Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Monroeville Kia Mazda

Phone: (412) 856-2100 Fax: (412) 856-1772 View Additional Phone Numbers 3721 William Penn Hwy, Monroeville, PA 15146 http://www.monroevillekia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is an auto dealer that sells and repairs cars and does state inspections.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Monroeville Kia Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Monroeville Kia Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Monroeville Kia Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 28, 2005 Business started: 06/14/2004 in PA Business started locally: 06/14/2004 Business incorporated 06/14/2004 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD027215.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael C. Auffenberg, President Mr. Francis H Auffenberg Jr., Vice President Mr. Michael Pampena, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael C. Auffenberg, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Pampena, General Manager
Related Businesses
Monroeville Dodge Monroeville Kia Mazda
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES - NEW TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Auffenberg Imports Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3721 William Penn Hwy

    Monroeville, PA 15146 (888) 337-8397 (412) 856-2100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle, made some agreements with the company to pay the deposit for 1000.00. I made a A payment to the company of 500.00, to be owed the rest. On Sept 1 monroeville Kia took it upon themselves to take the additional 500.00 off of my debit card without my consent.

Desired Settlement: Fraud charges, filed against the company for taking money without my permission, unauthorized.

Consumer Response: Compensation/refund

Business Response: Dear Ms. ****:
     I am writing in response to a complaint filed by Ms. ***** ************, ID #********.  On June 20, 2015 Ms. ************ purchased a 2015 Kia Optima.  During her transaction, she wrote us a check for $1000 and financed the balance through ******* *** Auto Finance.  That check was deposited on a  date agreed by Ms. ************ and Monroeville Kia.  The check was returned to the dealership for a stop payment from the customer.  On August 3, 2015 Monroeville Kia was finally able to get a hold of Ms. ************  and the debit card information and authorization was given to David P*******, Sales Manager.  Mr. P******* agreed to charge $500 to the card on August 3, 2015 and the remaining balance on August 13, 2015.  On August 13, Ms. ************'s card was declined by the card processing company.  Paul W*****, Finance Manager for Monroeville Kia, and David P******* made numerous attempts to contact Ms. ************ concerning the balance still due from her vehicle purchase/check.  There were no returned calls until after payment was posted to Ms. ************'s debit card.  We were given the authorization and debit card information to collect payment for the returned check.  Without MS. ************'s consent, Monroeville Kia would have not had the information to process her card.  Attached is the copy of the returned check to verify that the funds collected were actually the same that were owed as part of Ms. ************'s transaction.  Please do not hesitate to call me if you need any additional information.

Thank you,
Michael P******
General Manager
Monroeville Kia

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. The company lied, I have all of my documents of what date the tried to cash the check for 1000.00, this company tried to cash the check after I made a partial payment to them on 8/3. I called David on 8/3 and initiated the payment. This company never tried to contact me I made all of the contact to the company. I have been there on numerous occasions since I purchased the car and they sold it to me knowing that it had bad breaks. They even told me on 7/13 that I owed my first car payment that wasn't due until 7/20, I wrote a check and they cashed it and it cleared with no problem, however I informed the company that ibspoke with my financing company and they were responsible for an additional 200-250 dollars in interest I was charged on my loan because they made a payment on the contract on 6/20 the day that I purchased the vehicle. David stated he would contact the finance company to get things straightened out I never heard back from him until the call I initiated on 9/1 for them taking an unauthorized payment of 500.00, I never agreed to him taking a payment on 8/13 as they stated they tried to process then as well as 9/1. Why would I agree for them to take the money on 8/13 and I don't get paid until the 14th of every month?

Regards,

***** ************

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my new car on Feb. 14, 2015 salesman was outstanding... I was trading in a car which would have to be paid off by the dealership. (which they stated would happen within 7-10 days). I received a phone call from the dealership a few days later stating that I had to return to sign papers that they forgot to get signed. I had to then make a special trip to the dealership to sign papers. A few days after that I received another call from the dealership to return to sign additional paper that they forgot to get signed. Now this is the second trip out of my way to sign papers that should have been signed on the purchase date. I called my credit union (after the 10 days) where my car I traded in was financed to see if they received the payoff for my 2008 car. They had not received a payoff nor did they receive any information for my new car for the financing. I called the dealership and they said that they had sent a check to payoff my 2008 car.. Nothing had been received at the credit union. I called the dealership and spoke the the Sales Manager to see if and when the payoff check was sent or when it was going to be sent. He said that he would check with the title person and give me a call first thing the following morning (which would have been a Tuesday.) I never heard back from him, I returned a call to him twice and left detailed messages of my ongoing issue.. He NEVER called me back to give me any type of answers. I check every day to see if my credit union received the payoff for my 2008 car. NOTHING!!! I call and talked to my salesman and he said that he would speak with the General Manager and get back to me. Which he did and he said that they were putting a call into the Credit Union. Now into the second week of March, my 2008 car still has not been paid off. Now my credit is jeopardy due the 2008 car not being paid and now my 2015 car payment is due. The week of the 9th of March I was told by the dealership that an check was processed and being sent overnight to the Credit Union, I called the Credit Union the following day to see if they received a check from the dealership and they did, however it was unsigned... I called the dealership to let them know that they had sent an unsigned check to the Credit Union, left a message. Received a call back from the dealership stating that they again were going to send another check overnight for the payoff. Still that Friday, March 13,2015 the Credit Union had not received the check. Finally on March 16, 2015 I called the dealership and spoke with the title person, I asked her about the check that was sent to the Credit Union that they did not receive it. She stated that she knew nothing about them sending a second check out. She said that she would find out and send a check out that day. I requested that she call me back to let me know what exactly was going on plus give me the tracking number so I had proof that they did send the check to payoff my 2008 car. It took the dealership over 1 month to payoff my 2008 car which they stated that it would be 7-10 days.. In the meantime, 3 days after I traded my 2008 car in on a 2015 they sold my 2008 car. Not quite how they would be able to sell a car that they had no title to since they had not paid my car off. Not only did they take that long to pay my 2008 car off, they never sent the paper work to process my new car loan until the month later. Also, I received my new owners card and stated on there is that they received the information on March 17, 2015 so they did NOTHING with my paperwork, loan, payoff for over 1 month.. I think that is a bit unacceptable.. The managers did not return any of my multiple calls that I had left for them with detailed messages. Beside the point of making me come back twice to sign papers that they had failed to have me sign on the date of purchase. This was my second time of purchasing a car from this dealership and believe me, it will be my last.. I will make sure that everyone that I know does not go there to purchase a car. Word of mouth can be the worst thing for your business.. It's a shame that the Salesman did just an outstanding job and he was doing everything that he could to rectify the problem, which I appreciated.

Desired Settlement: If the dealership would like to do something that is fine.. I am not requesting a thing, I just want it to be on record for others to see..

Business Response: I am writing in regards to a complaint filed by Ms. ******** ******.  Ms. ****** purchased a new 2015 Kia Sorento from us on February 14, 2015.  As part of her transaction,  Monroeville Kia agreed to payoff her trade-in at ***** credit union.  As part of our normal standard business procedure, we do not pay off a trade-in until the new vehicle bank contract is funded from the lending institution.  The new finance company was also ***** and their policy is to not release funds for a new purchase until the old loan is paid off.  By the time I personally was involved, many calls were placed back and forth and the payoff quote amount was expired. Monroeville Kia paid the extra interest that was charges to the account as it was our reprehensibility to make sure it was handled.  There was an error made on the paperwork by a newer Finance Manager that needed re signed and it slowed the process down. We value the future business of Ms. ****** and would like to extend to her a complimentary vehicle detail and a full tank of gas when she comes in for her first complimentary oil change.  I can truly understand how Ms. ****** feels, I would probably feel the same if I was in her position.  Ms. ******, please accept this as a formal apology from myself and my management team for the inconveniences we may have caused.  Enclosed is a copy of the cashed payoff check to ***** credit union.
Sincerely,
******* *******
General Manager
Monroeville Kia
***************************

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I appreciate the response from Kia and for the apology and complimentary services they offered. 

Regards,

******** *****

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my vehicle to my dealer for an oil change and tire rotation. Part of their advertised service is to check and fill all fluids and check and inflate tires to manufacturers specs. Prior to giving my car to them, I removed the left front air valve cap as a way to check that they actually rotated my tires. ( my previous trip to this dealer they did not rotate my tires, claimed that the tech forgot)When I got my car back, the tire that I removed the cap from was still in the same spot, the tread was the same because I measured that also, the rear tires had the most tread when I dropped it off and they were still on the rear after the rotation. I went back and the mgr had the tech redo my rotation. when I left the dealer, about a mile down the road I went to use my wiper fluid and it was empty, they failed to check and fill the fluid. When I got home I checked my tire pressure, it was at 29 psi, the spec calls for 34psi.I sent an email to this dealership but have not heard back from anyone. Basically, they do not perform the services that you pay for.

Desired Settlement: refund my cost of the tire rotation since the service was to include the fluid check and tire inflation check, and cost me an additional 30 minute wait/. Explain why this is the second consecutive time they have pulled this stunt. They still owe me two free oil changes as part of the package when I purchased this, my second vehicle from them in as many years.

Business Response: I have looked into the complaint filed by Mr. ****** ********.  After speaking with my Service Manager, ***** ******, He assured me that the tires on the vehicle were rotated.  The technician that preformed the service removed all of the valve stem caps and placed them back on the same spot on the vehicle where they were originally located.  I value our customers and did a one time goodwill reimbursement to Mr. ********.  I have attached a copy of the reimbursement check we sent to the customer.  If there is any additional information please contact me.

Thank you,
******* *******
General Manager
Monroeville Kia
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

BBB:  I did receive the check on Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014.  But for the record, I do not believe the dealership performed the service in my complaint. The tread wear on the front tires prior to the service was less than the treadwear on the rear tires by 2/32nds of an inch. Also, the PSI in the tires prior to the service was 29 psi.  After the service, the treadwear on the front tires was still the same and so was the PSI.  therefore, the tech never rotated, nor did he check and  reset the tire pressure as stated by their service program.  On top of that, when I got home and looked at my fluid levels my washer fluid was never filled, also a supposed part of their service. 

  The service manager I dealt with that day was ****, not the person indicated in the dealership's response.

However, I did receive my refund for the rotation and will consider this matter closed.  I want to thank the BBB for their help in this matter.

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Driver Side front seat is wearing at only 1600 miles. Also right front mirror fell off bracket and hanging from the wire.

Desired Settlement: Talked to dealership and they refuse to do anything about this matter. Also their telling me that my clothing i wear is wearing the seat. I feel this car used and mirror was glued back on. I've drove General Motors cars for 55 years and not a problem like this. If we can"t resolve this matter I'll go to the lemon law and report this matter.Paper wears better than this.

Business Response:      I am writing in response to a complaint filed by Mr. ******* ****** **. on July 4, 2013.  Mr. ****** a new 2013 Mazda3 sedan on February 26, 2013.  Mr. ****** brought the vehicle into our service department for our service manager, ***** ******, to review the customer's issues the week of May 20, 2012.  Upon looking at the customers concern of the excessive wear on the seat and the mirror falling off of the vehicle,  ***** ****** pointed out the impact mark on the mirror of the vehicle and stated that physical damage is not covered under the manufacture's warranty.  ***** also wanted to confer with our District Service and Parts Manager from Mazda Motors of America about the seat issue.  Upon description of the seat issue with Mazda's representative, it was concluded the damage to the seat was not caused by manufacture's defect and therefore was not under warranty.  Mr. ****** was not happy with that response and he contacted me about the issues.  I stated to him I would review the concerns with him and we set an appointment to look at the vehicle at the dealership on Monday May 27, 2013.  Upon arriving at the dealership, I looked at the concerns on Mr. ****** Mazda and came to the same conclusions as ***** ****** and our Mazda representative.  The passenger side mirror not only had an impact to the paint but also had a dent on the A-Pillar where the mirror had impacted the vehicle.  The mirror would have had to be pushed upwards and towards the body of the vehicle and just not fallen downward.  Mr. ****** did not agree with this even though there was a mark on the mirror and a dent on the vehicle.  The seat on the interior of the vehicle looked more like the was excessive rubbing or friction that caused the wear pattern on the material.  This appeared to be caused by some outside source rather than by a defect in the seating material.  Being it was not a defect in material or workmanship, the seat was not covered under the Mazda factory warranty.  I have enclosed pictures that I took when Mr. ****** brought the vehicle into the dealership on May 27.  


     Please feel free to contact me if there are any additional questions or information needed.
Sincerely,
******* *******
General Manager
Monroeville Kia Mazda
###-###-#### ext "0"


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
?????????????????????As for your response made on July 17, 2013 regarding my 2012 Mazda. Not a 2013 Mazda as you stated. You also stated that the material doesn't wear, however, this material is wearing! I've gotten a couple of dealers opinions. Also, when I bought this car, it had 285 miles already on it. This car was hit in your dealership. The mirror was glued. I worked at a dealership and have seen how the lot attendants hot rod the cars.

 

My next move is to bring the local T.V. Media into this matter. I am tired of fighting your dealership on this matter. In fact, I have stopped at a couple of dealerships and they feel the same way I do about this matter. I would know if I hit this vehicles mirror, and your trying to tell me that I am a liar. Well, I DON'T THINK SO! Also, the day I purchased this vehicle, it was pouring down rain and I wasn't able to do a walk around, which should of been done indoors. If I need to get the Consumer Protection Agency involved, I will because I know I am right about this issue.

If you have any questions, or response, contact at this E-mail address: 

********************

******* ****** **

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service