Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

(Auto Dealers - New Cars


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Monroeville Chrysler Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Monroeville Chrysler Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Monroeville Chrysler Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 25, 2012 Business started: 05/03/2012 in PA Business started locally: 07/23/2012 Business under new ownership as of: 05/03/2012 Business incorporated 05/03/2012 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
17 N Second Street, Suite 1300, Harrisburg PA 17101
http://www.banking.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-722-2657
Fax Number: 717-787-8773
The number is 38267.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD030727.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Auffenberg, President Mr. Francis Auffenberg Jr., Vice President Mr. Robert Manning, General Manager Mr. Blancy Mitchell, Management Team
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Auffenberg, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Manning, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Huntley Automotive Company

Additional Locations

  • 3651 William Penn Hwy

    Monroeville, PA 15146 (888) 775-1441 (412) 856-1422

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a Town and Country with 12 miles on it and by the time it reached 10000 miles the tires were junk. They would not even pass inspection.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the tires replaced. No reason they should have wore out that fast.

Business Response:

August 11, 2015

Dear ******** ****,

This letter is in response to your letter dated 08/11/15 regarding complaint ID ********  that was filed with your office on 08/10/2015.

 

****** *** **** ********** are upset that there tires worn out at 10,000  miles. I measured the tires and they do need replaced. I called ******** and there is no pro-rate available for that particular tire. I called Chrysler Corporation and got them to authorize a onetime goodwill for a 50/50 resolution.

 

I called Mr. and Mrs. ********** and told them and they are still not happy. I gave them ********`s number and Chrysler customer assistance number and have not heard back from them as of today.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

Mike C******

Service & Parts Director

Monroeville Chrysler Jeep         

7/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car and the salesman stated I could call the bank and change my payment date to the first of every month. I called the bank and they said that is something I would have to take up with the car dealership. The salesman has been terminated for reasons unknown and they will not honor the agreement. I only signed the agreement under the assumption that they were telling the truth about the bank changing the date. I feel deceived and have tried over and over to resolve this. The owner will not return my call, but keeps having others call to say there is nothing they can do. I was told that the dealership can actually change the date and everything will be ok. I don't feel they should get away with this just because the salesman was terminated. They should pay more attention to what they are telling people just to sell a car. This is supposed to be a reputable company and they are not living up to it. I, also, am not happy with the car. I was going up a hill and the car stopped. I had it looked at and it has a start/stop feature that I was never told about. If you are on a hill, it kind of jump starts to get going again. I fell like I was deceived in every way. I was given a 90 payment card sent in the mail and once I got there I wasn't able to use that either. I actually tried to leave and another salesperson came up to me and said what can we do to get you in this car? Stupid me fell for it.

Desired Settlement: I feel the company should be liable for the first payment or change the payment date. They know they can make that change. Stand by the agreement that was told to me by the salesman...whether he is still there or not. It is all about making the customer happy-because this turned out to be a horrible experience.

Business Response:

Re:  Mrs. ********

Mrs. ******** bought a car from Monroeville Chrysler Jeep on May 13, 2015.  She signed a bank contract stating that her payment was due on June 12, 2015.  Monroeville CJ is unaware of any agreement that she had with any other person.  Our process is set up that all customers must go to a finance manager and go over all documents to assure that nothing is being promised that is not in writing.  Mrs. ******** said nothing to the finance manager about changing the date her payment was due.  If she would have, it could have been changed to a 45 day first payment request at the time of purchase, but she agreed to the date that the payment was due by and signed a contract (please see attached copy of the contract signed with the agreed payment date by Mrs. *********.

Mrs. ******** brought her car to the dealership a couple days after she purchased it, saying that it was not running properly.  We gave her a  loaner car at no charge and took her vehicle to our ******* ***** ***** store to have it checked out.  They returned the car to Mrs. ******** and told her and also told us at Monroeville CJ that there was nothing wrong with the car and it was running properly (attached you will find a copy of a Service work order from ******* ***** ********* saying that the vehicle is running fine and there's nothing wrong with it.

As a good faith effort to please Mrs. ********, we contacted the lender (******** ***** and asked to have Mrs. ********'s payment date changed as a courtesy convenience to her. 
We were told once she makes her first payment they will be able to change the date for her at any ******** **** Branch location.

If Mrs. ******** feels that there is something wrong with her car, it is under factory warranty and we will be glad to help her arrange for an appointment at ******* ***** *********.  A Service Rep. did drive the vehicle 104 miles and confirmed there was nothing wrong.  However, if she would like to have it re-checked, I have no problem setting up a service appointment to have this done.  At Monroeville Chrysler Jeep our main goal is to satisfy each and every customer to the best of our ability and we work hard to do that.

Sincerely,
****** *******, GM

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ** ********

I am trying to write a response to the business.  I don't know how.  I know I signed the contract, but that was under the agreement that I could change it. 

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my jeep into the dealership where I bought it for inspection, got a call that it needed rear break pads for inspection, no problem. when I attempted to call back I was put on hold for over 25 minutes redirected to another dealership in ******* *********, hung up on and told to call back when they weren't so busy by the receptionist. being told it was ok to get my vehicle and change the pads out myself after requesting to speak to the manger I did so and returned it within an hour. next day call back to check on the status of the vehicle same thing on hold cannot speak to a service advisor was placed on hold for 15 min then hung up. I am very displeased with the way I am being treated by this dealership and will never go back.

Desired Settlement: I just want my vehicle

Business Response: We had some phone issues last week. I did talk to
*********** ***** on Friday and apologized.

I gave him my direct extension and told him if he ever
needed anything to call me direct.

As a courtesy and a good
faith gesture we would like to offer Mr. *********** ***** a FREE oil change as
well as an apology.

Regards,

**** *******
Service & Parts Director
Monroeville Chrysler Jeep

**** ******* **** *******
        

Phone ###-###-####

Fax      
###-###-####  

*********************************



5/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bad car deal from dealership

Desired Settlement: I want the deal done the way he fist told me a lower payment I don't have the car and has not had the car it been back at the dealership three days later for bad breaks this was way before the payment was due they had more than enough time to cancel the deal I called the bank to let them know I don't have the car like I said in more than enough time for this matter to be to taken care of the bank was aware of the bad deal but keep harassing me and my 78 year old dad i ask them to address me

Business Response: This letter is in regards to the complaint filed against
Monroeville Chrysler Jeep by ******** ********* ID number ********.  Ms. ******** came to the Dealership on
11/10/2014 and purchased a 2012 Ford Focus. 
She returned a week later stating that she spoke with a Representative from
**** Bank and informed the Rep that she did not like the type of car she bought
and that her auto insurance was higher than what she expected it to be.    

 

To the best of my knowledge, Ms. ******** never conveyed
to anyone at the Dealership about any type of problem she was experiencing with
the **** ****** including but not limited to the brakes.  Attached you will see that the car was
inspected and the brakes were in great condition.

   

The vehicle was found sitting on our lot roughly 2 months
later with no note stating why it was here. 
Several attempts were made to contact Ms. ********, but she did not
return any phone calls that were made to her from the Dealership. 

 

It is my understanding that Ms. ******** did not make her
car payment and the car was being repossessed by ****.

 

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions
or need further information.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

****** ** *******

General Manager

3/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing in regards to my end of lease situation. I went into Monroeville Chrysler Jeep on 11/24/14 to complete my end of lease transaction for my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I pre-scheduled an appointment through Mr. ***** (an internet representative) to terminate the lease and purchase the vehicle. Upon arrival, I met with (I believe his name was) **** ****** and told him that I wanted to purchase the jeep. He proceeded to speak with his GM, ****** ******* and came back with a ridiculous monthly payment to purchase my jeep. I explained that I have been a dedicated customer to this dealership and purchased my last 4 cars through them. I added that I understand that they are under new ownership; however I also know that the quote was astronomical for my buy out price of approximately $21,000. Mr. ******* called me into the office to meet with him personally and I explained my situation further. I told him that I just wanted to purchase my jeep. I knew that I was over on my mileage and had a broken set that I didn’t get a chance to fix and knew that there will be additional charges for that if I turned the jeep in. He explained that the total fees that I will owe, including my last payment was $941, which would cover the cost of the additional miles. He also stated that the seat can be repaired before the inspection because I told him that I already had the part ordered through them and it should be there. He continued to tell me that I would be better off purchasing a new vehicle. I continued to state that I just wanted to keep my jeep so that I didn’t have to pay any additional charges. I added that right now I am not in a good emotional state due to my mom’s illness and I was leaving that following day to travel to ***** ******** to be with her. I just wanted to try to get everything taken care of before I left because the duration of the trip was not definite. I left the office that night and told him that I would be in contact with him on Saturday. Saturday morning (11/29/14) Mr. ******* contacted me several times by phone to see if I was returning on that day. He told me he got in touch with a credit union and they agreed to finance me at 3.9% (not true). I was excited because I thought that meant I could keep my jeep, but he proceeded to tell me that the interest rate only applied to a new vehicle (not true). He further explained that I had to make a decision because my lease turn in date was 11/30/14 (not true) and if it wasn’t turned in, I would have to pay additional fees. I left ***** ******** in a rush to ensure I could arrive at the dealership before they closed. I arrived and **** (the salesman) showed me different smaller Jeep vehicles as well as a Chrysler. After I noticed the price of the vehicles he was showing me, I asked for clarification of why I would not keep my Jeep if the new cars that he was showing me were selling for more than my buy out price. He said that the new cars have rebates and the interest rate is lower on new cars. I went in to meet with financing, I believe his name was ****, and he told me that I was financing through PSECU, my interest rate is 4.5 (?), and he has to list me as forest ranger in order to secure the financing. I told him that I am already a state employee and should already be a member and the interest rate that I was quoted was 3.9%. He told me that the interest rate would be reduced if I set up automatic withdrawal. I purchased the car based on everything they were telling me and made arrangements to return on Monday to provide the additional key to my Jeep. I didn’t return Monday, but I went on Tuesday and was told that my sales person was not there and they couldn’t take the key. The sales person called the following day and after I told him that I was not happy with the transaction and felt that I was lied to he told me he would have the GM return my call. I told him that I would drop off the key on Thursday, which again, I tried and they told me that the salesperson was not there. I was able to speak with the GM and explained to him that I was not satisfied with the transaction and that everything I was told was not accurate. He told me that he would have the clerk provide a refund for the transactions, but never addressed the other issues. I feel that this entire transaction was dishonest and I was blatantly lied to. I found out through PSECU that my interest rate would have been the same whether the car I purchased was new or used, which would mean that I could have kept my Jeep, which is what I wanted to do in the first place. I found out that my interest rate was higher than the 3.9% because I paid more than the MSRP price of the vehicle. When I asked about this, he said that there is no way because I had $3000 in rebates applied to the price. I found out that they overcharged me for small fees that were listed on the agreement and only refunded the money after I called twice to ask about it. I still have not cashed the checks. I found out that I did NOT have to turn in my Jeep on 11/30/14 and actually had a grace period before any fees would have accrued. The seat of my Jeep was not repaired before the inspection and I was charged for the damage I was also charged for a key that I attempted to turn into the dealership twice I was told that my total charge for everything totaled $941, but the bill I received from my finance company far exceeded this amount I am completely dissatisfied with this Monroeville Chrysler Jeep and have attempted to resolve the numerous issues to no avail.

Desired Settlement: Total back up of their word. I should not have been charged another additional over the $941 that they stated. The amount owed to the finance company should be $0 The interest rate with my financing company should have remained 3.9%. Otherwise, I would like to have my Jeep (or comparable) at my same buy out price since i was lead to believe that I couldn't finance it a lower interest rate, when in atuality I could

Business Response:

 Mrs. ******* **** came in to Monroeville Chrysler Jeep on or around 11/24

2014.  She inquired about buying out her  lease on the 2011 Jeep Grand

Cherokee through ****.  The buyout on her lease was $22,016 plus tax and

tags. This was the price on her contract when she leased it back on

8/31/2011. 

 

We quoted Mrs. **** two payments based on this number; $587 a month for 48

months or $479 a month for 60 months with approved credit.  Mrs. **** stated

that these payments were too high and she was trying to get a lower payment

than what she was currently paying, which was $375 a month.  Her salesman

**** recommended that she take a look at the new Chrysler 200, thinking that

it would lower her payment and get her a new car.  Chrysler Financial also

had special financing rates of 3.9%, which unfortunately Mrs. **** did not

qualify for. She decided to go with the Chrysler 200 because the payment was

less than she was currently paying on her 2011 lease vehicle.  She was well

aware that she owed the pay off to **** in order to  turn in her lease

which shows on her paperwork that she signed when she entered the new

agreement.  The amount owed for her last lease payment and over mileage was

$943.43. She asked us to include this final payment in the new car price

because she said that she did not have the money to pay it off.  The Finance

office has a copy of the payoff to **** showing that the Dealership paid

$943.43, per request of Mrs. ****.

 

The interest rate that she got from the credit union was 5.24% which was the

best rate from any bank or finance company that we use.  If Mrs. **** would

like to trade in her Chrysler 200 on a used one or on a new Jeep Grand

Cherokee, I will be glad to help her but she must understand that the

payments on a used Jeep grand Cherokee and on a new one will be higher than

what she's paying on the Chrysler 200 now, which is no different than it was

back when she bought her Chrysler  200.

 

 We value Mrs. **** as a repeat customer who has bought multiple cars from

our dealership and we will do everything to help her get out of her Chrysler

200 and get her what she wants.  Please have her feel free to call me

directly if this is something she prefers to do.

  Thank you.

  ****** *******, General Manager

   Monroeville Chrysler Jeep

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ****

3/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 2 2010 Chrysler Jeep Monroeville sold me my 2008 Chrysler Sebring while purchasing my vehicle I was told it had a manufacturers warranty left on the car up until 36 months or 36,000 miles I purchased my vehicle at 24,000 miles and since my warranty was going to be up within a yr after buying the vehicle they showed me extended warranty options and I explained to them that I wanted to purchase a warranty for the rest of the term I would be paying on my car so they showed me a 6 yr 80,000 mile warranty being that I only put around 9 or 10,000 miles a yr on my car 80,000 miles was perfect for me and 6 yrs was my finance term. Then they showed me different coverage and I chose the Platinum plan for $1699. Needless to say I never had to use my warranty until a week ago when I went to file a claim and was told my coverage had been up since 6/2013. Hearing this threw me for a loop considering my coverage goes for 2 more yrs or 20,000 more miles. This was not the case I was then told that the warranty Chrysler sold me started 6/2007 when the car was manufactured 3 yrs before I even owned the car to me this made no sense so I started asking questions and then I was getting the run around because the finance department there has all new staff and they do not know who sold me the warranty. I had my contract looked over and I was advised to contact Chrysler corporate office so that's just what I did. I talked to numerous people there as they kept transferring me finally I asked to speak to a supervisor and that's when this all did a whole new turn and the supervisor told me I had a certified pre owned vehicle warranty that came with my car at no cost for 6 yrs 80,000 miles and they were unsure as to why I was sold a extended warranty for the same period of time I had one that came with the car. My warranty contract is sketchy and the run around I have been getting is sketchy while no one can give me straight answers.

Desired Settlement: I would like either a warranty on my vehicle for the term of 6 yrs of me owning my vehicle like I was told not 3 of those yrs when someone else owned my vehicle or I would like a refund of some of my money returned for a warranty that was as of no use to me even if something would have happened to my vehicle prior to 6/2013 there was a certified pre owned warranty that came with the vehicle that would have covered anything major.

Business Response:

After reviewing the sales file for Danae *******, It is clear to me that she had purchased a powertrain wraparound warranty that extended the existing manufactures warranty up to 6 years or 80000 miles from the original in-service date of 05/14/2007.

As for what was told to her verbally, I cannot answer since we acquired Monroeville Chrysler Jeep (7/16/2012) after her purchase date. I have supplied you with a copy of her contract for your review.

Ms. ******* did visit our dealership recently to discuss this matter with our finance manager, we did not have this fiie on site, but had to order it from **** ******** (storage facility) in order to review. Our records on computer did show she was out of warranty and was explained to Ms. *******.

We had set up an service appointment for Ms. ******* to evaluate her vehicle, she did not show. We cannot purchase Ms. ******* another warranty or refund her for what she had purchased, but we are willing to assist with the cost of repairs.

If any further information is needed please let me know.

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiance and I purchased a 2008 Pontiac G5 on October 29, 2013. From what we understood that I would be recieving a call from the loan company to verify who I was and that I had indeed purchased this vehicle. I never received a call but instead received a letter from the loan company stating that I would need my membership number to verify with them that I am a memeber. After several attempts to the dealership we were told that I would need to call the Loan company to get the membership information. Also after driving the car from the lot a few weeks later, my Fiance was driving th vehicle for the day and found out that the tire sensors are on backwards (front sensors are in the back). He called the dealership who then told him that we would need to take the vehicle to a GM dealership. The dealership had given us a 3 month warrenty that is only good for that dealership. Since we were told that they would not fix the vehicle we would not be able to use the warranty. We were also given the runaround serval times in regards to the loan company and the servicing of the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: We would like all matters to be resolved by the dealership honoring the warranty. If the dealership is not able to fix this then we will be trading in the vehicle to get a car that nothing is wrong with.

Business Response:

As of 11/29/2013 11:39 Am, I have attempted to contact ******* *** ******** on 3 occasions.

The first time, 11/22/2013 @ 11:26am, second time 11/26/2013 @ 8:54am, and the third time on 11/27/2013 @ 11:46am.

So far I have not received a call back from the customer to discuss the customers dis-satisfaction.

Please be assured that when this customer does respond to me, that I will handle their issue with the tire pressure light in a professional and amicable manor.

Sincerely,

**** *********

Service And Parts Director

Monroeville Chrysler Jeep

3721 William Penn Highway

Monroeville, Pa. 15146

###-###-####

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a used 2008 Jeep Liberty at the end of April 2013. This is a limited edition sport with the Skyslider roof. Upon testing the vehicle the sales associate **** ******* said the vehicle was in "excellent" condition with a brand new Skyslider roof, seeing that this was one of our main concerns. 3 days after driving home with the vehicle the roof would not close, we were asked by the Sales Manager **** ******* to bring the vehicle in for repair. We were told the roof needed a new motor, but that the dealership would take care of this repair. The roof was not used much during the summer, but was used in September and the roof seems to still not be closing or sealing. We took the vehicle back into the service center and not only was the motor never replaced, but the entire roof actually needs to be replaced. This is a cost of $2,700, of which could have been avoided had the original repair taken place. We were told by the Sales Manager that the original repair actually never took place, and that **** ******* had actually taken our vehicle to a "friend" of his as opposed to an actual repair tech within the service department. **** ******* is no longer with the dealership, however, **** ******* will not offer to repair the damaged roof. In addition to the roof there are numerous faults on the vehicle itself such as electrical damage, interior damage, the sensor valve on the tire is damaged ($200 repair), and the auto-starter does not work. This is within the short 7 months of owning the vehicle. The dealership sales team has lied to us regarding the condition and dismissed our request to have the roof replaced, of which should be no cost on our part. The roof should never have been left to the responsibility of a sales associate's "friend" for repair. **** ******* had not even called me himself to let me know that he will not be repairing our vehicle. I'm shocked at the dismissive attitude toward their customers.I've been in sales for 11 years and would have never treated a customer like this.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Skyslider roof to be replaced, had the repair been completed upon the first visit we never would have been in this situation. This is a $2,700 replacement and doesn't include the repair for the water damage suffered by this fault. This vehicle was purchased at $20,000 less that 7 months ago, to not offer to replace it when this is at the dealership fault is ridiculous.

Business Response: ***, we are currently still working with Ms. **** to come to a resolution. we are discussing trading vehicle or repairing issue with the roof. Will keep you updated as soon as Ms. **** gets back to us. Sincerely****** ********

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The sales manager we worked with, ***** *******, was extremely helpful. He truly did do everything he could do to remedy the situation. Not only was he sensitive to our situation and completely understanding, he was ultimately honest with us on our options and worked with us for hours out of the day to find the best deal he could find. We were able to get into a brand new 2014 Jeep Compass. We carried over very little debt from our previous purchase due to ******* plan of rebates for that particular model. We were turned off by the darker colors initially on that model, he had even gone to a distant lot to find a dark blue option (because we tend to like darker colors) for us and compare. He was honest in that he personally didn't think we would like the interior on the dark blue option and he felt this wasn't the best car for us. I really appreciated the honesty, felt like we were dealing with an actual person in this transaction who is actually listening to his customers needs and wants. I appreciate this greatly, as it is the same approach I pursuit when dealing with customer service and sales, identifying with your client and their concerns. ***** thought perhaps we would like the white color of this model, and parked the two cars we were considering next to one another to help decide. Our first experience with ****, who no longer works at this dealership, was not even comparable. We chose the white version of the Compass model, and were happy to find that all of the features we enjoyed on the Liberty were also available in the vehicle we just purchased. ***** was extremely helpful and considerate. We appreciate the time he took out of his day and actually enjoyed talking with him throughout our transaction. We plan to purchase another vehicle within the year, I can confidently state we will be visiting him again and hope to work with him solely on our next acquisition.

We feel more confident in a brand new vehicle and understand that perhaps this was a situation of a poor sales person when purchasing the Liberty and a car that inherited too many issues from the previous owner. We appreciate the time and negotiation in getting us a reliable vehicle that we won't need to sink more funds into.

Regards,

 

****** ****

 

 

 

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi my name is ****** *****. I purchased a 2013 ******** *** from Monroeville Chrysler on May 17, 2013.Everything that I was told at the time of the purchase was a lie. I was told that I would receive better gas mileage, my insurance would go down and that the check I was writing wouldn't be cashed until the following Friday. Unfortunately on Tuesday 21 st I went to the gas station after class and my card was declined. The check that they said they would hold.... they cashed it. I went it ans spoke with a manager and asked if I could return the car because it was cause too many issues. The manager said no and that he would write me a check for $536 which was May 22nd for $536 so that my account would not be in the negative. The manager asked me to pull up my PNC account and he also called the bank to make sure the check went through. On May 24th I went to Chrysler and gave them my down payment of $500 cash and I asked again can i give the car backbecause I'm not happy with it, once again I was told no. Monday June 3rd I receive a call call from the manager and he is saying that I owe them another $ 500 because of the check they gave me. I explained that they didn't just give me a check they were covering up their mistake that they made. I told the manager that I was not paying it back and he became very angry and began to use foul language. He then proceeded by saying that he will take me to court and that no matter what, he will get his money. I then asked him, not even thinking i was responsible to pay it back but just being nice if i could make payments and he began to yell and use foul language again and no there are no payment arrangements and that he needs his money ASAP. On June 7th my mother and I take the $500 to them and that was the end of thatsituation.ASfar as my insurance going down it went up $36 and my gas mileage is horrible.On Friday June 21st my car wouldn't start. It had to be towed to Monroeville Chrysler. At first they told me it was bad gas and that they do not cover it under the warranty. About three hours later they said that they think it is sugar and to call my insurance company because its vandalism. I called my insurance company and they took care of everything. June 28th my car is ready, I go to pick it up and the gas is very low. I go to the gas station to fill it up and the gas s having a hard time going in. I was only able to put about three dollars in it. I call monroeville Chrysler and let them know what is happening and they told me to bring the car in Monday. I bring the car in and they have it for about four more days. I get my car back and it is costing me so much money in gas, the gas mileage is worst and i call and complain and they act like nothing is wrong. I called in July and the manager told me that its because gas prices went up. I called backin August after spending $96 in three days and they told me i would have to pay $95 just to look at it. This is crazy I just want to get rid of that car, I should of been given the chance to give it back when I first asked. Can you help me please?

Desired Settlement: I want chrysler to take thr car back.

Business Response:

The dealership does agree with Ms. ***** in regards to the fact that there was miscommunication between our salesperson and the finance department concerning her check. She had asked the salesperson to hold her check until the following Friday. We have acknowledged that fact since day one. In fact, as soon as the mistake was brought to our attention, the dealership promptly wrote Ms. ***** a check not only for the $500.00 to bring her account back out of a negative balance, but also an additional $36.00 to compensate for an overdraft fee. 

Approximately a week after giving Ms. ***** back her $500.00 check that has previously showed as cashed on her account, it was returned to us as NSF. We promptly put a call in to Ms. ***** explaining the situation to her. This call took place with myself (**** *******) and our controller,**** ****. There was never any use of foul language in any way. It was simply conveyed that the money was put back into her account and that she would once again responsible to pay the $500.00 we had given her. She said that she had spent it and didn’t have it to return to us. She also said that she didn’t feel she should have to pay. She stated that we should contact the bank, because it was their fault, to try to get our money back. We then explained to Ms. ***** that she was responsible to pay it and that if we had to collect it, we would not hesitate to get the magistrate involved. We followed up the phone call with a certified letter. Ms. ******* mom then came into the dealership and paid the balance for her. 

There is no return policy on an automobile, so asking to return it was not an option. As far as her converts on gas mileage, we only state what is approved and displayed by the Federal Government on the F.T.C label. We also provide insurance agents that we deal with that can offer better coverage and in some cases lower insurance rates. This is based off an individual’s qualifications, and not something the dealership promises or puts in writing.

The last statement Ms. ***** made had to do with her gas issues and service problems. Her car was looked at by our service department on June 28, 2013 and it was determined to be a foreign substance in her gas tank which later turned out to be sugar. Her insurance company was contacted. Our service department did the necessary work and released the car to Ms. *****. She was only responsible for the $100.00 deductible she owed on her insurance. The vehicle returned on July 5, 2013 for a similar complaint and it was again determined to be sugar in the tank and therefore vandalism. The dealership does not carry any responsibility when it comes to vandalism to a vehicle. WE have done everything above and beyond to accommodate Ms. *****. 

If you have any questions or need any additional information, please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####. 

6/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service