This business is not BBB accredited.

North Hills Toyota

Phone: (412) 318-3000 Fax: (412) 318-3018 7401 Mcknight Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237 http://www.northhillstoyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a car dealership.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for North Hills Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on North Hills Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2008 Business started: 05/14/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD027806.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Killmeyer, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Killmeyer, Operations Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
North Hills Toyota Scion
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Auto Service Contracts

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7401 Mcknight Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15237 (412) 318-3000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off this complaint has nothing to do against North Hills Toyota's sales team. I have purchased 3 vehicles from them and cannot even say one bad thing about them. However, the North Hills Toyota's Service team, I cannot say anything nice about them. I have never had a good experience at this service center. Let start with my 2007 FJ Cruiser. I received a coupon for an inspection so I called and made an appointment. The next morning I received a call from them telling me I failed for the license plate light being out and it would cost me $25 dollars plus tax to repair. I stopped at the ******* **** and picked up a light for $6 dollars only to get there and the light was working. I asked for them to have the tech to come out and take a look and they advised me that I had to wait to get it looked at again. An hour later, they took the truck back and advised me that its my driver side mirror light out and it need replaced. By this time I am so mad I said go ahead and fix it as I knew I would not know how to get that off. Nevertheless, the tech broke the mirror and they had to order me another one, plus reschedule my appointment. I saved nothing. Last time they saw that truck. I ended up trading it in for a 2015 Scion TC, nice car. I has another garage change out the tires and was not aware of any issues. During my 5000 mile appointment, I got a call from North Hills office telling me that the lugs were stripped and it would cost me $500 for the repair. I said I would be there to pick it up and take it back to the other garage to have them repair it if they messed it up. Simple, but wait the lady told me they could not release my vehicle until I got it fixed. WTF is that. Strong arm me into letting them repair that. At this point I am totally finished with North Hills service department. Warranty or no warranty I would find some other place to service my vehicles. As time went on, I was driving past North Hills Sales building and notice a 2010 Toyota FJ. I stopped and took a look and like always a sales person came out we discussed the price and my trade in value. I took the truck for a test drive and part of the test drive the salesman had me drive past the service center. I advised him about my past experiences with them, his reply was we change the team, please give them another chance. We drove back to the sale department to finalize the paperwork. I drove off with the FJ. Good day. Fast forward, a second chance. I received another coupon for a $20 oil change. That's right another coupon plus I need to order a wire harness for the FJ so I could pull my trailer. I scheduled the appointment and ordered the part for the same day. How hard would this be just an oil change. I took the truck in and 2 hours later it was still not ready. They did try to help past the time by having an insurance agent stop over and ask me if she could see if they could save me some money. Nice of them. Finally about 2 and a half hours passed and the manager came over and said he was sorry it took so long and comp me the oil change. Question here, if I am getting work done at your service center and your tech's make $90.00 per hour, why is my time worth less than $10.00 per hour? Either way I was ready to get out of there. I got my part and headed on my way. About a month or so later, I hooked up the harness and it did not work. Since I was closed to North Hills service center I figured I stop by and asked them a few questions. I talked to the parts guy and he advised me that I should talk to a tech. I went over to the service section and asked if I could speak to a service tech. The young lady advised me that Her Tech were far to busy to talk with me and I should make an appointment if I have questions about the wire harness. I have to admit that I did not want to hear any of that. I left so mad. I had to drive 15 miles to grab my other truck just to come back and grab the trailer. I called back once again to North Hills Service center and made an appointment on Saturday May 21, 2016. I advised the tech scheduling the appointment I would drop off the truck after hours on Friday. Saturday, like any other time I took my vehicles there, (I know, I should have learned by now), received a phone call advising me that it would cost me $1000 dollars for them to run a test to find out why the harness does not work. Are you kidding me? At no point did this tech that called me think he was crazy. I advised him that this is a certified vehicle and covered by the warranty. What no, just so happens that that warranty just ran out on May 18, 2016. Being that this was a certified vehicle, I was under the impression that the vehicle was covered until 100,000 miles. He advised me that it is only good for 1 year and that the additional limited warranty does not cover electrical. Funny that Toyota leaves that out, or maybe I didn't hear that part so well. Nevertheless, like I said, I have nothing bad to say about North Hill's sales team and should thank them as they offered me a second vehicle service contract thru Allstate. Most might not accept this, however for $2000 it covers a lot and it covers it until 2020. What a deal. Now this tech guy said No I don't have that either. I advised him that the contract would be in glove box and since they had the truck he could go grab it. But NO NO NO, there is nothing that will cover their service. He has my file up and there is no warranty for this. MAD as ****, I advised him to put my truck outside, lock it up and I would be there to get it and I did not want to see him or anyone. After a few days of calming down I called Toyota Certified Used Vehicle 800 number and talked with a guy about terms and coverage. He did confirm that the contract just expired on the 18th. Well nice for Toyota, guess it like the tech said, it could have came from the factory not connected or something else could have went wrong. Not only did I purchase this certified, but they must have forgotten to check to see if the wires were connected for a harness. Fine, if that bumper to bumper ended then why wouldn't the tech use the Allstate contract? I called Allstate (877-204-8842) and spoke with them. I asked him was I covered or did my agreement cancel? The customer service rep advised that the contract is current until 2020 and it covers the wire harness. I told him the Toyota advised me that I didn't have coverage. He said he's not sure why as he shows North Hills Toyota sold me the contract. How come Toyota North Hills Service department cannot do their job. Are these service tech train to bill as much as they can? I don't understand how this guy could not see this contract? Why even call me until you knew what was going on? Why didn't he take the time to review my purchase records? Please don't tell me he cannot. He saw the certified one. Why is this service center so under trained that they cannot deal with customers? I am so done with this service department. It is so bad they cannot even change oil correctly. Toyota need to reevaluate this office and make so much need changes. I should not have to go through all this just because they don't know their job.

Desired Settlement: Build me a truck that is complete. Fire everyone in North Hills Service center and start over. Get some people in there that know how to deal with customers and how to read customers files. Get rid of the tech that think they should rob and steal from all the customer that come there. Pay for my additional service contract of $2000. Let be real none of that will happen. I want my vehicle fixed. I want a service center that know what's going on and how to get the job done right. With or without the Allstate contract, I believe this is a miss on the certified tech that certified it before my purchase. I should not have to pay for this repair. Feel free to contract me at anytime to discuss my options.

Business Response:

Customer is out of factory warranty we will call the customer to see if they want to return if the claim they have an ancillary warranty by *** ***** we may be able to process a claim. 

 

*** ***** will Require the customer to pay diagnostics out of pocket and then based on findings they may or may not cover repair.  Calling customer now

Consumer Response:

I believe that North Hill Toyota should fix this. I feel that this was an over sight on their part. If their service department wasn't so bad this would have been corrected while it was still under warranty. They did all they could do to push it out until the warranty ended and now they want myself and all state to cover their cost on a vehicle they certified. 

 

 

Business Response:

 RE: ***** **** *****

2010 FJ Cruiser

 

Vehicle was brought to the dealership with a concern for the trailer wiring.  The dealer has performed the basic diagnostics and determined that advanced diagnostics is needed to determine the cause of trailer wiring failure.  Customer must be willing to authorize the necessary diagnostics in order for the dealership to find the cause of failure.

 

 

Once the cause of failure is determined, a claim can be created with the warranty to determine if coverage is applicable.

 

 If coverage is applicable, it is also very likely that a portion of the diagnostics may be covered.

 

 Until the cause of the failure is determined, we are unable to create a warranty claim.  In order to find the cause of failure, the customer must be willing to authorize diagnostics.

Consumer Response:

That is North Hill Toyota agreement? For me to authorize the necessary diagnostics in order for the dealership to find the cause of failure. I have to pay them to find out why the wire does not work. Like I said this is the worst place ever. Not once have they agreed to cover that $165 dollar charge, to find out what caused the failure. They are just pushing the cost to me and possible ********* What I think will happen after they look at my vehicle, someone from North Hills Toyota service center will call me asking for another $1000. Have they even mentioned why their service rep would call me telling me it would cost $1000 dollars and the only test he did was (I guessing here), was attached wires to the harness and saw that there was no power, and right away lets tell him is going to cost $1000 to correct what we don't know? No there has not been a mention of what that $1000 dollars was for. Just a scam. Worse service center ever and I have gotten screwed by others but they take the cake.

 

Since North Hills Toyota wants me to authorize the necessary diagnostics, I agree but only if Toyota service center of *********** , (AND ONLY THEM), will look at my truck. I no longer have respect, I no longer trust in North Hills Service center, or want them to ever look at my vehicle again. If this cannot happen, (Toyota ************ doing the diagnostics, than I do not accept. I also want North Hills Toyota Service Center to cover the loaner car cost while my vehicle is being serviced......


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* if Toyota *********** Service Center will check my vehicle, and North Hills Service Center covers the loaner car cost while my vehicle is being fixed than and only than will this agreement be satisfactory to me. 

I attached Mr K********* 


Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

Hi ******** I hope this reply finds you well. The last BBB case for the same customer was closed and settled so I thought this was behind us. My final offer to the customer which has remained unchanged was that the customer needs to return to US "North Hills Toyota" and pay our dealership the $108.95 Electrical Diagnostic fee in order for our Toyota Master Technician to truly and accurately diagnose the customers concern.  The great news is the customer has an extended warranty and he is obligated to pay for diagnosis and any future deductibles. 

 

The latest demand from the customer is that he wants to take his vehicle to another dealer and have us absorb rental and prolong and possible hinder an expedited resolution we have offered him. 

 

Him taking his vehicle to another dealer at our expense is not practical. Its our responsibility to work with the customer and have him participate in diagnosis and any future deductibles.

 

No rental is needed we have an amenities filled waiting area, ****** *** Restaurant attached and we shuttle to and from Ross Park Mall.

 

*****, needs to stick to and follow the terms of his Extended Warranty as outlined to the T to ensure his best interest and consumer protection.

Please let me know if you need further information.

7/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 16, 2016, my wife took our 2003 Ford Taurus to North Hills Toyota, where we purchased it, for an inspection, emission and oil change. In PA, if a car is driven less than 5,000 miles a year, it should be exempt from emission. In the past 7 years, I have paid for an emission test five times and should have been exempt each time at a total cost of $178.79. Also, this last time, my wife was told that the car did not pass inspection and would need a passenger side lower ball joint and an alignment to pass at a total cost of $748.79. The technician advised my wife to drive the car as little as possible until fixed. We then took the car to our own mechanic who looked the car over and found nothing wrong. Our own mechanic inspected the car and looked closely at the lower ball joint that Toyota said was bad, and found nothing wrong. My wife was afraid to drive the vehicle based on the technicians advice and caused us to need to use alternative transportation for the next day of work.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $178.79 paid for unnecessary emission testing. And I would like North Hills Toyota Scion to operate in a more professional manner. It seems that they are making money off of people who have nothing wrong with their vehicles. This is criminal in my opinion.

Business Response:

7/13/2016


****** this Is response to the BBB case filed by Mr. ***** for ID#******** that

North Hills Toyota will reimburse the customer for the requested amount of $178.79

 

Regards,

Robert K********

North Hills Toyota

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

6/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a certified 2012 Toyota Highlander from North Hills Toyota on Tuesday, April 12, 2016. Prior to purchasing the vehicle, I asked Austin, the salesperson, if the vehicle came with two keys, and was reassured that all certified vehicles come with two keys. After the purchase was completed and we were walking out the door, Austin explained to us that the second key they thought was ours was actually a second key to a different vehicle. They filled out another IOU form and listed the key on that form. After a month of hearing nothing from the dealership, I have called the dealership and texted Austin the salesperson and have not received a response. In addition, we were reassured during the purchase process that our license plates would be mailed to us. Two weeks after the purchase we received noticed from Dana, the dealership's Title Clerk, that we needed to validate our VIN at the police station, and then a week later another notice that the first request to validate the VIN at the police station was incorrect and that we needed to go to a local dealership. After immediately validating the VIN at the dealership, Dana will not return my and my husband's calls and our license plates expire in two days, one month after purchasing the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Receipt of our second key and license plates in the mail.

Business Response: We contacted customer and are paying for a second key and programming to the vehicle at dealer expense per GM. We also per customer requests sent plate to the address provided by customer to ensure customer satisfaction and loyalty.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ****

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requested a front end alignment for my vehicle. Dealer informed me that repair service wasn't necessary. No repair or modifications to the vehicle were made. Dealership still charged me for a front end alignment. Sated that I really needed a rear wheel alignment instead. Rear alignment was never done.

Desired Settlement: Either refund the cost for the service that wasn't performed or perform the service to the rear to remedy the problem. Car is newer and should require no parts (strictly adjustment). Cost of service should be roughly equal for front and back.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Dear ********,

Per our conversation today, I will accept the terms offered by North Hills Toyota to resolve my dispute with them.  I spoke Maria who is a service advisor.  She informs me that the dealership will issue me a full refund equaling the cost that was paid for the alignment. According to the dealership, the refund will be issued via check.  Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

*** ****** ********* 


Regards,

Steven Stopchick

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While my car was in for routine repairs, my windshield was damaged. No one told me about the damage, I found it on my own. No explanation or apology was made. No offer to help cover the cost of a new windshield since it was damaged beyond repair. I contacted the service department and was told that a small chip had gotten larger when they washed the car. The chip was not known to have been there before. They should have told me after they washed the car what happened. The agent I spoke to told me there was nothing they could do for me. This is exceptionally poor service.

Desired Settlement: The service department needs to add a step to their check in procedure. When cars are brought in for service an agent of the repair shop and the owner should, TOGETHER, inspect the car and both agree on what chips/dings/scratches are there PRIOR to any work being done. I feel that they didn't tell me about the windshield because they knew it was their fault. Otherwise why hide it? If truly the chip was present before the repair work, this should have been documented in my presence. I think I should be compensated for the cost of the replacement of my windshield, less the $50 it would have cost to repair a small chip before it was shattered.

Business Response: Advised customer to contact her insurance company. Her windshiled was cracked and stone chiped prior to service at North Hills Toyota and had not benn repaired or filled by the customer. The customers stone chip is preexisting and she needs to contact her insurance company for replacement as per her policy. The result of her windshield being cracked is due to stone chips that were incurred while the customer was driving it and prior to their service visit.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

Returning my car to me with my windshield in this condition is absolutely unacceptable.  You expect me to believe you saw a small chip that I didn't see, but didn't notice this giant shatter?  If you want customers to believe you when you state the damage was there BEFORE you service the car, then you need to have customers and your staff fill out a pre-service damage report together.  You failed to do that and you cannot prove that you didn't cause this damage.  It wasn't there when I dropped off the car.

Regards,
***** ********

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: north hill toyota refuse to repair the excessive engine oil consuptionWe have been doing the excessive engine oil consumption test for the whole past year. And the conclusion is the rav4 needs to be fixed. According to T-SB-0094-11, my rav4 is one of vin in the document.

Desired Settlement: Please repair the rav4

Business Response: North Hills Toyota is doing everything possible to educate and assist Mr. *** with Toyota Manufactuer Warranty assistance. The issue of his engine consuming oil needs to be recorded accurately and the data recorded needs to be submitted to Toyota corporate for review. If the oil consumption test that we need to perform at the customers expense of paying the full retail price for an oil change conculdes eligibility Toyota will perform a warranty engine repair to the customers vehicle at no charge as per Toyota's Warranty Enhancment released on Dec 16, 2015.

To date the customer has failed to pay for an oil change and he has failed to permit North Hills Toyota the opportunity to start the test. We have tried in the past, but the customer never returns in the required Toyota Waranty Enhancements alloted time of 1100 to 1300 miles.

I ****** ********* called Mr. *** today 02/06/2015 to explain this to Warranty Enhancment procedure to him in laymen terms and details, and he refused to aggree to setting up an appointment with me. He told me he was going to call and complain to Toyota Corporate in California, which is non sensible, since we at the dealer are well prepared and very passionate about helping him.  The only thing he needs to do is to Call *** ********* at the dealership, thats me, to set up an appointment and pay me for an oil change at our full retail rate and then the oil consumption test can start and he will be required to return in 1100-1300 miles or the test will be nullified.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The oil test has been done three times before. This issue has been complaint to the dealer for the past two years. They refused to submit the record we already have.

Regards,

****** ***

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought the vehicle in for an oil change and for a duplicate key to be made. The vehicle was in great working condition without any issues and had just passed inspection (PA). The vehicle was returned to me with steering problems (i.e., the power steering was broken), and I could hardly drive the car out of the dealership. When I confronted the service representative (*****) of the issue, he claimed that they received the vehicle with this issue. However, the mechanic was able to drive the car to the repair bay upon receiving the vehicle. The service staff said that they performed a multipoint inspection, and listed a number of recommendations for repair at a later time (i.e., not an immediate concern) including the power steering. When I asked the service representative for the manager, ***** said that he is one of the managers there and that his manager (******, I believe) is not available that day, but will be in the next day and I can call her then. Then, I asked the parts department for the manager, and they indicated that *** is the manager and he is available, and they said that ***** is not a manager in any respect. *** (the manager) was not that helpful and was immediately defensive as evident in the following events listed below. He had the service manager in his office with my paperwork before allowing me to come into his office and before asking me about my concern. I told him that I came in for an oil change and a duplicate key, and I receive the car in a non-drivable condition because of steering problems. He and his service manager said that they performed a visual inspection and that nothing malicious happened during service. The mechanic later conveyed that he removed the tires (i.e., a part of the steering mechanism). Instead of offering to fix the steering issues that the service department caused, *** only offered to tow the vehicle to my mechanic (for me to incur the cost of fixing the issue they caused). I notified the Toyota corporate office.

Desired Settlement: North Hills Toyota is being asked to pay for the cost of having my mechanic repair the steering issue they caused because they refused to repair it in their facility. This repair cost is quoted by North Hills Toyota to be $995 quote in their list of recommendations resulting from their multi-point inspection.

Business Response: Vehicle was received at North Hills Toyota on 10/8/2014 by a person described as a driver and had a request for and oil change, key cut. Standard prototcol in addition to the customers concerns is to perform a Courtesy MPI and to Inspect the Floor Mat to make sure the customers safety is not jeapordized.  The little guy who we later learned to be the driver to a laymen person would be described as a shorter thin gentleman.  ***** ****** the Asst. Service Manager told the driver that the vehicle has a multitude of concerns that should be brought to his attention which we did in the form of providing the driver an estimate sheet. Customer claim says that we the dealership caused a defect in the steering. Driver met with Dealership Employee **** ***** and ****** *********. We told him the vehicle condition was pre-exisiting. Customer refuted. We also told customer about a leaking brake caliper and the customer said it was new and recently replaced. He told us he had a steering issue before that felt exactly the same as when he brought it in today. He told us another garage replaced the caliper. We told him to take the vehicle back to that garage to have it fixed under warranty. he told us for this steering condition in the past he took it to another gargae and they replaced a caliper. We told him a caliper issure will not make his vehicle hard to steer. We told him he needs to start replacing the power steering pump. Out of knowhere another guy arrives at the scene of the dealership and introduces his self as ***** and exclaims he's the owner of the car. he refered to****** ********* and **** ***** as "You Guys" which we found to be offensive.  We told him his vehicle needs a lot of work and this guy said we sabotaged his car. We offered to tow the car at no charge to his shade tree mechanic who just worked on it and did a very poor job.  On the visit to the dealership we did provide the customer an estimate for all the repairs we found on a visual inspection. We even pulled the front wheels to get a better look at a brand new caliper. Unfortunately it was leaking where the line goes into the caliper. We never did any of these repairs another shop did.  Also we have no clue who the actual owner is. The 2nd man referred to us as you people and he never gave his name. 

Even thought the customer said the vehicle cant be steered, they left here driving the vehicle, so we are not sure of the exagerated validity of the vehicle being impossible to drive. He backed the car out of our dealerhip lot and drove away, never returning.

North Hills Toyota advised the customer to get his vehicle fixed by us, per our estimate or simply return to the garage who has been doing his work.  The big guy who claimed to be the owner was shaking, we thought he was going to collapse.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

North Hills Toyota is claiming a false statement that the vehicle had steering issues when they received it. Otherwise, that would have been priority #1 (i.e., safety), not the oil change and key duplication. The attached PDF document
"passing-inspection-through-2015-08.pdf" (with private information redacted) shows that the vehicle passed inspection on August 28, 2014 without any indication of any steering issues existing or developing. Additionally, the same PDF shows that the right-front caliper had been repaired (which North Hills Toyota listed as one of the parts they recommend to be repaired in one of their attachments).

The steering issue caused by North Hills Toyota while performing their multi-point inspection (i.e., with the mechanic removing the tires, which are parts of the steering mechanism) was investigated by my mechanic yesterday, and found to be a rack-and-pinion issue estimated at $1,127.88 as shown in the attached PDF document "estimate.pdf" (with private information redacted). Please note that North Hills Toyota did not even recognize that this is the steering issue they caused (i.e., in addition to not recognizing that the caliper they recommend to be repaired is fairly new).

Furthermore, the verbiage that North Hills Toyota used in their response is testament to their treatment of customers. They refer to customers using derogatory descriptions. They are unwilling to admit mistakes that they made during a simple oil-change and key-duplication service, and unwilling to correct them at their cost. They were immediately defensive when I asked to speak to the manager (***). ***** (i.e., the service representative) claimed to be a manager (which the parts staff indicated to be
false) and lied about *** being available (i.e., the parts staff later took me to ***). *** claimed that they did not cause damage with a "visual" inspection even before they spoke to their mechanic, who later said that he removed the tires (i.e., not visual).

I brought a perfectly operational vehicle to North Hills Toyota for an oil change and for a duplicate key to be made. The vehicle was returned to me with steering issues. The vehicle's steering issues developed while the vehicle was in their care, noting that they touched the steering mechanism when they removed the tires. North Hills Toyota is responsible for the steering issues that they caused.

I am updating the requested reimbursement amount to $1,127.88 (as estimated by my mechanic in "estimate.pdf").

Thank you very much for your time and consideration. Please let me know if you have any questions. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

******* ********

7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello,My name is ***** **********. I am emailing you with the hope that you can assist me and my husband with our unfortunate dealings with North Hills Toyota of Pittsburgh, PA. Our dealings with N.H. Toyota started on April 16th when I initially contacted them regarding a recall notice and a broken sliding door cable. I scheduled and appointment to drop off the van on 4/25/2014. At that time I was very clear that we needed their courtesy van, due to the fact that I have three children still in car seats. When I arrived for my scheduled appointment on the 4/25/2014, the van was not available. It was being used by an employee for schooling. I subsequently rescheduled a drop off for the 4/26/2014. Upon leaving our van on the 4/26/2014, we also agreed to allow the dealership to perform a PA State inspection, something that they asked us to have them perform since the van was already there. On April 28th North Hills Toyota contacted my husband, stating that we needed over $3,000 worth of service related work, even though the van passed inspection without ANY problems, and the additional work recommended was mileage related. We declined any additional work. At that time service department employee asked my husband, Let me ask you this, if I can get the cable covered under warranty, will you do the service work? My husband declined, after asking the service writer how covering a part under a possible extended warranty would have anything to do with having service work performed, other than an illegal bribe. It seemed a bit underhanded and arrogant of them to even suggest such a deal. After picking up the van, my husband noticed a significant amount of paint scratches and damage on the drivers side sliding door, quarter panel, and fuel door, and also discovered that the interior of the lift gate handle had been disassembled and pieces were now missing. We called North Hills Toyota and spoke with ****** ******** who was informed of our situation. He was apologetic and scheduled an appointment for us to bring the van back in to repair the damaged paint and replace the missing lift gate parts. My husband was very, very clear with Mr. ******** regarding our need for the courtesy van due to the three car seat situation. Mr. ******** guaranteed that the courtesy van would be waiting for us and even gave my husband his personal cell number in case there were any further issues. When I arrived for my appointment, once again, the courtesy van was not available. I left my number and asked to have them call me when it was available. In the meantime, I called Mr. ******** to express my frustration regarding the missing courtesy van and the fact that I was wasting my time to continuing to drive to the dealership and nothing getting accomplished. He told me that he would not speak to me about the matter and to have my husband call him. My husband then called Mr. ********, who subsequently told my husband that we were no longer allowed on North Hills Toyotas property and that they were refusing to repair the damage done by their service department. He then told my husband that we could take it to be repaired elsewhere, provide him with the bill, and he would then reimburse us the amount needed to repair the damage. Lastly, he told my husband that we needed to just make it work with the courtesy car (ie.illegally transport one of our children in a vehicle without a safety seat). At that point I filed a formal complaint with Toyotas corporate office, who also contacted Mr. ********. It is on the record with Toyota corporate that Mr. ******** stated that he would financially assist us with the repairs to our van, which shows that they were assuming responsibility for the damage. If they were denying all responsibility for the damage, he would have stated that on the record when speaking to the Complaint Department representative while giving his statement to them. I verified this information with Toyota corporate today 7/21/2014. On 7/7/2014, I faxed a quote for the damage to Mr. ******** and by 7/18/2014 had not yet received a response. We also have multiple saved voice mails from Mr. ******** mentioning the damage that was done by their staff and wanting to resolve the issues. I decided to contact North Hills Toyotas accounts payable department on 7/18/2014. They had no record of the quote that was faxed by me on 7/7/2014 and Mr. ******** was on vacation until 7/21/2014. I received a voice mail message from Mr. ******** this morning, 7/21/2014, stating that he was not going to assist us in any way with the $2,375.41 worth of damage that their service department did to our van. After doing some research on the Better Business Bureaus website, I have discovered that, to our shock, this type of underhanded business practice is not uncommon with North Hills Toyota. I now have a van with missing parts and multiple panels that need repainted. It is clear that Mr. ******** and North Hills Toyota are not willing to assist us further so we are very much hoping that you will help us to receive the reimbursement that we deserve. Any assistance you can provide us with would be very much appreciated.Sincerely,***** **********

Desired Settlement: We would like to be refunded for the full amount of damages caused by the dealership to our van.

Business Response:

North Hills Toyota performed a Power Side Slider door repair which initially quoted would have cost the customer well over $1,100. This repair was performed on RO#****** for her 08 Sienna that had 75,282 miles which was well out of factory warranty with a promised completion date of May 1st.. Even know the customer did not purchase  her van from North Hills Toyota and is not a regular servicing customer the Director of Fixed Operation****** ********* went to Toyota Regional Office with a request to help this customer with the repair. Toyota in good faith offered to covere the parts through the dealership goodwill account  if the customer would agree to pay for the labor.  The customer reluctantly accepted that offer thinking the entire repair shoulod still be free, but in the end let NH Toyota perform the repair. The customer had to pay a total with tax out of pocket of $425.00 which they did. Days pass and the customer contacts their service consultant and exclaims a multitude of damage was caused to their vehicle, much of which pertained directly to the rear hatch lift gate and rear  interior trim completely unrelated to the side door repair we made. Also note the customer did not comeback inside to show us the damage when they picked their vehicle up. The Customer was advised to bring vehicle back in for us to reveiw the damage and if if we were responsible the customer would have the damaged fixed at no cost and a Rental Sienna Van was reserved for her. Sadly when the customer arrived two things happened. The damged we were accused of was completely unrelated to any of our workmanship and furthermore, we had no Sienna rental availbale at the precise time  because Enterprise was behind schedule. The customer was enraged and very adamanent that we would be held accountable. I had taken calls from ***** first and then her husband at which time the accusatory and scathing nature of both phone interactions left me with no choice than to abolsih the customer from performing any future business at North Hills Toyota. She they then went around me and well within her rights as a valued consumer and contacted Toyota corporate to no avail and also the North Hills Toyota GM and VP with no result. As a courtesy and considering the customers are opportunity seekers we the dealer in goodfaith refunded there out of pocket contribution to the now working power slider door in the amount of $425.00 on Check # ***** on 5/28/2014...

 

On the original visit we also recommended to the  customer that by next inspection they should consider  Power Steering Rack, Rear Diff Breather, Lower Control Arm Bushingsand other suspension components.

 

Our Toyota Service Department holds and maintains Great Customer Satisfaction index scores and we are in the business of exceeding customer expectations and saving lives and thtst why we are the largest and busiest dealership in Western Pa. We are also the #1 Sponser of the Huge local Chamber of Commerce and large contributor to Childrens Hospital and other charities. We do that because we care about our customers and our community and we our very proud of our relationship with the BBB and broadcast our BBB logos  proudly.

 

We will not honor any such requests from this customer for body repair participation and we stand firm that we no longer will conduct business with this customer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** **********

 

Toyota Corporate offered an extended warranty to customers for the exact same issue that our van encountered for 2004 – 2007 model years. It is clear that Toyota Corporate was well aware of the issue that also plagued our van. North Hills Toyota offered to cover the cost of the parts, not the labor, for the power sliding door cable assembly repair.  While we do appreciate the fact that North Hills Toyota did offer to cover the cost of the part even though our van is a 2008, it wasn’t until after my husband questioned the bribe that was offered concerning the “mileage related” service recommendations, that such offer was even made. Which begs the question, if we had done the over $3,000 worth of work that was recommended, would the entire cost of the door repair been covered by the dealership, not just the part?

I did in fact schedule an appointment for 10 am on May 8th to have North Hills Toyota assess the damage that was caused by their service department. A service technician did in fact inspect some of the damage in question by taking his finger and rubbing the unwashed, damaged side of our van and saw that it was not “just dirt” and could not just be rubbed off. The main damage is a pair of primer-deep gouges on the quarter panel (between the fuel door and the sliding door) and on the fuel door itself, both of which were caused when the technician opened the disabled sliding door, causing the broken part of the cable assembly to drag down the side of the van.  I myself cut the power to the sliding doors via a disable switch in the driver’s compartment to avoid such damage.  It’s funny how the technician neglected to take that precaution himself.   As far as the rear door is concerned, somebody at the dealership removed the trim piece covering the pull-down handle for the power liftgate and nearly fully unscrewed the bolt attaching it to the interior of the vehicle.  I know for a fact that neither I nor my husband had any reason to attempt to disassemble this part, and it appears that  Mr. ******** did not interview the technician involved or is just not being upfront with all of the facts.

Unfortunately, since the courtesy van that was promised to my husband during a phone conversation with Mr. ******** was, for the second time, not available, I was not able to leave my van. I was absolutely not “enraged” and said absolutely nothing to the fact that anyone “would be held accountable”. At that point, although I was angry that, for the second time, I had left work and drove to the dealership for nothing to be accomplished, I knew that I needed to remain calm and professional because I wanted them to repair the damage that they had caused. The only thing I did ask was that they would call me when the van was available. After not hearing from North Hills Toyota all day, I decided to call Mr. ******** and inquire as to why the van was not available even though he personally promised that it would be. During that phone conversation Mr. ******** told me that my husband was lying and that they never had a conversation regarding the courtesy van being reserved for us. At that point the conversation started heading south. I explained to Mr. ******** that I was certain that conversation had taken place because I knew my husband had spoken to him regarding the first wasted trip on April 25th and the promised courtesy van not being available. My husband relayed to me that Mr. ******** was very apologetic and at that time gave my husband his personal cell phone number and guaranteed that he would personally be sure that the courtesy van was ready and waiting for us on May 8th. Mr. ******** then angrily told me that I was “questioning his integrity” and that we were “banned” from the dealership, stating that we need to “take our business elsewhere”. He went on to say that we needed to have out van repaired, send him the bill, and that he would reimburse us. Soon after I filed a formal complaint with Toyota’s Corporate Complaint Department and Mr. ******** went ON THE RECORD with his rebuttal of my complaint stating that he would in fact assist us with the costs of the repairs. We chose to take our van to a local body shop who so happens to also do some of NHT’s repair work. After receiving the quote, we faxed it to Mr. ********** attention on July 7th. After hearing nothing I called the dealership on July 18th and spoke with the accounts payable department. Our quote had not been forwarded on to their department and Mr. ******** was on vacation. Mr. ******** did return my call and left me a voice mail on July 21st stating that they were not going to cover any of the costs of the repairs which contradicts his statement to Toyota’s Corporate Complaint Department.

Since owning our van, we have only taken it to Toyota dealerships three times. The first time was to the dealership that we purchased it from. We then moved, so the second and third time we chose to use NHT. If we were in fact opportunists, as Mr. ******** accuses us of being, we would have taken our van to dealerships a lot more than three times in six years. The fact is that my husband does a vast majority of the maintenance work to our vehicles. The only time we use the services of a dealership is for warranty and recall work and state inspections.  The real opportunist in this situation is North Hills Toyota.  How can a vehicle pass a state safety inspection but yet need over $3000 worth of work?  It’s also ridiculous that Mr. ******** is trying to offset nearly $2400 worth of body damage that they caused by citing the fact that they covered a repair that should have been covered at no cost in the first place.  Sounds like the work of an opportunist with no integrity to me.

 

 

 

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a preowned certified Toyota Corrolla 2010 from North Hills Toyota approximately 18 mons ago. The day I purchased the car, there was a big crack through the bumper. I was not comfortable with purchasing a car with a big crack on it. because it was late in the day, and I live in Ohio and had to travel back out of state, they stated I can bring it back ANY TIME to have it repaired. Their usual policy is 30 days but ****, the employee who sold me the vehicle made a note that since I live 4 hours away, I can bring it back anytime and they will repair it.Now, when I call the dealership, I have spoken to a manager ****** ****** regarding this. He stated that he cannot honor this because **** no longer works there and he cannot honor this. Had i known this prior to purchasing the vehicle, I would've asked them them to reduce the cost of the vehicle so I can have it fixed locally (which I asked originally and the dealership was not agreed to this). And now I am still driving with a cracked bumper, ****** ****** or any of the other managers now refuse to even call me back. I have called them every single day last week, and the secretary just tells me he is not available. This is highly unproffessional business practicies. they have certainly lost my loyalty but moreover they should either fix my vehicle as promised or pay for it to have it fixed at a local shop. I thank you for your urgent attention to the matter.P.S. One added detail is that I am moving out of state to Texas at the end of June and basically they are trying to run out the clock knowing that I will not have any opportunity to bring the vehicle back to them after June. If this proceeding with BBB is prolonged past June I will no longer have the option to bring the car to the dealer and they must pay for my repairs at a local shop as promised on the voucher.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund me to cost of repair in cash so that I may have it repaired on my own at a local dealer.

Consumer Response:

 
 
 
 
Here is the requested we owe slip scanned in.
 
Although the slip does not clarify past 30 days, I specifically had this conversation with the sales persons at the time.  and they assured me and I quote
 
 "its ok.  we will honor it.  just bring it back any time", since I live in Ohio (over 4 hours away from the dealership).
 
Now they are saying that I waited too long, which is a direct contradiction to our conversation with the dealer at time of purchase.

Business Response: ***** ***** contacted the customer today and he and hr agreed for us to send her a $200 check to remedy her concern on an issue from when she bought her car years ago. We are closing the case on our end.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I appreciate their offer.  However, the cost of repair will likely exceed 200 dollars.  Further, please check date on the IOU.  This was not purchased years ago.  This was purchased last year.  When we purchased the car, we had this very same conversation with **** and he assured us that the time lapse will not be an issues, as both myself and my spouse are plenty busy and have difficulty getting time off from work.

At this point, I will take the vehicle to the local toyota body shop for an estimate and I expect a reimbursement of that amount.

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 ****** ****** and traded in a 2007 ****** ******* with a roof rack. I was told when I purchased the vehicle that they would remove the roof rack for me and I could pick it up later that week. I called several times and received no calls back. I eventually got a hold of the sales person, *** *****, a week later who told me that they were unable to get the roof rack off and offered that he will look into reimbursing me for the roof rack. Several weeks went past and I still had not heard from the sales person. I called again and was told that they had decided to reimburse me $125 or $150 (I don't remember the amount at the moment). They told me that I should receive the check with-in a few days. I gave it a few weeks and still did not receive the check. I called North Hills Toyota and after about a week of trying I was able to get a hold of ***. He told me that the check should have been sent and that he would have his manager resend it. Again weeks went by and no check. Again it took me a while to get a hold of ***. He put me on the phone with his manager (*****, I believe) who told me that the check had been sent already. I thought it may have been an address issue since I had moved in the time frame. I verified my address with ***'s manager and he told me he would overnight it to me. I traveled out of the country at this time and when I returned I still had no check. I called North Hills Toyota and spoke with a different manager named ****. He was rude and inconsiderate and proceeded to tell me that I am no longer getting the check. I was absolutely shocked by how rude he was considering I bought a brand new truck from them. If it was possible I would return the truck and purchase it elsewhere. I am still trying to get a hold of *** to find out why **** is telling me I am no longer getting a check after I was told that the check was sent to me on multiple occasions.

Desired Settlement: I want the check for the agreed upon amount.

Business Response:

*** sorry for the belated response to this complaint. The salesman in question did submit a reimbursement for the customer. Our accounting office sent the customer a check on the 16th of August. By the time you recieve this they may already being in possesion of the check.  Sorry for the trouble and I hope this resolves the customers concern.

 

Regards,

 

****** *********

CELL ###-###-####

NH Toyota


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on North Hills Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)