Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mick's North Hills Chrysler-Plymouth Inc

Phone: (412) 367-7200 Fax: (412) 364-7485 7670 Mcknight Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237 http://www.micksnorthhillschryslerjeep.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mick's North Hills Chrysler-Plymouth Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mick's North Hills Chrysler-Plymouth Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mick's North Hills Chrysler-Plymouth Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 24, 1989 Business started: 07/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD016665L.

Business Management
Mr. Michael A. Wolcott, Owner Mr. Paul R Dowds, Used car manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael A. Wolcott, Owner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS


Additional Locations

  • 7670 Mcknight Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15237 (412) 367-7200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 18,2014 I dropped my 2001 Jeep Cherokee off at Mick's North Hills Chrysler Jeep Dodge dealership for a starting issue and they quoted me a $95.00 fee to diagnose the problem. Upon me calling them over a week later they quoted me over $800 plus tax to fix the issue. So I decided to call around and get other quotes. Upon me picking my Jeep up they tried charging me an additional $130 for a new key that they tried to program to my jeep and did not work, so they tried charging for a key that served me no purpose what so ever. The man helping me was not very friendly and neither was the manager that I spoke with. Then when I finally got my keys and went to my jeep I realized that my 6 month old battery was completely dead, as well as my entire dash taken apart with the pieces all over the floor and seat, the plastic steering wheel cover is broken from them.(my fianc who is not a mechanic had the jeep fixed for under $40)

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the money I paid and also for the pieces that they broke in my jeep.

Business Response:

Vehicle was towed in for no start issue. There was not a key in the vehicle computers and the customer key was bad. We called customer to get authorization to program new key. Vehicle still would not start; customer was told of several possibilities and given a worst case scenario. Customer declined further evaluation and vehicle was towed out of dealership. Dealership absorbed $130.00 for key that customer refused to pay for. Pieces that were disassembled in evaluation process were broken previously. Pieces often come apart on removal on a 13 year old car. In order to satisfy customer we are willing to reimburse $ 102.67 to customer as goodwill.

 

******* ****


 

Service Manager

Micks Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

Consumer Response:

I filed a complaint against Micks about a month ago and they were suppose to refund my money. They have yet to do so. They also didn't take any responsibility for breaking things in my jeep and killing my battery. My battery was bought a couple months ago and when I went to get my jeep it was completely dead and also they broke the plastic piece that goes around the steering wheel which was not broke when I dropped my jeep off. Their customer service is horrible and I would not recommend anyone to take their vehicle their to be fixed because they break things and don't take responsibility for it. also when I picked my jeep up the whole entire dash was still torn apart they never put it back together.I just want to be refunded like they said they were going to do and also refunded for the pieces they broke and for killing my brand new battery. They quoted me over $800 to fix my jeep and fianc fixed it for $40. This is absolutely ridiculous, what a rip off.
 

 

Desired Outcome:
REFUND OF THE MONEY THEY SAID THEY WOULD REFUND. ALSO COMPENSATED FOR THEM KILLING MY BATTERY AND ALSO BREAKING PIECES TO MY VEHICLE THAT WERE NOT BROKEN WHEN I DROPPED IT OFF. I TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF MY JEEP AND WHEN I PICKED IT UP IT WAS RIDICULOUS HOW THEY LEFT IT, IT DIDNT LOOK THAT WAY WHEN I DROPPED IT OFF.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I needed front and rear differential gears changed in my 2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited form 3.23 to 3.73 gear ratio for towing purposes. I was informed that the total cost would be $625 and $794 for parts and $900 labor totaling approx. $2534.85. I dropped my vehicle off at the business on Monday 4/28/2014 for work to be performed on 4/29-30/2014. On the afternoon of 4/29 I called the service dept. and was informed all that remained was to reassemble the front differential and my vehicle would be ready for pick up on 4/30. The afternoon of 4/30 I received a call from the service representative who stated it would need an additional $640 for a larger case kit-differential ("carrier), plus additional labor because the factory listed parts (front ring and pinion gears) were not compatible with the carrier installed on my vehicle at the factory. He stated that without a new carrier the gears would fail prematurely. He also stated the reason additional costs were not accounted for was that there were no "side notes" in their parts ordering system instructing the dealer service depts. that additional parts were needed. Note that I also researched the same part numbers, as provided to me by the service dept. and found no side notes-only statements from Chrysler/Mopar factory parts and factory-authorized parts sources stating that the ring and pinion gears matched the year/model of my vehicle. There were also several additional parts replaced I unaware of that, while most likely would need replaced on a high mileage vehicle, should not have needed replacing on my vehicle at less than 13,000 miles. These parts totaled $153.20. On 5/2, upon picking up my vehicle the final charge was $2921.60, plus tax for a total $3126.12.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $591. 1)Service professionals should have known or verified whether or not additional parts were needed. 2)Changes in service requirements, parts compatibility, etc. are routinely communicated to dealers from Chrysler/Mopar. Chrysler/Mopar knew or should have known that the new ring and pinion gears would not fit in the factory carrier, and should have informed Chrysler/Jeep service personnel of same via established methods and information systems.

Business Response:

 

 

We are sorry that Mr. ****** is unhappy with us, we made very effort to complete his service on time and within the price quoted. But in this case we were performing an upgrade in the gear ratio at the customer request, as this was not a repair that we had done before. We had no experience to go by. We went through the parts books and web site for as much info as possible before we quoted Mr. ****** a price. Unfortunately, in the final phase of the repair, the axle case was different in his Jeep and we could not complete the upgrade without changing the differential case. As this is a mass produced vehicle and production changes happen often with no new info for parts or service personnel. We have already discounted the parts and labor for this upgrade but we will be more than happy to offer Mr. ****** an additional $200.00 as a sign of good will. Please let me know the outcome.

*** *******

Service Director Micks Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern-Mikes north hills Chrysler jeep-Jeep company-Better business bureauI ******* ******** and my wife ***** ******, on 05/24/2014 we bought Jeep Cherokee latitude 2014 (identification #: *****************) from (Mikes north hills Chrysler jeep) dealer in Pittsburgh PA and this is the first new American made car we purchased in our life.The dealer mentioned that it a show room car (demo) brand new and we will be the first owner, The second day, While we were driving this new car we noticed that there is a very loud engine noise (like if this car has a diesel engine ) so we went directly to the dealer complaining about that , the dealer (sales man) who sold us the car and the maintenance manger checked the sound and compare it to other same model car and they noticed the difference and admitted that there is something wrong .my wife and I complained about that and we decide not to take a defected vehicle.The maintenance manager and the sales man ask us to bring the car on the next coming Friday that is mean a week from buying the car and we think now the plan was to past the limit of returning a defected vehicle by federal law the first 72 hours which putting us in a very frustrated and completely unsatisfied customer. On the 05/29/2014 my wife and I decided to change the car, when I went to the dealer I found my uncle ****** ******) and he was closing a deal for a ( grand Cherokee limited) it was a surprise for both of us and he asked me (what are you doing here) then I told him the story and both of us and the dealer we went out to see the car, my uncle was astonished and he asked if this is a diesel engine car.My uncle and I went back in and we talked to the sales manager who was very busy (having no body around him but us) and rudely denying the possibility of changing the defected vehicle, though my uncle suggested a solution to upgrade the jeep Cherokee to a grand Cherokee and he will cosign with me if needed a part of quick reasonable solution to the customer and the dealer without hurting the reputation of the dealer and the car maker and without of the law.Amazingly the sales manager forgetting that we are the customers and they are the sales men (forgetting that the rule of thumbs..the costumer always right) and he was rude enough to continue to mention that I already paid 2000$ with check and 3000$ cash and he is going to tow the vehicle and call the police because this is not their car anymore, so my uncle said: that shows what kind of a dealer you are and how is the customer satisfaction means to you.Then my uncle decide not purchased any jeep though it was going to be his first American made car. After 30 minutes of leaving the dealership the manger called me in a threating way saying that if I return the car this is going to destroy my credit history and nobody will sell me another car anymore and I will not be able to apply for any loan or credit card and asked me if I accept that?I replied with another question: do you accept to sell me a defected vehicle? And he answered rudely (yes) Witness to that phone call is my wife and my uncle ***** ****** setting beside me during the call and witness on what happened on the dealership is my uncle ***** ****** For further information feel free to call******* ******** *************** ****** *************** ****** ************ ***** ** ** **********************

Desired Settlement: To whom it may concern-Mikes north hills Chrysler jeep-Jeep company-Better business bureauI ******* ******** and my wife ***** ******, on 05/24/2014 we bought Jeep Cherokee latitude 2014 (identification #: *****************) from (Mikes north hills Chrysler jeep) dealer in Pittsburgh PA and this is the first new American made car we purchased in our life.The dealer mentioned that it a show room car (demo) brand new and we will be the first owner, The second day, While we were driving this new car we noticed that there is a very loud engine noise (like if this car has a diesel engine ) so we went directly to the dealer complaining about that , the dealer (sales man) who sold us the car and the maintenance manger checked the sound and compare it to other same model car and they noticed the difference and admitted that there is something wrong .my wife and I complained about that and we decide not to take a defected vehicle.The maintenance manager and the sales man ask us to bring the car

Business Response:

As a gesture of good will, on 05/29/2014 Mick’s North Hills unwound the vehicle purchase Mr. ********* made on 05/24/2014. The 2014 Jeep Cherokee VIN# ***************** has been returned to our dealership and the finance contract Mr. ********* entered with Chrysler Capital on 05/24/2014 has also been terminated. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mick's North Hills Chrysler-Plymouth Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)