Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Johnson Motors Inc

Phone: (814) 371-4444 Fax: (814) 371-1272 View Additional Phone Numbers 1891 Blinker Pkwy, Dubois, PA 15801 http://www.johnsonauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This corporation is a new & pre-owned, servicing dealership.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Johnson Motors Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Johnson Motors Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Johnson Motors Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 07, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1958
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD005409L.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert G Johnson, President Mr. James E Bair, General Manager Ms. Cindy L Catalone, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. James E Bair, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Robert G Johnson, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES - NEW TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO WHEEL ALIGNMENT, FR & AXLE SRV-AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS AUTO SERVICE - MAINTENANCE/OTHER AUTO AIR CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT AUTO DEALERS - ANTIQUE & CLASSIC


Additional Locations

  • 1891 Blinker Pkwy

    Dubois, PA 15801 (800) 537-1768 (814) 371-4444

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman stated the warranty I purchased for roughly $2,000 was for an additional 100,000 miles. Car was purchased with approximately 36,000 miles. At 105,000 vehicle started have serious engine & transmission issues. At this point dealership told me the warranty was up to a toral of 100,000 miles & I was responsible for repairs. This is not what the salesman told me. I expected warranty was good to 136,000 miles or I never would have paid $2,000 for a 64,000 mile warranty.

Desired Settlement: Repair vehicle under warranty or refund me the $ paid for the warranty.

Business Response: This is in response to ID ********, *** ** ****. First of all Mr. ********* denies even talking about the warranty Mr. **** purchased because these warranties are discused in the Business Office by our Business Managers. The type of warranty Mr. **** purchased is referred to as a Wrap. Basically what that means it simply wraps around the original Manufacturer's Warranty. These types of warranties cannot exceed 100,000 miles period. After speaking with **** ********, who did the paperwork for Mr. ****, she stated he would have been well aware his extended warranty would end at 100,000 miles on the odometer of his vehicle. Please see the attached forms Mr. **** signed. Thank you, *** ****

8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2005 ***** ****** from Johnson's Motors in September of 2012. I bought an extended 3 year warranty with it. My ****** started to jerk when it shifted and it wasn't shifting quite on time, it shifted a little late. So I made sure to take it to Johnson's since I thought the problem was the transmission and I knew the transmission was covered under warranty. I live out towards Pittsburgh so when I called on 5/28/13 I needed to make sure I was able to get in and out that day, and that happened.They told me they found air pockets in the line to the transmission and that flushing it, replacing gasket and filter would fix it.They suggested spark plugs be changed but it wasn't necessary, so I didn't let them do it. They charged me at 355$ and some odd change. I made sure they were confident it would be fixed if I allowed this work, they again said yes. When I was driving the car again later that day, after leaving Johnson's the car was acting up and way worse than before. I called and demanded it be fixed. I talked to other mechanics who said if there were air pockets my car wouldn't even drive! Even a salesman (at Johnsons) agreed I was lied to with that! They gave me a rental car and took mine back. So they called me back today on 5/29/13 and said they just found a sensor that isn't functioning that they didn't see yesterday. They said the warranty would cover the sensor fixing. They said they still saw air pockets today too. Then they said the spark plugs needed changed where as before it was just a suggestion. I told them not to touch my car until I called them back with a yes. I want my money back from yesterday's work since they even said it did not fix it!! They only want to give me $174. They claim what they did needed done, so they refuse a refund. They originally said flushing the transmission would fix it! It did not so I am out almost 400$ for something that did not work! They also called me today to say my car was done! They worked on it without authorization!

Desired Settlement: I want all of my $355 and odd change back! Not just $174. I was told the problem would be fixed when they flushed the transmission system, replaced the filter, and replaced the gasket. That was not the case, it acted up worse. There is no reason to give me only a chunk of the money back. Now I need to spend 50$ gas to fill up the rental car to drive up there to get my car and 50$ to fill up my car to get back home. I don't have the gas money to get it until I get paid. They took all my money.

Business Response: When the vehicle was checked, the transmission was over filled, which caused it to airiate. The transmission shifts due to pressure on the clutch plates to engage them, and with air bubbles in the system it will cause the vehicle to shudder. We flushed the transmission to get the fluid level to where it should be. When the vehicle came in the next day we determined it needed a mass air flow sensor which was covered under her extended warranty contract with a $100.00 deductible, so we replaced it. We reimbursed the customer $174.00, not the total amount of $355.00 because she would of had a $100.00 deductible for the warranty repair and we felt it was fair to charge her $80.00 to flush the transmission to get the fluid to the right level. As far as not having authorization to fix her vehicle as she stated she demanded we fix her vehicle. And far as for the spark plugs the vehicle has a 100,000 miles on it, and they were a recommendation.

Consumer Response:

I did not demand my car to be fixed, I specifically said "do not fix my car until I call you back with an ok." Then I got a call an hr later saying my car was done and ready for pick up. The response they had just sent me was exactly the opposite of the first message I had sent. They are just saying this to save their skins. I had 3 people check the Transmission Fluid before I took it into Johnson's, including myself. It was exactly to the level it needed to be. The first day I was at the shop they said the problem was fixed and it wasn't. That's why I came back in the second day. The work they charged me for on the first day had done nothing to fix the problem. There was no air in the line to the transmission like they had told me on day 1. I had spoke to other mechanics who all say if there was air in the line my car would not move at all. So flushing the line was not necessary. My car was not at 100,00 when it had been there. They were going to over charge me for getting the spark plugs done. I know it shouldn't cost what they were asking, as I've had it done on my previous cars before so I did not want them doing it. That was not the problem with my car anyway. I feel I should get the rest of the money back because what I paid for, what they assured me would fix it, had not. 

Regards,

****** ****

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Johnson Motors Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)