BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Monroeville Chrysler Jeep?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Monroeville Chrysler Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Monroeville Chrysler Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Monroeville Chrysler Jeep include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 25, 2012 Business started: 05/03/2012 in PA Business started locally: 07/23/2012 Business under new ownership as of: 05/03/2012 Business incorporated: 05/03/2012 in PA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
17 N Second Street, Suite 1300, Harrisburg PA 17101
http://www.banking.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-722-2657
Fax Number: 717-787-8773

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Auffenberg, President Mr. Francis Auffenberg Jr., Vice President Ms. Jody Lowe, Controller Mr. Blancy Mitchell
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Auffenberg, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Jody Lowe, Controller
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Huntley Automotive Company

Additional Locations

  • 3651 William Penn Hwy

    Monroeville, PA 15146 (412) 856-1422 (888) 775-1441

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 775-1441(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 2 2010 Chrysler Jeep Monroeville sold me my 2008 Chrysler Sebring while purchasing my vehicle I was told it had a manufacturers warranty left on the car up until 36 months or 36,000 miles I purchased my vehicle at 24,000 miles and since my warranty was going to be up within a yr after buying the vehicle they showed me extended warranty options and I explained to them that I wanted to purchase a warranty for the rest of the term I would be paying on my car so they showed me a 6 yr 80,000 mile warranty being that I only put around 9 or 10,000 miles a yr on my car 80,000 miles was perfect for me and 6 yrs was my finance term. Then they showed me different coverage and I chose the Platinum plan for $1699. Needless to say I never had to use my warranty until a week ago when I went to file a claim and was told my coverage had been up since 6/2013. Hearing this threw me for a loop considering my coverage goes for 2 more yrs or 20,000 more miles. This was not the case I was then told that the warranty Chrysler sold me started 6/2007 when the car was manufactured 3 yrs before I even owned the car to me this made no sense so I started asking questions and then I was getting the run around because the finance department there has all new staff and they do not know who sold me the warranty. I had my contract looked over and I was advised to contact Chrysler corporate office so that's just what I did. I talked to numerous people there as they kept transferring me finally I asked to speak to a supervisor and that's when this all did a whole new turn and the supervisor told me I had a certified pre owned vehicle warranty that came with my car at no cost for 6 yrs 80,000 miles and they were unsure as to why I was sold a extended warranty for the same period of time I had one that came with the car. My warranty contract is sketchy and the run around I have been getting is sketchy while no one can give me straight answers.

Desired Settlement: I would like either a warranty on my vehicle for the term of 6 yrs of me owning my vehicle like I was told not 3 of those yrs when someone else owned my vehicle or I would like a refund of some of my money returned for a warranty that was as of no use to me even if something would have happened to my vehicle prior to 6/2013 there was a certified pre owned warranty that came with the vehicle that would have covered anything major.

Business Response:

After reviewing the sales file for Danae *******, It is clear to me that she had purchased a powertrain wraparound warranty that extended the existing manufactures warranty up to 6 years or 80000 miles from the original in-service date of 05/14/2007.

As for what was told to her verbally, I cannot answer since we acquired Monroeville Chrysler Jeep (7/16/2012) after her purchase date. I have supplied you with a copy of her contract for your review.

Ms. ******* did visit our dealership recently to discuss this matter with our finance manager, we did not have this fiie on site, but had to order it from **** ******** (storage facility) in order to review. Our records on computer did show she was out of warranty and was explained to Ms. *******.

We had set up an service appointment for Ms. ******* to evaluate her vehicle, she did not show. We cannot purchase Ms. ******* another warranty or refund her for what she had purchased, but we are willing to assist with the cost of repairs.

If any further information is needed please let me know.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiance and I purchased a 2008 Pontiac G5 on October 29, 2013. From what we understood that I would be recieving a call from the loan company to verify who I was and that I had indeed purchased this vehicle. I never received a call but instead received a letter from the loan company stating that I would need my membership number to verify with them that I am a memeber. After several attempts to the dealership we were told that I would need to call the Loan company to get the membership information. Also after driving the car from the lot a few weeks later, my Fiance was driving th vehicle for the day and found out that the tire sensors are on backwards (front sensors are in the back). He called the dealership who then told him that we would need to take the vehicle to a GM dealership. The dealership had given us a 3 month warrenty that is only good for that dealership. Since we were told that they would not fix the vehicle we would not be able to use the warranty. We were also given the runaround serval times in regards to the loan company and the servicing of the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: We would like all matters to be resolved by the dealership honoring the warranty. If the dealership is not able to fix this then we will be trading in the vehicle to get a car that nothing is wrong with.

Business Response:

As of 11/29/2013 11:39 Am, I have attempted to contact ******* *** ******** on 3 occasions.

The first time, 11/22/2013 @ 11:26am, second time 11/26/2013 @ 8:54am, and the third time on 11/27/2013 @ 11:46am.

So far I have not received a call back from the customer to discuss the customers dis-satisfaction.

Please be assured that when this customer does respond to me, that I will handle their issue with the tire pressure light in a professional and amicable manor.

Sincerely,

**** *********

Service And Parts Director

Monroeville Chrysler Jeep

3721 William Penn Highway

Monroeville, Pa. 15146

###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a used 2008 Jeep Liberty at the end of April 2013. This is a limited edition sport with the Skyslider roof. Upon testing the vehicle the sales associate **** ******* said the vehicle was in "excellent" condition with a brand new Skyslider roof, seeing that this was one of our main concerns. 3 days after driving home with the vehicle the roof would not close, we were asked by the Sales Manager **** ******* to bring the vehicle in for repair. We were told the roof needed a new motor, but that the dealership would take care of this repair. The roof was not used much during the summer, but was used in September and the roof seems to still not be closing or sealing. We took the vehicle back into the service center and not only was the motor never replaced, but the entire roof actually needs to be replaced. This is a cost of $2,700, of which could have been avoided had the original repair taken place. We were told by the Sales Manager that the original repair actually never took place, and that **** ******* had actually taken our vehicle to a "friend" of his as opposed to an actual repair tech within the service department. **** ******* is no longer with the dealership, however, **** ******* will not offer to repair the damaged roof. In addition to the roof there are numerous faults on the vehicle itself such as electrical damage, interior damage, the sensor valve on the tire is damaged ($200 repair), and the auto-starter does not work. This is within the short 7 months of owning the vehicle. The dealership sales team has lied to us regarding the condition and dismissed our request to have the roof replaced, of which should be no cost on our part. The roof should never have been left to the responsibility of a sales associate's "friend" for repair. **** ******* had not even called me himself to let me know that he will not be repairing our vehicle. I'm shocked at the dismissive attitude toward their customers.I've been in sales for 11 years and would have never treated a customer like this.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Skyslider roof to be replaced, had the repair been completed upon the first visit we never would have been in this situation. This is a $2,700 replacement and doesn't include the repair for the water damage suffered by this fault. This vehicle was purchased at $20,000 less that 7 months ago, to not offer to replace it when this is at the dealership fault is ridiculous.

Business Response: ***, we are currently still working with Ms. **** to come to a resolution. we are discussing trading vehicle or repairing issue with the roof. Will keep you updated as soon as Ms. **** gets back to us. Sincerely****** ********

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The sales manager we worked with, ***** *******, was extremely helpful. He truly did do everything he could do to remedy the situation. Not only was he sensitive to our situation and completely understanding, he was ultimately honest with us on our options and worked with us for hours out of the day to find the best deal he could find. We were able to get into a brand new 2014 Jeep Compass. We carried over very little debt from our previous purchase due to ******* plan of rebates for that particular model. We were turned off by the darker colors initially on that model, he had even gone to a distant lot to find a dark blue option (because we tend to like darker colors) for us and compare. He was honest in that he personally didn't think we would like the interior on the dark blue option and he felt this wasn't the best car for us. I really appreciated the honesty, felt like we were dealing with an actual person in this transaction who is actually listening to his customers needs and wants. I appreciate this greatly, as it is the same approach I pursuit when dealing with customer service and sales, identifying with your client and their concerns. ***** thought perhaps we would like the white color of this model, and parked the two cars we were considering next to one another to help decide. Our first experience with ****, who no longer works at this dealership, was not even comparable. We chose the white version of the Compass model, and were happy to find that all of the features we enjoyed on the Liberty were also available in the vehicle we just purchased. ***** was extremely helpful and considerate. We appreciate the time he took out of his day and actually enjoyed talking with him throughout our transaction. We plan to purchase another vehicle within the year, I can confidently state we will be visiting him again and hope to work with him solely on our next acquisition.

We feel more confident in a brand new vehicle and understand that perhaps this was a situation of a poor sales person when purchasing the Liberty and a car that inherited too many issues from the previous owner. We appreciate the time and negotiation in getting us a reliable vehicle that we won't need to sink more funds into.

Regards,

 

****** ****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi my name is ****** *****. I purchased a 2013 ******** *** from Monroeville Chrysler on May 17, 2013.Everything that I was told at the time of the purchase was a lie. I was told that I would receive better gas mileage, my insurance would go down and that the check I was writing wouldn't be cashed until the following Friday. Unfortunately on Tuesday 21 st I went to the gas station after class and my card was declined. The check that they said they would hold.... they cashed it. I went it ans spoke with a manager and asked if I could return the car because it was cause too many issues. The manager said no and that he would write me a check for $536 which was May 22nd for $536 so that my account would not be in the negative. The manager asked me to pull up my PNC account and he also called the bank to make sure the check went through. On May 24th I went to Chrysler and gave them my down payment of $500 cash and I asked again can i give the car backbecause I'm not happy with it, once again I was told no. Monday June 3rd I receive a call call from the manager and he is saying that I owe them another $ 500 because of the check they gave me. I explained that they didn't just give me a check they were covering up their mistake that they made. I told the manager that I was not paying it back and he became very angry and began to use foul language. He then proceeded by saying that he will take me to court and that no matter what, he will get his money. I then asked him, not even thinking i was responsible to pay it back but just being nice if i could make payments and he began to yell and use foul language again and no there are no payment arrangements and that he needs his money ASAP. On June 7th my mother and I take the $500 to them and that was the end of thatsituation.ASfar as my insurance going down it went up $36 and my gas mileage is horrible.On Friday June 21st my car wouldn't start. It had to be towed to Monroeville Chrysler. At first they told me it was bad gas and that they do not cover it under the warranty. About three hours later they said that they think it is sugar and to call my insurance company because its vandalism. I called my insurance company and they took care of everything. June 28th my car is ready, I go to pick it up and the gas is very low. I go to the gas station to fill it up and the gas s having a hard time going in. I was only able to put about three dollars in it. I call monroeville Chrysler and let them know what is happening and they told me to bring the car in Monday. I bring the car in and they have it for about four more days. I get my car back and it is costing me so much money in gas, the gas mileage is worst and i call and complain and they act like nothing is wrong. I called in July and the manager told me that its because gas prices went up. I called backin August after spending $96 in three days and they told me i would have to pay $95 just to look at it. This is crazy I just want to get rid of that car, I should of been given the chance to give it back when I first asked. Can you help me please?

Desired Settlement: I want chrysler to take thr car back.

Business Response:

The dealership does agree with Ms. ***** in regards to the fact that there was miscommunication between our salesperson and the finance department concerning her check. She had asked the salesperson to hold her check until the following Friday. We have acknowledged that fact since day one. In fact, as soon as the mistake was brought to our attention, the dealership promptly wrote Ms. ***** a check not only for the $500.00 to bring her account back out of a negative balance, but also an additional $36.00 to compensate for an overdraft fee. 

Approximately a week after giving Ms. ***** back her $500.00 check that has previously showed as cashed on her account, it was returned to us as NSF. We promptly put a call in to Ms. ***** explaining the situation to her. This call took place with myself (**** *******) and our controller,**** ****. There was never any use of foul language in any way. It was simply conveyed that the money was put back into her account and that she would once again responsible to pay the $500.00 we had given her. She said that she had spent it and didn’t have it to return to us. She also said that she didn’t feel she should have to pay. She stated that we should contact the bank, because it was their fault, to try to get our money back. We then explained to Ms. ***** that she was responsible to pay it and that if we had to collect it, we would not hesitate to get the magistrate involved. We followed up the phone call with a certified letter. Ms. ******* mom then came into the dealership and paid the balance for her. 

There is no return policy on an automobile, so asking to return it was not an option. As far as her converts on gas mileage, we only state what is approved and displayed by the Federal Government on the F.T.C label. We also provide insurance agents that we deal with that can offer better coverage and in some cases lower insurance rates. This is based off an individual’s qualifications, and not something the dealership promises or puts in writing.

The last statement Ms. ***** made had to do with her gas issues and service problems. Her car was looked at by our service department on June 28, 2013 and it was determined to be a foreign substance in her gas tank which later turned out to be sugar. Her insurance company was contacted. Our service department did the necessary work and released the car to Ms. *****. She was only responsible for the $100.00 deductible she owed on her insurance. The vehicle returned on July 5, 2013 for a similar complaint and it was again determined to be sugar in the tank and therefore vandalism. The dealership does not carry any responsibility when it comes to vandalism to a vehicle. WE have done everything above and beyond to accommodate Ms. *****. 

If you have any questions or need any additional information, please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1