Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

North Star Chevrolet Inc

Phone: (412) 264-3325 Fax: (412) 264-3210 View Additional Phone Numbers 5854 University Blvd, Moon Township, PA 15108 http://www.northstarchevy.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile sales & servicing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that North Star Chevrolet Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for North Star Chevrolet Inc include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for North Star Chevrolet Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on North Star Chevrolet Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1971 Business started: 07/01/1971 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD018748L.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ron Dakan, Owner/President Mr. Joe Gray, General Manager Ms. Sheila Anthony, Assistant to Owner Mr. Ed Lynam, Service Department Mr. Vince Moore, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sheila Anthony, Assistant to Owner
Principal: Mr. Ron Dakan, Owner/President
Principal: Mr. Joe Gray, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES - NEW TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
North Star Automotive North Star Chevrolet
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Auto Service Contracts

Additional Locations

  • 5854 University Blvd

    Moon Township, PA 15108 (412) 264-3325

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we bought a car from north star chevrolet on 9/12/15.first they charged us 8,535.00 when the sticker said 7,288.00. second thing is that they sold us car with a bad transmission. after all the money we financed we had to pay 1,600 to get the transmission fixed.they knew it was bad and still sold it. i talked to one guy and he gave me the run around.he said it just needed the fluid changed, which they did but it didnt help the problem.

Desired Settlement: i would like them to give me the difference for the money they charged and a refund for the transmission cost

Business Response:

May 18, 2016

Case #********/ ****** **********

Dear ******** *****

We have been in contact with the customer and have come to a mutually acceptable resolution. Both parties are satisfied. thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Sincerely,

Joseph ** ****

General Manager

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** **********

4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car inspected at North Star Chevrolet on 1/23/2016 because they offer their customers free inspection, although they over charged me for my emissions sticker. I also had a power steering and brake light recalls to have repaired. I would be going on a long trip in March and wanted to be sure my vehicle would be safe. According to North Star's report, this is what was needed to pass inspection: - Two front tires - Front passengers side tie rod - Control arm bushings - Rear Brakes - Rear Rotors - Alignment I opted to have some of the work done elsewhere, so I left with my vehicle. After a couple days of driving, I noticed heavy shaking from the front end. I thought it might be the tie rod ready to break, so the next day I had that changed. However, it turned out that the cause of my car shaking wasn't the tie rod...It was that my front passengers side wheel wasn't on all the way. Every lug nut was half way from falling off. MY WHEEL ALMOST FELL OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING! I could have died, because their service department didn't put my wheel back on during inspection. I was very frustrated and felt lucky to be alive. I completed a majority of the work need for inspection (two brand new front tires, tie rod, rear brakes and rotors), and as a courtesy, for nearly killing me, Mike (service manager) let me pay for the remaining parts for control arm bushings and alignment with free labor, along with another vehicle inspection at my request due to life threatening errors during the first one. I only took this deal because it saved me time. I had another means to complete this work at an even lower cost. This was done on 2/09/2016 for $283.59. I was away on a work trip from 2/9/2016 to 2/14/2016, so didn't have a chance to check my vehicle until I came home. My vehicle was drifting heavily left. It would not drive straight. There was not a position that I could hold my steering wheel in to drive straight. On 2/17/2016 I took my car to North Star for a third time to align my vehicle AGAIN and investigate why my car was pulling left. On 2/18/2016, North Star determined that the alignment was in spec, but noticed my front drivers side strut was broken. They informed me that this is what was causing my car to drift and replaced it at no charge because they should have found it during their first and/or second vehicle inspection. My vehicle was returned to me. However, the drifting and alignment wasn't any different. I could let off of the steering wheel and switch lanes within seconds. It only seemed to be getting worse. I was very busy with work and preparing for my trip. On 3/4/2016, frustrated with North Star's service, I called General Motors and informed a supervisor of the story up to this point. The rep was very helpful and would contact North Star's service manager to help me get my vehicle in working order. It was now days before I would drive 2500 miles across the country. My GM rep had contacted the service manager. The service manager insisted that my vehicle was pulling left due to uneven wear during the time driving brand new tires with a broken strut, and would balance out. They didn't have any time available during this weekend before me leaving to have my car looked at again. He insisted that my car was safe to drive and to take it on my trip. On 3/6/2016, I sent my GM rep an email noting that I had driven approximately 45 miles with new tires on the bad strut, and about 360 miles since repair. I felt that this was excessive based upon what the service manager insisted. On 3/8/2016, I left on my trip with my girlfriend (a mother of two children) and my best friend. We were to travel from ********** to *** ******* and back. It was a struggle driving my vehicle on the highway. Nearly impossible to drive straight, I swerved the entire time. We stayed that evening in ********** **. We continued our trip to *** ******* the next morning. During the drive, my rear passengers side tire began deflating. With a tight schedule, and determined to reach our destination, we tried 'Fix-A-Flat'. This didn't work. We eventually stopped to have it patched. Luckily where we stopped happened to be a tire garage. With one look at my tire, they determined it was ready to blow. It could not be patched, it would need replaced. I had no choice. The only size tires they had were bigger than the size being replaced, but still fit on the wheel. While replacing that tire, they looked at the other side and determined it was doing the same thing. The belts had broken and the tires were bulging. Just from looking at it, they could tell the vehicle wasn't in alignment, and that I would have been in a very bad accident should I not have stopped when I did. The remainder of my trip was made safely, although still a very difficult drive being unable to keep my vehicle straight. Upon returning on 3/15/2016, I contacted my GM representative to update him on the situation. Very frustrated, and feeling that all three of us were lucky to be alive, he assisted me in setting up yet another appointment with North Star Chevrolet to have my vehicle looked at. North Star Chevrolet issued me a loaner vehicle and took my vehicle to a nearby Firestone to have my alignment checked AGAIN and to have a second opinion. Firestone determined that because my rear tires are a different size than my front tires, a proper alignment could not be done. They also determined that there was a broken rear coil and recommended both to be replaced. This would be at my cost. At this point, I feel very strongly that North Star Chevrolet is at fault for damages to my vehicle due to misdiagnosis. The manager is willing to 'work with me' by cutting the cost of repair for tires and the rear coils in half, but I've already been through this with them after the first time they put my life in danger. I shouldn't have had to pay then. This time, the damaged coil could very likely be what I've been trying to have fixed for two months and the tires only need replaced because the ones i had that past inspection twice were destroyed while my vehicle was 'safe to drive'. I am awaiting further instruction from GM. After three days of driving the loaner vehicle, the dealership has threatened to report the loaner vehicle stolen, so I am now forced to drive in my unsafe vehicle until this is resolved. At this point, they have nearly killed me twice, nearly killed my best friend, nearly killed my girlfriend (a mother of two children remember). Their lack of ability to diagnose my vehicle caused two of my tires to be destroyed and replaced at my cost, uneven wear on my brand new front tires (remember how much wear could happen in 40 miles driving with a broken strut according to the service manager), time out of my trip, time from work taking my vehicle back and forth, and who knows what other damage during my trip due to whatever is causing my car to drift.

Desired Settlement: I want four new tires on my vehicle to replace the ones I've already paid for that were damaged due to North Star Chevrolet's misdiagnosis and to help recuperate the cost of the tires I had to purchase while on my trip. I want my vehicle aligned properly. I want a full vehicle inspection for safety and to find any other damages to my vehicle that may have happened during my trip. Anything found to be damaged that could be caused by thousands of miles of the vehicle shaking, and improper alignment needs to be repaired at the cost of North Star Chevrolet. I want my rear coils replaced at the cost of North Star Chevrolet as a courtesy for putting my life in danger multiple times as well as those I love. You cannot put a price on a human life. I want for no one else to have to go through the experience I have and for no other lives to be at risk due to their poor service.

Business Response:

Dear ******** *****

In response to case # ******** and the complaint that was filed against North Star Chevrolet. In resolution, We have decided to meet the Customer's desired settlement.

 

As per the customer's request all 4 tires will be replaced, both rear coil springs will be replaced, We will align vehicle while providing before and after repair specifications, and perform a complete PA state safety inspection of the vehicle.

These repairs will be performed by one of our G M World Class Technicians (highest Level of GM technician) under the close supervision of myself. As per the customer's desired settlement, this will be done at no charge to the customer.

Regards

Michael R***

Service Director

North Star Chevrolet


4/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint concerning Deceptive Business Practices.On 3/17/15, I contacted the dealership by telephone concerning a vehicle they had for sale on their website(2004 Chevy Colorado). I spoke to a salesman (******) concerning the vehicle. I explained to him that I lived 2 hrs away and wanted to know the condition of the vehicle. He said there was no problems. I spoke to him again later that day to confirm that I would be driving out the next day (3/18) and he again reiterated that the vehicle was in good condition. Later that day, the manager (*****) called me concerning the vehicle and me coming out. He again reiterated that the vehicle was in good condition and that he would re-check and call me if there were any mechanical issues with it. I never received a return phone call from him.On 3/18/15, prior to driving to the dealership, I called in the morning and spoke to the salesman again to confirm that the vehicle was there. He said it was. He did not mention any issues with the vehicle.This was 4 phone calls to the dealership concerning the vehicle PRIOR to me driving 2 hrs there to look at a vehicle. When I arrived at the dealership, I was met by the salesman (******) who immediately pawned me off on a different manager (*****, I think). Before even showing me the vehicle, the manager pulled out a long list of mechanical repairs that the vehicle required which added an estimated cost of approximately $2,700 to the advertised cost of the vehicle. When asked why I wasn't told about these issues when I spoke to someone 4 times before driving there, and specifically asked about its condition, he stated that he couldn't speak for someone else.I believe they were being deceptive and that it was their intention to get me there to persuade me to purchase the vehicle, regardless of the numerous repairs needed.

Desired Settlement: Deceptive Business practice complaint on their BBB record.

Business Response:

Dear ******** ****:

It is the policy at North Star Chevrolet to disclose mechanical repairs of all used vehicles prior to the sale.  The 2004 Chevrolet Colorado was priced well below market value.  Each pre auction vehicle is presented to our customers with an itemized list of any repairs necessary so the customer can decide as to whether they would like to have these repairs performed prior to the purchase of the vehicle.  

 

Sincerely, 

*** ****

General Manager

North Star Chevrolet 

###-###-####

*************************

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business's response was simply that it is their policy to divulge the needed repairs to the customer.  They did not address my complaint at all since that was not my complaint.  My complaint is that they did not divulge this information to me prior to me driving 2.5 hours to the dealership, even though I asked the salesman on several phone calls about the condition of the vehicle, the manager informed me on a separate phone call that he would double check the file and call me if there were any problems with it, and before driving out to the dealership I again asked the salesman who stated that there were no issues.  Both the salesman and the manager were informed of the 2.5 hour drive and the description that I received about the vehicle was that it was "immaculate".  In addition to not telling me about the problems, their online ad for the vehicle did not mention the need for any repairs at all. 

Yes the company abided by their policy of divulging the information, but they were deceptive in how they did so.  I believe they wanted me to come into the dealership, regardless of the vehicle's issues, so that they can attempt to dupe me into purchasing that vehicle or a different one (in fact, the manager did attempt to show me another vehicle when I told him that I was not interested in one that needed repairs).  If they would have divulged the information on the vehicle when they were asked NUMEROUS TIMES, I would not have wasted 2.5 hours of travel to go to the dealership.

I want the deceptive business practice complaint to be noted on the company's BBB record.


Regards,

********* *****

Business Response: On Tue, Apr 21, 2015 at 1:17 PM, <*********************** wrote:

To whom it may concern, 
 
We followed company policy in regard to disclosing required repairs.  It is unfortunate there was a miscommunication in this instance.
 
*** ****
General Manager
Northstar Chevrolet Inc.

Consumer Response: There was no miscommunication as the GM states. It was outright deceptive business practice and false advertising. The salesman and manager were asked point blank several times, prior to going to the dealership,  if there were ANY issues with the vehiclle. Both of them denied any issues, but when I arrived, I was jnformed by a different manager that there was almost $3,000 worth of repairs needed. 


Regards,

********* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on North Star Chevrolet Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)