BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Monroeville Dodge?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new & used car sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Monroeville Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Monroeville Dodge include:

  • 17 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Monroeville Dodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 17

Additional Complaint Information

Dodgeland Inc. 3633 Wm Penn Hwy Monroeville, PA 15146

According to information supplied by the company, Dodgeland Inc*
began business in July 1991 under new ownership. The BBB
opened its file in January 1989. This firm offers sales &
service of new & used cars. Our file experience shows that this
company has a satisfactory record with the BBB. This company
is a member of the BBB and has agreed to the
BBB's membership standards. This firm participates in the
BBB's Consumer Care program which includes special complaint
procedures and arbitration. This means it has agreed to
arbitrate customer complaints not resolved through the BBB's
complaint handling procedures. This company participates
withthe BBB and the Pittsburgh Auto Trade Association in a
voluntary program to improve consumer confidence in auto
advertising. The BBB does not endorse,
recommend or disapprove of any product, service or company.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 1991 Business started: 07/01/1991 in PA Business incorporated: 02/10/1994 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD019356.

Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
17 N Second Street, Suite 1300, Harrisburg PA 17101
http://www.banking.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-722-2657
Fax Number: 717-787-8773
The number is 3953.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is MV119878L.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael C Auffenberg, President Mr. Francis H Auffenberg Jr., Vice President Ms. Blancy Mitchell, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael C Auffenberg, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Blancy Mitchell, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
The New Monroeville Dodge Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3633 William Penn Hwy

    Monroeville, PA 15146 (412) 856-1700 (888) 337-8297

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 337-8297(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a vehicle from this dealership and feel that the salesperson was dishonest in conducting this transaction. I picked out the vehicle I was to purchase (ALL WHEEL DRIVE) but because of some issues, I had to go with another similar vehicle. I was told that the vehicle I was going to get was the same minus, tinted windows, a roof rack and the hub caps would be different; not a problem for me. Twice this salesperson **** ********* expressed to me that the car would be the same, minus those three items. However, not even a week later I noticed that my vehicle was not all wheel drive. I called the dealership just to be basically called a liar by the salesperson that sold me the car and to go back and forth with him stating that I signed the paperwork that mentioned that the car was forward drive instead. Stressed with other priorites of balancing school, work and family I had to deal with this after graduation which was just the next week. Knowing that nothing really gets resolved over the phone, I decided to pay the dealership and salesperson a visit however to my dismay the same outcome as the telephone coversation occurred. As I explained to the owner what happened on the day I purchased to vehicle, my situation seemed hopeful however after speaking with the salesperson, he continued to lie and call me a liar by staing that I knew that my car was forward drive and that it had been told to me by three different individuals, NOT TRUE. After going round and round with ****, I realized that he was not going to admit the mistake nor do anything to rectify the mistake therefore any reconcilation would have to be administered by the owner. As the owner explained to me that he did not forsee his sales agent making such a mistake, he offered me a trade for my vehicle for the vehicle that I THOUGHT I was SUPPOSED to have in the first place. Nothing was done in favor of the customer, in fact the owner of the dealership sided with the salesmen who flat out lied.

Desired Settlement: I would like to vehicle that I was promised. I am not satified with the vehicle that was given to me and would like to switch to what I was supposed to have.

Business Response:

I am responding to the complaint made on 5/5/2014 ID ******** from******* *****, i would like to start off by stating that we here at Monroeville Dodge strive to maintain the highest level of customer satisfaction and have measures in place to insure accurate ordering procedures for the nature of this type of purchase.

After a review of the all the paper work and facts concerning this transaction I am confident of Ms. *****' knowledge of the vehicle she has purchased, i must add I personally recall several discussions that Ms. ***** had between Mr. ********* and Mr. ****** that this is indeed a front wheel drive vehicle. It's reasonable to understand that purchasing a new vehicle can be overwhelming and stressful however this transaction took place over several days and she was given a copy of the window sticker in which she had signed stating "This is the vehicle I want".

Before we had located a vehicle for Ms. ***** to purchase, we tried to work a deal on one that was ail wheel drive, but it simply would not fit in her budget. An all wheel drive journey is about $6000 more than the one she purchased. She had also stated that she would like to stay around $300 a month and the salesmen explained to her that it is mathematically impossible to do so on the all wheel drive. That is when the salesman suggested to Ms. ***** that we locate a front wheel drive journey with the third row seating that she was looking for. Once we had found one in a color she would like, verify that it was available for trade, and came to an agreement on price and payments, she signed the window sticker. I cannot reiterate enough that multiple times it was explained to Ms. ***** that it was a front wheel drive journey.

As I said before we do strive to maintain the highest level of customer satisfaction and try to do so in every way possible. I am confident that Ms. ***** was aware of the vehicle she purchased and all the options on that vehicle.

******* ******

 

To Whom It May Concern,

My name is **** ********* Sales Consultant Monroeville Dodge. I’m responding to a complaint filed by one******* **** ***** on 5/15/2014 ID#********

Ms. ***** came in on 4/30/2014 with the intentions of trading in her late model minivan that is FWD. She originally was with **** ****** and I was asked to lend him a hand in assisting her.

Ms. ***** is claiming that she was not aware that she was purchasing a FWD Dodge Journey. When in fact that is the total opposite. Ms ***** was told over the phone several times that this vehicle was FWD and when she came in she even signed the window sticker of the vehicle that was plainly marked FWD. I had her sign that with the words this is the vehicle that I want. We do this on all dealer locates for this exact reason.

She wanted a payment of around $300 a month. She knew this was not going to happen on an AWD Journey that is $6-7000 more money. She was informed that the one she was purchasing was different than the one she looked at in our inventory. She was told and pointed out not only by myself but also Mr. ****** and Mrs. ******. The differences in the vehicles were FWD, tinted windows, the roof rails and the wheels among other things.

Again I must reiterate that Ms. ***** in fact signed a copy of the window sticker saying that the vehicle that she purchased was and is FWD. This was gone over with the complainant several times.

Regards,

**** Sales Consultant Monroeville Dodge

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 
 

Although the statements here are collaborated, they are not true.  I NEVER signed the sticker stating that THIS IS THE CAR OR VEHICLE I WANT, NEVER; that statement alone is a flat out lie.  As I mention in my original complaint, I was told several times that the only difference would be tire rims, roof rack and tint which were not important to me.  AWD on the vehicle I selected was the reason I chose the color I did, it was available.  When the change in vehicles came about, the change from AWD to FWD was not mentioned.  I believed the salesperson when he told me that the differences were just that, just to find out that the AWD was missing.  The fact of the matter is that the salesperson and colleagues not admit their role in this matter and continue to state that I agreed to this vehicle; not true.  The sad thing about it all is that the dealership and their sales team will continue to sell cars in this manner and the customer will continuously to lose.  I wholeheartedly believe that this information was not communicated to me on purpose and now the dealership is attempting to cover it up.  I did not need a new car, I wanted one.  Getting this car was not a priority as I had no payment on my vehicle.  I feel that this dealership and its sales team acted fraudulently by misrepresenting what truly happened when I purchased the vehicle.  I intend to keep fighting this matter until I feel that this matter is justly satisfied.  I will no longer do business with this company and will advise other of my encounter with this business.  I am totally dissatified with the customer service of this business as well as how business is conducted, this issue was not resolved.

 

 

 

 

Business Response:

On April 29, I recall Ms. ***** coming into our showroom that morning and speaking to one of our sales personnel (just across from my desk) about trading in her 2006 Chrysler Town & Country van (fwd.) Ms ***** was looking for a 7 passenger vehicle with four wheel drive and wanted her payments from $200 to $225 per month.

When I had heard about her expectations I invited Ms. ***** to my desk to attempt in assisting her with her vehicle needs. I had explained to her that her payment expectations were not possible for a vehicle with four wheel drive unless she had a substantial down payment which she explained to me that she had no money to apply down. We did some mathematics together and concluded that she would have to purchase a vehicle for about $10000 to $11000 depending on the terms and Apr. percentage.

I then proceeded to work out a lease on the Journey AWD for 3 years and still could not accomplish what she wanted. I also told Ms. ***** that I would not recommend a lease to her because of her driving habits with her current vehicle being over a 100,000 miles it just wouldn't be good for her. We concluded together that it just was not feasible in obtaining her goals and Ms. ***** left our store.

That evening Ms. ***** called into our store and spoke with the same salesperson across from me and was inquiring about a less expensive vehicle that was a 7 passenger, the salesperson inquired with myself and ******* ****** (sales manager) about locating a Journey, An American Value Package FWD which was about $5000 less in price, we had worked out payments of approximately $340 per month over the phone and Ms. ***** agreed to the terms then returned that night to sign some paper work for us to get that specific vehicle.

It is a standard practice when we locate a vehicle, we print a copy of the window sticker and go over it with the customer to insure that we are not purchasing the wrong vehicle and getting stuck with it in our inventory, This was completed with Ms. ***** and she acknowledged that this is the vehicle I want. She returned the following day 4/30/2014 to pick up her new vehicle, the sales person went over the vehicle, options and operating features. Ms. ***** was extremely satisfied and even gave us a very high rating of satisfaction which I have supplied for your review.

Approximately 2 weeks later, Ms. ***** never called us about this concern but did return to our showroom to dispute her knowledge of the vehicle she purchased was a front wheel drive. The salesperson had brought to her attention several instances in conversation where he had gone over the vehicle was indeed a front wheel drive vehicle. After about 15 minutes of dispute, I asked Ms. ***** how she would like me to assist in this matter to keep her happy other than just exchanging the vehicle for an AWD.

I explained that this was not possible because the transaction had been completed with the state and the bank had funded the deal already. I then offered to trade her out of her vehicle into the one she wanted originally and keep all losses to a minimal for both parties. She declined and did not want to pay any more than what she currently was.

I am convinced that Ms. ***** was aware of her purchase, I witnessed several conversations with management and a veteran salesperson trying to meet the customer's needs. I am still willing to assist Ms. ***** with her vehicle needs, but as I explained to her that I cannot absorb $5000 and keep her payments the same.

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance in resolving this matter.


Consumer Response:

Lies, lies, lies and more lies!  I am more than in disbelief with the amount of untruthfulness being told about this situation which is leaving an even more sour taste in my mouth about how business is conducted at this establishment.  To address the comments made by ******* from the previous email.  ******* and I never spoke until the deal was complete and she walked up to me, as I was leaving the dealership with my family.  She began to apologize for the hardship that my ex-husband imposed on me with the trading in on my vehicle.  So I wonder how she could have conveyed any information about options.  What she has to say to the matter of options I would receive are totally irreverent and that’s why it was not address in the previous response. 

 

As to the comment mentioned stated that I SATISFIED AND EXCITED about the purchase of the vehicle, that remains to be seen; I am not a person who gets excited about those things so that statement is also irreverent.  In fact, several family members and friends noticed my demeanor and asked why I WAS NOT excited about getting a new car.  I simply replied and still hold the same regard that it is just a car and I now have a car payment.  It is all irrelevant to the fact that I was supposed to receive something that I did not. 

In a conversation held with ***** on Wednesday, May 21, 2014, he mentioned a few times that he his salesperson “dropped the ball”, now in response to my email, the salesmen “dropping the ball” is not addressed but given the notion that I was aware of the options on the vehicle. 

As a loyal customer who has purchased five different vehicles from this dealership over the span of my adult life, I expected to be treated better by this establishment than I have; boy was I wrong!   This ordeal is just a slap in the face and I now realize that customer service has fallen far from the waist side and customer loyalty means absolutely nothing to this company.  I cannot believe that in a business that sales many cars is concerned more over eating a $6000 mistake, which was caused by their own sales team than to make things right with the customer; blaming the customer for their fault at that.

As I have mentioned before, I will never purchase another vehicle from this establishment and I will also encourage other buyers to go elsewhere.  To address the rating I gave to the company, you can resend it.  I gave this gracious rating to a company that I believed cared about the customer and put the customer first.  I have since realized that like many other car dealerships, the sale of the vehicle is the bottomline and this is obliviously by any means necessary. 

I do realize that I’m going up against a big company where the members of the organization will stick together even if their collaborated statements are not true however, I have been nothing but truthful in my statements and correspondence with the Better Business Bureau and Monroeville Dodge; can Monroeville Dodge employees say the same?  Yes it appears that I am defenseless against an entire company who have collaborated a story however I will stand firm on the fact that the options of my vehicle were not gone over with me.  My father can and will also corroborate my testimony as he was there at the table with me the entire time.  He too was surprised when I advised him that my vehicle was not AWD as I thought I was getting. 

Just to give you an idea of just how unconventional the sale of my vehicle was, from a veteran salesmen, options were never gone over with me formally; in fact the fact that I received a tan interior was quite a surprise as well as the missing AWD.  Perhaps the salesmen Mr. ********* was so focused on getting me into a vehicle that matched my numbers that he failed to give me what was most important to me which was AWD.  It has been mentioned a time or two that the fact that my van was an FWD; this statement is also irrelevant to the fact that I would be ok with the new vehicle being FWD when AWD is what I stated I liked and wanted in the vehicle Mr. ********* and I looked at a few days prior.  I would like to mention however though normally when someone purchases a new vehicle, upgrades are expected.  Instead of justifying the wrong that was done by trying to correlate the options I had in the old vehicle, save us all time and energy and do what is right.

As to the fact that this dealership is/was trying to help me rectify this issues, bold face lie!  I do not know anyone in their right mind that would agree that purchasing another vehicle from the dealership which has wronged the customer can or will help the customer.  If I believed that the dealership is negligent in the purchase of my vehicle, why would I give them another chance to wrong me again?  It seems to me that the dealerships is helping themselves to another sale as well as raising my payments; tell me just where the help portion of this statement comes in because I do not get it.  Loyal customer no more! You can check the records; I am on five sales from this establishment.  I am familiar with E&O insurance in which I know many businesses must be enrolled.  If this business is in fact a participant of this insurance, why was this option not considered as a remedy for something that was in fact an error on the part of the dealership?  This avenue was not sought to remedy the issue, therefore telling me that the only way to rectify these issues of negligence caused by a veteran salesman making a rookie mistake is another lie.  Admit fault publically, not in a private telephone conversation, and make the issue right. 

Also, in response to the statement made about notifying me that the bank had already sent payment therefore the sale could not be changed is a lie.  This information is new to me; I READ this information for the first time here.

Stating that no phone calls were made to the dealership about the error until two weeks later is another lie.  I realized the error within the week of my purchase and notified Mr. ********* of the error in which he began to state that I was aware and he had made me aware that the vehicle I was receiving was not AWD. 

Liability of the truth falls on each individual who collaborated such lies in this situation.  Options were not formally addressed, as an unconventional sale perhaps many steps are neglected.  Being as it may, Mr. ********* was fully aware that AWD was an option that I was looking for in the new vehicle and perhaps absentmindedly focused solely on getting me into a vehicle.  In the telephone conversation between ***** and I on Wednesday, May 21, 2014 he wondered how I would believe that the omitted options in the new vehicle could render such a dramatic change in price.  I responded and will continue to contend that I have no idea what options cost what.  Mr. ********* as the expert in car sales, I would never question the ability to be truthful nor the cost of what options cost what when I was told that the options that I would not receive were part of a package I was not getting.  I was never shown a price list but was TOLD on several occasions that the options I was not getting were part of the package that included different rims, roof rack and tinted windows; AGAIN there was no mention of omitting AWD. The only obvious solution to this situation is to make good on what was supposed to be originally.  I welcome any other suggested solutions from Monroeville Dodge that does in fact benefit the customer.  At this point, I am very dissatisfied with the purchase of this vehicle, the sales team, and Monroeville Dodge in how this situation is being handled.  If I have since made the first payment but if there is any way that I can return this vehicle to the dealership without further being inconvenienced and taken advantage of, you can have it back!Regards,

******* *****  

 

1/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied online and had a call back from ******* ***** who told me I qualified for a loan and set an appointmrnt for me to see **** *****, her sales manager, she said she talked to him and I could buy a car, nothing real expensive but she talked to him and they could get me a car, I go out there the next evening and was denied, after being told all was good and what proof to bring, here the female I spoke to said **** ***** never did speak to ******* and he did not even know her she works at a call center, they led me to believe I was getting the loan and a car and all was well ust to deny me, I was so upset and hurt at this practice and they really had a "who cares" attitude toward me, I felt totally humiliated and embarassed, total lead me on to believe I was getting the car.THEN----that ******* had the NERVE to call my house voice mail the next day saying 'Hi, just checking how everything went and how your car is"...excuse me, the NERVE, I did not call her back

Desired Settlement: not sure what I want done but this practice is totally rude and I am very upset and hurt they would do this to me and like I said they do not care at all, that **** ***** never even came over to talk to me, I feel they owe me something

Business Response:

In response to the above referenced complaint we here at Monroeville Dodge sincerely strive to offer all customers the ability to purchase a vehicle from our company and make every effort possible to do so for all customers with all levels of  past credit histories. Many times a customer is " pre-qualified" based on information at the time of phone contact only to find out at the point of the sale the customer does not quailify for a program to be "Approved". Unfortunately from time to time a customer may not meet the minimum requirements.

 An alternative offer of obtaining a co-signor was suggested and upon review of that information given and credit history we still were not able to offer financing . We may add a  third option was given to have the customer consider putting a large down payment. After exhausting all request a last and final suggestion was made to have Ms. *********** to touch base with our "Finance advisor " on Friday. It was our understanding that Ms. *********** was to contact us on Friday to make further efforts only to recieve this complaint. If we can assist in any other way please let us know.

Thank you,

**** ***** Sales Manager

Monroeville Dodge

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

MY RESPONSE--------

I was advised she would call me I have to date not received a call, also when I was at the dealership I was told to ask for ****, which the female said he was there but not available, I believe her name was ******, when I requested to speak to **** he made no effort to come over to talk to me, his handling was totally unacceptable,

I was never told I was pre-qualified, i was told that all was good come in and pick out a car, that is a far cry from what happened, now they are trying to switch the compalint on me, totally unacceptable practices and behivior, and to make natters worse, **** made me feel like a toal idiot by 100% totally ignoring me and having the female tell me he never heard of me or the woman I spoke to who told me to come pick put a carthat all was good to go

Regards,

****** *********** 

 

 

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had bought a car on October 28,2013. On Thursday November 7,2013 I was on my way to work and I had noticed that my steering will had got tight and my battery light came on and my car started to whine. So I started to drive and the whining noise went away and when I pulled into my job the steering will was more tighter and the whining nise came back. So someone at my job looked at my car and noticed that the serpentine belt was loose or ofg. So I called the dealership where I got it and they said it was my responsibilty to have it replaced. I was told that my car was serviced before it left the dealership. If my car was serviced before it left the dealership they should have noticed that.

Desired Settlement: I would like it fixed since I didn't have the car that long and I shouldn't have to pay for it.

Business Response:

Please be advised that this disbute has been resolved as of 11/16/2013 as part of good will, this was not a covered (belt tensioner) componet and could not be forseen when evaluation of vehicle was completed.

Repairs have been completed and covered by Monroeville Dodge.

 

Sincerely

****** ********

General Manager

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6-20-2013 I walked into monroeville dodge to talk to someone about a new car. I had currently owned a 2011 ***** *******. I had received a sales call about a buy back program and was interested in seeing if I could get a lower payment on a new car. I did not NEED a new car. The sales manager was unprofessional and down right rude. He talked to me like I was a stupid girl who he seemed to think he could get over on.the car I was interested in was a DEMO with roughly 400 miles and a dent in the rocker panel. The original price was around $36,000 and that is was he wanted me to pay for a "used" car...He came back several times with different offers, offended me, offended the car I already owned and I ask him to not waste my time or his own. His last offer was "take it as is" with this payment! As is??? This is a wrecked car with 400 miles on it and u want me to pay full price and take it wrecked....I told him to *********** and left. I do apologize but he had me that mad. We got almost all the way home and miraculously they could do what I wanted. The terms were to fix the rocker panel and put a stripe kit on the car. I had to call dodge corporation and open a claim number and form a formally complaint to get my stripe even ordered because no one in that dealership has an ounce of professionalism. Today my payment from my old car came out of my checking account because it seems my loan has not been paid off yet. Upon calling them today it seems it took them 9 business days to send the payoff, yet my old car is on the lot with a sticker on it. As I find out the finance lady is my ex husbands new wife. I really hope that has nothing to do with the payoff taking so long. This is the 3rd dodge I have bought and have bought numerous other cars and have NEVER been treated so badly that I felt the need to contact you . They obviously don't care at all about their customers.

Desired Settlement: I want my car paid off in full today, the $595 put back in my account since it took so long to pay off my old car and a whole new stripe kit for my car. They should all be put through a customer service class because none of them have an idea of how to treat someone. I nor anyone else I know will ever shop there again.

Business Response:

Please be assured that Ms. ******* concerns have been addressed. The payoff on her trade was mailed out on 7/3/2013 using 2-day airmail thru UPS. Our tracking shows that **** bank received and signed for it on 7/9/2013. I don't know what the delay was for the package to take 6 days? I can only assume that the holiday interrupted delivery. 

As for the custom stripe kit, it was ordered on June 21st. the following day of purchase. As explained to Ms. ******, the stripe that she wanted us to duplicate on her trade had to be made by an outside vendor, which took approximately two weeks to manufacture. I did inform Ms. ****** on 7/8/2013 that it was finally complete and ready for installation at her convienence. 

For the record please note that Ms. ****** has been treated no different than any other customer of ours. The fact that her x-husband is now married to one of our employees has no bearing on her transaction with Monroeville Dodge. We have made every effort to accommodate Ms. ******, UN fortunately with no avail. From the time of negotiations to present, Ms. ****** has been very difficult to do business with, but we will continue to accommodate her vehicle needs as long as she behaves in a civil manner. 

Sincerely 

****** ********

General Manager  

 

7/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When going to purchase vehicle I asked how much and the sales man told me price depends on zip code and credit score. I proceeded to tell the salesman that I came to that specific dealership because my friend has a ***** ******* that she purchased from there and I like how roomy they are and that the windows on the door roll down. The van that i wad told they had just got in from a trade and had not been serviced yet. After negotiating the price ( which was overpriced) I got into the van and realized on the way home that the windows did not roll down, it was almost 10 pm do I decided to go back the next day. I got to the dealership the next day and asked if I can swap the van for the other van that the windows rolled down ( the other van had more miles) since it was less than 24 hours. I was told that it was not possible since the paper work was sent to the bank last night. I asked how they could send paperwork at 10 pm, they stated they did. I then asked them to tell me how much the van was and the salesman said he didn't know he had to ask the manager. The manger told him to say it was sold. I then asked why it did not have a sold sign like the other vehicles and why it was still in the front with the show cars, i got no answer. I had my sister call and ask about the van because it was on the June 28th ***** **** and the woman she spoke to told her that they had more vans and that particular van they just got in on a trade and it had not been serviced yet and they are not allowed to sell a vehicle that has not been serviced because it may have problems and need to go to the auction. She also said that the company did not put the vehicle on the website for that reason and she did not have a price. My sister told her she was looking at the van in the book and that the price of 15,995 was on it. The sales lady stated she would get more information and call her back.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a van with the windows that roll down like I requested and the actual price that is quoted for the vehicle.

Business Response:

Customer satisfaction is at the top of our list, we strive everyday to keep it at its best. We constantly train and remind our employees to do just that. The variables that exist to make a vehicle purchase are many and many are really decided by the state laws, bank requirements, ones credit history and what is really negotiated at that moment, that day of the sale . Ms ****** came back in to our dealership a day after she had made an agreement to purchase asking to back out of her deal.We kindly explained to her that our company has a no return policy and other avenues were possible such as trading out or possible first payment assistance. Ms ****** declined. After some conversation with Ms. ****** about all the possibilties we decided to make an exception and allow her to back out and return the vehicle.

3/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service