****** ********* to be the owner and my father ****** as the co- signer on the vehicle and without the $4,000 - $5,000 dollars down for it to be at the $475. payment a month which he sign for.2. For the sticker price of the vehicle to be what is should be $28,000. with $5,000 rebate ,with his trade that they have and all the Service Contract Package, GAP, TST and taxes, plates that where added.

Business Response: ****** and ****** *********, along with a Mr. and Ms.******** **** came into our business on July 2, 2013 to deal on a new car.  We presented numbers in both names, but the required monies down (as set by the financial source) was not agreeable to the customer.

****** ********* was presented numbers, including the asking price, rebates he qualified for, trade allowance, taxes, license and all fees, along with a monthly payment, without any cash down, as requested by ****** *********.  These numbers were explained to him and Mr. and Ms. ****, who were here to assist ****** in the transaction. They were in writing and verbally explained line by line.

Mr. ********* agreed to the proposal after much discussion with the salesperson ******.  Mr. ********* signed the initial purchase agreement, then all other necessary paperwork was taken to the Business Office for completion.

Mr. ********* along with Mr. **** went into the Business Office.  All papers signed by Mr. ********* were completed and explained fully, prior to any signatures.  We do NOT have customers sign "blank" paperwork.  We believe that the individual with the complaint was not involved in the transaction at any time and is getting their information second hand and is not as accurate as to what actually transpired. 

We acted in a professional, open and honest manner and did NOT hide anything at anytime during the entire transaction.

Sincerely,

****** ******
General Manager



BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on June 15th, we shopped at Pleasant Hills Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, Inc. We asked to see new vans and we were shown a used one reportedly in excellent condition/ low mileage that was on the lot. It also had a 100,000 mile power train warranty. The van looked nice and handled well on the test drive. There was a red light on the console during the test drive. When asked, the salesman said it was a seat belt light. We discovered after the purchase that it was an airbag light that was allowed to pass inspection. Under the dealership's protest, it was repaired because the salesman informed us it was a seat belt light. We were told there were 2 keys -- there was only 1. Under protest, they provided a second one, again because the salesman promised 2. On June 20, a light lit on the console and the power to the motor dropped. Turning the van off then on brought power back to the van. Dealer blamed the problem on a loose gas cap. Two days later the same problem happened. Both times the vehicle was going uphill. Both times we checked the gas cap. On June 24th, the power dropped and light came on again going downhill. On the way to the dealership for repair, it went out again going uphill. When we took it to the dealership, they paid a portion of the repair cost. On July 1st (fifteen days after purchase), the power to the motor cut out entirely. There was no warning light or beep. A few hours later, it happened again. This time, the dealership is not willing to repair the same problem for free.Upon discussion with Chrysler corporate, the company is not willing to help us solve this problem with the van. They will contact the dealership, but will not be contacting us with any solutions. We may take it to another dealer for repair, but we will have to pay again to fix a problem we thought was fixed. we do not recommend buying used cars from Chrysler as they do not stand behind the product as represented.

Desired Settlement: 1 of 2 options. 1)The van fixed at no cost to me (because we already paid to fix this problem even though it was under warrant) and an extended warranty so I can have it repaired at the dealership of my choice now and in the future. 2) Chrysler or the dealership buys the car back for full purchase price plus taxes and title.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

We have done everything we can, within reason, to assist the customer with the mechanical problems aforementioned in their complaint.  We have covered approximately $900.00 in repair costs in an attempt to appease the customer.

Our mechanics have taken the vehicle on numerous text drives in an attempt to identify said mechanical failures the customer has described.  The mechanics did not experience the mechanical failures that the customer described during any of the test drives.  That being said, we cannot repair a problem if a problem does not present itself to our certified mechanics.

Sincerely,

**** ********
General Manager

Consumer Response:

 

Upon reviewing the response from the business, no offer was provided.

As for them not finding the mechanical problem (the van loses power while driving), they stated they have found issues with what was causing the problem. On 6/20 the code that was displayed in the car indicated that the gas cap was not correctly replaced. This took them approximately 15 minutes to fix. On 6/25, after the problem occurred again numerous codes were displayed by the car's computer (***** ***** ***** ***** *****). I was told that a cam shaft sensor had to be replaced. They only covered $94.00 of the total bill which was $226.62. We were obligated to pay the remainder to fix the car. I do not see where they spent $900 to fix the mechanical problem.


The only way I have been able to achieve a total expense of $900 is by including the following:


1. The second key bob

Before purchasing the car, the salesman promised 2 keys. After the paperwork had been completed and signed, we were informed there was only 1 key bob. I had agreed to accept a valet key as long as it would allow me to drive the car. When we went to pick this up, we were informed that they no longer make a valet key that will start the car. So they begrudgingly gave me a second key bob. I understand the estimated value of that key was about $150.00.


2. The air bag sensor light

We were misled again by the salesman before the purchase of the car concerning the airbag light. When questioned about a light on the instrument panel, we were informed it was a seat belt safety warning light. We later discovered after the purchase of the car when all passengers had fastened their seat belts (and the light remained lit) that it was actually an airbag safety light. Upon returning to the dealership, they informed us that they knew the light was faulty, but decided not to repair it because it was not deemed a necessary repair to pass state inspection. I insisted that because we were misled they should fix the issue. We were not given any papers to indicate the cost of this repair. This may bring their total cost for all problems to the $900. (Key bob $150 + $94 for cam shaft sensor +allow $50 for gas cap problem (my estimate) means it cost them $578 to fix the sensor light. Again, the entire $900 did not go to the mechanical problem).


 

I feel the dealership is trying to misrepresent the facts in this case to their benefit because 


1. they say their mechanics could not determine what the issue was with the car losing power, but have provided us with the 2 solutions listed above.


2. they state they spent $900 to repair the loss of power problem without providing supportive documentation. We determine their portion to be the $94 they spent and the 15 minutes to screw on the gas cap (surely not an $806 charge).


3. they sold the vehicle to us with a power train warranty until the mileage reaches 100,000 but did not honor it for the cam shaft sensor repair which is part of the power train. (The vehicle had under 55,000 miles at time of cam shaft repair).


In addition, any time that I have raised any issue, management's response has been yelling and intimidation while begrudgingly fulfilling their staff's promises (i.e. the key and airbag warning light). After the van was supposedly repaired but lost power again (after the cam shaft sensor repair) I called to state that the problem had not been fixed. The Used Car Manager suggested that I bring the vehicle back in and I agreed. I then asked if he knew of the two protection laws applicable to used cars because I did not feel I should cover the expense of the repairs on a van sold in 'excellent condition' [their terminology] less than 2 weeks before. It was also sold with a power train warranty which to me means they should cover the cost of repairs if the van loses power. As soon as I mentioned the Consumer Protection Laws: the Pennsylvania Unfair Trade Practice and Consumer Protection Law and the Magnuson Moss Warranty Act, the Used Car Manager started yelling and screaming and said he did not want to deal with me. When I asked him to calm down or I would file a complaint with Chrysler Corporation, he screamed "File the complaint!" knowing that Chrysler Corporation would keep the complaint internal and refer it right back to the dealership. The Chrysler Corporate representative explained that they would not follow-up on the complaint, which (to me) meant the dealership would not have to take action as there would be no penalty. 


I have lost all confidence in their ability to repair my vehicle and that is why I was requesting one of the options for a solution which I gave previously. 

 

Regards,

***** ******* 

 

 

Business Response: To Whom It may Concern,

Pleasant Hills Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram would like to put an end to the dispute on the best terms possible.  We would like to offer the customer a ***** 3 year/unlimited mileage ********* vehicle protection plan at no cost to the customer.  This is not an admittance of fault but a gesture of goodwill.

For the record, a cam-shaft sensor is not covered in a power-train warranty.  This is clearly stated in the power-train warranty contract that the customer signed and received (a copy of) at the time of sale.

Also, for the record, we did provide the customer with mechanical diagnosis for some mechanical problems the vehicle was experiencing.  The problems diagnosed, however, were not connected to the issue of the vehicle allegedly losing power.

**** ********
General Manager

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   

Please have them contact me when the ***** 3 year/unlimited mileage ********* vehicle protection plan is in place with all the information I would need to use this plan.

Regards,

  

***** ******* *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started having problems with my 2010**** ******* on Sunday July 7, 2013 on my way up Erie, PA. The overheating light came on and my car stopped accelerating. I was an hour outside of my destination and knowing that I had the ***** **** **** warranty on **** (100,000 miles/10 year) I could call them and start a roadside assistance service plan. I had talked to *** that day and knowing that all dealerships where closed, I had decided to just let the **** cool off and finish my destination. On the way home the vehicle started to do the same exact problems and as we were driving (all the way over in the left hand side of the road) my car's overheating light came on, it stopped accelerating, and I prayed that we could merge over to the right hand side of the road for safety with two children in the back of the car. I called the***** **** **** people again in the morning and had they tow my car when I got to work in the morning. They towed my **** to this dealership and this is where my problems start. ** the service guy here, didn't listen to me, he didn't seem to care what my problems where. I needed a rental and he refused to give me a rental, until I demanded I get one because I knew what my warranty offered me. After several phone calls throughout the day, he offered for a tech to take my car through the night and drive it, and then said he didn't have anybody to do that. I told him how the **** acts up on long car drives, can't use AC, it will stop accelerating on me and he mocked me and said he can't have a tech drive my car 2 hours to Erie and laughed at me. I feel that he is very unprofessional and is only there to make a buck and doesn't care about the customers and their problems. I did not feel safe breaking down twice within 24 hours of one another; I am scared to drive my vehicle now. I do not have the confidence in this company that I once did. ** really treated me with disrespect and I felt he doubted my trust because I was a woman in this situation. Thanks

Desired Settlement: First off I would like a refund for all of my troubles for todays troubles. I would also like to feel safe in my vehicle and have it checked out and know that they took the time to check it over thoroughly and listen to my problems without being laughed at or mocked. This ******* is three years old; it should not be having these problems. This is the 3rd time in 3 very short yrs. I just want to be able to feel safe, because at one time this was a trusted worthy name brand to myself & my family

Business Response:

The owners’ complaint as recorded on repair order ***** dated 07/09/2013 is “Vehicle is overheating, all the warning lights come on and car has no power”. We did perform a thorough check up, although we could not verify the complaint, the mechanic had to pressure test the cooling system for leaks, scan the vehicles computers and sensors for any electronic faults and ran the cars vehicle identification number thru ********** database to determine if there are any vehicles of the same body style and equipment complaining about the same thing and what fixed it. We would normally road tested the vehicle four to five miles to confirm the complaint, unfortunately we do not have the personnel to drive the vehicle for an extended period of time as per the owners statement in the BBB letter ” acts up on long car drives”.  

This is the owner’s first visit at this dealership. We do not know what was done the other two times this happened or where the repairs were made Twice a week I drive from my house in ****** Pa. to ********** Pa. that’s 168 miles round trip. If the owner feels that problem will occur within that mileage then my recommendation would be to schedule an appointment with us.

There are two charges on the repair order dated July 09, 2013, $48.00 for diagnosis to check the vehicle overheating complaint and $27.95 for oil and filter change. If the owner does reschedule with us I will waive the diagnostic fee for that visit.  The oil change, that was requested by the owner and a refund is not warranted and will not be considered.

 Sincerely 

***** * ******** Service Manager

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

 

I would like to be refunded for the money that was spent at this business. and it is MS. ***** ******

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Web site has a prise of 21,138.00 for a 2014 Jeep Patriot. Requested an internet price per web site. received an E-mail that said the internet price was 21,138.00 than after that a price of 22,138.00 everyone qualifies for. talked to an internet sales rep . ask me question on my vet status. She called back and told me price was 22,138.00.There is a hidden disclaim. but you have to know were to look.Also there was no disclaim in my E-mail giving me my internet price.. This in my opinion is either a bait and switch deal or sales advertising.

Desired Settlement: Charge the way they're advertising pricing. This the only dealer that i have encountered that doze this.

Business Response:

In response to this complaint, our disclaimer concerning internet pricing is not hidden.  If you go to our website, www.ronlewisautomotive.com, click New Inventory, click Cranberry dealership in the Search Box, click 2014 in the Year Box, then click Patriot in the Model Box.  Then scroll down to the Patriot listed for $21,138 will appear on your screen.

If you click on this vehicle, you will see that our disclaimer is listed in the same size and font as all the Details and Included Packages on the vehicle.  Also, it is immediately adjacent to this information. 

As mentioned in our comments, not all consumers are eligible for all rebates from Chrysler Corporation. Because of this, our policy is to advise all consumers before they come into our dealership of the two levels of rebates that may be available to them.

We do this intentionally so that the consumer does not feel that they have been baited or switched.

Please call me with any questions or concerns.

***** ********Vice President Sales and Marketing

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I BOUGHT A 2010 MERCURY MARINER ON 03/14/13. FROM MORROW FORD IN BEAVER FALLS, PA15010. I CANNOT GET THE SALES MANAGER TO CALL ME BACK ITS BEEN ALMOST A MONTH. I WAS ABLE TO SPEAK TO MY SALES GUY ABOUT THE OUTSIDE KEYLESS ENTRY KEYPAD, THEY WERE SUPPOSED TO GET ME A 5 DIGIT CODE ACCORDING TO THE OWNERS MANUAL BOOK PG 98.IS THIS TOO MUCH TO HAVE DONE AS A CUSTOMER? THEN HE TRIED TELLING ME IT WOULD BE AN ADDITIONAL $100.00 TO HAVE THEM PROGRAM IT FOR ME. ALL THIS WHEN I JUST GAVE THEM BUSINESS BY BUYING A CAR LOAN I TOOK ONE OUT FOR 18,000.00 NOW THEY WANT TO CHARGE ME SOMEMORE? I CALLED THE BUSINESS MANAGER SEVERAL TIMES MORE THAN 4-5 TIMES HIS NAME IS *** ******** (###-###-####) AND HE CANNOT CALL ME BACK? I WISH I COULD JUST GIVE CAR BACK AND SHOP ELSE WHERE,(ISHOULD OF WENT TO ***** ****) I AM HIGHLY FRUSTRATED THAT NO ONE WILL RETURN MY CALL AND THEY ARE TRYING TO MAKE AN EXTRA BUCK ON ME I AM A SINGLE MOM SO I AM STRUGGLING AS IT IS. TOTALLY UNFAIR,NEVER AGAIN I DONT EVEN WANT TO DRIVE ALL THE WAY OUT THERE TO BEAVER FALLS, PA AGAIN JUST TO HAVE THEM TELL ME IN PERSON "SORRY ITS GOING TO COST YOU MORE" PLUS THEY DIDNT EVEN FILL UP MY NEW CAR THEY GAVE ME HALF A TANK! ALSO, MY INTERIOR DOME LIGHT DOES NOT COME ON EITHER, WHENEVER THE CAR DOOR IS OPENED I DO NOT KNOW IF THAT NEEDS ACTIVATED AS WELL, ACCORDING TO BOOK(MY OWNERS MANUAL) THIS IS A PRESET FEATURE TO ILLUMINATE WHEN A DOOR IS OPENED AND REMAIN ON FOR 25 SECONDS.WELL MINE DOES NOT DO THIS! THEY ARE GOING TO CHARGE ME ANOTHER $100.00? TO ME I FEEL THAT THEY DONT CARE ABOUT ME AS A CUSTOMER. AFTER THE SALE! I GAVE THEM MY BUSINESS PLUS A TRADE IN AND BASICALLY AFTER THE SALE OH WELL YOUR ON YOUR OWN THATS HOW I HAVE BEEN UNFAIRLY TREATED. ITS ALSO A SHAME THAT, THE ONE PERSON IN CHARGE CANNOT EVEN SPEAK BY CALLING ME BACK. VERY DISAPPOINTED AND I DONT THINK I AM ASKING FOR NOTHING MORE THAN WHAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN TAKEN CARE OF BEFORE I DROVE OFF THEIR LOT.

Desired Settlement: ACTIVATE THE CODES I EXPLAINED EARLIER AND FILL MY TANK UP AND GIVE ME FREE OIL CHANGES FOR 1 YEAR DUE TO THIS INCONVENIANCE AND FOR MY TIME WHICH IS PRECIOUS TO ME. AS WELL, HAVE THEM REALIZE THAT THEIR BUSINESS LOYALTY IS VERY POOR BY TRYING TO CHARGE ME ADDITIONAL MONEY SO THEY CAN STICK IT IN THEIR POCKET AND TAKE IT OUT OF MINE.LET THEM KNOW I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED AND WOULD NEVER GO BACK TO THEM OR REFER THEM.

Business Response:

April 18, 2013

 

To Whom It May Concern,

I spoke with *** ********* about her concern.

I set an appointment on April 24, 2013 @11am for her to bring her 2010 Mariner into our Service Department so we can program her keypad at our expense.

I also told her I would fill her gas tank for her. I asked her if I satisfied her concern and she said I did.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

*** ********

General Manager

Morrow Ford

A Member of the Ron Lewis Automotive Group

Main:  724.843.1000

********************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 2004 Dodge Dakota from Morrow Ford on March 18th 2013. On March 22 I started having problems with the rear differential of the truck so I called them and asked what my options were for service. They said to return it and they will get it into the shop immediately once they acquire all the parts needed for the fix. So on March 23 I drove the truck to Morrow Ford. Since then it has sat untouched in the parking lot. Everytime I call I get the service manager**** I think is his name, I get a run around of "we just want to make sure its fixed right". I cannot get an exact date for the finishing of the repairs. I can't get any information from them at all. I believe they are holding the truck in spite of warranty issues. They offered me a 100,000 mile warranty when I purchased the truck with 98,000 miles on it. They told me that all the parts and service would be covered when the truck was brought in. After that there was several arguments between myself, and my father, with the dealer's general manager and service manager over a so called "deductible" that I would have to pay to have the truck serviced.. Mind you that I hadn't owned the truck for 4 whole days and it was driven less then 500 miles. So far they have been extremely poor at communication, and extremely poor in dealing with customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like my truck fixed immediately with a set date that it will be finished. It has been almost 2 whole weeks that the truck has sat outside the car dealer with no work at all done to it. I have no means of transportation, wasn't offered a rental, or loaner car, and I lost money driving the vehicle back and forth from the dealership which is an hour and a half away from my house.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

This letter is in response *********** ******* ** * *******, dated 4/4/2013.

*** ***** did indeed take delivery of a 2004 Dodge Dakota from our Morrow Ford Dealership on 3/18/2013 with approximately 98193 miles on the odometer. He did bring the vehicle back with a howling type noise concern around 3/25/2013 and 98788 miles on the odometer, see attached repair order # 72147. We diagnosed the noise as a pinion bearing defect. The truck does have a 100,000 mile warranty that carries a $200.00 deductible. When our Service Advisor, **** ******* informed the customer of this and the customer did not want to pay the deductible. We needed authorization to waive the deductible before proceeding with repairs. The waiver of the deductible was approved by our General Manager, *** ********. At that time we could proceed with the needed repairs. The 100,000 warranty we provide at no charge does not have any rental or loaner provisions.

We did order the OEM Parts which did take some time. Contrary to the customers belief there are special tools required to set up a differential properly. Being a Ford Dealership and this vehicle being a Chrysler Product, it did take some time to get the needed parts and tools. Our Service Manager, **** ******** contacted ******* ***** on 4/4/2013 with a status report.

With the needed tools and parts on hand the repairs were completed at no charge to the customer on 4/4/2013 and the customer picked up the vehicle on 4/5/2013, see attached repair order #*****.

We empathize with *** ***** and the problem he encountered with his recently purchased vehicle. Fortunately the break down happened while it was still within the 100,000 mile warranty period. 

Please feel free to contact me between the hours of 8:00am and 5:00pm, Monday – Friday if I can be of any more assistance.

 Sincerely,

*** ******* Director of Fixed Operations

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/21/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1