Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Monroeville Kia

Phone: (412) 856-2100 Fax: (412) 856-1772 View Additional Phone Numbers 3721 William Penn Hwy, Monroeville, PA 15146 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.monroevillekia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is an auto dealer that sells and repairs cars and does state inspections.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Monroeville Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Monroeville Kia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Monroeville Kia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 28, 2005 Business started: 06/14/2004 in PA Business started locally: 06/14/2004 Business incorporated 06/14/2004 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD027215.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael C. Auffenberg, President Mr. Francis H Auffenberg Jr., Vice President Mr. Michael Pampena, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael C. Auffenberg, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Pampena, General Manager
Related Businesses
Monroeville Dodge Monroeville Kia
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES - NEW TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Auffenberg Imports Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Auto Service Contracts

Additional Locations

  • 3721 William Penn Hwy

    Monroeville, PA 15146 (412) 856-2100 (888) 337-8397

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 2015 Kia Optima on 3/5/16-vehicle was demo w/9,000 mi. checked vehicle over with salesman and my sister, vehicle was dirty inside and took 3 times to clean properly, one scratch noted in front that was accepted. However upon viewing cleaned vehicle it was the front passenger tire was severely scratched, I advised salesmen this had to be replaced or I would not purchase vehicle, salesmen checked and advised they would provide 4 wheel tires to cover wheel, he took me outside and showed me and my sister what they looked like, I agreed to accept these, he then checked inside and stated the cost was $100, I advised it was a deal breaker and I would not purchase if I had to pay for the covers. The salesperson went back in and a written agreement was given to me stating wheel covers would be provided (at no cost to me). I was advised it would take 1 week to receive I would need to drop off my car as it would take 1 day to put on covers. Note: I advised this salemen 3 times prior to purchase if the wheel covers were not provided the deal was off. After 1 week I did not hear from the salesmen I then made 3 calls between 3/5/16-3/24/16 each time the salesmen assured me that they were waiting for the covers to come in and he would call me. On 3/24/16 salesmen called and advised they did not have covers and I could take my vehicle to a business called ****** ****** and they would take off my hubcap and repair it. I advised that was not promised and I wanted the wheelcovers. The salesmen then advised the covers cost $300 and they would not provide and the hubcap repair was better, again I reminded him this is not what was promised and I have a written promise advising the wheel covers would be provided and that is what I wanted. He then put another sales manager on the phone who also promoted ****** ******, again I repeated I want what was promised. On this date I called and filed a complaint with the Home Office of Monroeville Kia. On or 4/9/16 I went to the Monroeville Showroom and spoke with Paul W***** -Business Mgr. I explained everything to him, also they are a dealership my vehicles is only a 2015 IF covers were not available they should not have been promised - they should know what is and is not available. Paul said he receives vehicles weekly and would replace my front wheel-he gave me his business card and advised he would contact me in 1 week (I have a witness to the entire conversation). I called Paul W***** on 4/21/16 and advised I was following up on our meeting and to get a status because I had not heard from anyone, Paul said he was not aware of the circumstances surrounding my call and asked who was the salesmen, I advised Robert C******, but I did not want to speak with him because I met with you, you provided your business card and told me you would take care of everything. He said I will call you back, he did and advised he needed to speak with his manager-Dave P******* to discuss the wheel replacement, Dave would be out until 4/22/16. I reminded Paul, I was not going to ****** ****** and I want what was promised and if they could not honor their written promise they could have their car. I want Monroeville Kia to honor their written promises to provide wheel covers - IF THEY WERE NOT AVAILABLE THEY SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN PROMISED. I paid them my money in good faith and could very easily have gone to another Kia dealership in another part of town or to another dealership period. I feel have been given the run around for 1 month now. I want this issue corrected based on the promise.

Desired Settlement: I want the wheel covers for my vehicle, or my money back with no adverse affects for cancelling the contract, or a new vehicle (purchased my vehicle with 9000mi-only 1 owner-demo)

Business Response: From: Michael P***********************************
Date: Thu, May 5, 2016 at 3:38 PM
Subject: Response for Complaint TD# ********
To: ************************


Ms. ******** *****
     MS. ***** ***** purchased a used 2015 Kia Optima from us with the standard aluminum wheels.  During the negotiation process, Ms. ***** pointed out the was a scratch on one of the wheels.  She was originally told that Monroeville Kia would be able to put a "wheel-skin" or a hubcap cover on all 4 wheels.  During the ordering process of the wheel-skins, it was discovered they do not manufacture the covers for the 2015 Optima due to clearance issues with the breaking system.  This issue could cause a potential safety issue while driving the car. There are several vehicles in stock at Monroeville Kia with these wheel-skins or hubcaps on the vehicles, although none are Optima's.  The salesperson and sales manager informed the customer about the issue and offered to either repair or replace the scratched wheel.  This option would cost Monroeville Kia additional monies versus just putting hubcaps over the factory aluminum wheels.  This would also help retain resale value down the road by retaining the original equipment in good condition.  The offer was made to Ms. ***** without any additional charges or cost.  I believe the offer to Ms. ***** is an improved  fix versus just covering the scratch on the vehicle as first stated.  I would still like to extend the offer to Ms. ***** to replace the factory Kia wheel with a matching reconditioned factory wheel to preserve the appearance and functionality of her vehicle.  Please let me know if Ms. ***** will accept our compromise.
Thanks you,
Michael P******
General Manager
Monroeville Kia

5/23/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchare at this car dealership had the vecical a little over a month I had nothing but problems I am 20 years old the sales person told me he handled all me issues come to find out it have no warrentieson the veicle now I have to come out of pocket because the rep was trying to make a quick sale they take advantage of peep pole and need to be stopped

Desired Settlement: Warranty extension or return the veicle with no fault

Business Response: I am responding about a complaint, ID ********** filed by ******* ***** on May 2, 2016.  I spoke with Ms. ****** mom on Saturday April 30, 2016 at Monroeville Kia Sales Desk.  Ms. ***** was with her mother when we spoke.  She stated her daughter purchased a pre-owned Jeep off of us on March 7, 2016.  She stated we took advantage of her daughter by selling her a car without a warranty and we should fix whatever is wrong.  She stated the Jeep was making a noise but the were not interested in taking it to a Jeep dealership or paying to have it diagnosed here at Monroeville Kia.  The vehicle was sold with a 30 day or 1000 mile power-train only warranty with the availability of purchasing an extended service contract to cover the vehicle longer or cover more items than just the power-train.  When Ms. *****'s mom asked her if she was offered an extended warranty, ******* replied she was not.  We explained that all customers who purchase an eligible vehicle are given the opportunity to purchase an extended service contract when the are signing their paperwork in the Business Office.  Being the vehicle was 1 month and 3 weeks from being purchased and not knowing the miles on the Jeep, it was out of the warranty that was included with the purchase.  Even if the vehicle was still under warranty, the customer may have been responsible for a diagnostic fee to determine if the problem was covered by that warranty.  To my knowledge, we were never given the opportunity to even diagnose the noise heard.  I have enclosed the Bill of Sale, FTC Label,Monroeville Kia Due Bill and a copy of the Waiver of extended service contract for your review.   Ms. ***** and her Mom did not understand that all vehicles, including those which are sold brand new, may have some defect or adjustment that may have to be made close to the time of sale. This is a normal cost of owning a vehicle.   I believe we have followed through with the promises made with the sale to Ms. *****.

5/13/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Normally I’m not the type of person to pursue something like this but I believe that Monroeville Kia knowing and intentionally engaged in a “Bait and Switch” ad tactic. On their website they had an advertisement that they were selling 2016 AWD Sorentos for $21,998. I saw the ad last Friday 4-1-2016 and thought it was a good deal. I wasn’t able to make it out Friday but that afternoon I called the dealer around 4:30-5 o’clock and asked to speak to a sales associate. I was transferred to an “Internet Sales” associate. She asked what I was looking for and I told her that I saw an ad on their website advertising the 2016 AWD Sorento for $21,998. I said I wouldn’t be able to make it until the next day but wanted to know if they would honor that price. She told me that they absolutely would and proceeded to tell me about the fact that they had a large inventory they were trying to get rid of so I would even have a pick of colors. I told her I would make it out and she scheduled an appointment for 10:30am the next day (4-2-2016). I got there and met with a sales associate who was very nice. We talked about what I was looking for and he showed me a 2016 AWD Sorento that we test drove. After the test drive we decided to discuss numbers. I had a trade in (which at first they offered me $1800 less than any other dealership) so after the appraisal my associate brought me the numbers. To my surprise the cost of the car wasn’t $21,998 but rather $30,000. I told my associate that the website said $21,998 and I was told the price would be honored when I came in. I even brought it up on their mobile site (I have a time/date stamped screenshot to prove it was still up on Saturday at 11:54). He took my phone back and the sales mangers (Mike and BJ) told him to tell me that they would not honor the advertised price I was promised (they later told me in person they wouldn’t honor it). They then tried to sell me a FWD version for the price on the ad. They said it was a “typo” but how was I the only person to inquire about such a good price the whole time the ad was up?? They then tried to sell me a used vehicle for the same $21,998. This is a clear cut case of bait and switch since they advertised one car/price but when you get there it’s a different car or a different price. I think they pulled an absolutely shady move and should honor the price they advertised and promised to a customer. At this point I have not consulted local media or legal representation but instead am giving KIA the chance to correct a wrong on their own.

Desired Settlement: I want KIA to honor the price they advertised and promised me which was $21,998 for a brand new, 2016 All Wheel Drive Sorento

Business Response:

    I am writing in response to a complaint filed by ******* *******.  Mr. ******* visited Monroeville Kia on Saturday April 2, 2016 to look at a vehicle advertised on the our mobile website.  Several thing occurred to get us to this point. First of all, a misprint on the mobile site stated that stock #K17053 with vin: ***************** was a2016 All Wheel Drive Sorento. when you click on the special link, you were redirected to the vehicle for sale.  I enclosed a screen shot showing the same stock number and vin as the car in question clearly showing it is a front wheel drive Sorento.  Second mistake we made was one of our incoming phone representatives stated we would honor the advertised price 2 days after the special expired.  I told Mr. ******* we would honor the price on the said vehicle in the ad but there was a misprint in production of the website slide.  He insisted and argued that he should be able to purchase the car he wanted, a specific all wheel drive Sorento Lx for the Base L model that was advertised. The website slide was proofread by several people but somehow the heading was not corrected before it went live to the website.  Thirdly, when we deleted the expired ad at the end of last month, the ad should have deleted off the mobile site also.  Mr. ******* was able to view the expired ad for almost 2 days before it finally came down off the mobile site.  When I spoke with Mr. ******* after the incident the following weak on the phone, he stated we intentionally lied and we should honor the price. He also stated we did not even offer him any pricing on the All Wheel Drive LX Sorento he was looking for.  I pulled the records and that was an untrue statement.  Both a buy and a lease offer was extended to Mr. ******* but he chose not to purchase the vehicle.  Before the conversation ended, Mr. ******* stated he worked for a major bank in the area and he knew numbers.  He stated that unless we did the deal he wanted for the car he would blast us on every review site he could.  When he state this, I told him he was not going to hold us hostage over reviews and we could agree to disagree on the situation.  I tried to talk to Mr. ******* when he was here, along with one of our Sales-managers, and on the phone, and Mr. ******* was unable to be reasoned with.  As far as an intentional lie, As Mr. ******* had stated, somehow a misprinted ad headline was not removed when it should have been.  If there are any additional questions I can answer for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,

Michael P******

General Manager

 

Monroeville Kia

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11307296, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have elected to reject Mr. P******’s response as he has done nothing but prove my point, lie to me and continually avoid owning up to a series of “mistakes” to which he should honor the price that was promised. I would like to address the many issues that Mr. P****** has brought up and will do so in the order they appear in his response. Unfortunately this is a very long response but I feel it is necessary to elaborate on all the issues so that a true picture can be painted and not the one sided version Mr. P****** has delivered in his response to try to save face.

I would first like to address the fact that this “typo” wasn’t only made on the mobile site but also on their main page when looking via computer. This ad was still visible on Friday April 1st at 4 o’clock pm after it apparently ended on the day before. I find it more than curious that this banner was left up leading into the weekend (when the majority of people would come into the showroom). Whether or not they did this intentionally to try to bring in customers can’t be proven but coupled with the rest of the events, I wouldn’t put it past them. This whole situation occurred due to the incompetence of Monroeville Kia’s marketing team, internet sales department and management and by anything that I have done. I could accept this car being incorrectly advertised on their main site and still visible on the mobile site two days later but I cannot accept that I was told this ad was correct and that it would still be honored even though it technically expired. I also find it very hard to accept that I was the only person to inquire about this price considering it was such a good price (we will address this statement later on).

The second issue I would like to address is the “typo” as Mr. P****** refers to it relentlessly. My issue with hiding behind the fact that this was a “typo” is that how is a customer to determine if the “typo” is in the giant banner or in the information provided in size 2 font that is barely visible? Is it impossible to assume that maybe someone put the wrong information in the fine print rather than the massive eye catching ad as soon as you open their website? Since either data could be incorrect, you can’t make a determination one way or the other unless you speak to someone at the dealership which leads me into my third point.

My third point is I can’t understand how Mr. P****** can argue the circumstances surrounding this situation when he himself has admitted that when I called to ask about the price and vehicle in question, one of his representatives confirmed that the AWD 2016 Sorento banner was correct and that the price would be honored. I was promised a price by a member of his dealership but apparently they don’t honor the promises made by employees. If they have no intentions of honoring things their online representatives say, why do they even have these people employed? When I was at the dealership I asked my sales associate, “Why would the girl on the phone tell me it would be honored if she had no idea and didn't have the authority to do so?” As he walked away he murmured under his breath “because that’s how they get people in the door.” So am I to understand that I was intentionally lied to so that they could get me in the door? Lying and omitting facts is apparently what they are in the business of doing rather than selling cars.

Speaking of omitting facts, that brings me to the comment Mr. P****** made in regards to me being untruthful when I stated that I was not even offered any other pricing on the 2016 Sorento I went in to look at. If Mr. P****** would like to provide the documents, it will show that I was offered a lease option for this car; however, the price of the car on the lease was still close to $30,000. Would Mr. P****** like to explain how offering me a lease at full price is in anyway an offer in good faith to make the issue better? I could have walked into any dealership and gotten the same price. So to me, this was in no way an attempt to make things right but more of an attempt to pull a fast one. Nice try. Secondly, they offered me another deal but it wasn’t for the AWD 2016. Rather he offered me a used 2014 with 30k miles for the same price as the AWD 2016 I was originally promised. Yet again, he never offered to lower the price on the AWD 2016 but rather he just tried sell me a used car. If he can explain how either of these options are supposed to be accepted as good faith attempts to resolve the issue, I would be all ears because to me, it seems that he was willing to try anything he could to avoid making good on the AWD 2016 I was promised.

For my fourth point I would like to address the comment Mr. P****** made in regards to my comment about working for a major bank and knowing numbers. This is a 100% true fact. I made this statement because when trying to discuss the “lease option” as discussed above, he tried to hide behind the fact that there are "many variables" that go into the pricing for a lease. When I questioned him about the variables, he stated that most people have down payments or positive trade equity. I informed him that I did have positive trade equity to which he replied, “Well it’s typically based off of $3000 positive equity”. This is when I informed him that he had offered me $9500 for my car and since I only owed $6000 on my current loan, I had roughly $3500 in positive trade equity. This is the point when I informed him that I worked for a bank and that I wasn’t going to listen to him try to confuse me by throwing out financing terms hoping I would just accept what he was saying. As I expected, he didn’t have a response to my statement but rather stated that he wanted to know the name of bank so he knew never to business with them again. Again, just another example of how Mr. P****** is trying to use classic car salesman tactics to avoid making good on what was undoubtedly their “mistakes”.

Now, addressing my comment made to Mr. P****** regarding writing negative reviews. This was not an attempt to “hold them hostage” (nice use of dramatics) but rather just to inform him that he could fully expect for me to let people know what their dealership is like from my perspective and that he wasn’t going to sweep this all under the rug. It is obvious that Mr. P****** is trying to attack my character making me seem to be a person who would say, if you don’t give me what I want, I’m going to do something unethical like spread rumors. This is not the case. I just wanted to inform him that I was not the type of person who will be taken advantage of and that there are ways for individuals to stand up against corporations/businesses who think that they are untouchable.

Next, I would like to address Mr. P******’s comments in regards to me speaking with another sales manager on the phone and also the various lies that I have caught him in during this entire debacle. The comment of me talking to another sales manager over the phone is interesting because the only two people I have spoken to on the phone are Mr. P****** and the original internet representative. This begs the questions, if his sales manager wasn’t talking to me, who was he talking to? Obviously I wasn’t the only person to inquire about this ad which is a lie that Mr. P****** told me the day I was at the dealership and the day of our phone conversation. I asked him if anyone else had asked about the price to which he replied no. I then asked again, “Are you sure I’m the only single person to ask about this price?” Again, he stated that I was the only one. I know this to be an absolute lie because a co-worker of mine (who was also looking for a car) called on Friday the 1st and was promised the same car for the same price. When I told him what happened to me, he cancelled his appointment. A week or so later he was reached out to by Monroeville Kia (this is who his other sales manager was talking to, not me) and after stating that he only wanted to talk to someone if they were willing to honor the price, he was connected to the sales manager who told him they wouldn’t honor the price. He continued to waste my co-workers time at which point according to Mr. P******, again, no resolution was found (just for the sake of timeline, this occurred a week or so before my phone conversation with Mr. P******). Another lie that I was told during this whole situation was that the price couldn’t be honored because the prices are set by Kia corporate and the dealers aren’t allowed to sell a car for an amount below what the company sets. I called Kia corporate who then verified that this was false. The gentleman I spoke to at Kia corporate informed me that by federal law they are not allowed to control prices on their cars. They can only give the MSRP and what the dealer does after accepting the vehicle is up to them.  Again, I have been misled by Mr. P******.

Finally I would like to take a minute and visit the comment made about me being unable to be reasoned with. I am failing to understand how after I was promised a price on a car (typo or not) that the dealership feels they are under no obligation to honor this promise/price. Instead, I was offered a lease (at full cost minus factory rebates) and then a used car for what I was told I would pay for a brand new one. To me, Monroeville Kia at no point made any good faith effort to make the situation right. To be completely honest, if at any point in time Mr. P****** would have showed me even a shred of respect, this may have all been avoided. He has been nothing but disrespectful and he himself has been the unreasonable one. His whole approach to this situation has been if I didn't pay full price for the AWD 2016, he wasn't selling me that car. After I told Mr. P****** that it was a 40 minute drive out to them and I didn’t appreciate them wasting my time, he told me that my drive/time wasn’t worth the hit he would take on the car. Obviously this dealership doesn’t care about the service they deliver. Instead they use shady ad tactics, bullying and excuses/lies to try to coerce customers into buying their vehicles. At no point did Mr. P****** offer to reduce the price of the 2016 AWD Sorento but rather decided that it was worth it to let this turn into a big to do involving the BBB.

In conclusion, I will not accept Mr. P******’s response because I find it completely ridiculous and a total waste of time. In his response he completely made my point so I do not understand what he had hoped to accomplish. He admitted that their ad was incorrect (and was left up for two days after it ended) and he also admitted that I was promised a price by a member of his staff which he will not honor. Yet again, whether or not this was a “typo” or a “misprint” (which I still believe it wasn’t due to his employee admitting things are promised “just to get people in the door”), I feel that Monroeville Kia has been nothing other than dishonest and in no way has made any attempt to rectify the situation but rather continues to fight in hopes that I will leave the situation alone. If there are any questions or concerns about the above please feel free to reach out.


Regards,

******* *******

12/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle, made some agreements with the company to pay the deposit for 1000.00. I made a A payment to the company of 500.00, to be owed the rest. On Sept 1 monroeville Kia took it upon themselves to take the additional 500.00 off of my debit card without my consent.

Desired Settlement: Fraud charges, filed against the company for taking money without my permission, unauthorized.

Consumer Response: Compensation/refund

Business Response: Dear Ms. ****:
     I am writing in response to a complaint filed by Ms. ***** ************, ID #********.  On June 20, 2015 Ms. ************ purchased a 2015 Kia Optima.  During her transaction, she wrote us a check for $1000 and financed the balance through ******* *** Auto Finance.  That check was deposited on a  date agreed by Ms. ************ and Monroeville Kia.  The check was returned to the dealership for a stop payment from the customer.  On August 3, 2015 Monroeville Kia was finally able to get a hold of Ms. ************  and the debit card information and authorization was given to David P*******, Sales Manager.  Mr. P******* agreed to charge $500 to the card on August 3, 2015 and the remaining balance on August 13, 2015.  On August 13, Ms. ************'s card was declined by the card processing company.  Paul W*****, Finance Manager for Monroeville Kia, and David P******* made numerous attempts to contact Ms. ************ concerning the balance still due from her vehicle purchase/check.  There were no returned calls until after payment was posted to Ms. ************'s debit card.  We were given the authorization and debit card information to collect payment for the returned check.  Without MS. ************'s consent, Monroeville Kia would have not had the information to process her card.  Attached is the copy of the returned check to verify that the funds collected were actually the same that were owed as part of Ms. ************'s transaction.  Please do not hesitate to call me if you need any additional information.

Thank you,
Michael P******
General Manager
Monroeville Kia

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. The company lied, I have all of my documents of what date the tried to cash the check for 1000.00, this company tried to cash the check after I made a partial payment to them on 8/3. I called David on 8/3 and initiated the payment. This company never tried to contact me I made all of the contact to the company. I have been there on numerous occasions since I purchased the car and they sold it to me knowing that it had bad breaks. They even told me on 7/13 that I owed my first car payment that wasn't due until 7/20, I wrote a check and they cashed it and it cleared with no problem, however I informed the company that ibspoke with my financing company and they were responsible for an additional 200-250 dollars in interest I was charged on my loan because they made a payment on the contract on 6/20 the day that I purchased the vehicle. David stated he would contact the finance company to get things straightened out I never heard back from him until the call I initiated on 9/1 for them taking an unauthorized payment of 500.00, I never agreed to him taking a payment on 8/13 as they stated they tried to process then as well as 9/1. Why would I agree for them to take the money on 8/13 and I don't get paid until the 14th of every month?

Regards,

***** ************

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my new car on Feb. 14, 2015 salesman was outstanding... I was trading in a car which would have to be paid off by the dealership. (which they stated would happen within 7-10 days). I received a phone call from the dealership a few days later stating that I had to return to sign papers that they forgot to get signed. I had to then make a special trip to the dealership to sign papers. A few days after that I received another call from the dealership to return to sign additional paper that they forgot to get signed. Now this is the second trip out of my way to sign papers that should have been signed on the purchase date. I called my credit union (after the 10 days) where my car I traded in was financed to see if they received the payoff for my 2008 car. They had not received a payoff nor did they receive any information for my new car for the financing. I called the dealership and they said that they had sent a check to payoff my 2008 car.. Nothing had been received at the credit union. I called the dealership and spoke the the Sales Manager to see if and when the payoff check was sent or when it was going to be sent. He said that he would check with the title person and give me a call first thing the following morning (which would have been a Tuesday.) I never heard back from him, I returned a call to him twice and left detailed messages of my ongoing issue.. He NEVER called me back to give me any type of answers. I check every day to see if my credit union received the payoff for my 2008 car. NOTHING!!! I call and talked to my salesman and he said that he would speak with the General Manager and get back to me. Which he did and he said that they were putting a call into the Credit Union. Now into the second week of March, my 2008 car still has not been paid off. Now my credit is jeopardy due the 2008 car not being paid and now my 2015 car payment is due. The week of the 9th of March I was told by the dealership that an check was processed and being sent overnight to the Credit Union, I called the Credit Union the following day to see if they received a check from the dealership and they did, however it was unsigned... I called the dealership to let them know that they had sent an unsigned check to the Credit Union, left a message. Received a call back from the dealership stating that they again were going to send another check overnight for the payoff. Still that Friday, March 13,2015 the Credit Union had not received the check. Finally on March 16, 2015 I called the dealership and spoke with the title person, I asked her about the check that was sent to the Credit Union that they did not receive it. She stated that she knew nothing about them sending a second check out. She said that she would find out and send a check out that day. I requested that she call me back to let me know what exactly was going on plus give me the tracking number so I had proof that they did send the check to payoff my 2008 car. It took the dealership over 1 month to payoff my 2008 car which they stated that it would be 7-10 days.. In the meantime, 3 days after I traded my 2008 car in on a 2015 they sold my 2008 car. Not quite how they would be able to sell a car that they had no title to since they had not paid my car off. Not only did they take that long to pay my 2008 car off, they never sent the paper work to process my new car loan until the month later. Also, I received my new owners card and stated on there is that they received the information on March 17, 2015 so they did NOTHING with my paperwork, loan, payoff for over 1 month.. I think that is a bit unacceptable.. The managers did not return any of my multiple calls that I had left for them with detailed messages. Beside the point of making me come back twice to sign papers that they had failed to have me sign on the date of purchase. This was my second time of purchasing a car from this dealership and believe me, it will be my last.. I will make sure that everyone that I know does not go there to purchase a car. Word of mouth can be the worst thing for your business.. It's a shame that the Salesman did just an outstanding job and he was doing everything that he could to rectify the problem, which I appreciated.

Desired Settlement: If the dealership would like to do something that is fine.. I am not requesting a thing, I just want it to be on record for others to see..

Business Response: I am writing in regards to a complaint filed by Ms. ******** ******.  Ms. ****** purchased a new 2015 Kia Sorento from us on February 14, 2015.  As part of her transaction,  Monroeville Kia agreed to payoff her trade-in at ***** credit union.  As part of our normal standard business procedure, we do not pay off a trade-in until the new vehicle bank contract is funded from the lending institution.  The new finance company was also ***** and their policy is to not release funds for a new purchase until the old loan is paid off.  By the time I personally was involved, many calls were placed back and forth and the payoff quote amount was expired. Monroeville Kia paid the extra interest that was charges to the account as it was our reprehensibility to make sure it was handled.  There was an error made on the paperwork by a newer Finance Manager that needed re signed and it slowed the process down. We value the future business of Ms. ****** and would like to extend to her a complimentary vehicle detail and a full tank of gas when she comes in for her first complimentary oil change.  I can truly understand how Ms. ****** feels, I would probably feel the same if I was in her position.  Ms. ******, please accept this as a formal apology from myself and my management team for the inconveniences we may have caused.  Enclosed is a copy of the cashed payoff check to ***** credit union.
Sincerely,
******* *******
General Manager
Monroeville Kia
***************************

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I appreciate the response from Kia and for the apology and complimentary services they offered. 

Regards,

******** *****

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my vehicle to my dealer for an oil change and tire rotation. Part of their advertised service is to check and fill all fluids and check and inflate tires to manufacturers specs. Prior to giving my car to them, I removed the left front air valve cap as a way to check that they actually rotated my tires. ( my previous trip to this dealer they did not rotate my tires, claimed that the tech forgot)When I got my car back, the tire that I removed the cap from was still in the same spot, the tread was the same because I measured that also, the rear tires had the most tread when I dropped it off and they were still on the rear after the rotation. I went back and the mgr had the tech redo my rotation. when I left the dealer, about a mile down the road I went to use my wiper fluid and it was empty, they failed to check and fill the fluid. When I got home I checked my tire pressure, it was at 29 psi, the spec calls for 34psi.I sent an email to this dealership but have not heard back from anyone. Basically, they do not perform the services that you pay for.

Desired Settlement: refund my cost of the tire rotation since the service was to include the fluid check and tire inflation check, and cost me an additional 30 minute wait/. Explain why this is the second consecutive time they have pulled this stunt. They still owe me two free oil changes as part of the package when I purchased this, my second vehicle from them in as many years.

Business Response: I have looked into the complaint filed by Mr. ****** ********.  After speaking with my Service Manager, ***** ******, He assured me that the tires on the vehicle were rotated.  The technician that preformed the service removed all of the valve stem caps and placed them back on the same spot on the vehicle where they were originally located.  I value our customers and did a one time goodwill reimbursement to Mr. ********.  I have attached a copy of the reimbursement check we sent to the customer.  If there is any additional information please contact me.

Thank you,
******* *******
General Manager
Monroeville Kia
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

BBB:  I did receive the check on Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014.  But for the record, I do not believe the dealership performed the service in my complaint. The tread wear on the front tires prior to the service was less than the treadwear on the rear tires by 2/32nds of an inch. Also, the PSI in the tires prior to the service was 29 psi.  After the service, the treadwear on the front tires was still the same and so was the PSI.  therefore, the tech never rotated, nor did he check and  reset the tire pressure as stated by their service program.  On top of that, when I got home and looked at my fluid levels my washer fluid was never filled, also a supposed part of their service. 

  The service manager I dealt with that day was ****, not the person indicated in the dealership's response.

However, I did receive my refund for the rotation and will consider this matter closed.  I want to thank the BBB for their help in this matter.

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Monroeville Kia
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)