BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Imports By Day Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Imports By Day Inc

Phone: (724) 327-4900 Fax: (724) 327-4951 View Additional Phone Numbers 1580 Golden Mile Highway, Monroeville, PA 15146 http://www.dayauto.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used cars.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Imports By Day Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Imports By Day Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 20, 1994 Business started: 02/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Pennsylvania Vehicle Emissions Inspection and Maintenance Program
1101 S. Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17104
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-265-0921
Drivecleanpa@state.pa.us

Business Management
Mr. Gary DeSanzo, General Manager Mr. Carl Prince, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary DeSanzo, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS


Additional Locations

  • 1580 Golden Mile Highway

    Monroeville, PA 15146 (724) 327-4900

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (724) 327-4900(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am new to the Pittsburgh Area, and when my timing belt snapped in my car, I brought my audi to the Day Audi Dealership on Golden Mile Highway in Monroeville, PA. While at first they seemed friendly and helpful, I have since found out they are anything but. After trying to repair the timing belt, **** in their service department informed me that I would either need to put in a new engine in the car or send out the heads to a machine shop to fix, and then they could reassemble the engine. It was at this time that I specifically asked him pricing, as I am not wealthy and don't have thousands of dollars sitting around. **** told me that a new engine would be more then $10,000, and to fix the current engine would be $4,200. I again asked **** if $4,200 was the total price of repairs, because I didn't have any more money then that, and wouldn't be able to afford more. **** in the service department confirmed that $4,200 would cover all the repairs necessary, and if it would be more then $4,200 he would call me first to confirm that they should complete the additional work. I never received a call from **** letting me know more repairs would be necessary, or that they bill would be more. For the past 2 weeks, I have had to chance them down, they will not return a call. They keep telling me my car will be done on a specific day, and then when I chase them down, tell me it's not done yet. My last call to **** in the service department at Day Audi was today, July 11,2014. They have been giving me various days in the last week that my car would be done. It is still not done, and he couldn't give me a final bill yet. He did inform me that they needed to put in a new oil sender unit, which he did not call me about. When i asked to confirm that it would still be no more then $4,200, he tried to tell me that he had never said that to me, and that $4,200 was only for the 2nd part of the repairs. I have dealt with many mechanics, and Day Audi, specifically **** in Service, has been my worst experience.

Desired Settlement: I simply want my car repaired, and the bill to be held to $4,200, like **** in the Service Department at Day Audi had told me the entire time.

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by ***** ********** against Imports by Day in Monroeville, PA.

 

I just reviewed the details of Mr. **********’s complaint with **** *****, our Service Director.  After reviewing all of the facts, it appears as though there simply might have been a misunderstanding between Mr. ********** and our service people.  To summarize, after the repairs to the engine were initially completed, the oil light came on.  A diagnostics check determined that the vehicle had bad oil sending unit and a warped valve cover.  The oil sending unit has been replaced and the valve cover is being shipped overnight from a dealer in California.  The estimated arrival date is Tuesday, July 15th.  More importantly, I want to emphasize that we are able to be include oil sending unit and the valve cover in the original estimate of $4,200.  Assuming that everything comes together as planned, all of the repairs should be completed to Mr. **********’s vehicle by the end of the day on Tuesday, July 15th.

 

I would hope that this reply is suitable for your records.  If there are any other issues that may need addressed, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####…

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *******

General Manager

Imports by Day

1580 Golden Mile Highway

Monroeville, PA  15146

3/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2006 Mini Cooper on 01/10/2014. At that time I was given a 90 day 3000 mile warranty. On 2/15/2014 I started to have starting issues and other electrical issues so I called the dealer who suggested I bring it in to their shop. They subsequently toke it to * * * **** were I was given an estimate well over $4000.00 Day Imports stated it was my problem and that it is not covered. After speaking with* * * they said they could get it running for around $900.00. I needed to get back to work so I paid the money, picked up my car and called Day Imports and spoke to *** ***** who stated it was my problem.

Desired Settlement: I believe this car had some type of flood damage in order for these wires to get so corroded that it fried the electrical system. I'm willing to keep the car as long as they pay for what they should have fixed before selling the car. total est. is around $5000.00 That's the $800.00 I already paid and the $4200.00 est. from * * * ****.

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by *** ******* against Imports by Day in Monroeville, PA.

Mr. ******* purchased a Mini Cooper from Imports on January 10th.  Before being offered for sale, this vehicle underwent a thorough and diligent 112-point inspection.  During the evaluation, PA inspection and emission stickers were issued; a new headlight washer was installed, as well as 4 new tires and a brand new battery.  Additionally, no malfunction codes or warning lights were present during the inspection process.  Moreover, the Carfax Report and our own visual inspection did not show any evidence of flood or water damage.  At the time of purchase, the vehicle was issued a 3-month/3,000 mile limited warranty.  An extended service contract was offered to Mr. ******* but he declined all optional coverage.  

Nearly 5-weeks from date of purchase, Mr. ******* called us to report a starting problem and some electrical concerns.  On February 20th, our technician performed a series of diagnostics but he was unable to identify a starting or an electrical issue.  We suggested that Mr. ******* take his vehicle to an authorized Mini dealer who could better diagnose the problem(s).  Upon doing so, Mr. ******* stated that *** ******* **** had found water in the foot well and under the carpeting of his vehicle which caused an electrical issue.  The source of water was not determined; however, it was suggested that it could have been a residual effect from the current snow and weather issues we were experiencing.

Unfortunately, the repairs that were needed would not have fallen within the parameters of the 3-month/3,000 mile warranty that came with his vehicle.  Truth be told, since the diagnosed electrical problem was apparently the result of dormant water, it’s also fair to assume that the needed repairs might not have been covered by an extended service contract – had Mr. ******* chose to purchase one.  I do understand his concerns about these unexpected events that occurred with his vehicle; however, more than 30-days have passed between the purchase date and the date that these problems first transpired.  But to expect Imports to warrant these issues whenever they weren’t present at the time that we serviced and sold this unit to Mr. ******* is somewhat unrealistic. 

I would hope that this reply is suitable for your records.  If there are any other issues that may need addressed, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####…

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I had contact with this dealer the first week after I bought the Mini, I am awaiting copies of my phone bill to prove that contact was made with the salesperson.

Thanks

Regards,

*** *******

 

 

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in to Day Audi on January 30, 2014 to have a heating coil installed. After a week went by I called to check the status. I was told that the part would be in by February 5, 2014. So the days went on no call about the car yet. So my wife ****** ******** called to talk to ***. He preceded to tell her that they didn't think it was the heating coil. That they thought it maybe a valve wanted to play around with it a few more days to make sure it didn't need a valve. Then another week went passed still no call about my car. So talked to *** again said I needed couple other things done to car left head light bulb needed replaced the price would be around 350.00 for a bulb plus around 92.00 for some other bulb. The vacuum hose need fixed. Brakes and rotors needed done and maintenance to check any fluids and some other stuff. Car needed tires he was told not to do them by wife. Would get tires from a less expensive place. Weather strip was falling off that was between 600.00 to 750.00 to be repaired told him not to fix. So he went and did stuff on the car he was not supposed to do. After calling 2 supervisors to see why my car still was not finished. So all this time I have a rental from Enterprise waiting for call to get fixed. I got the rental people calling threatening for a payment or they are going to report car stolen if a payment was not paid by 5 on Jan 19, 2014. So my wife called *** had him on speaker phone to see why car still was not done yet mad to let him know I was being threatened by the car rental place. He said he took care of that would help out with the cost of rental. *** said car should be ready by Thursday. Called Thursday car was not ready they said they had to order two parts and would be ready Friday. Called to speak to a manager of service department to see if car was ready. Told him the concerns needed a price said he would call back with a price and never did. Feb 24,2014 price is 2838.36 not happy did work that I never approved. Car rental also expensive

Desired Settlement: I would like some money back. Why was my car there for almost month and it didn't need major work done to it. I believe I was over charged and want to be compensated final payment they gave was 2300 they took off the price of bulbs that were put on. I had to pay 374.00 plus insurance on my car also while my car was in shop all this time. When my car should've been done weeks ago. They paid around 400 for some of the rental cost. I never gave them approval to talk to anyone about working on car.

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by ******* ******** against Imports by Day in Monroeville, PA.

On January 30th, Mr. ******** dropped off his Audi A6 at Imports by Day with a concern that the heater was not working.  Our technician discovered that the heater core was OK; however, he recommended changing a valve and some other related items that would fix the problem and save Mr. ******** considerable money.  Our Service Advisor then played “phone tag” with Mr. ******** for several days trying to secure his approval for the suggested repairs.  Furthermore, our Advisor spoke to 3 different parties via the phone number that Mr. ******** provided to us before we actually spoke directly with Mr. ******** – which only added confusion and delay in securing Mr. Anderson’s approval for the repairs.

As a courtesy to Mr. Anderson, we agreed to discount the parts and the labor to an amenable price.  Once the price was finalized, Mr. ******** approved the repair and we completed the estimate.  At the time of pick-up, the repair order was reviewed in great detail with Mr. ******** and he paid his portion of the final bill.  As a point of reference, he picked-up his Audi on February 24th and, as of yesterday, Mr. ******** remained satisfied with the repairs and the discount that we applied to his bill.

I would hope that this reply is suitable for your records.  If there are any other issues that may need addressed, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####…

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *******

General Manager

Imports by Day

1580 Golden Mile Highway

Monroeville, PA  15146

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* ********

 

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, 8/31/13, the manual transmission on my 2012 *** would not go into or out of gear when the clutch pedal was depressed. I pulled to the side of the road and was able to force the car into gear, pull out in first without the clutch slipping or any problems, but I was unable to go in or out of gear without significant force. I drove the car to a safe location and had it towed to Imports by Day on Monday. The service dept reported that the clutch was completely worn out, it was not covered under warranty, even though my car only had 12,700 miles on it, and to report the issue to VW Customer Care. VW informed me that it was not under warranty, but since the car was low mileage and it appeared to be a part issue they would perform a good will gesture and cover the cost of the parts, but were not able to cover the labor. I then spoke with the service manager about my concerns, and he offered to reduce the labor cost from $850 to $650 I expressed that I did not think this was fair because the car is nearly brand new and this was not a wear issue since the car was not abused and a normal clutch does not wear out under normal use at such low mileage. I asked if he could perform a good will gesture similar to what VW offered. The manager said he could not waive the labor because the only issue they found was the worn out clutch.I researched the problem and found many cases similar to mine and that these symptoms could be caused by problems with the slave cylinder, throw out bearing, or failed springs, and if the clutch had been completely worn out, I would have had slippage when pulling out from a stopped position or even while accelerating. I had not before or during this problem had any slippage, leading me to believe that the clutch was not worn out to the point the service dept claims. I also took pictures of the original clutch and pressure plate and confirmed with multiple sources that the parts were not worn out to failure and there were no significant visible issues with either part.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $650 for the cost of the labor because I feel this problem was caused by a failure in the vehicles transmission and not by normal wear on the vehicle, which was normal driving for 12,700 miles. I also believe that since the mileage on the vehicle is so low, only 700 miles over qualifying for the lemon law, and VW offered a good will gesture to cover all of the cost of the parts, the dealer should have followed VW's lead and offered to cover all of the cost of the labor.

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by **** ******* against Imports by Day in Monroeville, PA.  

     On or about August 31st, Mr. ******* had his 2012 VW *** towed to Imports by Day because this vehicle would not shift into gear.  Upon further review, it was determined that the clutch was completely worn out, which made shifting his *** into any gear almost impossible.  Unfortunately for Mr. *******, Volkswagen of America (and all other manufacturers) does not cover the manual clutch under warranty because it is considered a maintenance or wear item.  Moreover, the life expectancy of a manual transmission clutch assembly will vary depending on usage and driver habits/tendencies.   Nonetheless, Imports by Day did converse with VW in hopes of securing a goodwill adjustment for Mr. *******.  VW ultimately did agree to supply the parts, but not the cost of the labor to replace the clutch assembly.  As a courtesy to Mr. *******, Imports by Day reduced the original labor estimate to install the clutch to $650.  This proposed scenario was then fully explained to Mr. ******* and Mr. ******* did authorize Imports by Day to repair his ***. 

     All repairs made and authorized within the original factory warranty guidelines are the financial responsibility of Volkswagen of America, not the selling or the servicing Dealer.  The Dealer cannot manipulate the claims that are authorized by the manufacturer in any way; however, the Dealer can discount parts and/or labor as a courtesy to the customer when the manufacturer does not authorize a complete repair for the customer – and Imports by Day did provide that courtesy to Mr. *******.  Volkswagen of America’s final determination did allow for a goodwill part replacement, but they insisted that the owner of the vehicle (Mr. *******) should participate in the repair by paying for the installation of the clutch assembly. 

     Imports by Day has never had to extend “implied” warranty coverage to any part on any vehicle that the manufacturer did not cover, and we do not wish to set a precedent in this case.  It should also be noted, however, that Imports by Day did allow Mr. ******* to drive a loaner vehicle for several weeks as Mr. ******* waited for Volkswagen of America to make its determination.  For the record, loaner cars are not provided by the manufacturer.  They are provided by the Dealer, and the cost of this service was NOT extended to Mr. *******; therefore, Imports by Day is not interested in making further adjustments to the cost of repair.  

     I would hope that this reply is suitable for your records.  If there are any other issues that may need addressed, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####… 

 

Sincerely, 

 

Gary DeSanzo 

General Manager 

Imports by Day 

1580 Golden Mile Highway 

Monroeville, PA  15146 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

As a selling and servicing dealer, Imports by Day is a face to face representative of VW, and as such, they should provide an interface for the customer when issues with the product or manufacturer arise, as there is no VWofA showroom or service department where I could take my issue directly. In this circumstance, I was simply told we cannot help you, you must contact VWofA via telephone. The dealer in my opinion is an advocate for the customer, and in this instance Imports by Day did not perform this service as one would expect.


I would also like to respond to their claim that “all other manufactures” do not cover the clutch of a manual transmission. I would like to state that at least one manufacturer, specifically ******, does in fact cover the clutch, brakes, and other wear items for 3 years/36,000 miles. They provide that coverage because it is generally accepted that without extended abuse, a modification to the car, or a defective product, these wear items should have a lengthy lifespan. Specifically the clutch in the majority of circumstances should provide a lifespan of at least 36,000 to 76,000 miles without a problem, and I’m sure the majority of the cars sold by Imports by Day that have a manual transmission would fall within that range.


Since my vehicle had around 12,700 miles at the time of failure, it is clear to me that this case is an extreme outlier, and therefore I do not believe that I should be asked to cover any part of the cost of the repair.

Regards,

**** *******

 

 

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service