BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Honda North?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Honda North

Phone: (724) 482-2156 Fax: (724) 482-4261 View Additional Phone Numbers 665 Evans City Rd, Butler, PA 16001 http://www.hondanorth.net View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Auto Dealers - New Cars

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honda North meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honda North include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1983 Business started: 04/01/1972
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Robert J. Hollack, President Mr. Howard Neff, Office Manager Ms. Susan Varner, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert J. Hollack, President
Principal: Mr. Howard Neff, Office Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS


Additional Locations

  • 665 Evans City Rd

    Butler, PA 16001 (724) 290-7067 (724) 679-7071 (800) 786-2756 (724) 482-2156

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (724) 290-7067(Phone)
  • (724) 679-7071(Phone)
  • (800) 786-2756(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2007 Honda Ridgeline with 59,000 miles on it 8 months ago from Honda North in Butler, Pa. The vehicle was inspected and serviced by Honda North prior to my purchase. The vehicle has a documented ****** maintenance record that is solid and complete. The vehicle was advertised with a 100% parts and labor warranty on the engine for the lifetime of the vehicle. I also purchased an extended warranty from ****** at a $1000.00 cost to me from the dealer. I was told by the salesperson at the dealership that the engine was covered for life. The vehicle only had one owner prior to me. Six weeks ago, while traveling from Altoona Pa to Butler Pa the truck broke down without warning. I immediately called Honda North and spoke to my salesman and the service department and when I asked if I should tow it to the dealer, I was told no, to tow it to ******* ***** since it was closer. ****** denied the claim. I spoke to the operations manager at Honda North and he said that was unacceptable and that engines don't blow up because of a bad spark plug (which is what ****** claimed). I ended up with $6,400 out of pocket replacing the engine. I again spoke to the service department at Honda North and they said they stand behind what they sell. Then, today, I got a call from Honda North stating that they are not compensating me and that neither warranty was standing behind it. Then he tells me that ***** ***** basically made it up and it never needed a new engine. Inferred that he doesn't believe it blew up. Then he said I should have brought the truck to Honda North to be fixed....I CALLED THEM FIRST AND THEY TOLD ME NOT TO. Then he said ***** ***** overcharged me by thousands. The truck had 68,000 miles on it, I owned it less than 8 months and this dealership needs to honor the 'lifetime' warranty on the engine and the sales pitch...oh yeh, and turns out the warranty they sold me for $1000.00 was the same warranty that comes with the vehicle from the dealership.

Desired Settlement: I want compensated for this repair. I did nothing wrong. Two warranties and a dealership that says sorry about your luck you must have done something wrong...Thanks,*** ********* **

Business Response:

My name is **** ******. I am the Service Director for Honda North. I dealt with Mr. ********* directly so 1 can speak; to portions of his complaint.

While it is true that Mr. ********* was advised to go to the closest Honda Dealer, it was because of the distance he was from us. It is a relatively normal practice, when, until we knew the supposed severity of the damage, there was no reason to think he had a major problem based on what was described to us as the symptoms, (I mention SUPPOSED because there has been plenty of conflicting information from the people that I have talked to.)

1.                  A spark plug failure caused this. That’s not possible.

2.                  Mr ********* drove his truck for an extended time after it began to fail and the major failure caused excessive damage to the engine. (Not Honda Norths version) The repairing dealer and or ****** have taken this position.

3.                  The actual technician that worked on the truck told me personally that there was a rapping noise in the engine the second that he started it. Mr ********* says there was none. I have no way of knowing, but engine noise would fit the need to replace the engine. A spark plug failure would not.

4.                  ****** Insurance has suggested that the damage was due to driving while the truck was in failure of some sort. I do not know exactly what they said.

5.                  When I suggested that Mr, ********* was overcharged, its because he was. So it is not a stretch to think that the dealer that overcharged him, over repaired his truck. We can do the same job for 2000,00 less, and we are probably slightly more expensive in our market.

6.      We provide the customers with a “lifetime engine warranty” that is backed by ******, as well as the warranty that he purchased through ******. The decision to provide coverage rests with ****** as with any warranty company. We have no control over that

In summary, it is our position that while its very unfortunate that these events have occurred, the warranty company said no, Honda North did not. The repairing dealer provided the information to ******. Honda North did not.

One of these entities would be where Mr. ********* should go for his answers.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Falsifying information on ******.On May 15, 2014 My Wife and I purchased an 2008 Honda Accord from Honda North. We live about 3 1/2 hours away near Columbus Ohio. The car was listed on various internet sites including **********, which is where we found the vehicle.The reason we liked this particular car was the ****** Honda North had provided.The history of the car was all documented including every oil change and all maintenance. In addition to the history being documented on ****** Honda North had added about seven (7) items they had performed on April 03, 2014 after receiving the vehicle in on trade.These items they claimed to have performed is what really made our decision to purchase the vehicle. The items meant we would not have to do any maintenance to the car for quite some time as Honda North did them proactively. We committed to purchase the car over the phone on a Thursday evening by putting down a $500.00 deposit. We then set up a time to pick up the car for the following day around lunch time. Everything was good to go.When my Wife and I arrived at Honda North our salesman had instructed us the car was having the brakes done and would be a while before it was ready. This seemed odd as the brakes were supposed to have been done, according the information Honda North provided on the ******, over a month ago. After the car came out of the repair shop, we took the car for a quick test drive.The car was filthy, inside and out. Again, this was not supposed to be. Honda North stated they had detailed the car on April 03, 2014, yet the car clearly has never been touched.We continued withe purchase and after getting the car back to Ohio and to our local Honda Dealership we also found that Honda North did flush the brake system or rotate and balance the tires as they had stated on their ******.Four of the items Honda North listed they performed were done, however three were not.We attempted to work this out with Honda North but they have refused to discuss this matter.

Desired Settlement: My wife and I would like reimbursed the money we had to spend for the 3 items that were not performed by Honda North as they had stated on their ******.Auto Detail inside/outside $149.00Brake Flush $95.00Tires Rotated/Balanced $48.00

Business Response:

I have reviewed this case and spoken to the parties involved in the sale of this vehicle and made the

following determination.

We don’t falsify anything. We changed the brake fluid. The

 

fact that someone else said we didn’t means???????

 

nothing. In sealed systems, it’s virtually impossible to get all of the fluid removed. A lot of mechanics

in this industry sell repairs based on visual inspections. This is not reliable in this case.

I would like to point out that the dealer that told this customer that they needed a fluid changed also

sold this customer a power steering flush! In 35 years in the automotive field I have never seen a

manufacturer recommend flushing the power steering system. Nowhere in the owner’s manual of that

car does it ever recommend this procedure. In reality, to represent this as regular maintenance is a

rip-off.

In summary, we will not be reimbursing for non-needed repairs. If the customer wants a refund, they

should see the General Manager of the store that took their money for non-needed items,

As far as the detail is concerned, I will take the customers word that it wasn’t sufficiently clean. Upon

receiving a copy of the invoice for the $149, I will send Mr. ********** a check to reimburse for that

service.

Thankyou,

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I respectfully reject Honda Norths offer.

It does not address my complaint in full.


Honda North falsified the information on the ****** they provided. 

Honda North "claimed" according to the ****** they provided to me to have performed a complete brake job on April 3rd, 2014, however our salesman told us the brakes were being done the morning we picked the car on May 16th, 2014.  Which one is it?  Did your salesman lie or did you falsify information on the ******? 

In addition to the car NOT having a detail inside and out as "claimed" by Honda North on the ******, which they now are admitting wasn't performed,  they also failed to rotate and balance the tires.

There was not a single balancing weight on any of the four (4) tires.  The car was vibrating so bad on our drive home we had to call the dealership to verify the car was ok?  Our salesman assured us everything was ok, but that we might want to take it to a tire shop to have them looked at.  

Basically, they knew the tires weren't balanced and this was their way of letting us know.

There is no disputing these items.

Honda North can deny them, however the facts are what they are.


We are also contacting ****** Consumer Affairs Division about Honda Norths actions.  My wife and I relied heavily on the ****** provided by Honda North and had we known that they were falsifying information on the report, we would have done more research on this particular dealership before dealing with them.

We have since looked up reviews of this dealership and can only wonder if this isn't the only time this has happened to unaware customers?

 

My wife and I would like reimbursed for the items Honda North claimed to have performed and did not....not just the detailing.

Brake Flush.

Detail interior/exterior.

Tires rotated and balanced.


We are not seeking additional money for our time and trouble in dealing with their mistake, we simply want reimbursed for our out of pocket money we had to spend to fix their lack of performing what they claimed on ****** to have done.


One last note, my wife and I decided to have the power steering fluid replaced at our own discretion.  It was not recommended by our local Honda Dealership.  I appreciate your input of whether or not you thought it should be performed, however the power steering fluid is not in question here.  My wife and I decided to have it done as pro-active way of making sure our 16 year old son's car was as maintenance free as possible.  This was our own decision.  Please refrain from calling the dealership "a rip off" in the future.  At least they did what they said they would do.

 

Regards,

*** ********** 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Jeep wrangler from Honda North, 2013 with 8500 miles on it. While in the purchase process,we were told that everything on the jeep was from the jeep manufacturer. It has larger tires(which the pressure gauge does NOT work, and they continually told me that it was fine), and a hardtop roof that has 2 sunroofs.When purchased, the sunroofs had cracks, and we were told that the roof would be replaced, It has now been months, and we have yet to see a new roof. We go back and forth on phone calls and Honda North keeps telling us they will take care of it, but still have not done a darn thing.We took our jeep to two more dealers since then, and we have been told to contact a lawyer, and that nothing on our jeep is manufactured by Jeep. That it comes from a*** **** company. Which now means, the extra money we paid for our warranty, is a bunch of crap. So now, we are completely screwed out of the money, and out of everything because we have a jeep that can't be fixed under warranty, and we have been lied to about everything. Very unhappy.

Desired Settlement: I want all of the problems with our jeep taken care of, and paid for by Honda North. This includes the top being replaced, and the tire pressure gauges being fixed. I want a refund from the extra warranty that we purchased, and a guarantee that ALL warranty work will be covered by Jeep.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:
 
We would like to address the issues that Ms. **** has discussed in her complaint to your organisation.
 
The first issue is the tire pressure monitoring device that is in the tires of most new cars today. These devices often react to the cold weather so with the way the weather has been that could be the issue.
 
Second, the monitoring system on this vehicle is covered by the manufactures warranty and would need to be taken to a Jeep dealer if it in fact would need to be repaired. We would be happy to facilitate that process.
 
Third is the matter of the roof being cracked. We have been in communication with the customer about this matter. The previous owner had ordered a roof for the vehicle as it also is under warranty. The roof remained on backorder for the last few months. The roof was ordered from a Jeep dealer close to Ms. **** for convenience of installation when it arrives.
 
Finally, the request for a refund for the extended warranty can be done anytime by the customer with a simple call to our finance department. We will not be able to guarantee any warranty work by Jeep however as we do not control their warranty process.
 
Sincerely,
 
****** ****
Vice President

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Although, the letter is filled with inaccurate information on the businesses portion. They never ordered the top, and if you need proof of that, you can call the company for yourselves. The tire gauges are also inaccurate information because they aren't even on the jeep tires.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honda North is refusing to give me a refund on the sales tax that I paid on an extended warranty that I canceled for a full refund within 60 days. At first, I was told by the dealership that sales tax on extended warranties is not refunded. Then, I was told that I did not cancel within 60 days of the full refund, which I did. I bought the extended warranty on 7/19 when I purchased the car. I canceled the extended warranty on 7/31 and the dealership fax the form in for me. I was refunded $1814, the price of the extended warranty to the principal of my loan, but not the sales tax that the dealership charged me. After I disputed that response, I was told that I would get a call back. I did not. I sent an email to the dealership about the responses and treatment that I received, I got a call. I spoke to the same person who lied to me about getting sales tax refunded. He told me that if I want to get my sales tax refunded, then I have to fill out 2 forms to the state of PA to petition to get my sales tax refunded. This is not true. The dealership charged me sales tax and took my money, they should refund me my sales tax as well. Then, they should petition to get the sales tax back from the state, not the individual consumer. I have been lied to and forced to chase my tail just to get back my money which is rightly owed to me. I bet that I am not the first customer that they have done this too. I'm still awaiting a call back from the Business Manager. Other potential car buyers need to be aware of this dealership's tactics.

Desired Settlement: $126.98 refund from Honda North, as they are the ones that collected that amount from me and are now having me jump through hoops. They want me to petition the state of PA to get a refund on the sales tax that they (Honda North) charged me. They need to refund me my money and they need to petition the state of PA for the sales tax, not me. No other company in PA makes their consumer reach back out to the state for a sales tax refund. They have made this the worst car buying experience.

Business Response:

I have attached a copy of check #***** for $126.98 for the sales tax due on the cancellation of Mr. ******** extended warranty. The check is made payable to ******** ***** *******, since the extended warranty was financed on the original loan documents. This should reduce the total amount owed on the loan.

The original sales tax was paid to the PA Dept of Revenue along with the vehicle sales tax on an MVl. The only way to refund tax when submitted on an MVl, is to file a petition for refund. In Honda North's defense, why should we be out the sales tax when a product that the customer purchased was cancelled by him. This is not a tangible product and it’s not like he "returned" it.

We have no intention of fighting over this subject and do not desire further discussion.

Sincerely,

HONDA NORTH

<v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect"><o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t"> 

*** **** Office Manager

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The reason for my complaint was that I was informed by Honda North at the time of purchase that the full amount of the extended warranty was fully refundable within 90 days.  I was not refunded the full amount and was told by Honda North that you do not get sales tax refunded on a purchase, which is not true.  That is what upset me.  I was told to appeal to the state to receive the sales tax that Honda North charged me.  That is ridiculous. They just did not want to do what is right for the customer the first time.  I am glad that in the end they did the right thing.  

 

Regards,

 

 

******* ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1