Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rohrich Lexus

Phone: (412) 344-5800 Fax: (412) 344-2910 2115 West Liberty Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15226


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rohrich Lexus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Rohrich Lexus include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Rohrich Lexus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rohrich Lexus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1921
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Pennsylvania Vehicle Emissions Inspection and Maintenance Program
1101 S. Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17104
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-265-0921
Drivecleanpa@state.pa.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Rohrich, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Rohrich, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS


Additional Locations

  • 2115 West Liberty Avenue

    Pittsburgh, PA 15226 (412) 344-5800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This deals in service or lack of service and false and malicious dealing with rohrich lexus and misleading characterizations of a Certified vehicle. Second time trying the BBB. Last time i was brow beat and chastised becuase i had a problem that in the end never got fixed. Current issue is i have a hard fail for a tiring warning light. Rohrich service person says the light was caused because i had my tires replaced 6 months prior by an out side company. Rohrich says that this current issue is not covered by warranty and made me pay. I took it back to **** **** and they looked it over and even changed the sensor for free and said the light is a hard fail of the system and that if rohrich had done their job properly they would have found it. They couldnt reset the fail because it was a module in the system. I would have to pay 200 for the module that is supposed to be under warrenty. Also I have a intermittent fail on the heating and cooling in the cabin and they said at rohrich that it was caused by leaves in the filter. I replaced the filer which was clean and i still get the intermittent fail which the Rohrich refuses to acknowledge is their problem even though i have a Certified vehicle which i think was made certified to make a quick buck . There are so many other issues like when the mangled license plate to get their rohrich frame on. The fact is i have a vehicle that has a a warranty and rohrich wont honor and because they feel that they dont have to. her eis fraud here in that they certified the vehicle without following procedures and made me pay extra when they didnt even inspect it. Now i have a lemon because i have a Rhorich . And a fraudulent warranty

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the certified price i paid since When I think or Rohrich I think of lemon. I want the vehicle fix as per the contract and i want everything fixed that was ignored when the vehicle was purchased. I do not want the service manager calling me and called me names and telling me i dont know what i am talking about again because as he put it they have the best service in the industry yet cant prove it. I will not except less because of the abusive nature of the rohrich way

Business Response:  We would welcome the opportunity to inspect the vehicle again at no charge and perform any repairs that are covered by the vehicle warranty. 

Consumer Response: I would like a specific answer such as what is covered and what isnt. I took it in last time under the assumption of warranty but i walked out having to pay for the work. I also walked out with a bogus explanation 
about the issue. I cant help but to feel they made the offer thinking it would close the BBB report and they could do as they have done before and place blame. I can not and will not walk in not know what i am paying for and walk out with the same problems such as no heat or cooling in the cabin. I have attached a picture of the one of the many failures that are apparently not covered under the warranty. There are many issues in this lemon that should not have been certified and Rohrich refuses to repair under warranty or to talk to me with out berating me as they have done before. Again I was forced to pay them for a broken system that they blame on a filter. Keep in mind last year i paid for a new battery that was not giving me problems but somehow Rohrich managed to find a problem. The car was in my hands barely over a year . 

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response:  Our initial inspection revealed that the tire pressure sensor was broken by an independent tire installer and the HVAC issue was due to debris that was restricting the system. Absent the opportunity to personally inspect  the vehicle I am unable to verify if our original inspection was correct or if other warrantable concerns exist. As I stated previously, any inspection for these issues will be done at no charge to the owner.      

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

if an inspection for the problem exist why was i charged. And the fact that the small amount of debris was cleaned out and the filter replaced. the Problem still exist. Also waht about the transmission problem and what about retrying my license plate just so rohrich frame is visable . The tire problem still exist even after *** **** replaced the sensor. Fact the the sensor indicator issue appeared 6 month. fact i have had repeat issues and rohrich says the same thing everytime and that its someone else or something that caused it so i should pay. The vehicle. So when you say the troubleshooting is free i call Rohrich a liar because i had to pay. The car is crap and you failed to inspect the vehiocle to make sure it was certified eligible. I still have the problems but cant afford the 100 dollars an hour for Rohrich to trouble shoot again. The car is a lemon and Rohrich knew it and refuses to honor the warranty with out me paying now. In the long run and short run rohrich has made no attempt to contact me. with the answers given it onvious that there is no attempt on the part of the dealer to honor the warranty since they are so willing to lie in writing i feel its time to post this on social media as well as the receipts for the charges. when i think of rohrich i think of lemons. 




1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the past year I have been in to have my brakes checked for the same issue 6 times now. Four of those times were with Rohrich Lexus, where the first 2 times I spent money on issues that didn't exist or were not the actual cause of the problem. I had paid to have factory shims put on and then was told I needed new brakes soley because they were not manufactured brakes. Problem still occured after I paid for these and were replaced, received new calipers under warranty where issue was resolved for awhile, came back they cleaned brakes and calipers and then had to go to another dealer to get assistance again on issues with calipers.

Desired Settlement: Invoice ********* 3/23/2014 to check sound coming from breaks/calipers $20 referred me to dealerInvoice Date Rohrich Lexus 4/12/14 price of manufactured shims: $51Invoice Date Rohrich Lexus 5/21/14 price of manufactured front new brakes: $390Invoices on 7/10/14 and 11/5/14 were free Rohrich LexusInvoice from Goodyear 1/10/2015 (**** ********** ***.) to check brakes and lubricate calipers $50

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I went to check brake noise problem with the dealer I bought the car and they failed my inspection because they said the noise I hear is the Strut. My mechanic looked it over and did say I need a new Strut, so brake noise was not from manufactured shims, or my actual brakes or calipers. Which I paid for new shims and new brakes when they were fine. I feel like I was being lied to because I am a woman and paid for unnecessary parts/work that did not need replaced. I would like a refund since these services were not necessary or the cause of my issue. 

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:  We agree to the refund and will forward a check to the consumer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,
******* ******

1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Engine Misfire and Engine Oil Consumption. Ongoing issue with check engine light since 2006. The vehicle was purchased (leased) on November 5, 2005. I brought the vehicle in in 2006, 2012 (twice), 2013 and again on November 3, 2014 for the same issue. At which time on November 3, 2014 they found the problem to be a compression loss issue and engine overhaul repair needed at a cost of $5,600. A Customer Support Program Notice was issued on November 15, 2012 (on or around this date) for Engine Misfire (Intermittently Runs Rough) The program is offered for a period of nine years with no mileage limitations from the vehicle's inservice date to cover a repair for the condition described above.I was a little over 2 and a half weeks over the warranty, but this has been an on-going issue since 2006 and the Customer Support Program Notice was just issued in November 2012.

Desired Settlement: I would like the vehicle repaired at no cost to me.

Business Response:  Lexus issued a customer support program for this issue which was in effect for 9 years from the purchase date, this vehicle is beyond the program guidelines. Lexus has offered  Ms. ***** goodwill assistance in the amount of $1000.00 toward the repair. Rohrich has also offered additional goodwill of $500.00 towards the cost of the repair.   

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr. ******,

 

As the consumer I don’t differentiate between Lexus and Rohrich. The car was leased then subsequently purchased from Rohrich. At this point I would prefer to speak to the owner of your dealership, and the person from Lexus who made this decision. Can you please facilitate this request for me?

 

In addition, I wanted to again call your attention to some of the events, to this point, that make this particular issue very curious to me.

 

The car was brought in for service in March 2006 for a misfire but nothing was found. The Customer Support Program for Engine Misfire (Intermittently Runs Rough) recall letter from Lexus was received in November 2012. The car was brought in November 2012 based on the CSP notification received the same month and specific to the car VIN. But again nothing was found. June 2013 the car was again brought in for a misfire but nothing was found. Then in December 2014 the car was again brought in for check engine light and misfire/runs rough but this time ********* was told the issue was related to the CSP notification of November 2012. She was also told the repair would not be covered because it was too expensive and outside the 9 year program period. Please let me know if I misrepresented or omitted anything.

 

What’s curious to me is that the car was in for service, specific to an engine misfire and the CSP letter, 3 times before it was actually identified as the issue. Then on December 3, 2014 when the car was brought in for a 4th time Rohrich submitted case# ********* to Lexus for the repair of this vehicle specific to Customer Support Program for Engine Misfire (Intermittently Runs Rough) notice. Lexus denied the claim because it was outside the 9 year program period.

 

However, according to your service manager the vehicle was ‘days’ beyond the 9 year program period and too expensive to repair. So one additional question is how was the start date, or the “in-service date”, of the 9 year program period identified and calculated?

 

I also wanted you to know that on a least 2 separate occasions, over the years, this vehicle has lost power while driving. I’m not suggesting it’s related but does have the same symptoms as the CSP notification, and is a real safety issue in my opinion.

 

Thank you again for your time. I look forward to your response.

Business Response:       Lexus has agreed to repair the vehicle at no charge to the owner.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

********* *****

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint involves false statements made by both sales and service and poor quality of work once "completed" First I was told to my face and later in an email of a specific issues that if I had to bring in my certified (certified meaning I had to pay extra for the benefits) Lexus ES350 that I would get a loaner car. I was told many times that this was something that was included in certified. The Service dept has refused and will not allow it for a service such as an oil change which takes almost all day for them to do. The service dept went as far as to say that they don't always get to the vehicle the same day even when making an appointment so I may have to leave the vehicle. I bought the vehicle in December 2012 and have brought it in for repair one time due to a door handle that was broke when I bought it. The quality of the work was horrendous and the handle still isn't 100 percent. With the poor attitude and arguments with the sales people I don't feel comfortable even trying to straighten this out directly with the dealership. I did try to contact Lexus and they said they can not help because all dealers are franchise and they create their own policys

Desired Settlement: I want the web site changed to reflect the real policy. I want the service people trained to treat people with respect and dignity. I want them to put it in writing that no mater what a sales person states or what the service people or website states that if there is a difference and conflict its in writing. I want the ability to arbitrate and be compensated for false statements and be compensated. There seems to be confusion as well as what voids warranty because one person stated if I don't

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

My Name is ****** ********** the General Manager at Rohrich Lexus.  Immediately after reviewing the complaint I was able to contact Robert about his experiences with us.  We have I believe cleared things up.  We look to build on a positive service relationship from this point forward.  Customer has agreed to return to service for 2 complementary oil services and tires rotations and a loaner will be provided as is part of the Rohrich Lexus Certification program.  All we ask is for ample appointment notice to assure a service loaner will be available.

If you have any further questions feel free to contact me at anytime.

Thank You,

****** **********

8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sunday the 23rd a. I first noticed my remote did not work and the fog lights and fan motor would not shut offb. Master switch for windows did not work but each window switch didc. Battery died. *** was able to jump itd. Drove it to local mechanic2. Tuesday the 24th-Local mechanic said there was an electrical problema. Tried replacing a relay but did not correct the problemb. Said the master switch probably needed to be replacedc. Suggested I take it to the Lexus dealer as he does not have a lot of experience with these types of electrical problems3. Wednesday the 25th we took the car to the Lexus Dealer 4. Thursday the 26th they said they were working on it and they had never seen this problem, could not figure it out and were talking to the factoryblah, blah.5. Friday the 27th they were still working on it, checking the programming, blah, blah. They fried my battery in the process of trying to figure out the problem because the fan and fog lights kept draining the battery. Told me I had to buy a Lexus private label battery for $165 (Have never paid more than $100 for a battery). Said it was the only way they could continue so I said yes.6. Monday July 1st they said they found the problem: They said the electrical problem was caused by two wires under the passenger seat that had come lose and disconnected. Then also told me that either my stereo or amplifier was not working and may have to be replaced for at least $650 for the stereo plus installation and would take a week to 10 days to get it. When I pushed him for how much all this was going to cost he went into a long story about all the hours they put in for 5 minutes and said they gave me a big break by only charging me $950 total for the battery and labor to identify the problem.

Desired Settlement: I want a new radio installed at no charge since they fried the old one. When it was dropped off the radio was working fine!! They were told to disconnect the battery so as not to run it down. Contacted corporate!

Business Response:

In regards to case *******,I have spoke with the Manufacturer and they have offered a $500 service credit to Mr. ********, and we at the dealership are offering the remainder. I am under the impression that this is resolved, if you have any questions, please feel free to contact me directly.

******* ***** Service Manager Rohrich Lexus************** ******************

1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service