Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

John Sisson Motors Inc

Phone: (724) 223-8600 Fax: (724) 223-9066 View Additional Phone Numbers 470 Washington Rd, Washington, PA 15301 http://www.johnsissonmotors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sale of new and used cars.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that John Sisson Motors Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for John Sisson Motors Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on John Sisson Motors Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1969
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Pennsylvania Vehicle Emissions Inspection and Maintenance Program
1101 S. Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17104
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-265-0921
Drivecleanpa@state.pa.us

Business Management
Mr. John J Sisson, Owner Mrs. Catherine Sisson, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John J Sisson, Owner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Sisson, John Motors Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Auto Service Contracts

Additional Locations

  • 470 Washington Rd

    Washington, PA 15301 (724) 223-8600 (724) 222-3950 (724) 228-5368 (724) 223-8600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my experience with John Sisson Motors was extremely deceitful. I had been looking at an exact car (2015 ml350 Stock # FA460706) for 3 months at John Sisson. I alerted the dealership (monica) that I would be coming to buy the car that evening and to detail this specific car because I am ready to make a deal. I live an HOUR away plus I had to go through multiple trips to get my title switched into my name that day. In total, it took 4 hours, but i drove out to John Sisson, ready to buy. The whole day I spoke with Lou and Monica 3 times, letting them know I am serious and discussing financing. I got to the dealership, test drove the car ..... As I parked the car back at the dealership a man called Ryan knocked on the window and said "CAR SOLD TO SOMEONE ELSE" They then told me the car is no longer available, stating that the car sold at 2 PM and tried to get me to buy a different color, more expensive car! We arrived at 430 PM and should have been alerted to the truth, our vehicle was NOT available. The manager then proceeded to LIE and say this car has only been there for one week. I was able to prove, via email, that I have looked at this exact car three months ago at this dealership. We are so offended that this dealership gave us false advertising of a specific vehicle, in hopes to get us in the door for business. The dealership represented this vehicle as "AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE" when it clearly was NOT available. They deceived me and attempted the Bait and Switch with unethical tactics. This exact car is STILL being marketed on the internet, although it is not available for purchase. ( or maybe it is still fake available, to scam others.) http://www.johnsissonnissan.com/vehicle-details/2015-mercedes-benz-m-class-ml350-washington-pa-id-10384427 http://auto.com/cars/Mercedes-Benz-M-Class-ML350-2015-*****************

Desired Settlement: This vehicle should not be allowed to be marketed. They are not willing to sell this car but use it to get people in the door.

Business Response:

Ms. ****** called the dealership inquiring about a preowned ML350 #FA460706 that was on our Internet site.  At the time of her phone call the vehicle #FA460706 was available for sale.  It was at the repair shop as well as the body shop for repairs and was not on the premises for about 3 weeks.  After all the work was finished it was returned to our retail lot approximately one week before Ms. ******'s phone call.

Ms. ****** had a problem with the titling on her car and needed to correct it before it could be traded in to a dealer.  She made several trips to Pittsburgh in attempt to make the corrections.  While she was working on her titling issues, the car was sold by another salesperson at the Dealership.  Ms. ****** was coming to the dealership to drive the vehicle , get her trade appraised and get numbers for purchase.  Ms. ****** had NO deposit on the vehicle as this was her first visit to the Dealership.  Our Internet site listings clearly state  "While every effort has been made to ensure display of accurate data and pricing, this listing may not reflect all accurate vehicle data including but not limited to dealer add-ons, and is subject to human error. The photos shown (stock or otherwise) may be an example only. ALL INVENTORY LISTED IS SUBJECT TO PRIOR SALE AND/OR TO PHYSICAL DEALERSHIP ARRIVAL. Please consult dealership personnel for further details and to confirm vehicle availability, including but not limited to situations where travel time and expenses may be incurred. Price does not include license fees, document preparation fees, sales tax or any other applicable fee relating to the sale and registration of the vehicle. Availability changes minute to minute. Please contact us for availability..."

In an effort to assist Ms. ******, the Manager tried to find another vehicle that would interest her.  No pricing was discussed as no vehicle was acceptable to Ms. ******.  We have been a Better Business Member since January 1980 with an A+ rating and strive to maintain that rating every day as you can see by our disclaimers.  We in no way practice any unethical tactics.  In todays marketplace all businesses are dependent on the internet; however, updating is not instant.  The example Ms. ****** stated about the car still being marketed on the Internet unfortunately is correct.  The process for removing that vehicle is tied to our accounting department.  The vehicle is removed when the office finishes the internal paperwork and contracts are sent to the bank.  Depending on the time of month and number of deals that need to be processed, it could be up to two weeks before they are removed.  The Internet inventories are maintained by an outside vendor.   in another effort to assist and apologize for the inconvenience to Ms. ******, we sent her an apology note, an apology email and a gift card for $100 for gas.

3/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel that my husband and I were not treated fairly with the sales and finance people at this establishment. We were told several different things by the salesman regarding price of the car as well as the finance manager trying to muscle me into getting a different car. Then the head of the finance department called me on Monday morning 02/10/14 and lied to me regarding the actual fiance through the loan company(*********) I was dealing with and tried to get me to either walk away from the deal itself or pay an additional $1000.00 for the car they were selling to us. All of it was unfair practice. I contacted this business before my Husband and I even went there to look for a car. I explained all of my special financing needs to them and they welcomed us to come and told us they were there to take care of our needs. This was fine until they realized they were not making enough money on the deal then things started to go south.I have never been treated so poorly when making such a large purchase.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to sell me the car at the price they quoted to us as well as using our finance company for the purchase.

Business Response:

 On Feb 8th, we agreed to sell to **** ******* a 2012 ****** ***** for $14921, less a trade of $500, plus PA tax and fees. After negotiating the deal, Mrs. ******* handed us a pre-approved draft from a lender called *********.

   

     We followed the instructions supplied by *********, and they approved the loan pending verification of their credit stipulations, then they

     informed us that they were going to deduct $1061.61 from the loan proceeds as a "bank fee".

     That would more than erase any profit we hoped to make on this vehicle.

 

     While we do understand Ms. *******'s situation, we did not do anything wrong. She arranged for the loan through *********, not us. It is her lender that is not providing all of the necessary funds to purchase this vehicle.

 

     Her BBB complaint should be against the deceptive practices of *********, not us.

 

     In the interest of customer satisfaction, we will honor the original selling price on this car and we will accept the lower amount of funds promised by her lender, even though it will represent a loss to our company.

     Ms. ******* will need to come to our dealership to sign the purchase documents which we will submit to ********* along with the documents Ms. ******* was required to provide to *********. We will send those documents by ***** to *********. After we receive final approval from ********* based on the submitted documents fulfilling the stipulations set by ********* and the total funds from *********, we will deliver the car as promised. This could take several days.

 

     We are being blamed for *********' poor and deceptive business practices. We will do everything we can to resolve this situation to Ms. *******'s satisfaction.

 

     We agree to Ms. *******’s desired settlement. We will sell her the car at the price we quoted and use her finance company for the purchase.

 

 

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on John Sisson Motors Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)