Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rohrich Cadillac

Phone: (412) 344-6000 Fax: (412) 344-0433 2116 West Liberty Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15226


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Auto Dealers - New Cars


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rohrich Cadillac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rohrich Cadillac include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rohrich Cadillac
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1921
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Pennsylvania Vehicle Emissions Inspection and Maintenance Program
1101 S. Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17104
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-265-0921
Drivecleanpa@state.pa.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Rohrich, Vice President Mr. David Rohrich, Executive
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Rohrich, Vice President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS


Additional Locations

  • 2116 West Liberty Avenue

    Pittsburgh, PA 15226 (412) 344-6000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/20 I had my sons car towed to rohrich Cadillac for what our family mechanic thought was a ignition security issue that has to be performed by the dealership. The car sat for a week we were contacted and told the repair would be approx. $1000.00 for the ignition cylinder and switch replacement. That these items along with the battery failed diagnostics. We opted not to have the repairs done my sons car is a 2005 ***** ** and looked for alternatives. We had the vehicle towed to our home. We replaced the battery and the car ran perfectly fine, has been for weeks. My complaint and why I am requesting a refund of the 112.35 I paid. IF rohrich ran the diagnostics that I was charged for one would think they would have to had replaced the dead battery which apparently would have solved the issue. WHY the diagnostics showed costly repairs being needed that obviously were not. We contacted GIL P*** of rohrich customer service and asked for proof diagnostics were completed, he said he would comply and simply sent us a copy of our invoice that we already had. I do not believe diagnostics were run at all. I believe that they did not want to work on the vehicle and quoted a costly estimate OR they simply tried to rob us of approx 1000.00 in unneeded repairs. And charged us 112.35 for their trouble. When I was on the phone with *** to have the car towed we conferenced in a customer service rep from rohrich (Kelsey or Chelsey) who stated the car was ready to go and there was no invoice since no service was completed (which I would imagine *** can attest to). They show up and GIL P*** contacts me there is a bill and I am mistaken nobody by that name works there (which was a outright lie.).

Desired Settlement: FULL Refund. It is not about the money as much as it is about the shady business practices and attitude of GIL P*** as a representative of rohrich cadillac.

Business Response: I contacted customer ***** ****** to go over the diagnostic review of her vehicle and the issue she had with Rohrich service. The vehicle was a tow in and was here 7 days before it was looked at due to appointments scheduled ahead of hers. Customer was told by adviser that there was a $105.00 an hour diagnostic fee. Vehicle condition was stated by customer to be a security system concern and customer states in letter to BBB that was what her family tech. said might be the problem. Rohrich tech. diagnosed the starting, charging and security system. The battery was dead and failed the service test, it would not hold a charge. It needed to be replaced to further diagnose the charging and security systems. Tech noted that while he was scanning the system and attempting to charge battery that the ignition switch  was showing that it was intermittently in the run position, when it should have been off since the vehicle wasn't running. This would have been a drain on the battery and the part of the problem. Note vehicle has 93,894 miles on it and the key cylinder and ignition switch is loose and worn. This was all explained by phone call by service manger on 8/14/15. Customer felt she did not get enough info from Rohrich adviser. It was explained to her after customer declined repairs from Rohrich and had the battery replaced else where that eventually the new battery would die due to the intermittently working ignition switch. In regards to customer comments that there was no charge for diagnostics from one of the service personal. This was a mistake on Rohrich part. When customer call in to decline repairs and have vehicle towed out she was speaking to a new BDC operator which only schedules appointments. Operator reviewed the repair for the customer which was not closed yet. The adviser never had the chance to charge the 1.0 hour of diagnostic time at $105.00 to the repair order. Adviser Gill P*** was unaware of the new operator and her attempts to review invoice total for the customer. It was purely a mistake which has been corrected. I feel that service repairs were attempted to be done correctly and honestly. Rohrich Cadillac has been in operation since 1939 and does not deserve to be accused of robbing customers or over charging them for unneeded repairs. Being that the customer had a bad experience with the service dept. I contacted her, explain in detail what went wrong and how it was going to be corrected and refunded her the diagnostic fee of $105.00 plus tax.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

9/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2014 Cadillac Escalade from Rohrich Cadillac in Pittsburg, PA, on July 28, 2014. At the time of the purchase, I traded a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee at the dealership and wrote a personal check (Check #****) in the amount of $4100.85 for the taxes, tags, title, and registration. I reside in Maryland and requested to hand deliver the paperwork for the taxes, title and registration to the DMV personally. I was told that the dealership paid a third party to handle their title work and the paperwork would be taken care of through the dealership. I was issued at 30-day temporary license plate. I contacted ***** ****, Salesman who sold me the vehicle, on Tuesday, August 26, 2014, and stated that I had not received any paperwork for the MVA or any information regarding the tags and registration. He told he that he would check on that on Wednesday, August 27, 2014. I contacted *****, via text message, again on August 27, 2014, and he stated that he was off for the day and would work on this problem on Thursday, August 28, 2014. I contacted ***** again on August 28, 2014, to inquire about my tags and he told me that he would work on this on Friday, August 29, 2014. I asked to speak to the general manager. I spoke with ***** ****** **. and was informed that he would have to contact the title agency and he would get back to me. I was told to drive the car with expired tags and if I received a ticket or fine that the dealership would pay the expenses. No loaner car or rental car was offered to provide me with transportation. On this date, the tags had expired. I received a call at 12:05 p.m. on Friday, August 29, 2014, from ***** (last name unknown) who worked in the title department at Rohrich and she stated that I would receive my paperwork within 5 days. I asked if this was business days or calendar days. She informed me that it would be business days. Therefore, I should expect my paperwork on Friday, September 5, 2014. She advised me to drive the vehicle with expired tags and if I received a fine the dealership would pay for them. I asked about points and impounding of the vehicle and she stated that she didnt know Maryland law. I picked up my mail on Thursday, September 4. 2014, and had not received any paperwork. I contacted the dealership again to inquire about the whereabouts. I spoke to ***** ****, Salesman, who said that he wished that he could do something but there was nothing he could do. I asked for ***** ****** **., he said he would not pay for a rental car and I was to drive my Escalade with no tags and he would cover the fines if I received any. I asked him how the dealership was above the law. He stated that I needed to be honest with the police officer and tell them that the paperwork was in process. He also stated that he would look in to this situation on Friday, September 5, 2014. I contacted the Maryland DMV on Friday, September 5, 2014, and was told by ***** (DMV Clerk in Glen Burnie, MD.) that no paperwork had been processed. She advised me to contact the dealership, get a tracking number for the paperwork, and contact the Dealership licensing department. After speaking to *****, I contacted the dealership to speak to ***** ****** **. I was told that he doesnt work on Fridays. I asked for ***** in the title department. She answered and I asked about the paperwork. She told me to drive the car and she would contact the title department to find out where the paperwork was located. I specifically asked her to get a tracking number for me so that I could locate the paperwork. She called me back and stated that I would receive the paperwork by Tuesday, September 9, 2014. She was unable to provide a tracking number for me and stated that she would not get that until later in the day. I asked her to call me with the information. I asked to speak to *** ******* and was given his voice mail and a message was left. I called back to Rohrich Cadillac and left a message with ****** the receptionist for *** and asked that she hand deliver my message. I requested that he call me ASAP. At 4:00 p.m. I had heard nothing from Rohrich Cadillac and I called to speak to Maria. I was put on hold three (3) times and was then told that ***** had left for the day. I asked if *** ******* was available and was told that he was out for the afternoon. Therefore, I have no information regarding my tags, taxes, title, or registration for my vehicle after 10 days of inquiry and 8 days without a license plate for my vehicle. However, my check # **** in the amount of $4,100.85 cleared the bank on July 31, 2014, and I have nothing.

Desired Settlement: The dealership has a legal obligation to take ownership of this situation and make all efforts possible to ensure that my vehicle is in legal standing in the state of Maryland. There should be no lapse of time between the expiration date of the temporary tag and the time that the registration paperwork is received by the customer. This I need paperwork for tags, title, registration, etc. Rohrich Cadillac should not be permitted to process title work for out-of-state registration.

Business Response: In reference to complaint id#********
ref..******* * *****
The title and plates in question were delivered to Mr. ***** to his residence via fed ex at 10:17am Today monday september8th...We have talked to Mr ***** to let him know that the above was delivered to his home..
We applogized for the delay between us and the state of Maryland..Hope this resolves the situation.
******* ***** ** ********** ******* **** **********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is unsatisfactory to me.  

 
I started my contacts with the dealership on August 26, 2014, addressing this situation.  
After my multiple attempts to locate the paperwork from the dealership, calls to the MVA and other licensing departments, Mr. ****** **. found it imperative to take action on my claims.   I did receive an envelop on Monday, September 7, 2014, around 10:17 a.m.   That envelope contained only a registration card.   Since my calls to the MVA showed that the plates on the registration card were still registered to the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee that I traded in on July 28, 2014, I had to call Rohrich Cadillac again on September 8, 2014, to inquire about the plates, any other paperwork that I needed, and why I did not have a 2014 Cadillac Escalade registered in Maryland.  It wasn't until I requested the afternoon off from work to drive to Pittsburgh that Mr. ****** **** realized that I deserved clarification and answers.  He made several calls to me,  the first time in three (3) weeks of me repeatedly calling the dealership, to let me know he was working on the situation.   He told me that he had worked for 1 1/2 hours on this and he didn't know what to do.   I replied that I had worked for three (3) weeks with the dealership to try to get an answer and I was not their employee and should not have to resolve this situation.   His frustration paramounted and he realized that I had a valid point for being unhappy and that the dealership had learned quite a bit over this situation.    Any customer should not have to endure the negligence  over title work that I have endured.  The employees, including Mr. ****** **., should provide stronger customer support for issues that the dealership creates and not provide dishonesty, illegal recommendations, and avoidance to customer concerns.  Had the dealership been pro-active in this situation and provided answers more timely, this could have been avoided.  I was told repeatedly that this issue would be handled "tomorrow" from employees who were scheduled for that day off (this includes Mr. ****** **.), phone messages were never returned, I was put on hold waiting for employees who had left for the day, and the list goes on.  
Rohrich Cadillac should either provide the out-of-state buyer with their MVA paperwork at the time of purchase or process their own title work and not contract the service to a third party vendor.  The owner of a new vehicle should not have expired tags for two (2) weeks waiting on a registration and title and be offered no means of transportation (no loaner car or rental car was offered).  The dealership is not above the law and should not promote, encourage, or suggest that the owner of the new vehicle with expired tags continue to drive and the dealership would cover the fines.  It is illegal to drive unregistered and unlicensed cars in any state.  The dealership should know that. 
Regards,

******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rohrich Cadillac
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)