Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Day Chevrolet Inc

Phone: (412) 351-3400 Fax: (724) 733-1544 View Additional Phone Numbers 1600 Golden Mile Hwy, Monroeville, PA 15146 http://www.dayauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales & repair of new & used cars.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Day Chevrolet Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Day Chevrolet Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Day Chevrolet Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 08, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1949
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD031034.

Business Management
Mr. William Numrich, President Mrs. Debbie Peters, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Numrich, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS


Additional Locations

  • 1600 Golden Mile Hwy

    Monroeville, PA 15146 (412) 351-3400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was looking for a very specific vehicle, which I found at Day Chevrolet. I put a deposit down on it and made arrangements to pick the vehicle up. I live 500 miles from the dealership, so my arrangements included taking time off from work, paying a friend to drive me to pick the vehicle up, and getting a cashier's check to pay for the vehicle. I was told ONE DAY BEFORE I WAS TO LEAVE TO PICK THE VEHICLE UP that the dealership SOLD the vehicle. I spoke with the General Manager, who essentially told me "too bad".

Desired Settlement: I want the dealership to go get another vehicle like the one on which I put the deposit, and I want them to sell it to me for the same price I was quoted for the original vehicle.

Business Response:

   This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by ***** ***** ******** against Day Chevrolet in ************ **.

     Mrs. ******** first contacted Day Chevrolet via an Internet inquiry about possibly purchasing a new Chevrolet Colorado from us.  Her initial email correspondence was with ****** ********* our Internet Specialist, and after several conversations, we mutually agreed on an acceptable price to sell the *********s a Colorado.  One of our 3 Sales Managers, **** ********, informed ****** that not only would a credit card deposit secure the price, but it would also hold the vehicle until the *********s made arrangements to come from ********* to finalize their paperwork.  The timeframe that was extended to the *********s was one week. 

     As time passed, ****** shared correspondence with Mrs. ******** many times, answering questions that popped-up during the week.  The day before they were due to arrive, ****** asked a fellow salesperson to help her get the Colorado ready for delivery.  ****** was then informed by another Sales Manager (not ****) that the Colorado was mistakenly sold the previous day to a different customer.  ****** then relayed the bad news to the ********'s in the most gentile way possible.  We tried every avenue available to us to secure another Colorado for them; however, there were no other Colorado’s in existence that were close to the color and vehicle spec’s of the Colorado they initially selected.

     I can empathize with the *********s and I can truly understand their frustrations with the events which lead to them filing this complain.  A sincere apology certainly seems shallow in this instance, but other than offering to order the exact Colorado for them from Chevrolet, I’m not sure what else we could do to make good for our mistake; however, if ordering a Colorado is an option for them, I will certainly bend over backwards to make that happen.  

     I would hope that this correspondence is satisfactory for your records.  Should this matter require any further conversation, however, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####.

 

Respectfully,

***** *******

General Manager

Day Chevrolet

**** ****** **** ******* ************ **  *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Approximately half of the response from Day Chevrolet is accurate, albeit with a biased slant in their favor. The other half is a complete fabrication.


When I spoke with Mr. **** ******** after I was informed that the Colorado was sold, I most certainly was NOT given the impression that he was apologetic about this situation in any way. He informed me that: (a) he told the salesperson, ****** ********, up front that he would only hold that truck for 48 hours and it was just too bad that she never told me that; (b) he never believed we would ever pick up the truck, despite the deposit we put down, because, and I quote, "No offense, but, you're coming from where? ******** or somewhere?"; (c) they never charged the credit card because they weren't willing to hold the truck anyway, and (d) he really did not care that I was livid, that I had already made travel arrangements, etc. He very clearly did not care at ALL about the way this was handled or the fact that it occurred in the first place. 

There WAS a Colorado located in *** ********** ** (approximately 60 miles from Day Chevrolet), that met all of our specifications. WAS is the operative word, because we bought it and I am driving it on a daily basis.  The very day I was informed Day Chevrolet had sold the truck on which we put the deposit, I found the other Colorado at ******* Chevrolet in *** *********, called the dealership and expressed my interest in buying it, and picked it up two days later on the day I had intended to pick up the original truck at Day Chevrolet. By the way, this was a completely cash sale - no financing, nothing - so it took me all of about 30 minutes to complete the sale transaction.

This situation has resulted in me telling everyone I know in the ********** area, including people who live in and around *********** and ***********, about my experience with Day Chevrolet. I am still extremely angry over this, not only because it happened in the first place, but because I was treated callously and with complete disregard by Mr. ********, and now because a half truth was submitted in response to my complaint.

Regards,

***** ********

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an issue with my vehicles check engine light being on in October of 2014, i attempted to call to get an appointment 4 times myself (10-14, 10-20, 10-23, and 10-27) after i was unable on the 4th time to contact the dealership i emailed the service manager Mr. ****** about not being able to service my vehicle, i was then called that day to schedule service on my vehicle. The issue was the catalytic converter on the car. The converter was replaced on 12/10 and i did receive good service once it was scheduled, however after the repair my vehicle started to shake and vibrate while driving periodically and i am still getting strong emissions smells inside the car. I also wanted to have my oil changed. I have again attempted to contact customer service by phone to make an appointment but have been unsuccessful. I called and left messages on 12-19 at 12:15pm, I spoke with an associate who wanted me discuss a survey on 12-22 at 3:32pm who stated she would get a message to the service department and they would call me, 12-29 at 5:35pm i spoke with an operator who stated to leave a message on an answering machine and the call would be returned at 8AM the next morning, and then i again called on 12-30 at 4:18pm when i didn't receive the call. I still have not received a call, i can understand being busy and not getting an immediate appointment, but a customer should still get a return phone call after they leave a message with their phone number. This seems to be a recurring issue. If there is something wrong with the vehicle i don't want to further complicate it by continuing to drive it while it's broken.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be contacted by the service department for my vehicle to be serviced. I would also hope that something with the process of returning customers phone calls is fixed or changed.

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by ******* ********* against Day Chevrolet in ************ *** 

 

I have read the complaint filed by Ms. ********* in its entirety.  We just recently changed our phone and voice mail system to help us process our incoming calls and voice mails more efficiently, but it looks like Ms. ********* fell victim to our old (and poor) system and processes! 

 

We contacted Ms. ********* earlier today and set-up an appointment for her for January 13th at 8am.  She also requested an oil change for her vehicle which we will provide for her at no charge because of the inconvenience she had in setting an appointment with us in the first place. 

 

As a continual solution, I personally invite Ms. ********* to call me directly in the future so that I can ensure that her service needs are always a priority.  She can reach me throughout the day at ###-###-####, extension ***. 

 

I would hope that this explanation is satisfactory for your records. Should this matter require any further discussion, however, I can be reached anytime at the number listed above...

 

Respectfully,

 

**** ******

Service Director

Day Chevrolet

**** ****** **** ******* ************ **  *****     

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards, ******* *********

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my car at this dealership about 2 years ago. Ive had to bring my car in for service 5 times already. The first three times for the same issue. The first time they did a quick fix on it. The second time they claimed to fix it but I had to bring it in a third time. At that time the service tech *** was absurdly rude and condescending to me. Then they said I needed to pay a diagnostic fee and deductible which wasn't true because of my $2000 warrant I bought on the car. They said I needed to pay it if I wanted my car back. Later I confirmed with the warranty company I didn't need to pay the deductible or diagnostic fee. I contacted the service manager and explained my experience. All he said is sorry and asked if I wanted another service tech. He said he assigned me to another girl. But when I went in for a third time I was stuck with *** again. Anyway I brought my car in because of a fuel sending sensor and my remote start wasn't working. *** again took my info. This was on Thursday morning. I didn't hear anything at aall until 5:30pm Friday when *** told me he couldn't do anything on my car because there was too much gas. I asked him if they can siphon the gas and he said I had to bring it beck when I had a half tank of gas left. How am I to know when there is half tank left if the reason I am bringing it in is because the gas gauge doesn't work. So not only did I waste 2 days off of work now ill have to bring it back next week for thensame issue and tale 2 more days off of work because he failed to tell me this when I brought it in. He then had the audacity to tell me I needed to pay a $100 deductible again! I told him no the warrant specifically says I don't have to and be rudely said I had the wrong information. This place is a joke and the service manager fails to address serious personnel issues. They obviously don't care about their customers concerns or value of time.

Desired Settlement: I cannot deal with this dealership anymore and don't feel they do a quality job based on every single event I've been here. I would much rather go to a Chevrolet dealership closer to me that I went for service before that doesn't have any service techs with attitude problems and that don't waste my time. I would have to pay a $100 deductible because it wouldn't be at the dealership I bougt the car, per warranty rules. I would like day Chevrolet to pay this deductible.

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by ****** ****** against Day Chevrolet in ************ *** 

I have read the complaint filed by Mr. ****** in its entirety.  To be honest, I didn’t realize that Mr. ****** had a compatibility issue with our Service Advisor, *** ********* until very late in the game.  Once I learned about it, I tried to remedy the problem by pairing Mr. ****** with a different Service Advisor, ******* ********.  Unfortunately for us all, whenever Mr. ****** arrived at Day Chevrolet for his service appointment with *******, ******* had already left us rather abruptly for another job.  By default, Mr. ****** was, once again, paired with Mr. ********. 

At this point, I can only apologize for the conflicts and the miscommunications that occurred between Mr. ****** and Mr. ********.  I, personally, have tried to call Mr. ****** several times to apologize and to address his concerns and to fix his car, but each time he hangs-up on me or the call goes to voicemail and I can’t begin the conversation.  If I read it correctly, his desired settlement is for Day Chevrolet to pay his $100 deductible so that he can have his vehicle repaired elsewhere.  That proposed settlement is unacceptable. 

The proposal that I was trying to call him to discuss was this…I would be willing to set-up an appointment for him here at Day Chevrolet.  I would provide him with FREE alternative transportation, repair his vehicle, eat his $100 deductible, clean his vehicle AND fill it with gas.  If this is acceptable to Mr. ******, I invite him to call me personally to set-up the visit so that he can deal with me directly – not with Mr. ******** or anyone else in Service!

I would hope that this explanation is satisfactory for your records. Should this matter require any further discussion, however, I can be reached throughout the day at ************.

Respectfully,

**** ******

Service Director

Day Chevrolet

**** ****** **** *******

************ **  *****     

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is **** ****** my old car broke down on me and I decide to go and to Day Chevrolet to see if I could get a car from them so I didn't have to go back to ** *** ***** I did get approved for a 09 jeep liberty I decide to go with that car so six months down the road I noticed that something was leaking from the bottom of my car I come to find out that it was transmission fluid so I took it a ****** muffler by my job the man said it was a part that only jeep could fix so I got my car towed to a jeep dealership they told me it was going to be 800.00 to fix I didn't have it at the money I asked if I could still drive the car they said yes but about three days after the tranny started to slip I then got it towed back too jeep they told me I need that part and a new transmission that would cost me 4,500.00 I then was instructed to bring my car back to Day I then got my car towed back to Day it was there all weekend I called back on Monday and it still wasn't seen yet then Tuesday I get call saying that it would be 900.00 to flush transmission system and even then i was told that the car may or not work that I would still have to get the transmission replaced and I would have to take it to a jeep dealership and that still needed to get another part that cost 800.00 plus a new transmission so that would close to 5000.00 or more

Desired Settlement: I would just like my car fixed or another car or to even have that loan taken off my credit so that I can move on and get me another car I don't think it's fair that I would have to pay for a car that I'm not driving and one that I have only been paying on for less then a year I work as a Cna and I know that can't afforded to not a car to get back and forth to work I would be stuck holding the bag for a car that is no longer running

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by **** *** ****** against Day Chevrolet in Monroeville, PA. 

     Mr. ****** purchased his 2009 Jeep Liberty from us on 4/12/2013.  At the time of purchase, the Jeep had 64,069 miles on the odometer, and it came with a 3-month/3000-mile limited warranty. At the time of delivery, Mr. ****** was offered the chance to purchase additional mechanical coverage for his Jeep but he declined to do so.

     When Mr. ****** first experienced trouble with his Jeep, he had already taken his vehicle to a Jeep dealership in lieu of visiting our service department. That facility told him that his vehicle needed a new transmission cooler (because it was apparently leaking) and he would need approximately $800 to repair it. I pulled his car deal to check the warranty parameters, only to find out that he was out of warranty by over 4-months and 5000-miles. I told him that I would ask our General Manager if there was any type of “goodwill” assistance available to him, but because there had been so much time that had passed since its purchase, our GM declined to offer any type of assistance.

     Mr. ****** didn’t seem too pleased with that result, so he continued to call our Sales Department looking for some sort of help. We then decided to ask Mr. ****** if he would bring the Jeep to us for a second opinion so that we could possibly offer him some sort of assistance. When I presented this offer to Mr. ******, he told me that the Jeep dealer now told him that his vehicle needed a new transmission. So, we arranged to have his vehicle brought to our shop, and I had the vehicle inspected by our transmission specialist.

     We learned that the transmission cooler (which is part of the radiator) had failed and that coolant was intermixing with the transmission fluid. When this occurs, the mixture has a tendency to damage seals and internal parts in the transmission. I instructed my Service Advisor to give Mr. ****** an estimate to replace the radiator and the transmission cooler and to flush the cooling and transmission systems to see if we could possibly save the transmission. Mr. ****** declined that option. At that point, we had our Special Finance people explore the possibility of trading Mr. ****** into another vehicle, but we learned that this was not an option at this point in time.

     It is unfortunate that the transmission in Mr. ******’s Jeep had failed long after his 90-day warranty had expired.  At the time of purchase, Mr. ****** was offered extended mechanical coverage for his vehicle which would have covered the expense of these repairs, but he declined that option. I would hope that this explanation is satisfactory for your records. Should this matter require any further discussion, however, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####.

 

Respectfully,

 

**** ******

Service Director

Day Chevrolet

1600 Golden Mile Highway

Monroeville, PA  15146     

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Day Chevrolet Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)