Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Honda North

Phone: (724) 482-2156 Fax: (724) 482-4261 View Additional Phone Numbers 665 Evans City Rd, Butler, PA 16001 http://www.hondanorth.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Auto Dealers - New Cars


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honda North meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honda North include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honda North
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1983 Business started: 04/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD027200.

Business Management
Mr. Howard Neff, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Howard Neff, Vice President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS


Additional Locations

  • 665 Evans City Rd

    Butler, PA 16001 (724) 290-7067 (724) 679-7071 (800) 786-2756 (724) 482-2156

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used Subaru Forester from this company in August, 2015. I was told that the vehicle was in excellent shape and that many updates and repairs had just been done by the service department at the dealership. Some of these upgrades are seen in the carfax report. After driving the car moderately for only five months, the muffler completely fell the ground while I was driving. I had to pull over, find rope, and rope the hanging muffler up in order to get the car to the shop. I thought that perhaps the muffler hanger had broken. The mechanic called me the next day to tell me that I needed an entirely new exhaust system. There were holes in my main exhaust line, and there was improper welding on the catalytic converter. Somehow, much to my mechanic's surprise, these things had gone unnoticed by the dealership. The mechanic feels that some of the sloppy welding, which is right on the converter, is illegal. Throughout this process, I called the dealership and the service department. They were unwilling to help me as the warranty provided was only three months of coverage and would not cover exhaust systems anyway. In total, I have to spend over $1500 dollars to fix the system. I feel that this is totally unreasonable considering I bought the car only five months ago. I have already looked into lemon laws, but unfortunately, these cannot help my current situation.

Desired Settlement: I feel that the dealership should reimburse at least part of the repairs I am forced to pay.

Business Response:

 

In reference to complaint ******** the following is our response.

First we would like to say that Honda North puts a quality vehicle for sale. The vehicle that we are speaking of is from our value line lot. These vehicles receive a PA state inspection and safety check. They are generally sold at a better value to the customer who needs reliable transportation and not a newer car. The car we are speaking of had 118817 miles on it at time of sale and is a 2006 Subaru. Our customer states that the vehicle was only driven for five months. I think everyone would agree that when it comes to the roads these are the worst five months,

All that said all that we would require is that the vehicle be brought back to Honda North to inspect the exhaust. If we had done any fault work it would be repaired at no expense to the customer and they would have a loaner car for the duration of the repairs.

Finally, every customer is offered extended warranty coverage for these situations. After all they are mechanical pieces of equipment that do often have failures occur. We certainly would not disperse funds to another service facility for repairs that were not confirmed by Honda North. We believe $1500 dollars to repair an exhaust system is excessive and more than likely where the customers complaint should reside.

Sincerely,

Howard N***

Vice President

 

10/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle in good faith on 4/29/2015 from the dealer, I had taken the car in on two seperate occasions regarding the shifting of gears and loud squeaky sound. I called back in to the dealer in June to set up a service appointment for the transmission service. The service guy was to call me back because he had to get an appointment from the VW dealer. I never received a call back. On July 13 I called back to the dealer to see if they had gotten an appointment- he advised me he was calling the VW dealer at that moment. When he called me back he initially set the date for 8/10/2015, I advised him that was too long and the car was too bad to go that long. When he called back later that day we schedule for 8/5/2015. When I took the vehicle in they assessed the transmission and said there was metal in the transmission and it would cost $5,000. I spoke to the VW dealer personally gather some information and he advised me that the problem had to have existed prior to my purchase of this vehicle. They have been giving me the run around for over three weeks now and it is getting exhausting. I have asked them to buy the vehicle back because obviously there is an issue. I purchased this vehicle in good faith and from the reputation of the company itself; however they sold me a defective vehicle. I am a business owner and my business has suffered as a result of me not being able to attend closings in different areas for lack of transportation. I am paying a car payment on a vehicle that is not operable.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the dealer to either buy the car back for the value I currently owe to the lender, give me a replacement vehicle, or repair the transmission.

Business Response:

Dear *********

I am addressing complaint 10791492 by ****** ** ******** in your letter dated 8-31-15

We sold this vehicle 4-29-15 with a lifetime engine only warranty. The customer was offered an extended warranty which she indicated was not purchased because the bank wouldnt finance it. Something we cannot control.

We do not warrant vehicles 3 months and 7000 miles after we sell them.

This customer indicated in her letter that she returned 2 times for a transmission problem. As you will see from exhibit A {attached) the complaint on May 8 was for a screeching sound when driving. It was a belt noise and we replaced the egr tube due to a whistling noise. At this point in time, had there been a transmission shift issue, i am sure she would have told us. When she did tell us of a transmission issue it was 3 months after purchase.

I have also attached our shop repairs which we put all vehicles thru a thorough inspection. We did 1400.00 worth of work to the car. We NEVER would have sold this car with a transmission concern, much less put money into a car with such an issue.

We also have carfax with no history of transmission failure. (Attached)

In closing, we are not insensitive to the issue this customer has, but we cannot guarantee used cars forever. This is why we sell extended warranties.

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Thanks

Rich S***** ******* ********

Honda North

**********************

724-482 2156X****


Business Response:

October 15,2015

Better Business Bureau 400 Holiday Drive, Suite 229 Pittsburgh, PA 15220

Re: ********

Please see attached the Buyers Guide for the 2010 Volkswagen CC that was purchased by ****** ******** on April 29, 2015. The Buyers Guide is posted in the vehicle while it ts on our lot for sale. At the time of delivery, the customer signs the Buyers Guide and it dearly states that a service contract is available to purchase at an additional fee.

At the time of sale, Ms. ******** purchased a Road Hazard Tire & Wheel policy, a Zurich Shield Protection Package and a Gap Insurance policy. The Lifetime Engine Warranty is included with the purchase of vehicle at no additional charge.

We performed mechanical repairs to this vehicle in the amount of $1421,84 and there were cosmetic repairs that amounted to $1020.00 which include a full detail and minor bumper repair. Copies of both repair orders that were dosed from our computer system are attached that verify those amounts. The vehicle history report that was given to Ms. Franklin, unfortunately, is incorrect, There is $7114.90 shown as parts on the report that is not correct. This is, obviously, a flaw in our system that we are looking into.

In summary, this vehicle was inspected, diagnosed and repaired on March 30,2015 by qualified technicians. We stand by the fact that we would never put a vehicle for sale and deliver it with a known mechanical issue including transmission issues. The vehicle was delivered on April 29, 2015 with 71,991 miles on It. Ms. ********'s first complaint regarding anything related to the transmission was on July 21,2015 with 77,381 miles on it. If this vehicle had a bad transmission, we should have seen it here well before 5,390 miles and we cannot be responsible for how this vehicle is driven in 3 months and 5,390 miles.

Sincerely,

Howard N***

Vice President

HONDA NORTH


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The information Honda North presented to me was faulty and did not address all the issued outlined, therefore how am I suppose to accept anything they say as fact. The sales agent and finance manager Never offered a power train warranty as I stated before. The other warranted stated where not something I myself requested, both the finance and sales manager advised me those were a part of the sales agreement on the purchase of the vehicle- I was NOT given an OPTION. Honda North misrepresented a material fact, you state your system was "flawed" how do and to what affect? The information was transfer therefore the information given was expressed as factual. They are not taking responsibility for their mistake as I have said before and if they are not willing to rectify the situation I will proceed with a civil suit to seek equitable remedy in this matter. I was trying to get an appointment with Honda North to take a look at my vehicle well before 7-21-15. Had they performed the work back in May /June it would have been taken care of. The technician just passed it off as a sensor error. Like I said before I'm not sure why your system doesn't have a record of that per se, but it may also be a result of your faulty system. 

Regards,

****** ********

8/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used vehicle from Honda North back in May of 2014, when I went to routinely change the oil three months later, there was none in the vehicle. I took it into Honda North an requested it be Documented and repaired. They assured me it would be documented, but fell short in the repair department. They washed my car and sent me on my way with no solution to my problem. I then monitored the oil consumption and came to the consistent result that the car was burning more than a quart of oil every 1000 miles. I took it back up to Honda and insisted something be done. They said they would perform an oil consumption test at my own cost. Then the technician told me it's rare that anything would likely be done even after the results were conclusive 2000 miles down the road. My complaint is this: I paid top dollar for a vehicle I believed was in great shape only to find out the method of fixing it would cost in upwards of $2500. The dealership needs to stand behind the products they sell and make ethical standards a must at all cost.

Desired Settlement: I believe it would be fair for all parties if Honda North repaired all necessary components, or bought the car back from me for what I owe on it.

Business Response:

I am writing concerning case number ******** for Mr. ******** ****. I have reviewed his concerns as well as our history and information regarding his vehicle.

At this point we do not have enough information to draw any conclusion as to whether there is even a problem, and if so, what the solution will be. From the customer's point of view, I am sure he is concerned. But, unfortunately, his word that his car "had no oil in it" is not diagnostic evidence, which we are required to have from whoever warrants his car. When we checked it here, there wasn't any hard evidence of an issue. As you will see from the attached documents, we have asked the customer to participate in an oil consumption test to properly diagnose his concern. This takes time and is terribly inconvenient for him, but is unavoidable.

No one at Honda North told him that it is unlikely that anything will be done. The fact of the matter is, in a case like this, when it comes to consumption, a certain amount is considered commercially acceptable. I have no control over the decision of the company that warrants the car, whomever that may be. The reality is, that we profit from doing repairs, so we have no reason to NOT fix the car if we can verify an issue.

So in closing, Mr. **** should know that he needs to come here if he suspects the oil is low and have us document it to support his case. This is all we have asked him to do, and we will not be able to help him if he does not cooperate.

Please let me know if there is any more information you need from Honda North.

 

 

Consumer Response:     I have recently finished the oil Consumption test as per Honda North's recommendations, and I believe the first reading was not accurate due to the incompetence of the techs that they have working there, I would like to refer Honda North to the website ***************** and read all of the Oil Consumption complaints regarding Hondas in general.  They are all extremely similar to my situation.  Honda needs to Back the products that they sell and repair my car.  I am still awaiting a response from Honda north regarding the oil consumption test results.  thank you

Regards,

******** ****

Business Response:

We are currently working with Honda and ******** **** during the oil consumption testing process. Mr. **** was last here for a test on February 12th. We are in contact with the manufacturer on a regular basis. When we are Informed of their findings on the testing, we will then discuss any future repair options with Mr. ****. 


Sincerely,

HONDA NORTH

******* ******

Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: This issue is still not resolved, I did contact the manufacturer and they admit there is faulty equipment on the vehicle. they offered to pay $1700 of the $3400 repair.  When I inquired to HondaNorth about contributing the other Half, they chose not to participate in the solution.  I feel that I had paid "TOP DOLLAR" for this vehicle because I was led to believe this vehicle was in great shape I feel that HondaNorth should step up to the plate and tale care of the balance due for the repair.  It has almost been a year now and the lack of responsibility on HondaNorth's part is astounding.   

Regards,

******** ****

Business Response:

I am writing to follow up with additional information on ******** **** as it pertains to the oil usage on his 2007 civic .

 

American Honda has extended a goodwill offer to Mr **** of 50/50 . That is, to my understanding a courtesy offer based on Mr ****s assertion that there is excessive oil usage. It has not been determined, to my knowledge that American Honda agrees with this assertion, as no hard evidence exists. Regardless, Honda has extended this offer that is roughly  $1700.00 to replace the short block engine.

 

Mr **** has a warranty on his engine for defect and failure thru ****** Insurance company. ****** has denied coverage for oil consumption.

 

Mr **** as far as I know, has not accepted the 1700.00 offer as of today, April 13, 2015

 

Thank you

 

**** ******

Honda North

 

###-###-####

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have stated to Honda North, and Honda Corp America, that a dent, (found by a local dealership) was on my truck before I took delivery of the vehicle. Honda North states that I have made the dent, and it was not there during their inspection. they have both stated they will not do anything for me. I have Pictures of the truck, sent to me via the salesman, "before" I took delivery of the truck, in "their shop", that clearly shows the dent is in the truck, "before" i took delivery. I understand that this dent can be missed easily, but in all fairness to both parties, the quote to get it fixed is $645 for truck nearly in value of $40K, a truck that was considered brand new? I really don't want to break the factory paint to repair this, seeing all i went thru with this dealership and the problems leading up to this point, I feel its fair for them to write us a check, and we will part ways, and i will never recommend this dealership or visit them again. Can You Help?, *** ******* Cell ************

Desired Settlement: A simple check for $645, sent to us, and I feel this is fair, we are honest people, and only want to be fair with each other, we are not telling a lie, and have the pictures to prove this situation

Business Response:

I can only answer this complaint in a very direct way. The vehicles are all delivered in a customer delivery area which is inside and well lit. All of this said there would be zero chance that the dent would have been missed by our delivery techs and sales staff let alone the end customer.

A purchase of this nature is always well examined by our staff and as you can imagine the customer. We have earned the Honda Presidents Award for the past 8 years. The award is based on your customer satisfaction levels. We are always in the top 10 percent of the country.

Please understand that we treat our customers with the utmost of care and respect and always dislike when we hear a customer is unhappy. The situation Mr. ****** is in however a suspect is self inflicted and not the responsibility of Honda North.


Please let me know how we can be of assistance going forward.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Attn: BBB ID #********

Ref: Honda Case #N0****************

 

Mr. ****** *****

 

We would like to say, we are sorry you feel your team would have a “zero chance” that this dent could be missed. I feel that anyone can make a mistake, and we should all take responsibility for our actions. Honda Presidents Award? Please read the following details that we feel are responsible for our reasons for bringing this “dent” to your attention.  

 

For example, were you aware that your staff took a picture of the truck, in the Honda North shop, on August 16, 2014 at 9:02 AM that clearly shows the Dent existed prior to delivery to us? We still have the text message and picture if you would like to personally see it.

 

Are you aware of your team, NOT showing us both vehicles BEFORE we signed all the documentation? Did your team mention that both vehicles were not completed for delivery on the day we picked them up? After this was one of the issues I kept in contact all week about? We just wanted to do this in ONE trip. Are you aware that both vehicles had to come back to Honda North and be completed? A quote from one of my emails: “Just hoping all goes well, no offense just don't want to make a second trip up there, just trying to cover all bases”

 

Did your team explain that we were told, that Honda North could save us money on our payment, no matter how much we stated that this could not be correct? In consequence against our original plans, we purchased a warranty and Zurich Paint coating. But after we agreed to additional purchases, we were chased down, and told we have to rework the purchase contracts because they were wrong, “after” the Zurich coating was applied. We are extremely grateful that you discounted the warranty and Zurich coating, but our payment still ended up higher than planned. Then did your team explain how we were embarrassed, when our friends purchasing our trade in, were asked for extra money, due to the contracts being wrong?

 

By chance did your team explain to you that we purchased an aftermarket remote starter for our Honda Pilot? And after many discussions, you were not able to install an aftermarket starter, and we accepted this. Then at the time of installation, weeks after we took delivery, service now WAS able to install the aftermarket style starter. Imagine how we felt when the vehicle was returned to us, and he handed us a “Honda Remote”, no phone call, no warning, no explanation at all. All I said to the man was “I know, don’t shoot the messenger”.

 

Were you brought into the conversations about how the operation of the Honda Bed cover was explained to us? So we based our purchase of the Honda Bed cover along with a approximate total of $4000 of extras on the Ridgeline on this conversation? Did you know that your team replaced this cover? Again we are grateful, but do you know how many times we discussed the holes from original Honda Bed cover being filled/covered/plugged? Not to worry, we took it to a local body shop and paid for the holes to be filled properly.

 

In conclusion, we are highly insulted that your letter implies that this dent could be “Self Inflictive” and not the responsibility of Honda North. How could a Picture, time stamped August 16, 2014 at 9:02 AM be self-inflictive? Do you know how disrespectful it makes us feel when our emails, and pictures about this situation could go unanswered from your team? Again we are requesting, please write a check for $645.00, to Mr.  & Mrs. ****** ** ****** and place it in the mail to us @ *** ****** ******* *********** *** ******

 

We have approximately 20 Pages of notes, email and pictures if you wish to review more,

If you have any questions; please call me at Cell ###-###-####, Home ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Mr.  & Mrs. ****** ** ******

*** ****** ******

*********** *** *****

Business Response:

RE: ID #********

Mr. ****** *******

 

It seems that we are simply unable to satisfy your needs.

 

We made decisions that we think are the right ones. You purchased an aftermarket remote start and due to software issues, we were not able to install it. As a gesture of goodwill, we put the Honda factory remote start in the vehicle at a 50% more cost to us. The bed cover being replaced could only be another situation where we are trying to please you, the customer. Once the bed cover is installed, changing it requires new holes for a different brand of the cover.

We will stand by our original letter. We do not agree that the dent was on your truck at the time of delivery.                                                                .

Sincerely,

 

HONDA NORTH

 


 


Consumer Response:

Friday, February 06, 2015

 

Attn: BBB ID #********

Ref: Honda Case #N0****************

 

Mr. ****** *****

 

It would seem as vice president you happen to be only receiving half the story, probably the reason why you have only commented on two of the points presented in our last letter, thus for sure you having trouble satisfying our needs. This is why we continually recommend that any person we encounter to not conduct any business with Honda North.

 

Consequently the reason you may have no idea that our truck (the Honda Ridgeline) in question, had an incredible water leak, soaking the carpet on the passenger side floor, so we chose to have it repaired elsewhere. Nor do you know that when our Pilot was returned to you for a 4-wheel alignment and returned to us with the same symptoms, and even after we called your service department about it, (they denied anything was wrong) we decided to bring it elsewhere, paying for a 4-wheel alignment, but this time we received an alignment report that showed the pilot was out of alignment.

 

I sincerely don’t understand why we are dancing around the issue. All items that have been brought up have been agreed upon, but not quite followed thru as discussed, yet accepted. Apparently many internal communication issues. I am only saying that I don’t approve of doing business this way.

 

Someday when we are in the area, I have hopes to find you at your facility to shake your hand and talk about this, but until then, I have no idea how you can deny the issue at hand with a photo that clearly tells the story.

 

We will stand by our letter as well, that your staff took a picture of the truck, in the Honda North shop, on August 16, 2014 at 9:02 AM that clearly shows the Dent was not self-inflictive and existed prior to delivery to us. Again we are requesting, please write a check for $645.00, to Mr.  & Mrs. ****** ** ****** and place it in the mail to us @ *** ****** ******* *********** *** ******

Sincerely,

Mr.  & Mrs. ****** ** ******

*** ****** ******

*********** *** *****

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a 2004 Jaguar X type from Honda North. They said they inspected the car through a total inspection. October 11th 2014. I told them I had a rear left noise and found a left rear bushing needed replaced. They did replace it and I picked up the car Oct 18th. Driving home the check engine and ABS brake came on. They came back and got the car leaving no loaner. They repaired the left rear sensor and Left rear hub and delivered it back to me on Oct 31. I got the car back and put it i my garage and the car wouldn't start. I called them and they said that the car was my problem now. I had it towed to ***** ***** Jaguar 11/14/14 and they said the Heated Module went out and they cost would be $1640 also that the Water Pump had a leak and that someone had tried and repair the Brake Booster Hose by gluing it together.Now why didn't the inspection that Honda North performed, pick up on the Water Pump leak or the Brake Booster Hose repair. This repair will cost $548.00 for the Water Pump and another $80.00 for a new Brake Booster Hose.I've had the car for a total of 5 weeks with an assurance from Honda North that the used car they were selling was in very good shape. I have had nothing but problems with it since my purchase.

Desired Settlement: I feel with the assurance Honda gave me that the used car they were selling was, after their inspection, was in great shape, that they should be responsible for 1/2 the cost of the Module $1640.00 or $820 and full cost of the Booster Brake Hose $80.00 and Water Pump $564.00. Since their inspection didn't pick up on that problem. Total Cost $1464.00

Business Response:

The unfortunate part with a preowned vehicle is that it is a mechanical piece of equipment and can fail at anytime. The State of Pennsylvania has an annual inspection just for these reasons. As stated in the customers letter we have repaired things after the sale that are not required as part of the sale to keep customer satisfaction as high as possible,

I cannot address how ***** ***** might look at a 2004 Jaguar. However, if the brake hose didn't pass inspection it would have been replaced. The water pump had it been bad would have caused the temperature to rise which isn't currently happening according to the customer:

Understand that we retrieved Mr. ******'s vehicle from **** ******** and left a vehicle for him which he did not want to use. The vehicle did sit at his residence the entire time we had his vehicle. We drove the vehicle from ****** ** to and from **** ******** and had no battery issue. My concern for the battery would be that some item was left on and caused the dead battery. Last, I believe the heat module the Mr. ****** is speaking of is for the seats. The heated seat issue is not part of the state inspection as it has no safety concern to it.

Hopefully this helps clear the issue up on your side.

Thank you for your help as always.

7/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2007 Honda Ridgeline with 59,000 miles on it 8 months ago from Honda North in Butler, Pa. The vehicle was inspected and serviced by Honda North prior to my purchase. The vehicle has a documented ****** maintenance record that is solid and complete. The vehicle was advertised with a 100% parts and labor warranty on the engine for the lifetime of the vehicle. I also purchased an extended warranty from ****** at a $1000.00 cost to me from the dealer. I was told by the salesperson at the dealership that the engine was covered for life. The vehicle only had one owner prior to me. Six weeks ago, while traveling from Altoona Pa to Butler Pa the truck broke down without warning. I immediately called Honda North and spoke to my salesman and the service department and when I asked if I should tow it to the dealer, I was told no, to tow it to ******* ***** since it was closer. ****** denied the claim. I spoke to the operations manager at Honda North and he said that was unacceptable and that engines don't blow up because of a bad spark plug (which is what ****** claimed). I ended up with $6,400 out of pocket replacing the engine. I again spoke to the service department at Honda North and they said they stand behind what they sell. Then, today, I got a call from Honda North stating that they are not compensating me and that neither warranty was standing behind it. Then he tells me that ***** ***** basically made it up and it never needed a new engine. Inferred that he doesn't believe it blew up. Then he said I should have brought the truck to Honda North to be fixed....I CALLED THEM FIRST AND THEY TOLD ME NOT TO. Then he said ***** ***** overcharged me by thousands. The truck had 68,000 miles on it, I owned it less than 8 months and this dealership needs to honor the 'lifetime' warranty on the engine and the sales pitch...oh yeh, and turns out the warranty they sold me for $1000.00 was the same warranty that comes with the vehicle from the dealership.

Desired Settlement: I want compensated for this repair. I did nothing wrong. Two warranties and a dealership that says sorry about your luck you must have done something wrong...Thanks,*** ********* **

Business Response:

My name is **** ******. I am the Service Director for Honda North. I dealt with Mr. ********* directly so 1 can speak; to portions of his complaint.

While it is true that Mr. ********* was advised to go to the closest Honda Dealer, it was because of the distance he was from us. It is a relatively normal practice, when, until we knew the supposed severity of the damage, there was no reason to think he had a major problem based on what was described to us as the symptoms, (I mention SUPPOSED because there has been plenty of conflicting information from the people that I have talked to.)

1.                  A spark plug failure caused this. That’s not possible.

2.                  Mr ********* drove his truck for an extended time after it began to fail and the major failure caused excessive damage to the engine. (Not Honda Norths version) The repairing dealer and or ****** have taken this position.

3.                  The actual technician that worked on the truck told me personally that there was a rapping noise in the engine the second that he started it. Mr ********* says there was none. I have no way of knowing, but engine noise would fit the need to replace the engine. A spark plug failure would not.

4.                  ****** Insurance has suggested that the damage was due to driving while the truck was in failure of some sort. I do not know exactly what they said.

5.                  When I suggested that Mr, ********* was overcharged, its because he was. So it is not a stretch to think that the dealer that overcharged him, over repaired his truck. We can do the same job for 2000,00 less, and we are probably slightly more expensive in our market.

6.      We provide the customers with a “lifetime engine warranty” that is backed by ******, as well as the warranty that he purchased through ******. The decision to provide coverage rests with ****** as with any warranty company. We have no control over that

In summary, it is our position that while its very unfortunate that these events have occurred, the warranty company said no, Honda North did not. The repairing dealer provided the information to ******. Honda North did not.

One of these entities would be where Mr. ********* should go for his answers.

7/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Falsifying information on ******.On May 15, 2014 My Wife and I purchased an 2008 Honda Accord from Honda North. We live about 3 1/2 hours away near Columbus Ohio. The car was listed on various internet sites including **********, which is where we found the vehicle.The reason we liked this particular car was the ****** Honda North had provided.The history of the car was all documented including every oil change and all maintenance. In addition to the history being documented on ****** Honda North had added about seven (7) items they had performed on April 03, 2014 after receiving the vehicle in on trade.These items they claimed to have performed is what really made our decision to purchase the vehicle. The items meant we would not have to do any maintenance to the car for quite some time as Honda North did them proactively. We committed to purchase the car over the phone on a Thursday evening by putting down a $500.00 deposit. We then set up a time to pick up the car for the following day around lunch time. Everything was good to go.When my Wife and I arrived at Honda North our salesman had instructed us the car was having the brakes done and would be a while before it was ready. This seemed odd as the brakes were supposed to have been done, according the information Honda North provided on the ******, over a month ago. After the car came out of the repair shop, we took the car for a quick test drive.The car was filthy, inside and out. Again, this was not supposed to be. Honda North stated they had detailed the car on April 03, 2014, yet the car clearly has never been touched.We continued withe purchase and after getting the car back to Ohio and to our local Honda Dealership we also found that Honda North did flush the brake system or rotate and balance the tires as they had stated on their ******.Four of the items Honda North listed they performed were done, however three were not.We attempted to work this out with Honda North but they have refused to discuss this matter.

Desired Settlement: My wife and I would like reimbursed the money we had to spend for the 3 items that were not performed by Honda North as they had stated on their ******.Auto Detail inside/outside $149.00Brake Flush $95.00Tires Rotated/Balanced $48.00

Business Response:

I have reviewed this case and spoken to the parties involved in the sale of this vehicle and made the

following determination.

We don’t falsify anything. We changed the brake fluid. The

 

fact that someone else said we didn’t means???????

 

nothing. In sealed systems, it’s virtually impossible to get all of the fluid removed. A lot of mechanics

in this industry sell repairs based on visual inspections. This is not reliable in this case.

I would like to point out that the dealer that told this customer that they needed a fluid changed also

sold this customer a power steering flush! In 35 years in the automotive field I have never seen a

manufacturer recommend flushing the power steering system. Nowhere in the owner’s manual of that

car does it ever recommend this procedure. In reality, to represent this as regular maintenance is a

rip-off.

In summary, we will not be reimbursing for non-needed repairs. If the customer wants a refund, they

should see the General Manager of the store that took their money for non-needed items,

As far as the detail is concerned, I will take the customers word that it wasn’t sufficiently clean. Upon

receiving a copy of the invoice for the $149, I will send Mr. ********** a check to reimburse for that

service.

Thankyou,

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I respectfully reject Honda Norths offer.

It does not address my complaint in full.


Honda North falsified the information on the ****** they provided. 

Honda North "claimed" according to the ****** they provided to me to have performed a complete brake job on April 3rd, 2014, however our salesman told us the brakes were being done the morning we picked the car on May 16th, 2014.  Which one is it?  Did your salesman lie or did you falsify information on the ******? 

In addition to the car NOT having a detail inside and out as "claimed" by Honda North on the ******, which they now are admitting wasn't performed,  they also failed to rotate and balance the tires.

There was not a single balancing weight on any of the four (4) tires.  The car was vibrating so bad on our drive home we had to call the dealership to verify the car was ok?  Our salesman assured us everything was ok, but that we might want to take it to a tire shop to have them looked at.  

Basically, they knew the tires weren't balanced and this was their way of letting us know.

There is no disputing these items.

Honda North can deny them, however the facts are what they are.


We are also contacting ****** Consumer Affairs Division about Honda Norths actions.  My wife and I relied heavily on the ****** provided by Honda North and had we known that they were falsifying information on the report, we would have done more research on this particular dealership before dealing with them.

We have since looked up reviews of this dealership and can only wonder if this isn't the only time this has happened to unaware customers?

 

My wife and I would like reimbursed for the items Honda North claimed to have performed and did not....not just the detailing.

Brake Flush.

Detail interior/exterior.

Tires rotated and balanced.


We are not seeking additional money for our time and trouble in dealing with their mistake, we simply want reimbursed for our out of pocket money we had to spend to fix their lack of performing what they claimed on ****** to have done.


One last note, my wife and I decided to have the power steering fluid replaced at our own discretion.  It was not recommended by our local Honda Dealership.  I appreciate your input of whether or not you thought it should be performed, however the power steering fluid is not in question here.  My wife and I decided to have it done as pro-active way of making sure our 16 year old son's car was as maintenance free as possible.  This was our own decision.  Please refrain from calling the dealership "a rip off" in the future.  At least they did what they said they would do.

 

Regards,

*** ********** 

 

 

3/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Jeep wrangler from Honda North, 2013 with 8500 miles on it. While in the purchase process,we were told that everything on the jeep was from the jeep manufacturer. It has larger tires(which the pressure gauge does NOT work, and they continually told me that it was fine), and a hardtop roof that has 2 sunroofs.When purchased, the sunroofs had cracks, and we were told that the roof would be replaced, It has now been months, and we have yet to see a new roof. We go back and forth on phone calls and Honda North keeps telling us they will take care of it, but still have not done a darn thing.We took our jeep to two more dealers since then, and we have been told to contact a lawyer, and that nothing on our jeep is manufactured by Jeep. That it comes from a*** **** company. Which now means, the extra money we paid for our warranty, is a bunch of crap. So now, we are completely screwed out of the money, and out of everything because we have a jeep that can't be fixed under warranty, and we have been lied to about everything. Very unhappy.

Desired Settlement: I want all of the problems with our jeep taken care of, and paid for by Honda North. This includes the top being replaced, and the tire pressure gauges being fixed. I want a refund from the extra warranty that we purchased, and a guarantee that ALL warranty work will be covered by Jeep.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:
 
We would like to address the issues that Ms. **** has discussed in her complaint to your organisation.
 
The first issue is the tire pressure monitoring device that is in the tires of most new cars today. These devices often react to the cold weather so with the way the weather has been that could be the issue.
 
Second, the monitoring system on this vehicle is covered by the manufactures warranty and would need to be taken to a Jeep dealer if it in fact would need to be repaired. We would be happy to facilitate that process.
 
Third is the matter of the roof being cracked. We have been in communication with the customer about this matter. The previous owner had ordered a roof for the vehicle as it also is under warranty. The roof remained on backorder for the last few months. The roof was ordered from a Jeep dealer close to Ms. **** for convenience of installation when it arrives.
 
Finally, the request for a refund for the extended warranty can be done anytime by the customer with a simple call to our finance department. We will not be able to guarantee any warranty work by Jeep however as we do not control their warranty process.
 
Sincerely,
 
****** ****
Vice President

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Although, the letter is filled with inaccurate information on the businesses portion. They never ordered the top, and if you need proof of that, you can call the company for yourselves. The tire gauges are also inaccurate information because they aren't even on the jeep tires.

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honda North is refusing to give me a refund on the sales tax that I paid on an extended warranty that I canceled for a full refund within 60 days. At first, I was told by the dealership that sales tax on extended warranties is not refunded. Then, I was told that I did not cancel within 60 days of the full refund, which I did. I bought the extended warranty on 7/19 when I purchased the car. I canceled the extended warranty on 7/31 and the dealership fax the form in for me. I was refunded $1814, the price of the extended warranty to the principal of my loan, but not the sales tax that the dealership charged me. After I disputed that response, I was told that I would get a call back. I did not. I sent an email to the dealership about the responses and treatment that I received, I got a call. I spoke to the same person who lied to me about getting sales tax refunded. He told me that if I want to get my sales tax refunded, then I have to fill out 2 forms to the state of PA to petition to get my sales tax refunded. This is not true. The dealership charged me sales tax and took my money, they should refund me my sales tax as well. Then, they should petition to get the sales tax back from the state, not the individual consumer. I have been lied to and forced to chase my tail just to get back my money which is rightly owed to me. I bet that I am not the first customer that they have done this too. I'm still awaiting a call back from the Business Manager. Other potential car buyers need to be aware of this dealership's tactics.

Desired Settlement: $126.98 refund from Honda North, as they are the ones that collected that amount from me and are now having me jump through hoops. They want me to petition the state of PA to get a refund on the sales tax that they (Honda North) charged me. They need to refund me my money and they need to petition the state of PA for the sales tax, not me. No other company in PA makes their consumer reach back out to the state for a sales tax refund. They have made this the worst car buying experience.

Business Response:

I have attached a copy of check #***** for $126.98 for the sales tax due on the cancellation of Mr. ******** extended warranty. The check is made payable to ******** ***** *******, since the extended warranty was financed on the original loan documents. This should reduce the total amount owed on the loan.

The original sales tax was paid to the PA Dept of Revenue along with the vehicle sales tax on an MVl. The only way to refund tax when submitted on an MVl, is to file a petition for refund. In Honda North's defense, why should we be out the sales tax when a product that the customer purchased was cancelled by him. This is not a tangible product and it’s not like he "returned" it.

We have no intention of fighting over this subject and do not desire further discussion.

Sincerely,

HONDA NORTH

<v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect"><o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t"> 

*** **** Office Manager

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The reason for my complaint was that I was informed by Honda North at the time of purchase that the full amount of the extended warranty was fully refundable within 90 days.  I was not refunded the full amount and was told by Honda North that you do not get sales tax refunded on a purchase, which is not true.  That is what upset me.  I was told to appeal to the state to receive the sales tax that Honda North charged me.  That is ridiculous. They just did not want to do what is right for the customer the first time.  I am glad that in the end they did the right thing.  

 

Regards,

 

 

******* ******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Honda North
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)