This business is not BBB accredited.

McElwain Motor Car Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (724) 758-4500 Fax: (724) 758-3491 View Additional Phone Numbers 812 Beaver Ave, Ellwood City, PA 16117 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mcelwains.com

! BBB Business Review on McElwain Motor Car Company is being Updated by BBB !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells new and used cars and also provides repair and service.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    812 Beaver Ave

    Ellwood City, PA 16117 (724) 758-4500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    901 Lawrence Ave

    Ellwood City, PA 16117

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed paperwork on a lease that I was told I would get the next day. The vehicale was on recal and I was told the part would be in the next day. After they had my signed paperwork they informed me it could be months before they would see the part. I was not allowed to take the car off the lot till the part came in. They complained to me that there was nothing they could do because they were not making any money on the sale since it was sitting in their lot. I still do not have a car to drive. They have lied to me numerouse times and are unwilling to do anything to help. They also added the car to my insurance and I was told they would take it off and they did not.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to stand up and act like men and handle the situation. They need to call GM and make a deal to get us the car that we signed on or something comparable. They have had no customer service at all. The owner thinks he is bigger and better then me and above all this.

Business Response:

July 2, 2014
Case ID#********* ******* ******
First, I don’t see where I received an email regarding this case, but nonetheless, here is
an explanation and documentation of what occurred.
On May 19, 2014 all dealers were notified that there was an impending recall on
Traverse, Acadia, Enclave, and Outlook models and that no vehicles could be delivered.
In this business this is known as a “Stop Delivery”. Sometimes these stop deliveries are
handled quickly, sometimes they are not. Sometimes repairs are needed, other times,
the factory simply needs time to verify whether or not there is a concern. In the case of
the Traverse, a repair was deemed necessary. Time was needed to engineer the repair
kit, and develop the repair procedure. We were notified of the necessary parts on May
28, 2014, along with a repair procedure. We ordered parts to fit all our vehicles in
stock on May 28, 2014. On May 29, 2014 we were shipped two repair kits. These kits
were installed on Traverse models already Sold and waiting for delivery. We were told
that additional parts would be arriving, but not promised a date.
Ms. ****** decided to purchase a Traverse on June 6, 2014. We expected parts to be
available quickly so we could physically deliver her the vehicle; Parts did not arrive as
expected. Ms: ****** was informed of the stop delivery notice and was promised that
parts would be installed ASAP. Parts did not arrivç in a timely manneL In fact, on June
17, 2014 we were notified that ALL orders were being cancelled, and that GM was
going to distribute parts automatically, as they became available. As it was, GM
provided us a kit on June 17, 2014. The parts were installed, and the car was released
from the stop delivery on June 17, 2014.
This was a very unfortunate situation, as many, many customers were affected by the
stop delivery. Unfortunately, there was nothing we could do, until the repair was
completed and the vehicle was released from the stop delivery.
Ms. ****** and her family were very unhappy about the situation, but everyone in our
Sales Department did EVERYTHING they could to make the situation as positive as
possible. We offered Ms. ****** a vehicle to drive, but she refused to take the loaner
vehicle. She insisted that the loaner be a seven passenger vehicle, even though the
vehicle she sold was a five passenger vehicle. Because of the stop delivery on ALL
Traverse models, we were limited to a small supply of seven passenger vehicles. We
had a Honda Pilot in inventory (a seven passenger vehicle), but she refused to drive the
vehicle after multipe meetings with Ms ****** and her family, the Dealer Floyd
McElwain, reversed the deal with General Motors, Ms. ******, her finance company,
and her insurance. At that point he told her the options were to wait until the vehicle
was repaired and released, purchase another model not on stop delivery, or go to
another dealer. We value every customer, but there was simply nothing else we could
do under the circumstances. Ms. ****** asked us to sell her a new Tahoe for the same
price, but considering the Tahoe is approximately $20,000 more, we informed her that
was not possible.
As it turns out, the vehicle was repaired on June 17, 2014, and released from the stop
delivery. Ms. ****** returned to the dealership on June 23, 2014 and signed all new
appropriate paperwork and took delivery of the same Traverse she wanted all along.
We apologized over and over about the untimely nature of the situation, and she appears
happy with both us and the vehicle at this time.
I have included documentation of the timeline, for your review.
Sincerely,
**** ********, Owner & Fixed Operations Manager
McElwain Motor Car Co. / McElwain Service
************
 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Although I did receive the vehicle in the end I would like to say that the sales team did NOTHING to make this a plesent experience and 90% of what was written in this letter was a blatant lie. If it was not for the actual sales guy knowing my family I would have NEVER come back and will NEVER buy another vehicle from this company. This was the major problem I had with the company everything that happened they turned into a lie and didn't take responsibility as a company.

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car into McElwain's becasue it was stalling when it was running cold. Once it warms up, it runs fine. They did diagnostics and said it needed plugs and wires. They charged me over $426.50 to install plugs and wires. However, this did not fix my problem. It still does the same thing. They should have run the car cold after fixing it to make sure it was fixed before asking for payment. When I picked it up, it was warm so it ran fine on the way home. However, the next day, when starting it for the first time, it is still doing the same thing it did before I brought it to McElwain's. It is still stalling when running cold.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund since they did not diagnose the problem correctly and did the wrong repairs on my car. They did not verify that the car was running correctly before sending me home with my car.

Business Response:

Thanks for forwarding Mr. *********'s complaint. Mrs. ********* is an elderly, long-term customer with us. She was given a diagnosis and agreed to the terms of the repair without first consulting her son, who lives out of town. After he learned that she had the repairs completed, he began pricing the repair and facilities closer to him. I spoke with him on the phone and explained that my total repair also included diagnostic time, and that when he was calling around for quotes, he was getting a price for the repair only. He calculated that my price was about $50 more than other places, but he left it at that. 

That being said, I do not believe that the car is still acting up. I believe that filing a complaint with you and demanding a refund is his only way to get the money back for his Mom. I am proud of my standing with the BBB and I am proud to say that my business has been around for over 85 years. Rather than demand the vehicle be brought back in for additional diagnosis, I am choosing to refund the full amount of the repair, and simply stop doing business with Mrs. *********. I contacted Mr. ********* to inform him of the decision, and have attached a copy of the email correspondence. 

**** ********, Owner & Fixed Operations Mgr. 

McElwain Service 


Please feel free to call me directly with any questions. 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.