BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Montrose Auto Group?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service of new and used automobiles and parts & body shop, GMC, Buick, Pontiac, Oldsmobile, Cadillac..

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Montrose Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Montrose Auto Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1988 Business started: 04/11/1961
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Mike Thompson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Thompson, Owner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Montrose GM Superstore Stupka Buick-Pontiac-Cadillac GMC

Additional Locations

  • 1435 N Hermitage Rd

    Hermitage, PA 16148 (724) 962-0900 (877) 478-8752 (724) 815-4335

  • PO Box 1030

    Hermitage, PA 16148

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (724) 815-4335(Phone)
  • (877) 478-8752(Phone)
  • (724) 962-1953 (Fax)
  • (724) 962-4709 (Fax)
  • (724) 962-4803 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The reason I am filing this complaint is that the owner admitted to me he did something illegal. Our 90 day sticker expires this week, when I called Penndot last week as to why I never received the sticker it was because the plates weren't registered. 3 Months we've been driving this vehicle and its been not registered. Called Montrose to see why and found out that they NEVER HAD THE TITLE WHEN THEY SOLD THE VEHICLE. They only received it 9/08/2014 from the previous owner, and have to send it into the state. I made the 2 HOUR drive up just to be told by the owner he "isn't allowed to sell a vehicle in the state of pa without a title and has to not list or sell it til he receives it". But in his words "why should I lose a sell?" So I was offered $300 to rectify the situation. That's about 1% of the check I wrote for the truck. So your in the wrong and I'm stuck running a truck with dealer plates til this gets fixed. But hey , they topped off my gas for the 106 mile run up!!!! They are a GM, BUICK and Nissan dealer. They know better to not sell a vehicle that the previous owner STILL had the title for. Not disclosing it to us was WRONG.

Desired Settlement: **** ******** **. offered me a whooping $300 when they get the corrected title, he is to send me the check. I asked for $1000 but he said the board of directors wouldn't approve that. Maybe had they known how shady he was they would approve it. We spent $27,530 on the truck. They should make it right.

Business Response: We are working on the problem and  we have provided a dealer plate to the customer.  we paid for her gas to pick up the plate and offered her 300.00 for good will.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They sold me a vehicle that was in there possession but wasn't even there's Til this week when the previous owners signed the title over. That is bad business ethics and for a "Superstore" they should know better. They where "hoping to get it resolved before my 90 day tags expired" was what I was told when I made the trip up. Again they knew they were in the wrong and never told me. I want compensated more than $300. 

Regards,

******* ******** 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2009 we purchased a new Pontiac G6 from Montrose. At the time we bought and extended service contract which we paid over $1200 for and a Montrose Platinum Card. With the card the sales pitch was that as long as you owned the car they would replace the tires for life. The car is driven very little and now after4 years and only 22,000 miles the tires are due to be replaced. During those 4 years I had the tires rotated every time I had my car inspected at my local mechanics place. The tires are not worn unevenly or chopped up, They we well taken care of. When we had the car inspected the General Manager informed me that according to the contract we violated it by not having the wheel alignments done there. I immediately pulled out all the original paper work from when we bought the car (which had never been opened since we bought the car) and there was no documentation in there concerning the Platinum Card. The only was I knew that I had bought if was the $499 listed on the sales contract.I then contacted General Motors about this matter and the Dealership refused to show General Motors and documentation about the terms of the card or any documentation containing my signature about the card. All they told General Motors was that I violated it because I did not get my tires rotated at Montrose, which was opposite of the reason they told me. I do have that conversation in an email from General Motors.I fell this is a classic display of take the money and run. At the time we thought it was too good to be true. The salesman assured us it was not..It was too good to be true. Also I have found out that they still sell thatPlatinum Card but no longer offer the tires for life.

Desired Settlement: I want the tires replaced on the call as promise when I bought the car or a refund of the money.

Business Response:

attached is a copy of the Rewards  Card agreement,    for the  one time charge of $ 499.00   we will replace the  tires as long as we do ALL the maintence with us.  A set of  4 tires  go for 900.00 to 1300.00  depending on the car.  If they want the Reward we need to get the work as far as the  cost  all the work is discounted to  our rewards customers.  That is our way to keep customers  coming  back to us . we have stopped  including  the tires in the  Rewards Card because the cost of tires keep rising . We honor are agreements to all customers that  follow the rules.

****** ** *********
Vice President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

All the original paperwork that we received when we purchased the car was still in the glove box of the car unopened. The attached document was not in there. I never received a copy of that agreement. When you purchase a vehicle paper after paper is placed in front of you to sign. That paper was never given to us. It is a shame what a Company will do to keep from honoring an agreement. Maybe this is the reason they no longer offer that.

 

Regards,

**** *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

3/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I purchased a 2011 Nissan Titan from Montrose in Hermitage in December 2011. When we went through the different types of incentive packages we were told we could purchase for our vehicle one of the packages included $9.95 oil changes, tire rotations and new tires (once they reach 3/32 tread life) for the vehicle as long as we own it for an additional $500 up front. My husband and I both looked at each other in amazement and asked what's that catch. We were told "no catch" this is something new they are offering. We jumped right on the offer and paid the additional $500 up front. In August 2012 we traded our Nissan Altima in for a new 2012 Rogue, again they were offering this great deal and we jumped on it. I mean who would'nt, right? Well, on Saturday, March 8, 2014 we had appointments for both vehicles to be serviced, oil change, tire rotation. We asked them to check the tread on the Rogue because the tires are getting bad. Then the service manager told us in order to qualify for the new tires we had to have all the Nissan recommended services done before we could get new tires. We were like what are you talking about? He explained that we would have to have transmission fluid changed, front and rear differential fluids changed and transfer case fluid changed, for a grand total of $750+ before we could get new tires. For that price we could buy our own tires. We were never told this up front when we purchased the agreement, otherwise we would not have purchased this agreement. We wanted to speak to the man in charge immediately and they have since discontinued these incentives because of the headaches and issues it caused. We asked for our money back and he said they would look into it. In the meantime, we found out there are many others, like us, unknowingly purchased a product without knowing exactly what is involved. They never explained the product entirely before we purchased it, and we did ask.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have our money back or at least a new set of tires for both vehicles when needed without purchasing the other services. Unfortunatley for Montrose, they have lost two loyal customers.

Business Response: attached are the  contracts for our  rewards program that include tires for life as long as we maintain the  vehicle ,  attached are the  benefits to the  customer . A customer that buys the card  gets discounts for the  maintence and we get to keep the  correct air pressure in the tires make sure the wheels are aligned. The language on the agreement is clear and is not a gimmick , If they  give us  the  maintence we will  replace  tires. As to the reason we no longer do it  the costs of tires is so great, We  however are living up to  the contracts that are issued for the customers that live up to their part.,

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Again, we are not disputing the fact that we purchased this agreement.  We are disputed the fact that Montrose did not go over all the details involved with the program.  We were not the only customers unaware of this either.  The Manager at the dealership said they had several folks complain because it was not made clear to them either.  The Service Manager even said he had a women in here screaming about the issue.  As you can see in the agreement we signed, in small print under tires for life qualifications, it states, you must have all service maintenance work performed at our facilities, as per the recommended maintenance service book throughout the life of vehicle or all benefits will become null & void.  This was never stated to us, they never handed us a "maintenance service book" for us to review to make that decision.  All that was overlooked by Montrose when we purchased this agreement.  We were shown this agreement and what you see listed sounds great, doesn't it.  Unfortunately they didn't share the rest of the qualifications.  Shame on them...they are losing us as customers, if they don't make this right.

 

We would like our money back or new tires for each vehicle at least once.

Regards,

****** *********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used Chevy Avalanche that was the service managers vehicle. I have had many problems with the vehicle. The following items have been repaired in the 5 months I have owned it. Front wheel bearing assembly, fuel pump, power window motor and fuel purge valve. Now that it has gotten cold the engine raps loudly when started and was told it was excessive piston slap. I purchased the vehicle without warranty believing and convinced it was a good truck. I sold the truck because I believe it is in poor shape and they new it. I am not disputing the vehicle itself. I was talked into purchasing a ( gap ) warranty by the finance manger Cindy. Now that I have sold the truck Montrose informed me that I cant get refund on warranty, they no longer sell that warranty and Cindy no longer works there. I just want a refund on a warranty I probably should of never been sold. I have also not had very good luck having my phone calls returned. I met the owner **** when I purchased truck and he was great but now his employees are of no help and could care less.

Desired Settlement: Refund my gap warranty coverage

Business Response:  The customer purchased a vehicle with 112,000 miles on it , The  vehicle  had not been serviced  yet but since they worked at another dealership they wanted  to do the PA. inspection  and repairs there. We agreed and the  got the inspection  and repairs done there . We reimbursed them  $ 796.75  for the work as agreed  on the WE OWE SLIP. They did not  by a warranty of ant kind but a GAP policy that covers  the short fall should the vehicle be totaled or stolen.
They can have a  refund on that when they return the policy and the refund will go to the lender .

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a 2006 ******** *** from Montrose Auto Group in Hermitage, Pa one year ago. When we bought the vehicle the Sales person **** and Service Manager **** said it had brand new tires just put on it. We took the vehicle back to get the yearly state inspection and was told by the Service Department that our tires need replacing soon. We have driven the vehicle 7,000 miles since we have bought it. When I called **** at the Dealer and told him what the Service Department said about the tires he said they were brand new tires and that the service department made a mistake and would get back to me. When **** got back to me after talking to the Service Department and **** the Service Manager his story changed and said there was nothing he can do for me. I was surprised with his answer and said you are telling me that you are willing to lose a customer because you and **** lied to us about the tires, and he said yes.

Desired Settlement: I would expect the tires to be replaced.

Business Response: Attached is a copy of the  service order for the  used vehicle inspection
performed prior to the sale. It clearly shows that new tires were not put
on. It also shows that we completely serviced the  vehicle ,   At the time
of the  sale there was an average of 6/32th of tread life  that is over 1/2
life of left. I do not know where the confusion is but there would be no
reason for a service manager to guess what was done on a vehicle as it is
readily available to see what  was actually done. The same  for the sales
department has access to the  repair orders. All the people who were
involved in the  sale and service are still with us and none had any reason
to misrepresent the tires . We have never had a Service Manager there . The
customer  told **** that " if he were a little younger he would come down
and kick his *** "

****** ** *********
Vice President
MAG Management Company

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

 

When we bought the car we had recently moved to PA and did not know about state inspections and the process involved. When we purchased the vehicle we did not receive any paperwork stating condition of the tires, we were told that they were new. In my previous response I stated that we took the car in for the yearly state inspection and was told that the tires need replacing. When I called **** the salesperson and told him what the service department said about the tires his response was that they were new tires and the service department must have made a mistake and would check into and get back to me. His story and attitude changed after talking to the service department. In the last response from Montrose they stated that anybody could have pulled up records showing the condition of what was done to the vehicle in the past. My first question is, Why they did not pull up the history of the car and prove to me at that the tires were in fact not new when I purchased the vehicle. My second question is, Why did the salesperson state that the service department must have made a mistake when they looked at the tires because he stated at that time again that they were new tires when we purchased the car.  Obviously this dealership needs to improve their communication/training (standard operating procedures) with the public when questions arise about condition/replacement of vehicles they are selling not just stating false facts hoping never to hear from the customer again. We are very disappointed with the way they misrepresented the status of the vehicle when sold and follow up communication since then.

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

7/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues