Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Diehl Automotive Group Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Diehl Automotive Group Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Diehl Automotive Group Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 1996 Business started: 08/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD025609.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD030776.

Business Management
Mr. Matt S Diehl, President - CEO Mr. Rich Grossman, General Manager Ms. Corina Diehl, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt S Diehl, President - CEO
Principal: Mr. Rich Grossman, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Diehl of Robinson Diehl Toyota of Butler

Additional Locations

  • 258 Pittsburgh Rd

    Butler, PA 16002 (866) 578-1285 (724) 282-8898

  • 6181 Steubenville Pike

    Mc Kees Rocks, PA 15136 (412) 722-1800 (866) 543-4523 (888) 237-3858

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe Diehl Dodge in ******** ********* ************ is deceiving people with an invitation letter sent to previous customers. They are lying to people with promises of buying your vehicle back with amounts of money that they cannot possibly in their own words do. The salesman says if I was buying a new car they could hide the extra money to make it look like I was getting the amount stated in the letter. They based their offer on my payoff that is all they ask consistently. They said the low mileage meant nothing but when the assessor looked at my van, all he looked at was the mileage. In the letter it stated they would deduct 40 cents a mile over 10,000 a year plus reconditioning. There is not a mark on the vehicle and it has 10,400 miles. A wash and vacuum is all that is needed. I would like them off your accredited list.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to fulfill their VIP Buy Back Event amount listed on the voucher I received or I would like them off your accredited list.

Business Response:

This letter is written in response to Customer's allegations of fraudulent, and deceiving, advertisement. At Diehl Automotive, we understand, and acknowledge, that certain words and phrases can be interpreted differently, causing confusion to any intended meaning. However, it is because of this understanding that we operate under the policy of being crystal clear in any advertisement we release to the public.

In the Customer’s complaint, they allege that we are deceiving our customers by offering a buyback of their used vehicles that we are not prepared to support. We adamantly, but respectfully, disagree with that statement.

On the advertisement in question, it is clearly and noticeably stated in the disclaimer that, "Car value based on Black Book average trade in value less...deductions and reconditioning". This statement clearly conveys the idea that it is very possible that, once the car is examined by our pre owned inventory managers, there may be issues about the car that simply could not be known at the time of initial contact with the customer, thus reducing its value in the form of a reduction. In this specific case, the Customer's 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan needed four (4) new tires. This came to a cost of $800.00, and was deducted from the trade amount offered in the advertisement. In addition, and as stated above, the ad also made specific reference to reconditioning fees not being considered in the amount offered. The recondition fee that Diehl Automotive charges is $695.00, and was therefore also deducted from the amount offered in the ad. The reconditioning fee includes, but is not limited to, items such as inspecting the vehicle, performing a safety checklist, changing the oil, replacing filters and professionally cleaning the vehicle.

The amount stated in the ad for Customer's vehicle was $15,445.00. With the $800.00 deduction for tires, and the $695.00 deduction for the recondition fee, the amount came to $13,950.00. The sales manager proceeded to make the offer an even $14,000.00.

Due to the fact that these reductions were justified, because of the supporting evidence stated above, there is no way that this ad can be construed as deceiving. We understand the disappointment of the Customer, and still hope to work with them in the future with any of their automotive needs moving forward.

At Diehl Automotive, we take advertising very seriously, and as such, we never seek out to mislead or deceive any prospective, or current, customers.

Sincerely,

****** ******, Esq.

Diehl Automotive


Consumer Response: From what I see the Better Business Bureau is not able to do any more than Chrysler’s representatives will do, so I won’t waste any more time on this. But you will never convince me this letter is not deceiving. I would like to see if every car on their used car lot has brand new $800.00 tires. Like the representative from Diehl said to my face, “This van needs no reconditioning”. The salesman never checked anything on the van accept the mileage. I sat by window and watched. They never even looked at the tires which have two years of tread left on them. They only have 10,000 miles on them. The Chrysler representative even said they send these letters out to get people in Diehl’s, to sell them a new car. The salesman from Diehl said, “There is no way they could give me the price stated, it is impossible”. I do not believe it cost $695.00 to wash and vacuum a car. All they were interested in was how much I owed on the loan. Nobody I know or talk to will buy a Chrysler product, especially from Diehl. They outright lie. Thank you for your time. ****** *****

7/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a warranty when I purchased the car and when I went in for an inspection, parts need fixed...tire rods. When I asked about the warranty, he (***** ******) said that it was not in effect yet and that was not true. It was supposed to be (and confirmed with ****** warranty) to be in effect immediately upon purchase of the vehicle. Mr. ****** said it was not in effect and charged me the amount to repair the car, which should be covered under warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like reimbursed for the amount of the repair when the car was under warranty. I am owed that amount due to the fact of the warranty being in effect immediately upon purchase and lasting two years or 24,000 miles. Thank you. ***** *******

Business Response:

Customer purchased a Powertrain Warranty from the previous car dealership.  Customer was

3/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable