BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Day Toyota?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Day Toyota

Phone: (412) 469-3000 Fax: (412) 469-1912 View Additional Phone Numbers 1140 Clairton Blvd, Pleasant Hills, PA 15236 http://www.dayauto.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used cars sales & service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Day Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Day Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 26, 1994 Business started: 10/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Pennsylvania Vehicle Emissions Inspection and Maintenance Program
1101 S. Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17104
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-265-0921
Drivecleanpa@state.pa.us

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Al Blevins, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Day's Century III Toyota

Additional Locations

  • 1140 Clairton Blvd

    Pleasant Hills, PA 15236 (412) 469-3000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (412) 469-3000(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had recently purchased a vehicle from Day Toyota. I was told at first that I was approved for a vehicle that I liked but had to come up with 1000 down. So I came back a few days later to sign paperwork. I had already made a partial payment for 200 the previous weekend to seal the deal as my sales associate told me. When my husband and I came in to sign paperwork and give the rest of the down payment I was told by the finance office that I was never approved for the vehicle that I had put a partial payment on. I asked to speak to a person in charge about the situation. The finance manager was very ignorant about the situation. Although, he did apologize later. They said they could not finance me for the vehicle that I had made a partial payment on. But they did show me the a 2009 gmc acadia that was brought in. It had triple the miles on it then the car that I was suppose to get. I was so upset but really needed a spacious Suv so decided to go with the GMC. Once we seen the car detailed it really did look nice so we decided to go with vehicle plus we needed a spacious vehicle. There was a dent on Suv that was set to be fixed as soon as the part came in. No Sooner than a two weeks later I noticed problems with my gears slipping. So I left a message with sales representative and he told me he would send it over to service when the dent was fixed. Three days later I called back and left message about vehicle and wondering what the problem was. When I picked up vehicle I assumed everything was taking care of. Once I got home the gear problems started again. I was driving on highway and the car would go forward until I messed with gears. So I called service area to see what the problem was because it was still happening and they told me it was never sent over to service. Really I have four small kids that I drive around in the vehicle for it not to even be sent to service area. ONCE AGAIN I HAD BEEN LIED TOO. Then husband had to complain just to get a rent a car right away. Which I cant fit family

Desired Settlement: in. We dropped car off on Sat and no one called me back until Thurs to tell me transmission went. It is covered under warranty but they have no idea how long it will take to be fix because the gmc dealership didnt give a date. I am driving around in a small box scion. Payment for a suv that I haven't had long enough. I never would have thought that Day Toyota handled business this way. I am furious. I wonder if I had got the Suv that I was told I was approved for first if I would be without car

Consumer Response: I would like money taken of my 443 car payment that I have for a vehicle that I don't have. I have a scion as a rented car when it doesn't accommodate my family.  This whole situation is ridiculous.  I want the sales representative to be held accountable for not sending my car to service area and having to drive something unsafe with my kids. They put an inspection sticker on my car and the transmission was bad. 

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by ****** ***** ***** against Day Toyota in Pleasant Hills, PA.

 

I’ve read the entire complaint filed by Ms. *****.  I’ve also completed my own in-house

investigation to determine what might have led her to file this complaint.  Upon further

review, it does appear that a lack of communication existed between employees at Day

Toyota that might have caused an unnecessary delay in completing the repairs to her

vehicle.  Nonetheless, as a courtesy to Ms. *****, she was provided with a vehicle to

drive while these repairs were completed.  But just as important, she still had an

obligation to properly care for the rental unit that she admittedly damaged during this

repair period. 

 

I, personally, spoke with Ms. ***** late last week.  In a nutshell, she wants Day Toyota to make her $450 car payment and to eat the $415 in damages that she caused to our rental car. As a gesture of goodwill, I am prepared to cover the damages that were sustained to our rental vehicle and I am willing forward a check to her for $250 which she can apply towards her next monthly payment.  Based on our past conversations, I'm sure that she will be happy with this favorable resolution.

 

Hopefully this response is satisfactory for your records.  Should this matter require any further conversation, however, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####…

 

Respectfully,

 

***** *******

General Manager

Day Toyota-Scion

1140 Clairton Blvd.

Pittsburgh, PA  15236

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sep 2, 2013, I bought a new 2013 **** from Day Toyota and the extended warranty. On Sep 3, 2013, I picked up the car and told them I did not want the extended warranty and to cancel it (cancellation within 30 days of purchase has no penalty and customer gets full refund). **** (Finance manager) told me it was too late and that **** (Finance) sent everything out already. So I signed the papers cancelling the policy as of Sep 3. **** said that it will take four to eight weeks to get my refund and that it will go back to the loan originator. He also added that my sales tax will not be refunded which is did not make sense. I waited a couple weeks and kept checking with them to see where my check was and they assured me that I had to wait longer. On the various occasions that I spoke with them, different people told me different things as to where the check was. On Nov 15, I called again and this time I spoke with **** and he said he was going to give me a call back. After waiting a couple of days, he never responded so I decided to give him a call. He informed me that my check was sent out on Nov 18 to the loan originator. I called the loan originator several times to make sure the check was there and it was not. On Nov 22, I gave them another call and was not able to get a hold of anyone in finance. I called again on Nov 25 and the operator transferred me to ****, he did not pick up my call but the operator got my phone number and said that he will give me a call back. It never happened. On Nov 26, I called again. The operator transferred me to **** (he did not pick up again). I called two hours later and this time **** picked up and told me that **** was on vacation and that it was the cash office's responsibility to cut the check. I got transferred to ********* from the cash office. After waiting a couple of minutes for her to check the status of my check. She tells me that it has not been processed and it was just sitting there. Day Toyota lied about my refund.

Desired Settlement: I want the full amount of my warranty to be refunded to me plus my taxes and interest accrued on my loan while they did not even bother to process my refund. The sales taxes should be refunded. When merchandise is refunded, taxes are refunded as well, therefore the sales taxes paid on the warranty should be refunded as the services were not delivered and cancelled.

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by ***** *** against Day Toyota in Pleasant Hills, PA.

 

I’ve read the entire complaint filed by Ms. ***, and I must conclude that if she’s been waiting almost 90-days for a proper resolution to her refund request, I sincerely apologize!  It appears as though we have a weak process for administering these refunds, and I will take the proper steps to ensure that this doesn’t happen again.

 

With respect to her particular situation, a refund check was initially processed by our Office Manager, ********* ********, in the amount of $1300.  I asked ********* to cancel that check, and I authorized a different check in the amount of $1411 – which will account for the sales taxes and a few extra dollars for the interest charges that might have accumulated.  A copy of that check is attached for your review and the original check was mailed to her lender earlier today.

 

Hopefully this response is satisfactory for your records.  Should this matter require any further conversation, however, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####…

 

Respectfully,

 

*** *********

General Manager

Day Toyota-Scion

1140 Clairton Blvd.

Pittsburgh, PA  15236

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However,  I expect my loan originator to receive the check within one week.

 

Regards,

 

 

***** ***

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/13/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was involved in an accident on May 3, 2013 and took my truck to Day Toyota may 6, 2013. Both headlights needed replaced witch were custom headlights. The collision center manger told me that this was not a problem. After not being able to get the correct headlight bulbs the collision manger asked if I could order them and bring them to him witch I did. Now after getting my truck back and having to return over 5 times do to poor wiring and poor installation. Day Toyota still have not fixed the lights correct and is trying to tell me that they will no longer warranty the lights. This is because for what ever reason the collision manager couldn't do his job and had to have me go get the equipment. But on top of this they wired the lights up wronged 5 times and the ballasts are not mounted to anything at all they just throwing them under the hood causing them to bounce around witch ballasts are not intended to do. Mind you it is now July 24, 2013 and I still do not have a truck. They have had it for over 60 days.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the light installed the correct way with the ALL the ballasted mounted correct and for them to cover them under there warranty. It is not my fault that the manager asked me to do him a favor I was just trying to be helpful. If I would have known what this was going to turn into I never would had tried to help out

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by **** ***** against Day Toyota in Pleasant Hills, PA.

 

A few months ago, Mr. *****’s truck was involved in an accident.  The truck sustained significant damage and the cost to repair his truck totaled $9970.  At the time of the accident, his truck contained aftermarket headlamps and fog lights. We asked Mr. ***** where those items were purchased but he couldn't remember. Our Body Shop Manager, ***** *******, told Mr. ***** that we couldn’t find the exact replacement headlamps and fog lights and Mr. ***** wasn’t happy with the items that we had access to, so  Mr. ***** found replacement items on his own and we installed them as a courtesy to  Mr. *****.  Unfortunately, our body technician had a hard time installing the lights, which added more wait time for the finished truck, and Mr. ***** became extremely frustrated.   

 

Our Service Director, *** *******, then called Mr., ***** to try to remedy his frustration, but Mr. ***** laced Mr. ******* with a profanity filled tirade.  Every time Mr. ******* tried to calm him down, the more Mr. ***** screamed and yelled.  Once order was restored, Mr. ******* agreed to send his truck to an outside vendor, ****** *** *****, to have the headlamps and fog lights installed.  Once completed, the truck was returned to Mr. *****. 

 

Mr. ***** returned to Day Toyota a few weeks later with a complaint that the headlamp halo was flickering.  We provided Mr. ***** with a rental car and we diagnosed the problem.  Unfortunately, we found that ****** *** ***** did a poor job of wiring the lights; however, Mr. ***** voiced strong opposition with ****** *** ***** working on his vehicle, so we agreed to perform the repairs in our shop and we installed better wire connectors to eliminate the problem. The truck was subsequently repaired and it was returned to Mr. *****. 

 

A few days later, Mr. ***** returned to Day Toyota with a complaint that the left low beam and the fog lamps were inoperative.  He stated that "they just quit working, but could you do me a favor and put these new fog lamp bulbs in instead?"  Mr. ******* asked Mr. ***** if he had tried to install them himself and if he could have done something to damage the lights. Mr. ***** denied working on the lights.  All he said was that he pulled the vehicle into his shop and noticed wire ties on top of the battery and that the battery had been removed and wasn't installed properly. Once again, Mr. ******* asked Mr. ***** if he had worked on the lights, but once again, he denied doing so.  He clearly was not telling the truth, because after the last repair, Mr. ******* had thoroughly inspected his vehicle before it was released to him. 

 

The company that Mr. ***** purchased the lights from will not respond to any of our calls or emails, so we can only assume that they will not provide warranty coverage for any of those parts.  (We checked on-line and even their website is somewhat suspect!)  We decided to take his vehicle to ** *******, a local vendor who specializes in aftermarket truck accessories, and they replaced the ballast that was bad for the left headlamp.  The repairs at ** ******* totaled $100, and we did NOT collect the $100 from Mr. *****.   

 

When he returned to pick-up his vehicle, he was unhappy that the ballasts were not mounted, so we repaired and mounted them in our shop.  He then asked us to install new fog lamp bulbs that he supplied, which we did, and Mr. ******* made it clear to him that we are not responsible for the fog lamp warranty – he said that he understood.  We also told him that Day Toyota cannot be held responsible for repairing future lighting issues due to the fact that someone else has been tampering with the lighting system on his truck all along.  Once again, he denied any involvement, but it was very clear that someone other than Day Toyota had attempted previous repairs to his truck.  Because the lights he supplied us don’t seem to have any warranty, he was told that if any more problems arise with those lights, we will provide him with an estimate to repair or to replace them – that is, if he wants Day Toyota to get involved. 

 

To summarize, Mr. ***** installed the original HID lights himself, so there is strong evidence that he does like working on his own vehicles.  (Why he chose to replace those fog lamp bulbs with new ones is a mystery – the ones he replaced were still brand new!)  After the initial body shop repair, he returned to Day Toyota (3) separate times for lighting repairs of some sort, and each time as a courtesy, he was given a loaner car at no charge to him.  I’ve been assured that the issues with his lights have been resolved to his satisfaction; however, moving forward, Day Toyota cannot provide a warranty for those lights because they weren’t purchased from Toyota or from one of our approved vendors. 

 

Hopefully this response is satisfactory for your records.  Should this matter require any further conversation, I can be reached t0hroughout the day at ###-###-####… 

 

Respectfully, 

 

*** *********

General Manager 

Day Toyota-Scion 

1140 Clairton Blvd. 

Pittsburgh, PA  15236 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/16/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues