Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Day West Liberty Subaru

Phone: (412) 343-1600 View Additional Phone Numbers 2310 W Liberty Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15226 http://www.daysubaru.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and repair of new and used cars.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Day West Liberty Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Day West Liberty Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Day West Liberty Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 2005 Business started: 08/15/2005 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD02857.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ron Shiwarsky, GM Mr. Steve Lelich, C.O.O.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Steve Lelich, C.O.O.
Principal: Mr. Ron Shiwarsky, GM
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS


Additional Locations

  • 2310 W Liberty Ave

    Pittsburgh, PA 15226 (724) 327-0765 (412) 343-1600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Day West Liberty Subaru on the 20th of November for service. After not sending the shuttle to get me for pick up as was promised, I came back to pick up my car at the end of the day. While driving away I noticed that my hood was unlatched and I latched it so that it would not impede driving or cause physical or mechanical harm to myself or my vehicle. Upon further inspection, I found that a flashlight was left under the hood as well. I can only guess what maintenance was finished or unfinished that day on my vehicle. I called the service department on the next business day and was told I would receive a call back about the issues but did not. I then called two additional times to speak with the same sales adviser, Dave, that I spoke with the day of and for my attempts at resolution afterward. He continued to promise that I would receive a call back from the manager yet it has been almost two weeks and I just now am hearing back. Keith, the service manager would like me to bring the vehicle back to be checked again but I do not have faith in their service department. They have agreed to reimburse me to have the vehicle checked elsewhere but this is likely to produce no follow through on their part.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the cost to have extremely questionable and dangerous service done to my car. I also now have to take my vehicle to a reputable mechanic to at least make sure nothing else was damaged at Day West Liberty Subaru.

Business Response:

December 10, 2015

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by ******* ****** against Day Subaru in Dormont, PA. 

I have read the complaint in its entirety.  Mr. ****** did have his vehicle serviced at Day Subaru in late November.  The Service Manager who was there during his visit resigned from his position and apparently, some of the normal customer follow-up procedures temporarily fell through the cracks. Upon receiving this complaint, we called Mr. ****** and asked him to drop off his vehicle on December 9th so we could inspect his vehicle.  We also provided him with a free loaner vehicle to drive during the service visit. 

We asked our very best Subaru technician to inspect his vehicle and he verified that the previous work had been completed correctly.  During the inspection, he also found a bulb that was burned out and he replaced it for Mr. ****** at no cost.  I asked our Office Manager to issue a refund check to Mr. ****** for $215.92 from his previous visit and I will provide the check to Mr. ****** whenever he returns to swap vehicles.  While it is our ultimate goal to satisfy every customer 100% of the time, we obviously fell short in this case and I do apologize for any shortcomings. 

I would hope that this explanation is suitable for your records.  Should this matter require any further discussions, however, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####.

Respectfully,

Dan *****

Service Director

Day Subaru

2310 West Liberty Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA  15226

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) promised 100% refund on after market plans that were not as promised. Only received partial payment (have all emails with correspondence) 2) on same used vehicle as above, claimed to pass the Subaru preown assessment, found to need both new brake & rotors (detailed description from service shop that made repairs as to what they saw) after only 8000 miles. Many emails back/forth to day west liberty with promises to look into payment for my brake repairs since the car clearly did not meet the subaru requirements for prreown. Not answering email correspondence over the last several weeks nor did they call me back when promised. Receipts were sent as requested by them- no follow up. Received a call to ask more info- no follow up. Many emails sent- no follow up. From the very first service appointment - they failed to perform requested services.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of after market purchase as requested since it did not meet promised expectations ( only partial refund given, full refund promised) Full refund of brake/rotor purchase since they sold me a vehicle that clearly had bad brakes/rotors since had to replace both after only 8k miles. Even their service manager could not believe that brake pads/rotors bad after such short period of time.

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by ***** *********** against Day Subaru in ******** **.

 

I have read the complaint filed by Ms. *********** and I sincerely apologize to Ms. *********** for our failure to process her refund cancellations in a timely fashion.  The Finance Manager who most recently occupied that office (and who was singularly responsible for processing such refunds) was negligent in that capacity and has since been replaced.

 

I do apologize for the delay in responding, however, as it has taken me some extra time to track down Laura to discuss her noted concerns.  I was finally able to reach her earlier today and this is what we mutually agreed to do……she is OK with receiving the amounts that were originally forwarded to her from the products that she cancelled.  After discussing the repairs that were made to her vehicle by ***** Tire, I have also agreed to reimburse her $620.54 for the repairs that she experienced after the purchase.  That check will be issued to her later today and it will be mailed to her ASAP.

 

I would hope that this explanation is suitable for your records.  Should you need any further information or clarification, however, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####.

 

Respectfully,

**** *********

General Manager

Day Subaru

**** **** ******* ******

*********** **  *****

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 I reject the following info as it is misrepresented in mr *********'s note. 

1) he was included on initial correspondence to day subaru 10/17... Never responded. 
2) after many many unanswered emails to his staff, I filed this complaint
3) I received an email from mr ********* 12/23 promising refund (not received) and claiming he "had just heard" about this situation
4) I received a voicemail from him 1/5. 
5) I replied to his email 1/5 (had been away prior) refuting some of his information, explaining again all of the unanswered emails and promises & requesting the promised refund.
6) he responded via email that check would be sent. 

I was NEVER unreachable. He & his team failed to address issues since October & only when I filed this BBB complaint did he reach out to me. 





Regards,

***** ***********

1/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received a rebate from an unused balance of a warranty from a 2010 Forester. I call the finance dept. always get the answering machine. I leave messages to call me back. I never get a call back.

Desired Settlement: I just want the remaining balance of the warranty, which was discontinued on 12/31/13.

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by **** ** ****** against Day Subaru in ******** ***

I have read the complaint filed by Mr. ****** and I sincerely apologize to Mr. ****** for our failure to process his refund cancellation in a timely fashion.  The Finance Manager who most recently occupied that office (and who was singularly responsible for processing such refunds) was negligent in that capacity and has since been replaced.

It is my understanding that our Office Manager, ****** ********* reached out to Mr. ****** upon receiving this complaint and initialized the proper refund, just as he had requested.  It is also my understanding that the refund check was given to Mr. ****** and he was satisfied with the final result.

I would hope that this explanation is suitable for your records.  Should you need any further information or clarification, however, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####.

Respectfully,

**** *********

General Manager

Day Subaru

**** **** ******* ****** *********** **  *****

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Day West Liberty Subaru
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)