This business is not BBB accredited.

Kelly Cars Inc

Phone: (412) 264-4270 Fax: (412) 264-4962 View Additional Phone Numbers 5408 University Blvd, Moon Twp, PA 15108 http://www.kellycars.us View Additional Web Addresses ! There is an alert on Kelly Cars Inc !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales, leasing & rentals of cars.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kelly Cars Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 17, 2005 Business started: 11/23/2003 in PA Business started locally: 11/23/2003 Business incorporated 11/23/2003 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is MV188833.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William S Kelly, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William S Kelly, Owner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TOWING - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Chrysler Jeep West Inc Kelly Chrysler Jeep Dodge West
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Auto Service Contracts Auto Towing

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5408 University Blvd

    Moon Twp, PA 15108 (412) 264-4270

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 2014 jeep overland from Kelly cars due to the incentive that they were offering (free tires for the life of your vehicle). I take my jeep in to them to be serviced every 3,000 miles. Each time, I ask what needs to be done for the tire incentive. They tell me and I do it. Well, my last apt, I just needed an oil change (so they told me). This was in April or May. I took it back on 8/25 for an inspection, tire rotation (for the agreement of the tire incentive) and an oil change. When Mark called to tell me that my jeep was done, I asked what he had done and he didn't mention the tire rotation. I told him I thought it needed to be done for the incentive. He then told me that I was "kicked out" of the incentive program in January due to not having an alignment at 15,000 miles. First, my vehicle just hit 18,000 miles yesterday 8/25 and I was on maternity leave in January so there was no possible way that I had 15,000 miles on my car in January. Next, my husband was with me when we picked up the jeep for the last apt and no one made any mention of what I needed done. They claim it was on the receipt. I am usually very good at looking them over and don't recall seeing anything about it. Had I have seen it, I would have had the service done. More importantly, when I scheduled that appointment, I would have had the needed services done. so, I'm kicked out of the program for something that makes no sense. Not only that but when I received the work order yesterday, they had my mileage 900 miles over what my jeep currently has. When I questioned the manager of the service department he told me that there was nothing that he would be willing to do for me. "Oh well, sorry for your loss". "I am 100% certain that the girl that checked you out at the desk told you what services you needed next." Which I cannot 100% say it wasn't on my receipt but I can 100% say that no one told me anything upon checkout or when I dropped my vehicle off. I know that it is my responsibility but I assumed they would tell me the truth when I asked what services I need.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to do the alignment and any other work that my jeep would need done in order to maintain the free tires for life program. I would also ask that when they "kick someone out" they notify them.

Business Response:

At the time of delivery all customers are given the rules and regulations associated with the Tires For Life program. Ms ******* acknowledged receipt of the rules by signing on the bottom of the maintenance schedule and the regulation page. If the customer follows the maintenance schedule they remain in the Tires For Life program. If they do not follow the program, they are removed from the program. It is the customer's responsibility to follow the program in order to receive the Tires For Life credit. Ms. ******* was notified on repair order #93560 line #4 dated 9/29/14, of the upcoming services needed for the 15,000 mile and the 18,000 mile maintenance services. She returned on 4/8/15 and had the oil and filter changed but did not have the alignment performed.
We have decided to allow Ms. ******* to stay active in the Tires For Life program. She will need to catch up on the services due which include a 4 wheel alignment, front and rear differential service and a tire rotation.
Ms. ******* needs to make a service appointment as soon as possible and we look forward to servicing her vehicle for as long as she owns it.

Sincerely,

Phillip B**** Service Director
KellyCars Inc. 


  

9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am supposed to have life time coverage on tires per dealership incentive..hence one of the reasons why I bought my car there... but because service dept. Can never get you in for repairs/oil changes etc....I did not take my brand new car there for a 15 thousand mile tire rotation and maintenance check I was told my tire warranty is void now for not doing so which caused me to have to pay 192.99 per tire and I bought 2 or else my car would have failed inspection..as of today Friday 8.21.15 my driver window decides to break...it goes down but not up and my car not even being a year old I call the dealership for help and get told well you can bring it in and we will tape it for you but we can't do anything until monday....are you kidding me...i am not driving my car all weekend with tape and plastic as a window...I didn't want the issue fixed I just wanted the window put up to get me through the weekend it would have taken all of ten minutes...and I was told no...please don't get me wrong when I bought my car there the sales guys were awesome and I had a great experience but the service dept is TERRIBLE....they want me to drop my car off at 7 am and pick it up at 5 pm just to get a 10 minute oil change...I have a job and need my car...24-7 nor should i have to inconvenience someone else to follow me..drop my car off take me to work then pick me up and take me back to get my car..there's no need to keep my car for 8 or 9 hours for something that takes a half hour tops...it is not convenient for me to not have my car for 8 hours...

Desired Settlement: I want my tire warranty back...

Business Response:

RE: ID#********

Dear ******** *****

Ms. **** did not follow the maintenance schedule she was given when she purchased her car. If the proper maintenance is not performed, the customer is removed from the Tires For Life Program. In this instance, Ms **** missed 3 oil changes, 3 tire rotations and a four wheel alignment. These maintenance services are mandatory to stay in the Tires For Life Program, but more importantly, to extend the life of the tires. We have an Express Lane, with no appointment necessary, open from 8:00am to 4:00pm M-F and 8:00am to 3:30pm on Saturdays, to make it more convenient for the customer to have the services performed.

It was unfortunate that the window in Ms. ****'s vehicle stuck in the down position. We were able to diagnose the problem and order the window control switch that was defective.

We also have loaner vehicles available to our customers by appointment.

We will continue to service Ms. ****'s vehicle to the best of our ability, and make it as convenient as possible for her during the time her car is at our shop.

 Sincerely,

Phillip B***, Service Director

Kelly Cars, Inc.

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ****

4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new 2013 ******** *** in July of 2013. Soon after my purchase, the alternator in the vehicle had to be replaced. After arguing with the entire dealership, I was given a rental which originally I was told they did not have. My alternator was replaced and soon after that I started to experience what I thought was transmission problems. Took the car back twice and was told I had "loose plugs" and nothing major was wrong with the car. Finally some months later my car started acting up again for the third time, same issues as before and then some... I called Kelly Cars just to be given another run around. So fed up, I posted to facebook my complaint and was called within 10 minutes, they found a rental for me and told me to bring my car in. About three days later I recieved a letter from ******* ***** the President of Kelly Cars claiming they had a customer who was looking for the same 200 I own and that he would pay me maximum blue book value for it plus an extra $1500. I feel as if my car is clearly defective. I have not been given the proper customer service. What about all of the money I put into this brand new car? I feel like they are trying to rip me off yet again, make another sale off of me and have me upside down in a loan. I'm paying for a brand new car, not a car that is clearly defective with tons of repairs. I feel like there has got to be something they can do and I don't appreciate the way I have been talked to over the phone about this problem. Also I JUST found out I cant receive my free tires for the life of the vehicle that I was promised during the sale because I haven't had all of my maintenance done there. Seems like all a big scam to me.

Desired Settlement: I'd be satisfied with a new/used vehicle that runs great like one I thought I was getting when I made my original purchase. A non defective car, without being drowned in debt, upside down in my loan.

Business Response:

The vehicle was brought to the dealership on 4/28/14 because it died while driving. Diagnostics was performed on the vehicle and a defective alternator was found. We replaced the alternator and returned the vehicle to the customer. The customer was given a free loaner to use during the repair. The vehicle was purchased on 6/27/12 and this was the first time it returned to the shop for any repair work or maintenance. The mileage at the time of repair was 17,956.

On 5/18/14 the vehicle returned to the dealership with the concern that the engine seemed to be racing when sitting in park, The customer waited for us to perform diagnostics on the vehicle. There were no trouble codes found and we could not duplicate the customer's concern at this time. Mileage was 18,423-

On 5/22/14 the vehicle returned with a complaint that when shifting into reverse the vehicle goes forward. We verified the condition and performed diagnostics on the complaint. A loose connector on the transmission solenoid pack was the cause of problem. We repaired the connector to fit tightly and returned the vehicle to the customer. The customer was given a free loaner to use during the repair. Mileage was 19,394.

On 2/27/15 the vehicle returned with a concern that the vehicle will not go over 30 mph. Diagnostics were performed and a defective transmission sensor was found . It was replaced and the vehicle was returned to the customer, The customer was given a free loaner to use during the repair, Mileage was 32,389.

Ms. ******* has the remainder of her 3yr/36,000 mile warranty and her 5yr/100,000 mile powertrain warranty. We will continue to service Ms. *******'s vehicle as long as she desires, within the parameters of her warranties. She apparently is having her maintenance work performed elsewhere.

Sincerely,

**** ****, Service Director KellyCars Inc.


2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: August 12,2014
To Whom it may concern:
I received a letter from ****** *********, included a copy. The writing on the letter are two call attempts
to Kelly Cars Inc. by telephone. The third call attempt I was told they did not know what I am talking
about and to bring in the letter. On August 5,2014 I contacted ****** ********* and spoke with a rep
name **** whom advised me the $429.78 was due back to the consumer not the dealer. He submitted a
request to his accounting department to verify Kelly Cars Inc. had received and or cashed the check and
would call me back the following day. The next afternoon I contacted ****** ********* again and spoke
with a rep named **** whom verified **** was awaiting a response back from their accounting
department. I again verified with **** that the money on the letter, $429.78 is mine and he advised it is the
consumers not the dealer. On August 8,20141 called ****** ********* again and this time I spoke with a
rep named *****. He contacted his accounting department and they advised the check had been cashed by
the dealership on June 3,2014. The amount of the check was $199.18 and that they and the dealership share
in the responsibility when the contracts are cancelled and the total due to me was the $429.78. ***** also
make four attempts to contact Kelly Cars Inc and was told the accounting department was closed on August
7,2014 and all three calls on August 8,2014 to the Finance Manager was he is busy and could not take the
calls. ***** advised I should go to the dealership and to advise them to call him with any questions. August
8,20141 went to Kelly Cars Inc and the sales person I dealt with advised I needed to speak to the Finance
Manager. The Finance Manager of Kelly Cars Inc is the most rude and ignorant person I have dealt with in
years. He is sweet as pie when you are handing him a down payment when purchasing a vehicle, like I did
when purchasing my Jeep Patriot. As soon as I sat down he advised me that they made my first car
payment, the check they received is theirs, not mine and I am getting nothing. I showed him the letter and
also the notes from the reps at ****** ********* and he took them and made copies. He also found a copy
of the check they received from ****** ********* and told me they took a loss on me. I advised him that
my father worked for a dealership for 28 years and dealerships do not take losses on people or they would
not stay in business. He became very angiy and told me he will give me the S199.18 check they received
and I will owe them my first car payment. I felt he was very degrading and I stated I may be old but I am
not stupid. He then walked out of his office and went to the salesperson and told him to get me out of his
office(not hard of hearing) One of the managers talked to me, much more calmly and then spoke with a rep
from ****** *********, he got off the phone and left with another man while I was still speaking to the
****** ********* re p .. My main complaint is I DID NOT cancel my extended warranty and DID NOT
agree to have Kelly Cars do so or keep the money. I was also NOT advised that was what they were doing
when the salesperson came out of the office and said “We will make your first payment that is due today” I
am a widow, living on SSA and am very upset and feel I have been taken advantage of. 

Desired Settlement: I feel Kelly Cars should not tell people they will make your first payment and behind your back cancel a contract and keep
the money. Also when I started to tell the very rude Finance Manager that $429.78 minus my car payment
of $351.11 still left a balance he got even more mad and hollered he didn’t get the $429.78 and I owe them.
He also hollered at me when I told him that ****** ********* had made four attempts in two days to reach
him. I will NEVER purchase another vehicle from Kelly Cars Inc at 5408 University Blvd Moon
Township Pa 15108 and will tell my family and friends the treatment I received.

Business Response:

******** we have reviewed this with Ms. ****** countless times. She signed the refund over to the dealership. Truth be known she still owes the dealership $151.93. I hope this clears this matter up we are all wasting a lot of valuable time on this!

 

Thank you,

 

7/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been looking to replace my 2001 Chrysler Sebring. I heard an ad on the radio twice that stated that Kelly Car was offering $50. On Saturday only if you test drove the Chrysler 2000. I drove out to Moon Township to the dealership and asked the salesman about the $50. Test Drive. He claimed not to be aware of the offer. I asked about a car on the lot and asked for an idea of what my Sebring might be worth. I asked again about the test drive offer. A large black salesman told me there were only ten test drives available and they were gone. I told him that I heard the ad on the radio TWICE and there was never a mention of ten, only that it was Saturday only. He shrugged. I told him that I thought that was deceptive advertising. He said that he did not agree. These crooks have two BBB stickers on the showroom door. They need to be removed. I really liked the car, it was over $30k and needless to say, I sure won't be buying from Kelly. I drove out there from the South Hills and I feel like they owe me $50. Per their offer.

Desired Settlement: $50. Gift card as per offer and the dealership to cease and desist the deceptive advertising. They should provide the BBB with information on anyone they actually gave $50. To because I think it was all a scam.

Business Response:

I am shocked by this letter we don't do business in this manner! Attachment # 1 is the ad copy the radio announcer read over the radio and this ad was clearly posted in the sales center. Also it was reviewed in the Saturday morning sales meeting with all the sales people in attendance ..... ALL SALES PEOPLE of which none are LARGE BLACK SALESMAN!

 

We have one Africa American on our staff in sales and that gentleman **** ***** *** has been with the company over three years and would never talk too a customer in that fashion! ( NEVER) !!!!!

 

If Ms.********* heard the ad twice as she states then she would know the offer was to test drive a Chrysler 200 not a Chrysler 2000 since Chrysler doesn't make that model.

 

I'm sure this is a misunderstanding,however we have a Gas Card here for Ms. ********. She can pick it up when its convenient for her. The card will be at the phone station in the main showroom. Please have her bring a current valid drivers license ( as the ad states ) when she picks up the card. I hope this clears up this issue.

 

Thank you,

 

***** ******

,GM

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

7/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I bought a 2011 dodge Durango from this place and it had advertised that it has 3rd row seats. Worker told us yes they have them that they are folded down. We took their word for it. Upon arriving home we found out it in fact does not have 3rd row seats. Talked to manager and he told us to bring it in and they would take care of it for us. Took it in and they are saying there is NOTHING they can do for us and WE should have checked because the worker never said that. The worker did say that and that was one of the main reasons we bought it. Even the advertisement sticker and website said it has them.

Desired Settlement: Third row seat or reduce purchase price of vehicle.

Business Response: The following is our General Manager's response to the above complaint. If you should have any questions please contact him directly. His information is as follows: ***** ***** ************ ** *******************

Ms. ******,
let me start by saying we are truly sorry that the customer ******* ***** and her husband are not completely satisfied with their purchase.  Mrs. ***** called me 2 or 3 days after the sale and stated that the vehicle had not been detailed properly and that they believed the oil had not been changed before they purchased the vehicle. Mrs. ***** also stated she thought the Durango came with a third row seat, because all Durangos have that option.

I told Mr. ***** to come and see me so we could discuss her complaint about the detail and oil change. At no time did anyone tell the *****'s the Durango had a third row seat.  The Durango they purchased was a special edition HEAT model and they were only manufactured as 5 seat vehicles.  Mrs. ***** was upset that we wouldn't let her return the vehicle.  I had my GSM John Wiley present when I reviewed the opposition with Mrs. *****. I explained to her the option of returning the vehicle was not available, but we would take the vehicle back in on trade and they could pay the net difference between the Durango and any other in stock 3rd row seat SUV we had that corrected the issue they had with the vehicle they bought.

Mrs. ***** was very upset and called her husband 2 or 3 times during this time telling him that we wouldn't take the vehicle back. It was at that time that Mrs. ***** said she was getting an attorney and taking the dealership to court so she could get her trade back and buy a vehicle elsewhere. I told Mrs. ***** that she should wait in the customer lounge until the vehicle returned from service and she left my office.

The real issue here is that Mr. ***** wanted a Dodge Durango SUV and his wife didn't. Our stand on this issue is the same today as it was at the time of sale. If they would like to trade the vehicle in we would be happy to help. The option of returning the vehicle or the dealership buying it back isn't now and never was an option.

If we can assist your office at a later date please contact me.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This response does not resolve OUR complaint. The only reason we looked at the vehicle is because it was advertised as having a 3rd row seat (as we have attached a photo of the sticker from the vehicle). IF the heat model was never made to have 3rd row seats then it should not have been advertised and told to us as such. We are not willing to pay extra money to trade this vehicle in. We believed that we were buying a vehicle with more seating room and that is what we were willing to pay for that, but that is not what we got. Our mistake was believing their advertisement and not double checking what they said that the vehicle had. As husband and wife, we both agreed to make the purchase because we BOTH  like the vehicle, thinking it was something it is not apparently. Offering a trade with a higher payment is not an option for us. The issue is that the vehicle was falsely advertised and we were mislead into buying it. It is also a show of character that they can not even admit their wrong. They have not even once offered an apology to us for them misleading us. 


Regards,

******* *** ******* *****

 

 

Business Response:

We here at Kelly Cars CDJR understand that Mrs. ***** is still unsatisfied ,however at this time we don't have another resolution. It was very clear too everyone involved that the Durango didn't have a third row seat. We would be happy to re-visit a trade for a vehicle they believe would suit their needs.
Legal Site Disclaimer

We attempt to update our website in a timely manner however neither Chrysler nor the dealer can guarantee that the inventory shown will be available at the dealership. We cannot be responsible for typographical and other errors, including data transmissions or software errors that may appear on the site. If the posted price, incentive, offer or other service is incorrect due to typographical or other error we will only be responsible for honoring the correct price, incentive or offer. We make every effort to provide you the most accurate, up-to-the-minute information however when you are ready to purchase products or services, it is your responsibility to verify with us that all details listed are accurate.
Mid-model-year manufacturing changes, as well as dealer-added accessories on the actual vehicle may differ from the options and features shown. MSRP is provided by the manufacturer for informational purposes only. Actual pricing and vehicle information must be verified by us at the time of purchase.
Images shown may not necessarily represent the configurable options selected or available on the vehicle.
©2013 Chrysler Group LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge, Ram, SRT, Mopar, Pentastar, On The Job and BusinessLink logos are registered trademarks of Chrysler Group LLC.
FIAT is a registered trademark of Fiat Group Marketing & Corporate Communication S.p.A, used under license of Chrysler Group LLC.
Chrysler 200, Chrysler 300C, Grand Caravan, HEMI, Imported From Detroit, Journey, Journey Crew, Latitude, Liberty Jet, ParkSense, ParkView, Pentastar, RamBox, Ram Jam, Ram 1500 Express, Uconnect and Viper are registered trademarks and Keyless Enter 'n Go, Mopar Vehicle Protection and Tigershark are trademarks of Chrysler Group LLC.
FIAT 500 Pop and FIAT 500 Lounge are registered trademarks of Fiat Group Marketing & Corporate Communications S.p.A., used under license by Chrysler Group LLC.
BLUE&ME and eco:Drive are trademarks of Fiat Group Automobile, S.p.A., used under license by Chrysler Group LLC.
MultiAir is a registered trademark of C.R.F. Società Consortile per Azioni, used under license by Chrysler Group LLC.
The trademarks Beats by Dr. Dre, Beats, Beats Audio, and the b logo are the property of Beats Electronics, LLC.

***** ******,GM
Kelly Cars CDJR
5408 University Blvd.
Moon Township,Pa.15108

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It is unacceptable to us that we are made out to be liars. Clearly if this model Durango was never made to have a third row seat as an option it should have never been advertised as such. We would not have gone to this extent if it was clear to us that the vehicle did not have a third row seat. What is clear is that this company will not do anything to make the matter right, so lesson learned. 

Regards,

******* *** ******* *****

 

 

1/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a brand new 2012 ***** ******* from Kelly Cars' showroom on June 30, 2012. We also own a 2009 ***** *******: due to being impressed with the vehicle we decided to purchase a newer model. At approximately 4K miles we took the new 2012 vehicle for servicing because the headliner was falling down. It was either repaired or replaced after the dealership filed a claim with Chrysler. The service techinician from Kelly cars implied that "someone or something was pulling on the headliner". We have no young children or grandchildren and rarely does anyone EVER ride in the back seat of the car. The same problem recurred at approximately 20 K miles. We took the vehicle back again in Sept of 2013. No one gave us an update on the status or returned calls until we subitted an email via customer service. I spoke with Kelly Car manager, ****** ******* on 11/27. He stated that Chrysler denied the claim. I talked to ******* at Chrysler on that date. She stated, very guardedly, that the Kelly Car service manager is their "eyes and ears". When I aaked for more clarification and documentation Kelly Cars' Service Manager, ****, refused to send me pictures of my vehicle submitted with the claim to Chrysler and stated that they do not have written documentation of the denial of the claim. I left a message for the manager, ****** *******, again on 11/27 and he has not returned my call. There are no scratches on the headliner area (as implied)that would have been caused by us or someone riding in the vehicle. Our dog is 9 years old, very docile and can barely step into the vehicle. She has NEVER been left in the vehicle unattended, nothing has ever been hauled or left "hanging" from the headliner as has been implied, we maintain our vehicles per recommended schedules and NEVER had a problem of this nature with the 2009 ***** ******* that we still own. This appears to be a battle between Kelly Cars and Chrysler based on information that Kelly Cars is providing without substantial explanation.

Desired Settlement: Replace the vehicle headliner without further dispute immediately. Provide a replacement vehicle for the duration required to complete repairs with consideration to the fact that we live approximately 75 miles away from the dealership and are employed at multipe full and part time jobs. Additionally, we would like an explanation from Kelly Cars regarding their negligence in returning customer phone calls in an expediant manner&refusal to provide photographs submitted with claim to Chrysler.

Business Response:

As a Chrysler Jeep Dodge Dealership we are obligated to follow the policies and procedures set forth in the Chrysler Policy Manual. The instructions are explicit regarding the proper procedure for performing warranty repairs.

In this instance the customer was complaining about the headliner drooping down at the rear window. Any and all soft interiortrim falls under the digital imaging program procedures. A representative from the dealership must take digital images of the part in question and submit the images to Chrysler's digital imaging team for viewing. After looking at the pictures a decision is made to either repair, replace or deny the claim based on the images they have received. There are times when the digital imaging group will ask the dealer representative to give them input on how the damage may have occurred, whether it could be a manufacturer's defect or simply damage caused by an outside source.

The dealership representative is bound by his dealer agreement to report to the digital imaging group exactly what they see regarding the defect or damage. They cannot lie, deceive or commit fraud in order to sway the decision made by the digital imaging team to repair the vehicle or deny the claim. If Ms. ******** can in some way convince Chrysler to change the decision made by the digital imaging team, we would be happy to install another headliner in Ms. ********** vehicle. A replacement vehicle would be provided by KellyCars Inc . during the repair. When Ms. ******** purchased her vehicle it came with the Kelly Advantage" which includes a free loaner while your vehicle is being repaired in our service department. The digital images and the documentation between the dealer and the manufacturer are the proprietary property of Chrysler and cannot be distributed to the general public.

We will continue to follow Chrysler's instructions regarding this concern.


 

******* ****, Service Director KellyCars Inc.


 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Upon looking at the vehicle during the initial complaint at 4,000 miles, before thorough inspection of the headliner, Mr. **** immediately made a comment to my husband about his conclusion that "it looks like somebody yanked it down", therefore, making a judgment before thoroughly assessing the problem. When I spoke with Kelly Cars' General Manager, ****** ******* and Service Manager, **** **** on 11/27/13 I requested contact information for the Chrysler representative who had denied the claim.  They would only provide me with the 800 customer service number.  I spoke with a representative from Chrysler on the same day.  After  a long conversation she stated that Chrysler relies upon information provided by the service manager at the dealership.  I followed up with an email to Chrysler on the same date, but they replied that they could not change the determination.   I had also requested that Kelly Cars send me the written denial of the claim and they stated that they did not have written documentation.  It is difficult to understand that they would not have written documentation of the denial.  I would like information regarding what specifically Mr. **** described regarding whether the damage was caused from a "defect or outside source."  Neither Kelly Cars nor Chrysler would provide this information although Chrysler indicated that they make their determination based on information provided by the dealership.  Mr. **** indicated that the pictures he submitted to Chrysler are not for "public" viewing.  I am not asking for the public to view them.  They are pictures of MY vehicle and I believe that I have a right to know what was submitted to Chrysler.  A person can get access to their own protected health information from any health care  provider so what privacy law states that I don't have the right to view pictures of MY own vehicle?  My husband thoroughly examined the headliner again last evening to look for the "scratches" that were referred to in my discussions with Kelly Cars and Chrysler.  The scratches he noted are on the sides of the vehicle and nowhere near the middle of the area where the headliner is falling down.  Perhaps these scratches were created when Kelly Cars' service department worked on the vehicle since there is no "outside source" in that area of the vehicle that could have created the damage.  

Regards,

***** ******** 

 

 

Business Response: As per our conversation on 1-6-14, regarding Ms.********** vehicle, our position remains the same. We cannot release the digital images as requested by the customer. Please advise the customer Kelly Cars did not deny her claim, Chrysler did. Please advise the customer she should file a complaint with Chrysler. We consider this case closed. Thank You for your time in this matter.

Sincerely,

******* ****, Service Director
KellyCars Inc.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I submitted several emails to the Better Business Bureau with links to websites which indicate problems with the headliners falling down in various Chrysler vehicles.  At this time I am asking for consultation from the Better Business Bureau regarding whether to pursue a complaint against Chrysler as has been recommended by ******* ****, Service Manager of Kelly Cars.  Please advise me on this matter as soon as possible.  I will also need correct contact information for Chrysler to proceed with my complaint.  As far as I am concerned the matter is not "closed" as there has been no resolution to the problem. Thank you for your assistance in this matter. 

Regards,

***** ********
?On Tue, May 27, 2014 at 7:27 PM, ** * ***** ******** ************************** wrote:

Hello *** ******,

I am writing to follow up on the complaint # *******, previously filed
against Kelly Cars of Moon Township, PA. Your organization closed this
complaint after Mr. ****, Service Manager of Kelly Cars, suggested that I
file a complaint against Chrysler.  I attempted to look for my previous
complaint on your website today, but was unable to locate it.  I contacted
the BBB office and spoke with *****.  She reported that my complaint is
still on the website although I still was unable to find it.  I think that
the information contained in my complaint as well as the follow up
resolution that I had achieved on my own, contains important information for
consumers:

Despite Kelly Car's recommendation, I did not file a complaint directly
against Chrysler because I had spoken with Chrysler prior to filing my
complaint with BBB and they were basing their determination on the erroneous
information and photos that they had received from **** **** of Kelly Cars.
Kelly Cars had been made aware that I contacted Chrysler prior to filing my
complaint with BBB.  You may or may not recall that Mr. **** refused to
release the pictures of my car to me and Chrysler was basing their
determination on his claim that an "outside force" was responsbile for the
damage (ie we were doing something to damage the headliner in my brand new
vehicle).  Subsequently, when I determined that it was a waste of time to
continue making the 140 mile round trip to Kelly Cars for routine service, I
went to a local Dodge dealer, ************* Motors, for a routine oil change
on 2/22/14.  I asked the service technician if he would look at the
headliner while doing the oil change.  He did a thorough examination of my
vehicle, took 6 photos which he forwarded to my email (therefore, the photos
are not secret information as Mr. **** indicated), stayed after hours to
complete his review, and showed me the "crease" in the photo which appeared
to have been caused by Kelly Cars trying to cram the headliner into the
vehicle without removing the windshield. The service technician at the new
dealer consulted with the service managers at *************, who called me
to discuss the history of the problem with the Chrysler representative
present.  Chrysler agreed to cover the full cost of proper replacement of
the headliner.  This entailed removing and reinstalling the windshield so
that installation of the headliner could be done correctly. Completion of
the repairs was extensive and required that ************* Motors send the
vehicle to a specialty glass shop to remove and reinstall the windshield.
************* Motors gave me a loaner car, free of charge, during the entire
repair process and accommodated my work schedule so that I could pick the
vehicle up after work hours.  Upon receiving my vehicle back, the setaff of
************* reported that the specialty glass shop confirmed that the
orignal windshield had never been removed from the vehcle, which further
confirmed that Kelly Cars never attempted to install the headliner properly
as per specifications.  Instead they crammed the headliner into the vehicle,
creating a crease in the headliner and prolonging the damage, which they
tried to blame me for.

I am not expecting anything from this addendum other than I would like your
consumers to be properly informed.  I would like to know where I can view
this information, along with my original complaint on your website.  An
apology from Kelly Cars would be nice, but might be too much to expect from
them. Mr. **** appears to think that he does it all right and he is backed
by Mr. ****** *******, the owner. I have given up on Kelly's promise of
extended services, lifetime tire warranties, etc. becasue what they promise
comes with too much of a price to pay for haphazard work.  I will continue
to utilize the new dealer, ************* Motors, who advocated and assisted
in getting this matter resolved for me.

I am truly hoping that you will post this information for your consumers.

Sincerely,

***** ********

 

 

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had the absolute worst customer service experience ever with the service dept at this dealership. I had taken my vehicle to be services at the dealership on Mon Aug 5, 2013 around 11 am. Sat in the waiting for hours as people came and went, with no one informing me that my vehicle was being looked at like they said they would. Around 2 pm, my friend came to get me so I could eat. Stopped at the service desk on the way out so that I could inform them that I was leaving and to call when my vehicle was being looked at/ready. I was informed that they ha already taken it back, but wasn't finished with it. He promised to call and let me know. Around 530-545 pm, I called them because no one had called me and their dept was to close at 6. Apparently, I needed a new transmission and no one thought it to be important to inform me that I would be carless for the next few days. I then told him that I needed a vehicle to get to and from work the next day. I was then told they had no loaners available but one should be returned the following day. He then promised to call me first thing in the morning and that I was "number one on the list!" The next morning, once again, no one called. I had to call them, again, to find out when I could have the loaner and was told once again that they would call me back when one was returned. I called them later to confirm, and still nothing. Then called after the service dept was closed. Found out they did not reserve the loaner as promised for me, and one salesman who felt bad for me ended up authorising it for me.They ended up keeping my car for 2 weeks and 2 days. Not one phone call from them to tell me when the part came in, or even that the original part they wanted was gone from Cleveland and that they were having another one shipped in from farther away. The service dept finally got my car finished on Wed Aug 21, two days after I called and they said they "planned on getting started on it." My entire experience was filled with the worst customer servicing ever.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology (written) for the poor customer service. Also, I would like a show of good faith, of sorts, proving that they do, in fact, value their customers. I don't care what the deed is, from a free oil change to free tires, as long as it's a positive action taken by this dealership. I want them to be aware that their actions and conduct are uncalled for when they market that they value their customers.

Business Response:

 

As with all our customers the service advisor asked Ms. **** if she would be waiting on the vehicle or leaving it with us and return later in the day for an update. She explained she would wait for a while and then have a friend pick her up. She left and called us around 5:00pm. We explained the transmission needed replaced and we were in the process of trying to locate a transmission for her vehicle. She called again the next morning before we could call her inquiring about her car. We explained that nothing had changed since the previous night and we were still trying to locate the transmission. She asked about a loaner vehicle and the service advisor explained there were none available at this time, but as soon as a free loaner becomes available we would let her know. Please note there are no provisions in her vehicle's warranty for alternate transportation, but Kellycars would provide her, at Kellycars expense, a free loaner vehicle as soon as one becomes available. She called multiple times during the next two days asking for a loaner. She decided to just show up at the dealership after service closed at which time the sales manager gave her a loaner that was reserved for another customer. 

The transmission took 2 more weeks to finally arrive at the dealership. The service department installed the transmission and returned the vehicle to Ms. ****. 

We apologize for the inconvienence Ms. **** had to endure due to the unavailability of the transmission. 

As a show of good faith Kellycars Inc. will give Ms.**** a free Chrysler Service Contract consisting of four FREE oil changes. 

s. **** as a customer and thank her for bringing this matter to our attention. 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kelly Cars Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)