BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Kelly Cars Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales, leasing & rentals of cars.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kelly Cars Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Kelly Cars Inc include:

  • 15 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Kelly Cars Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 17, 2005 Business started: 11/23/2003 in PA Business started locally: 11/23/2003 Business incorporated: 11/23/2003 in PA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William S Kelly, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William S Kelly, Owner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TOWING - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Chrysler Jeep West Inc Kelly Chrysler Jeep Dodge West

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 571-9292(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a brand new 2012 ***** ******* from Kelly Cars' showroom on June 30, 2012. We also own a 2009 ***** *******: due to being impressed with the vehicle we decided to purchase a newer model. At approximately 4K miles we took the new 2012 vehicle for servicing because the headliner was falling down. It was either repaired or replaced after the dealership filed a claim with Chrysler. The service techinician from Kelly cars implied that "someone or something was pulling on the headliner". We have no young children or grandchildren and rarely does anyone EVER ride in the back seat of the car. The same problem recurred at approximately 20 K miles. We took the vehicle back again in Sept of 2013. No one gave us an update on the status or returned calls until we subitted an email via customer service. I spoke with Kelly Car manager, ****** ******* on 11/27. He stated that Chrysler denied the claim. I talked to ******* at Chrysler on that date. She stated, very guardedly, that the Kelly Car service manager is their "eyes and ears". When I aaked for more clarification and documentation Kelly Cars' Service Manager, ****, refused to send me pictures of my vehicle submitted with the claim to Chrysler and stated that they do not have written documentation of the denial of the claim. I left a message for the manager, ****** *******, again on 11/27 and he has not returned my call. There are no scratches on the headliner area (as implied)that would have been caused by us or someone riding in the vehicle. Our dog is 9 years old, very docile and can barely step into the vehicle. She has NEVER been left in the vehicle unattended, nothing has ever been hauled or left "hanging" from the headliner as has been implied, we maintain our vehicles per recommended schedules and NEVER had a problem of this nature with the 2009 ***** ******* that we still own. This appears to be a battle between Kelly Cars and Chrysler based on information that Kelly Cars is providing without substantial explanation.

Desired Settlement: Replace the vehicle headliner without further dispute immediately. Provide a replacement vehicle for the duration required to complete repairs with consideration to the fact that we live approximately 75 miles away from the dealership and are employed at multipe full and part time jobs. Additionally, we would like an explanation from Kelly Cars regarding their negligence in returning customer phone calls in an expediant manner&refusal to provide photographs submitted with claim to Chrysler.

Business Response:

As a Chrysler Jeep Dodge Dealership we are obligated to follow the policies and procedures set forth in the Chrysler Policy Manual. The instructions are explicit regarding the proper procedure for performing warranty repairs.

In this instance the customer was complaining about the headliner drooping down at the rear window. Any and all soft interiortrim falls under the digital imaging program procedures. A representative from the dealership must take digital images of the part in question and submit the images to Chrysler's digital imaging team for viewing. After looking at the pictures a decision is made to either repair, replace or deny the claim based on the images they have received. There are times when the digital imaging group will ask the dealer representative to give them input on how the damage may have occurred, whether it could be a manufacturer's defect or simply damage caused by an outside source.

The dealership representative is bound by his dealer agreement to report to the digital imaging group exactly what they see regarding the defect or damage. They cannot lie, deceive or commit fraud in order to sway the decision made by the digital imaging team to repair the vehicle or deny the claim. If Ms. ******** can in some way convince Chrysler to change the decision made by the digital imaging team, we would be happy to install another headliner in Ms. ********** vehicle. A replacement vehicle would be provided by KellyCars Inc . during the repair. When Ms. ******** purchased her vehicle it came with the Kelly Advantage" which includes a free loaner while your vehicle is being repaired in our service department. The digital images and the documentation between the dealer and the manufacturer are the proprietary property of Chrysler and cannot be distributed to the general public.

We will continue to follow Chrysler's instructions regarding this concern.


 

******* ****, Service Director KellyCars Inc.


 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Upon looking at the vehicle during the initial complaint at 4,000 miles, before thorough inspection of the headliner, Mr. **** immediately made a comment to my husband about his conclusion that "it looks like somebody yanked it down", therefore, making a judgment before thoroughly assessing the problem. When I spoke with Kelly Cars' General Manager, ****** ******* and Service Manager, **** **** on 11/27/13 I requested contact information for the Chrysler representative who had denied the claim.  They would only provide me with the 800 customer service number.  I spoke with a representative from Chrysler on the same day.  After  a long conversation she stated that Chrysler relies upon information provided by the service manager at the dealership.  I followed up with an email to Chrysler on the same date, but they replied that they could not change the determination.   I had also requested that Kelly Cars send me the written denial of the claim and they stated that they did not have written documentation.  It is difficult to understand that they would not have written documentation of the denial.  I would like information regarding what specifically Mr. **** described regarding whether the damage was caused from a "defect or outside source."  Neither Kelly Cars nor Chrysler would provide this information although Chrysler indicated that they make their determination based on information provided by the dealership.  Mr. **** indicated that the pictures he submitted to Chrysler are not for "public" viewing.  I am not asking for the public to view them.  They are pictures of MY vehicle and I believe that I have a right to know what was submitted to Chrysler.  A person can get access to their own protected health information from any health care  provider so what privacy law states that I don't have the right to view pictures of MY own vehicle?  My husband thoroughly examined the headliner again last evening to look for the "scratches" that were referred to in my discussions with Kelly Cars and Chrysler.  The scratches he noted are on the sides of the vehicle and nowhere near the middle of the area where the headliner is falling down.  Perhaps these scratches were created when Kelly Cars' service department worked on the vehicle since there is no "outside source" in that area of the vehicle that could have created the damage.  

Regards,

***** ******** 

 

 

Business Response: As per our conversation on 1-6-14, regarding Ms.********** vehicle, our position remains the same. We cannot release the digital images as requested by the customer. Please advise the customer Kelly Cars did not deny her claim, Chrysler did. Please advise the customer she should file a complaint with Chrysler. We consider this case closed. Thank You for your time in this matter.

Sincerely,

******* ****, Service Director
KellyCars Inc.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I submitted several emails to the Better Business Bureau with links to websites which indicate problems with the headliners falling down in various Chrysler vehicles.  At this time I am asking for consultation from the Better Business Bureau regarding whether to pursue a complaint against Chrysler as has been recommended by ******* ****, Service Manager of Kelly Cars.  Please advise me on this matter as soon as possible.  I will also need correct contact information for Chrysler to proceed with my complaint.  As far as I am concerned the matter is not "closed" as there has been no resolution to the problem. Thank you for your assistance in this matter. 

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had the absolute worst customer service experience ever with the service dept at this dealership. I had taken my vehicle to be services at the dealership on Mon Aug 5, 2013 around 11 am. Sat in the waiting for hours as people came and went, with no one informing me that my vehicle was being looked at like they said they would. Around 2 pm, my friend came to get me so I could eat. Stopped at the service desk on the way out so that I could inform them that I was leaving and to call when my vehicle was being looked at/ready. I was informed that they ha already taken it back, but wasn't finished with it. He promised to call and let me know. Around 530-545 pm, I called them because no one had called me and their dept was to close at 6. Apparently, I needed a new transmission and no one thought it to be important to inform me that I would be carless for the next few days. I then told him that I needed a vehicle to get to and from work the next day. I was then told they had no loaners available but one should be returned the following day. He then promised to call me first thing in the morning and that I was "number one on the list!" The next morning, once again, no one called. I had to call them, again, to find out when I could have the loaner and was told once again that they would call me back when one was returned. I called them later to confirm, and still nothing. Then called after the service dept was closed. Found out they did not reserve the loaner as promised for me, and one salesman who felt bad for me ended up authorising it for me.They ended up keeping my car for 2 weeks and 2 days. Not one phone call from them to tell me when the part came in, or even that the original part they wanted was gone from Cleveland and that they were having another one shipped in from farther away. The service dept finally got my car finished on Wed Aug 21, two days after I called and they said they "planned on getting started on it." My entire experience was filled with the worst customer servicing ever.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology (written) for the poor customer service. Also, I would like a show of good faith, of sorts, proving that they do, in fact, value their customers. I don't care what the deed is, from a free oil change to free tires, as long as it's a positive action taken by this dealership. I want them to be aware that their actions and conduct are uncalled for when they market that they value their customers.

Business Response:

 

As with all our customers the service advisor asked Ms. **** if she would be waiting on the vehicle or leaving it with us and return later in the day for an update. She explained she would wait for a while and then have a friend pick her up. She left and called us around 5:00pm. We explained the transmission needed replaced and we were in the process of trying to locate a transmission for her vehicle. She called again the next morning before we could call her inquiring about her car. We explained that nothing had changed since the previous night and we were still trying to locate the transmission. She asked about a loaner vehicle and the service advisor explained there were none available at this time, but as soon as a free loaner becomes available we would let her know. Please note there are no provisions in her vehicle's warranty for alternate transportation, but Kellycars would provide her, at Kellycars expense, a free loaner vehicle as soon as one becomes available. She called multiple times during the next two days asking for a loaner. She decided to just show up at the dealership after service closed at which time the sales manager gave her a loaner that was reserved for another customer. 

The transmission took 2 more weeks to finally arrive at the dealership. The service department installed the transmission and returned the vehicle to Ms. ****. 

We apologize for the inconvienence Ms. **** had to endure due to the unavailability of the transmission. 

As a show of good faith Kellycars Inc. will give Ms.**** a free Chrysler Service Contract consisting of four FREE oil changes. 

s. **** as a customer and thank her for bringing this matter to our attention. 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2007 Nissan pick-up and the extended warranty through ***. The 5th gear has gone out, and the fuel pump needs replaced, according to the Nissan dealer, because Kelly wouldn't fix past problems. Now the warranty company won't let the Nissan dealer fix it. I called Kelly's asking what type of transmission they would be putting in, and was told it was up to the warranty company, probably a junk yard one. I got up-set and hung up. I paid the $65.00 fee to Nissan, took the truck to Kelly's today, only to be told they would not touch it. Now the warranty company is trying to send me to somewhere in *******. I can't do anything until next Monday because of work. I told the warranty company I need a rental, was told by this repair shop that I need to do the rental myself, and get about $50.00 refund. However, I do not have a credit card, and can't rent a car without it. I have had it with Kelly Cars, they do not stand behind their sales, nor is their warranty company any good.

Desired Settlement: I want the truck fixed, the transmission and the fuel pump, without traveling 30 miles away

Business Response:

Regarding Mr ****'s Nissan Frontier, the Nissan dealer that Mr **** originally took his vehicle to would not adjust their labor rate to match what *** *** was willing to pay. Mr **** would be responsible for the difference. *** made arrangements to have the vehicle repaired at ******* *************. ******* ************* is specialized in transmission repair and are familiar with his vehicle. They agreed to repair Mr. ****'s vehicle at the price set by ***. The parts needed to repair are ordered and will be delivered on Friday. The vehicle should be completed by early next week. The warranty company, ***, is paying for the repairs except for any deductibles that apply. The warranty company will also reimburse Mr. **** for a rental car if he is able to rent one.

We are a Chrysler Jeep Dodge dealership and do not have the tools or the knowledge to repair Mr. ****'s Nissan transmission. The warranty company understands this fact and that is the reason the vehicle went to a specialized transmission shop to have the repairs completed. This shop also gives a guarantee on the work performed. ******* ************ ** ******* Blvd is only 16.5 miles from Mr. ****'s residence

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2007 Dodge RAM Diesel 2500 has rust coming out on the bed. Dodge's warranty is 6 yr 100,000 miles. This issue was brought to the service department in September of 2011 when the truck was still under warranty. The dealership stated the rust was not bad enough at the time to be covered. Now the rust is very noticable and should be covered but when the claim was submitted to Dodge it was denied because the body warranty expired in May of 2012 as that is the manufacture date of my 2007 vehicle- May 2006. Dodge said they will not cover it because the dealership did not properly document it in 2011 and that it is now out of warranty. If I was not satisfied in 2011 I should have went to another dealership, and now this is not Dodge's problem this is the dealerships mistake. Per ******** from ***** ******** ###-###-#### case #********. She said Dodge is not responsible the dealership is.I feel very disappointed that is seems the run around was given so no one had to pay for the repairs as this has been going on two years now. This would have been a cheap an easy fix 2 years ago. We did our part 2 yrs ago the dealership told us to put clear coat on it to help- now the paint is bubbling and rusting everywhere- sad for a $44,000 truck that is 6 yrs old.

Desired Settlement: We are just looking for what should have been fixed under warranty, for the truck paint to be reparied. I have found this was a known issue on this make/model and year.

Consumer Response:

I am following up to the response I received in regards to my complaint #*******. 

Kelly Cars was contacted in September of 2011 in regards to this issue. At this time they did not document anything according to Dodge. Our vehicle needed transmission work, it was taken to Kelly Cars in which they did not have mechanic to work on our Diesel vehicle, and they referred us to ****** ****** Dodge. While our vehicle was at Kelly Cars the rust issue was brought to their attention, and apparently they did not document it. I have contacted Dodge and they refuse to provide any of our claim information as they stated it is not my right to it, it is proprietary information.

The vehicle was documented in November of 2011 for the rust issue while being serviced at ****** ****** Dodge for the blown transmission.

Dodge contacted me and stated that the vehicle is now out of warranty and since Kelly did not document correctly they will not cover it under the warranty. They stated that it now would be up to the dealership to fix the vehicle, as a show of good service and faith to the customer since this was a known issue, and Dodge does have record of it since November of 2011. Dodge stated Kelly Cars has chosen not to do this. Dodge stated they do see dealerships fix vehicles for rust like this when it is recently after warranty; again as this would be a good faith charge back, however Kelly Cars is not a 5 star good standing dealership.

I have record of everyone I spoke to with Dodge and my case; however Dodge refuses to provide this documentation to me. So I can’t prove anything to Kelly Cars.

******* ******* ***

Business Response:

This vehicle was taken to another dealership sometime in 2011 or 2012 regarding the rust issue. KellyCars Inc. has no knowledge of what was said with respect to rust issues on Ms. ******'s truck during the alleged service visit at some other dealer. What KellyCars Inc. does know is the truck was brought to KellyCars Inc. service department regarding the rust 15 months after the warranty had expired. The vehicle was brought to KellyCars Inc. on July 30th, 2013 at which time we informed the customer the vehicle was out of warranty.

KellyCars Inc. has no liability regarding Ms. ******'s rust issue on her 2007 Dodge Ram 2500. Please close this case.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a new ***** *** from Kelly Cars. After a month, the radio broke. I went in for repairs on a Monday and was told the radio would be in on Wednesday. I did not here from Kelly Cars so I stopped in on Friday of the same week. They told me the radio was not in and would give me a call the following week. The following week I never recieved a phone call at all. I went into the dealership again. I was told the radio was not in yet because it was on backorder and they had no idea how long it would take. I then contacted ***** customer service on Thursday that week. I was told through email I would recieve a call by Monday with a resolution. I never recieved a phone call at all. I still do not have a radio, car speaker phone, sirius, compass, basicly my whole center console does not work. It's been a month and I'm frustrated that no one is helping me out.

Desired Settlement: I can't wait anymore. This is rediculous. Take a radio out of another vehicle on the lot and replace mine or order an upgrade to replace mine.

Business Response:

With reference to the above mentioned case #*******, We received the replacement radio from the manufacturer and installed it on June 28, 2013.

We apologized for his inconvenience and explained that the radio was on back-order from the manufacturer and we had no control over the length of time it would take to acquire the replacement radio.

Mr. ****** understood our explanation and his vehicle has been repaired to his satisfaction.

Please close this case.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/31/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/25/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1