Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Diehl Automotive Group Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Diehl Automotive Group Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Diehl Automotive Group Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 1996 Business started: 08/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD025609.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD030776.

Business Management
Mr. Matt S Diehl, President - CEO Mr. Rich Grossman, General Manager Ms. Corina Diehl, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt S Diehl, President - CEO
Principal: Mr. Rich Grossman, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Diehl of Robinson Diehl Toyota of Butler
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Auto Service Contracts

Additional Locations

  • 258 Pittsburgh Rd

    Butler, PA 16002 (724) 282-8898 (866) 578-1285

  • 6181 Steubenville Pike

    Mc Kees Rocks, PA 15136 (412) 722-1800 (866) 543-4523 (888) 237-3858

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday, July 29,2016, I took my 2009 Toyota Camry to Diehl Automotive where I purchased the car. I reported that the ABS brake light came on and off intermittently, the speedometer stopped working intermittently, and the air conditioner stopped blowing cold air, intermittently. I asked Diehl to let me know what the problem is and how much it will cost to fix it. I was asked by Joyce B******** to sign a contract that said it would take between 1 and 4 hours to diagnose the problem. The charge was $99 per hour. I signed and waited for approx 45 min. Joyce came back with a diagnoses code of VO129 She said it was definitely electrical and it would take a while to find the specific area. I chose to leave the car and wait for her call. if I had chose to stay and wait, would my diagnostic time been less? I received a call from Joyce B******** around 3pm and she told me that the problem was the ABS module and it would cost aound $1900 for the part and the total cost would be $2700 to repair the problem. I told Joyce I did not want to put that kind of money into the car because of it's age. I told her I would be back on Sat or Monday to get the car. When I arrived to get the car this afternoon (7-30-16), I was given a bill of $467.05. I asked why the bill was so high and was told, "I told you it would take up to 4 hours to diagnose the problem." My response was, "If you had the diagnostic code within the first hour, why did it take 4 hours to 'Diagnose' the problem, Joyce's response was they had to tear things apart to get to the exact problem area. My $467.05 charge was for diagnostic purposes not for work on the car. If the diagnostic code was found in an hour why was I charged for 4 hours? If I signed a contract that it would take 10 hours to diagnose a problem would they be ok to charge me for 10 hours? I feel that the general public is being overcharged for services not rendered. And the exorbitant prices are being charged to people who have no recourse. There are very few businesses that work on Toyota automobile so the general public has no other choice than to pay these exorbitant prices. I find it difficult to believe that a computer diagnosis code found within an hour would not yield enough information to make a "definitive diagnosis" and that another three hours was actually needed to "find the real problem." I

Desired Settlement: Reduction of the bill to the exact time used to "diagnose the problem."

Business Response:

Ms. ******** ****

Better Business Bureau of Western PA

400 Holiday Drive, Suite 220
Pittsburgh, PA 15220

 

RE: Customer Service Issue (Complaint ID: ********)

 

Ms. *****

            Please allow for this correspondence to serve as a response to the customer issue referenced above.

            Customer brought her vehicle in on July 29th, 2016 with the concerns about the speedometer in the vehicle “coming and going” as well as a possible air condition system malfunction. Customer, as she referenced in her filed complaint, was informed that a proper diagnosis would take up to four (4) hours to complete. The Customer approved of this diagnosis and attached fee thereto.

 The service writer informed her after forty-five (45) minutes that a code populated on the vehicle which made it apparent that the problem was electrical in nature. This is a general code, and does not give an answer regarding why a vehicle is not performing to standards. With this in mind, as the Customer stated in her complaint, she was informed that further diagnosis was required in order to pinpoint the problem. The service writer was simply keeping the Customer updated on the progress of the vehicle, not insinuating that the problem was fully diagnosed.

After the problem was specifically diagnosed, the Customer was informed of the cost to repair the vehicle, and she declined to have the work done. However, she was still responsible for the charges that she already approved, which resulted in four (4) hours of diagnostic work for a total of $467.05.

It should be noted that the vehicle was taken in at 8:44 AM, and taken out of our service department bay at 3:58 PM, which equals more than four (4) hours of diagnosis. However, due to the fact she was promised no more than four (4) hours, we did not charge her the extra time that was required.

As outlined above, at Diehl Automotive, we take every customer concern seriously, and ensure that every problem is properly diagnosed. We treat every customer that walks in our doors with the professionalism and courtesy that is expected. While we certainly sympathize with the Customer in this unfortunate situation, we operated in a fashion that was honest and upfront throughout her visit. With this is mind, we look forward to the opportunity of assisting the Customer with any future automotive needs she may incur.

 

Sincerely,

 

Diehl Automotive 

8/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my caravan here to have the air conditioning fixed. After having it there several times over a 2 month period (many times leaving it over night & once they even had it for 13 days, they could not resolve the issue. In fact, they made it worse causing other problems. Now, my rear defrost/defrost are not working properly, rear defrost light blinks every time I enter car & when you try to turn air or defrost on, there is about a 30 second to 1 min delay before anything at all turns on. They did "try" to make several repairs, each time taking my van apart, which they also broke/scratched my back & side plastic panels. I had to take it back twice just so they could fix those. Now they tell me they won't continue to fix (there were 2 other things they were going to try) because I am refusing to let them have my car. Yes, I did say I do not want them to tear apart my dashboard to replace the core because I am afraid of what other damage will occur. I DID want them to fix the rear defrost, and they told me there wasn't a problem. They had it for 3 days to do this, but now those problems are worse. I truly wish I did not have them do any work at all, because it is worse now than when I first took it there. The air/defrost still making crazy noises & a "rattling" that is present that wasn't there before they started taking it apart so many times. Plus, back side panel, does not seem right & has scratches on it. Plus, the attitude from the service manager Brad & service advisor Keith was getting too much for me to handle. I started taking it there on April 29, 2016 & final pick-up on June 30, 2016 (with many visits in between) and problem still not fixed. They kept telling me I would not let them have my car enough, I mean, after several attempts and they still don't know what the problem is (still not fixed), I don't know how long I'm supposed to leave it there for them. Plus, all of the other problems occurring every time I went to pick it up. I have every thing documented.

Desired Settlement: I would love to just have my van repaired without paying any charges. I am also working with corporate Chysler, but now I am going to take it to a new dealer & they are telling me that I have to pay to have it diagnosed again, because we have to start totally over. I also do not want Diehl to get away with them causing more damage & now since I don't want them to break my van anymore, they are basically getting away with it. I want that complaint to be acknowledged. I could not continue with them when there was a new problem each time I picked it up, they showed no accountability. I wish I could even just get my van back to the "original" problem with out any expense to me.

Business Response:

Ms. ******** ****

Better Business Bureau of Western PA

400 Holiday Drive, Suite 220
Pittsburgh, PA 15220

RE: Customer Service Issue (Complaint ID: *********

Ms. *****

           

            Please allow for this correspondence to serve as a response for the customer complaint referenced above.

           

            Customer first came into Diehl Automotive of Robinson on 4/29/16 with concerns regarding a leak in the Air Conditioning system. Our technicians diagnosed a leak in the rear evaporation system as the cause, and recommended to replace it. Customer then elected to reject the recommendation, and paid for one hour of diagnosis, which is standard business practice.

           

            Customer then returned on 5/10/16, and elected to have the work done that was suggested on the previous visit. We were able to have her qualify to be covered under a customer care program via Chrysler, which resulted in Customer only paying a $150.00 deductible fee.

 

            Customer then returned on 6/18/16 with concerns about a loud noise emanating from the rear of the vehicle. At this juncture, Chrysler engineers were brought in to assist in addressing the Customer’s concerns. At this visit, as recommended by the Chrysler engineer, the rear evaporation system was again replaced, as well as the A/C compressor. The Customer paid nothing out of pocket for any of these services.

 

            Finally, Customer brought her vehicle in again on 6/27/16 to have the front evaporation system replaced, again as recommended by a Chrysler engineer. She was told the repairs would be completed within three days. She called the second day, and when she was told the vehicle would not be completed until the next day, she requested her car back. We are confident that this final appointment would have solved the Customer’s issue, but unfortunately were unable to complete the repairs.

           

            During all of these visits listed above, the Customer was provided with a rental vehicle at no charge to her. This was offered purely as a courtesy to the Customer, in an effort to alleviate the stress the situation was causing.

        

            At Diehl Automotive of Robinson, we attempt to diagnose and repair all concerns that any customer brings to our attention with the care and professionalism expected. We certainly sympathize with the Customer on this issue, but as detailed above, we have made every effort to diagnose and repair all of the concerns the Customer had. This has been an unfortunate situation for all parties involved however, we look forward to assisting the Customer with any future automotive needs she may incur.

Sincerely,

Diehl Automotive of Robinson, Inc. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear ******* *****


Believe me, if all of this went as smoothly as this reply letter has made it sound, I would be a satisfied customer. I would not have any complaints! They failed to mention that two different times at pick-up, my side back passenger panel was not attached and the broken pieces were left all over my back seat. Also, at another pick-up, my rear plastic panel was again hanging off and filthy (making me scared to keep having repairs done to the van, if they left the outside like this for me to see, who knows what the underneath & inside looked like). 

At no time did I reject service to be done on the van, the first time, I just made a different appointment because after sitting there for 3 hours, they told me that if they did any remaining work, it would not be done before they closed & I would have to return anyway, plus I also had to speak to corporate Chrysler because, yes, they were working with me (Diehl makes that sound like a bad thing. When air conditioning breaks at 24,000 miles that is not a good thing). And the last time I refused service because they have had it several times over the past 2 months, including one time for 13 days and it still was not repaired. At NO TIME did they tell me they were confident that they could fix my air conditioning issue, in fact, the service manager Brad told me himself, how technical & complicated these issues were & they had no idea what the problem was. They were going to replace the air core (doing this would have had then take apart my whole dashboard, which terrified of what other problems would occur, after their previous work). And he said if that didn't work, they would then have to replace the receiver dryer? Again, stating to me that he did not know if this would fix the problem. Do you think I would have taken the van knowing that it would be fixed after going through all this?!When I picked it up that last time, it was already there for 2 days & they have not even started any work, I needed to get my van back because I was leaving for vacation and he could not guarantee how long it would take to fix.

Another issue that I had was that the light on my rear defrost panel would blink for about a minute EVERYTIME I engaged the van (hit the key fob to get in). This issue only occurred after they "fixed" my compressor, which the service advisor Keith told me could be an electrical issue from putting in the compressor. This happened for a good week before I got it back to them & then once there they told me it was not happening, it is still occurring, plus when light is blinking all of the blowers do not work (air, defrost, heat), they are delayed. I know this light had to be blinking for them. I realize now that if you start the van, it will not happen for about another 5-10 mins after shut off. And how funny it was that day I picked it up, they had my van running for me in the service bay (they have never done that before, always just parked in the lot) so that when I had a mechanic come out to show him the flashing light, it would not do it that fast. But I left & went to the store about 5 mins down the road & of course when I got in, light flashing, blowers delayed. I even video taped it & went back to show Brad st the dealer and all he could say was that they did not see it. This is a problem that they caused and I wish it could be fixed, I'm sure it will become worse down the road (also there was a rattling when I now drove the vehicle after they had it, which I learned was the right rear shock after taking it to a new dealer, so who knows what they were doing to my van while driving it- AGAIN this was not broke when I dropped it off).

After submitting this complaint to the BBB, I did take my car to a new dealer as I just stated and they suggested that over $1000 of work still needed to be done to my van. In fact, the service advisor there, *****, literally came out and told me in the exact words, "that my air conditioning was a mess!" How could have Diehl, "fixed" my air if all that work is still supposed to be done? The parts that this dealer said are needed were an accuator, housing for air & part, and right rear shock, are not the same parts that Diehl were going to put in, now stating that they were confident it would have solved my issue. So now, I seriously do not know what to believe!

I honestly am not sure what my next steps are going to be. I can say that I do not want Diehl to ever touch my vehicle again, but I would like them to at least be accountable for the damage that they caused. I want to make the BBB aware that this is the service they are providing their customers. I know it is a hard call, because it is just my word against theirs, but do you seriously think that I would enter a complaint, waste half of my summer, take time off work, to keep taking my car back to a dealer for no reason at all? Think about it...I know in my heart of hearts what the truth is, I have everything documented and the broken van to prove my valid issues. At least I know I can sleep at night, I don't think I can say that for Brad and a few of the workers there. I am sorry, but that is just how I feel. They did not address my issues and I did follow their advice until these other problems started to occur, then I did not trust them with my van. Please just make sure that someone higher up is aware of this unfortunate situation, I feel that Diehl is able to state this reply because they knew that I would not be returning there. I did pay them $255 (does it matter that Chrysler let me pay a co-pay, that should have nothing to do with anything), but I feel that is why they treated me & my vehicle the way they did, because they felt like they weren't getting paid enough. Chrysler did reimburse them for the rental cars, that's what I was told anyway. When they are keeping my car for days & weeks at a time, several different times, they should provide a rental if they cannot fix it in a timely fashion, plus I bought my van at this dealer & that is their policy. (One of the reasons I took it there in the first place with Chrysler telling me that the air would have to fixed at a dealer).

One thing I do agree with Diehl on, is that this has definitely been an unfortunate situation for all parties involved, however, throughout this entire process they have not shown on ounce of accountability for anything and they DO NOT sympathize with the customer, they hardly even take a minute to listen to what you have to say. It was hard to even get someone to call you back or for them to do what they said they were going to do at almost every step.

Thank you for your time. Feel free to contact me is necessary.

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response:

Please find response attached

Ms. ******** ****

Better Business Bureau of Western PA

400 Holiday Drive, Suite 220
Pittsburgh, PA 15220

 

RE: Customer Service Issue (Complaint ID: ********)

 

Ms. *****

            Please allow for this correspondence to serve as the final response to the customer complaint referenced above.

            In the previous correspondence, the timeline was detailed for this particular situation, along with the details of each visit. In that timeline, it is made apparent that Diehl Automotive made every effort to alleviate the concerns that the Customer had. It also details that Customer did not allow us to complete the repairs on her vehicle on her last appointment.

As Customer acknowledges, corporate Chrysler engineers were involved with the diagnosis of the vehicle. These engineers are considered the pinnacle in Chrysler products, and at the juncture they were involved, the technicians were following their recommendations.

            Diehl Automotive cannot, and will not, speak for any other automotive shops opinion on this issue. The only individuals we give deference to are the Chrysler certified professionals that we employ at our location. With that said, we will not address anything that another business said regarding this issue.

            Finally, to insinuate that Diehl Automotive takes amount of payment for repairs into consideration when assisting customers is entirely inaccurate, and not a depiction of the character of our business in any form.

            Again, this has been an unfortunate situation for all parties involved, but as with all individuals that walk into our doors, we look forward to assisting the Customer with any automotive needs she may incur in the future.

           

Sincerely,

 

Diehl Automotive of Robinson, Inc. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

To Whom It May Concern,


I am still very unsatisfied with this response, but I can see that Diehl is not going to stand up and show that they are accountable. As I have stated previously, I did not leave my van at the last appointment because it was supposed to be done in 3 days, when I called them after it was there already for 2 days to see what progress has been made, they told me they DID NOT EVEN BEGIN TO WORK ON IT. At that time, Brad the service manager said that appt times are not the times they do the work (whatever that means), just that they will have it done when they say. And at the time it was supposed to be done the next day- but they told me it would have to stay for at least another week (and they still weren't sure), that was if they didn't run into any more problems. They definitely did not assure me that this would be the FINAL FIX at any time. I had to take it because I was leaving for vacation the next week & wanted to take my van on the trip. That is why I started this process in April. NEVER did I imagine that I would still be taking it to the dealer in July just to have the air fixed. Over 3 months is just crazy!!!

The Chrysler engineer was not sure how to fix it either. They tried the "flush" which he suggested and that did not work. Still broken. There were 2 other things to "try" as they put it- but again, not at anytime did they say this would fix the problem, in fact, Brad kept telling me that they were truly unsure why they could not get rid of the sounds it was making or what was causing them (that is why they called the engineer in the first place, because they didn't know what else to do).

And the "other dealer" suggesting that it still needed $1000 worth of work was a Chrysler dealer also. I don't know how two Chrysler dealers can be so different? How am I supposed to know who to believe? I am just trusting them to do what is right to fix my car. They are supposed to be the experts.

All I know is that this was a disaster from start to finish, I knew it would be from the first day when I went in and the service advisor eating pizza while talking to me from behind his desk, told me they were way behind because their lunch came late, so they wouldn't be able to get my van in for another 45 mins after scheduled appt time. It was just ridiculous! I would never tell that to a customer. Their late lunch is not my problem, but I could see then how they conducted business. It was Chrysler that told me I had to go to the dealer. I just want them to be held accountable for what they did to my van and how they treated me. I wasted a lot of time on them this summer.

My last 3 cars were all Chrysler, but sadly, never again. It is a shame. I will spread the word on Diehl automotive treats its customers. I do not believe anything can be done to resolve this. I am stuck with a van that has more problems now than it did when I took it in to be fixed, AND the original problem is still not even fixed. I would just like the BBB to note the bad service and attitude that I received from this dealer.

Thank you for your time.


Regards,

***** ********

12/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was parked in the Diehl lot for service. It was hit by a flat bed tow truck on 10/18/15, which ripped open the right rear quarter panel of my jeep. First they immediately told me that it was there when I brought it in, which is not the case. I called the ******** Police Department who has a report of the hit & run, the paint chips of my jeep are all over Diehl's parking lot. Then the told me they would take responsibility but only if they fixed it, I choose to take it somewhere else and Diehl then told me that they would not pay for it. Had to leave work numerous times to try to deal with this issue. The bottom line is they do not want to pay the full estimate for my vehicle that was damaged on their lot. Their estimate was $3400 they won't even answer me as to a final price. Diehl called the body shop where I want to take my vehicle and told the body shop they would only pay for cost, which the body shop said they will not do for cost. The customer service is horrendous. My vehicle was originally there in the lot waiting to be serviced for a head gasket, which the price was quoted $1,000., after taking my car apart they are now telling me $2,500.00, which I believe they are covering the cost of the wreck. The bottom is line is my vehicle was wrecked in their care and they do not want to pay the estimate price! Been on the phone with them daily since the incident, and have personally visited business 5 times.

Desired Settlement: I want my full estimate.

Business Response:

November 24th, 2015

RE: Customer Issue (Complaint ID: ********)

Ms. *****

            This correspondence will serve as the response to the issues the Customer has brought up in their original complaint. The summary of the situation is as follows; Customer’s car was hit while on Diehl Automotive’s lot. The vehicle was never moved from the spot where the Customer placed the vehicle, and this was evidenced by the paint chips laying on the ground directly beside the vehicle where the Customer parked.

            Customer was originally in to have engine work performed when our technicians went to move the car into the service garage, the damage was noticed, and after calling the Customer, a police report was filed. After reviewing the footage from the security cameras for over six hours, there was no further evidence regarding who was responsible for the damage. It is at this point the Customer asserted he did not have full insurance coverage, and only carried liability coverage.

            After the damage was discovered, and even though Diehl Automotive has absolutely no liability regarding the damage, we offered as a gesture of goodwill, to do the work at no cost to the Customer. The estimate to do the required repairs was $3,476.86. The Customer was not satisfied with this solution, and indicated that he would rather take his vehicle to a different Body Shop. There was no solution the Customer would accept other than the check for the amount above.

            We then proceeded to contact the Body Shop which the Customer sought to take his vehicle. It was at this point that arrangements were made with the other Shop as follows; Diehl Automotive would supply the parts to the Body Shop, and that additionally, there would be an agreed upon labor rate reduction. After these arrangements were made, we were contacted by **** Insurance to find out that the Customer opted to file a claim regarding the damage.  After filing the claim with his insurance provider, Customer submitted a complaint to the BBB requesting full payment of the estimate when he is likely receiving that amount from his insurance provider.

            Customer’s accusations that Diehl Automotive is arbitrarily raising the repair cost are simply inaccurate.  Customer’s initial estimate of approximately $1,000.00 was just to replace the head gaskets that customer provided.  Customer was made aware that this will likely not resolve all issue he was experiencing with the engine. After we saw the engine, additional work was required and the cheapest solution was obtained.  Customer declined some recommended work and we sublet authorized repairs to the engine.  After a discount, Customer owes $1,508.36 for the work he has authorized to this point.

We continue to try to work with the Customer regarding this situation, as the vehicle is still on our property, and has required more engine work, which the Customer has approved. We are fully confident that an amicable resolution will be reached with the Customer, and we will both move forward from this unfortunate set of circumstances.

 

            Sincerely,

            Thomas D*****, Esq.

            Diehl Automotive 

10/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Found discoloration/dull spots on my 2015 Jeep. I have all warranties dealership "pressure" sold me, which information was verbally stated, and never received paper form to this day. I did take my vehicle to dealership where purchased, Diehl (###-###-####). Later, I received a call from Service Center and was told it was tree sap. They buffed out 2 areas but was not going to touch the other 2 because "it is not their problem". After buffing there is still discoloration in paint. They said that tree sap has/can erode paint. I know that is not the case as many vehicles have parked in this area at my mother's house, even her vehicles (in the past 8 years) and there has never been any issues whatsoever I feel that Chrysler is responsible for not honoring any warranties. I feel that I was pressured into purchasing. I was under the belief that everything would be covered and now they tell me it is weather related. It's as though there is always a loop hole, and I am another victom of the purchase of "warranty purchases". They find a way to get out of helping which leads to more frustration. Also, i feel that there is a defect in the paint job on the vehicle, where there is poor quality of paint and/or workmanship. my intent is to have Chrysler remedy this situation and repair/refinish the paint on the entire vehicle because I do feel there is poor quality. If in a few spots then it would happen all over. Case open with Chrysler #********, on 10/02/15.

Desired Settlement: 1. repaint vehicle

Business Response:

10/8/2015

******** ****

BBB of Western Pennsylvania

400 Holiday Drive

Suite 220

Pittsburgh, PA 15220

RE: Customer Issue (Complaint ID: *********

Ms. ****,

               This correspondence will serve as our response to the Customer’s complaint regarding paint damage to her vehicle.

               Customer brought her vehicle into our business with the concern of paint damage on the hood of her 2015 Jeep Wrangler. We took the car in, and examined it. It is at this time, the damage was revealed to be stains from tree sap. In addition to the two spots on the hood, there were also marks on the front fenders, and roof.

               We attempted to buff out these stains, and it should be noted at this point that there were already signs of an individual not connected with Diehl Automotive attempt to remove the stains. There were marks from a brillo pad of some sort, which resulted in scratches on the surface of the vehicle. At any rate, we attempted to buff out the stains, at no charge, but the stains were imbedded too deep into the paint, and past the clear coat.

               By going above and beyond in this circumstance, it is apparent that we did not treat the Customer with the disdain she accuses us of doing. We attempted to rectify the situation, but there is only so much that merely buffing can do.

               Customer also states that the terms of her warranty were not made clear to her. This is inaccurate. Every customer receives a full explanation of what their warranty covers, and unfortunately in this situation, natural damage such as this is not covered. We understand her frustration with the situation, but have no control over the terms of her said warranty.

               If Customer has an issue with Chrysler Corporation, it should be brought to their attention. We would like to assist the Customer in any way that we can, to help alleviate the stress this situation has brought. It is our hope that we have the opportunity to fulfill any automotive needs the Customer has in the future, and look forward to working with her.

              

Sincerely,

               Thomas D*****, Esq.

               Diehl Automotive 

9/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe Diehl Dodge in ******** ********* ************ is deceiving people with an invitation letter sent to previous customers. They are lying to people with promises of buying your vehicle back with amounts of money that they cannot possibly in their own words do. The salesman says if I was buying a new car they could hide the extra money to make it look like I was getting the amount stated in the letter. They based their offer on my payoff that is all they ask consistently. They said the low mileage meant nothing but when the assessor looked at my van, all he looked at was the mileage. In the letter it stated they would deduct 40 cents a mile over 10,000 a year plus reconditioning. There is not a mark on the vehicle and it has 10,400 miles. A wash and vacuum is all that is needed. I would like them off your accredited list.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to fulfill their VIP Buy Back Event amount listed on the voucher I received or I would like them off your accredited list.

Business Response:

This letter is written in response to Customer's allegations of fraudulent, and deceiving, advertisement. At Diehl Automotive, we understand, and acknowledge, that certain words and phrases can be interpreted differently, causing confusion to any intended meaning. However, it is because of this understanding that we operate under the policy of being crystal clear in any advertisement we release to the public.

In the Customer’s complaint, they allege that we are deceiving our customers by offering a buyback of their used vehicles that we are not prepared to support. We adamantly, but respectfully, disagree with that statement.

On the advertisement in question, it is clearly and noticeably stated in the disclaimer that, "Car value based on Black Book average trade in value less...deductions and reconditioning". This statement clearly conveys the idea that it is very possible that, once the car is examined by our pre owned inventory managers, there may be issues about the car that simply could not be known at the time of initial contact with the customer, thus reducing its value in the form of a reduction. In this specific case, the Customer's 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan needed four (4) new tires. This came to a cost of $800.00, and was deducted from the trade amount offered in the advertisement. In addition, and as stated above, the ad also made specific reference to reconditioning fees not being considered in the amount offered. The recondition fee that Diehl Automotive charges is $695.00, and was therefore also deducted from the amount offered in the ad. The reconditioning fee includes, but is not limited to, items such as inspecting the vehicle, performing a safety checklist, changing the oil, replacing filters and professionally cleaning the vehicle.

The amount stated in the ad for Customer's vehicle was $15,445.00. With the $800.00 deduction for tires, and the $695.00 deduction for the recondition fee, the amount came to $13,950.00. The sales manager proceeded to make the offer an even $14,000.00.

Due to the fact that these reductions were justified, because of the supporting evidence stated above, there is no way that this ad can be construed as deceiving. We understand the disappointment of the Customer, and still hope to work with them in the future with any of their automotive needs moving forward.

At Diehl Automotive, we take advertising very seriously, and as such, we never seek out to mislead or deceive any prospective, or current, customers.

Sincerely,

****** ******, Esq.

Diehl Automotive


Consumer Response: From what I see the Better Business Bureau is not able to do any more than Chrysler’s representatives will do, so I won’t waste any more time on this. But you will never convince me this letter is not deceiving. I would like to see if every car on their used car lot has brand new $800.00 tires. Like the representative from Diehl said to my face, “This van needs no reconditioning”. The salesman never checked anything on the van accept the mileage. I sat by window and watched. They never even looked at the tires which have two years of tread left on them. They only have 10,000 miles on them. The Chrysler representative even said they send these letters out to get people in Diehl’s, to sell them a new car. The salesman from Diehl said, “There is no way they could give me the price stated, it is impossible”. I do not believe it cost $695.00 to wash and vacuum a car. All they were interested in was how much I owed on the loan. Nobody I know or talk to will buy a Chrysler product, especially from Diehl. They outright lie. Thank you for your time. ****** *****

7/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a warranty when I purchased the car and when I went in for an inspection, parts need fixed...tire rods. When I asked about the warranty, he (***** ******) said that it was not in effect yet and that was not true. It was supposed to be (and confirmed with ****** warranty) to be in effect immediately upon purchase of the vehicle. Mr. ****** said it was not in effect and charged me the amount to repair the car, which should be covered under warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like reimbursed for the amount of the repair when the car was under warranty. I am owed that amount due to the fact of the warranty being in effect immediately upon purchase and lasting two years or 24,000 miles. Thank you. ***** *******

Business Response:

Customer purchased a Powertrain Warranty from the previous car dealership.  Customer was

3/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Diehl Automotive Group Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)