Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mel Grata Chevrolet Toyota Scion

Additional Locations

Phone: (724) 347-7702 Fax: (724) 347-3117 View Additional Phone Numbers 2757 E State St, Hermitage, PA 16148 http://www.melgrata.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service of new and used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mel Grata Chevrolet Toyota Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mel Grata Chevrolet Toyota Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mel Grata Chevrolet Toyota Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1989 Business started: 04/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD015041L.

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Kwolek, Sales Manager Mr. Melvin F Grata, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Kwolek, Sales Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Grata, Mel Chevrolet Toyota Scion

Additional Locations

  • 2757 E State St

    Hermitage, PA 16148 (724) 546-6989 (724) 654-4765 (724) 347-7702 (724) 347-7702

  • PO Box 1389

    Hermitage, PA 16148

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mel Grata sold a vehicle that was unsafe to drive and had major repairs needed. I took delivery of a 2011 Jeep Compass on August 25, 2014. It is now in need of $1300 in repairs to pass inspection and make is safe to drive. I have had the vehicle 8 months and only put approximately 10,000 miles on it. There was a safety recall for airbags of which I was not informed. It also needs tires. Two of the tires are dry rotted. Mel Grata tried to pass that off as being a result of the winter we had. Both lower control arms need replaced. This is what made two of the tires go bad. This could not have just happened. Mel Grata accused me of not being able to drive the vehicle correctly. I am a licensed school bus driver, and I am aware of the proper techniques to drive a vehicle. The brakes and rotors were in terrible shape. We were told by the mechanic that replaced the brakes and rotors to be very careful when we drive. I am very upset because I let my teenage son drive this vehicle thinking it was safe.

Desired Settlement: I would like Mel Grata to fix all issues and have it pass ** inspection at no cost to me.

Business Response:

 

Dear Sir/Madam;

This email is in regard to Complaint ********. 

 

We at Mel Grata Chevrolet Toyota and Scion sold ***** ******** a pre-owned 2011 Jeep Compass on 08/25/2014 with a 30 day/2,000 mile 50-50 Warranty, which she agreed to.  She was offered an extended service contract and declined it.  The vehicle had 47,257 miles on it at the time of purchase.  She drove the vehicle for 8 months and put approximately 9,000 miles on it during this period of time. 

 

On May 1st Mrs. ******** took the vehicle to ******** **** in *********** ** to get it ** state inspected and called her salesman *** informing him the Jeep needed work to pass inspection.  *** offered for her to bring the Jeep to our dealership in order for our technicians to look at the vehicle.  She brought the vehicle down on May 1st and our service department inspected the vehicle and determined that it did need 4 new tires as well as lower control arms which is considered normal wear and tear items.  We explained to Mrs. ******** that these parts are wearable items and not something that we could have foreseen going bad 8 months and 9,000 miles. 

 

We offered Mrs. ******** a vehicle to drive while her Jeep was being repaired as well as to do all the work at our cost of parts and labor as a simple good will gesture.  The amount of the repair was $875 not the disputed amount of $1300.    Mrs. ******** has agreed to the repairs and has had them performed on Tuesday, May 5, 2015.    We would wish this matter to be considered closed and that Mel Grata Chevrolet Toyota has acted fairly.

 

Sincerely,

 

******* *****

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a 2007 ***** **** from this dealer, when I went to the dealership to pick up the car I requested they put the vehicle on the lift and they did. Upon inspection I found oil all over the undercarriage of the vehicle, I pointed it out and their service guy said it was a leaky oil filter and it would be changed and the issue fixed. After having the vehicle for only 3 - 4 days I noticed a very strong smell of oil burning, I stopped the car and checked the motor oil which was a quart low now, still leaking. I call the dealership and they requested that I take the vehicle to a certified ***** repair facility, I did so and they found a heavy motor oil leak which *** ***** did pay for repairs for that, they also found oil leaking from the transfer case seals and refused to repair this issue, there is also timing chain noise which the mechanic said was not real bad yet that was also refused. So, I have no choice but to make these repairs and it is very costly, had I known about these issues I would never have bought the car.

Desired Settlement: I feel these problems were present when I purchased the vehicle and I feel that *** ***** should either fix these problems or pay a ***** repair facility to do so. I am now looking at about $1800.00 worth of repairs only 31 days after purchasing the vehicle, I have lost wages and my job put at risk because I had to take the vehicle for diagnostics and repairs.

Business Response:

Mel Grata Chevrolet Toyota Scion **** **** ***** ****** ********** ** ***** Phone: ###-###-####

******** **** ****** ******** ****** *** ******* ****** ***** *** *********** ** *****

Letter Date: 03/26/2015 Dear ******** ****:

This letter is in regards to a Better Business Bureau complaint, ID number ********, submitted on 03/18/2015 at 9:45:33 AM.

I spoke to the customer on 02/20/2015 in regards to the 2007 ***** ****, with 93,940 miles, that was purchased from our dealership. At this time, the customer was complaining of an oil leak and noise coming from under the hood. I made the suggestion for the customer to take the vehicle to the local ***** dealer to be checked. The customer took the vehicle to ************ ********, which was ***** of ****, on 02/23/2015, at our expense. ************ ******** diagnosed the vehicle, and at that time, stated that they could not find anything wrong with the vehicle.

I spoke with the customer again on 02/26/2015 and the customer had the same complaint. I again advised the customer to take the vehicle to ************ ********* at our expense, to be diagnosed. The customer took the vehicle back to ************ ******** on 03/03/2015, at which time they discovered an oil filter housing that was leaking on the vehicle. There was also a complaint of an engine noise, which the customer stated was a timing chain. ************ ******** could not confirm that noise at that time. The repairs for the engine oil leak, which was the oil cooler replacement, was authorized by Mel Grata. The repair bill estimate was $643.26. There was mention made of minor seepage coming from a transfer case seal. The minor seepage from the transfer case seal did not necessitate a repair. At this time, since the customer was concerned with the timing chain, we suggested to the customer that if she wanted the timing chain replaced as preventative maintenance, Mel Grata would pay for half of the repairs, parts, and labor. The customer declined.

I spoke with the customer again on 03/13/2015, and the customer stated that there was still an engine oil leak. Since it was in regards to repairs made by ************ ********* we requested that the customer take it back to them to be properly fixed. The customer refused and wanted to take it to a different ***** dealer. The ***** dealer that the customer took it to (I am unaware of the name) said that it was a transfer case seal that was leaking. No engine oil leaks were found at that time, and repairs were declined again for the minor seepage.

The next contact that I had with the customer was in regards to a Better Business Bureau complaint (ID # ********). The customer suggested that she take it to an independent garage, requesting that the transfer case seals be replaced. We agreed to cover the cost of the repair for her at a cost of $526. The independent garage, I’m assuming at the customer’s request, requested a timing chain actuator replacement. The customer agreed to have the timing chain actuator replacement done, with Mel Grata paying half of the repairs, parts, and labor, as was previously offered to her. The total for the repairs, parts, and labor was $825. Our half was $412.50.

I spoke with the customer, and that satisfies her complaint through the Better Business Bureau. 

Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mel Grata Chevrolet Toyota Scion
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)