Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Century 3 Chevrolet?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and leasing of new and used cars and trucks.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Century 3 Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Century 3 Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Century 3 Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1986 Business started: 12/20/1985 in PA Business started locally: 12/20/1985 Business incorporated: 12/20/1985 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is MV076480L.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Francis H Auffenberg Jr., President Mr. John C Auffenberg, Vice President Mr. Gary Lee, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Francis H Auffenberg Jr., President
Customer Contact: Mr. Gary Lee, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Century III Chevrolet Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2430 Lebanon Church Rd

    West Mifflin, PA 15122 (412) 466-9210 (888) 337-8404

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 337-8404(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shysters. I was told that once my paperwork goes into the financial institution, that I would be able to discuss with the financial institution the finer details about payment amount, length, and APR. Not knowing that they sell this contract to the financial institutions. So when the financial institutions buy the contract, they buy it whole. So the dealer is setting the APR, terms, length, and so forth. Not the financial institutions. So I ended up signing a contract based on a lie. Now I am having to get a lawyer involved to nullify the contract that was based on a lie. When I talked with the dealership management, they pretty much just told me to go screw myself. And the financial institution replies, we aren't going to change what we already bought. I have not made a single payment on this new vehicle yet.

Desired Settlement: I want to be rid of this entire situation. The truck, dealer, and financial institution. I would rather walk to work every day than to deal with lies and deception.

Business Response: Mr ******* came here and purchased a 2015 Chevy ******** on January 17th 2015.  Mr ******* went through the entire Financial Process when he purchased his truck.  This includes a full discloser contract, with APR, Price, Taxes etc all disclosed to him.  It was never stated that he would be able to negotiate with the Financial Institution at a later date.

We do not set the terms of the contract.  We must get the approval from the Bank at the terms requested. Only then does the customer go into the F&I office to disclose the final contract.  It is Mr ********s responsibility to ask or read the Contract if he had questions or concerns.

My F&I Manager did the same discloser that is done with every customer.  If you have any questions or need any additional information feel free to call me at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

**** ***
Executive Manager
Century 3 Chevrolet

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.

The financial institution called me to accept the terms of this contract. When specific details wanted to be discussed by me, I was informed that "The financial institution only buys a contract from the dealer". I tell them that if this is the case, I do not accept the terms of the contract. They go on to explain how the dealer sets the details and how the contract is practically put up for auction. Since I didn't just want to take this info as gospel just yet, I called my former financial institution. After a very lengthy conversation with them, they tell me in different words, the same exact thing. And then tell me that that is why they can only deal with a dealership and not any "normal joe". I have also been informed that this was information that I was not supposed to know. But apparently more people have found out about this and there is a "special team" that deals with this. They deal directly with the Office of the President of the financial institution

Regards,

******** *******

3/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they send multiple advertisement offering to buy my **** ******** for a price above kelley blue book. so i call to confirm they can do this without even seeing the vehicle, i am assured yes. I drive 35 minutes to have the GM laugh in my face and tell me there is no way they can do the price listed and if i can find it anywhere to take it. i brought the form with me, this was not some crazy price that i had made up. so i leave and CONTINUE TO RECEIVE THESE ADVERTISEMENTS. when i call to ask to be removed, no one ever answers after asking to be transferred.

Desired Settlement: i do not think a business that conducts themselves in this way should be accredited by the BBB. it is very clear they do not care how they are getting people into their dealership nor do they care about the advertisements they are sending out.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

First and foremost it is not our intention to mislead a customer.  We send out thousands of Mailers every month.  These mailers are sent out by numerous mail companies with all kinds of great offers.  These mailers include but are not limited to credit, buyback and competitive.  All of our mailers have a complete and thorough discloser stating the intent of the mailer.

Mr. ***** has been removed from our system, but he may receive a mailer from a different Mail company because he meets the qualification of the direct campaign we are sending out. 

If you have any questions feel free to call me at ###-###-####.

**** ***
Executive Manager
Century 3 Chevrolet
###-###-####



11/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had bought a vehicle a 2011 Chevy Cruze and I was told it was a 1 time owner, never been in any wrecks or damaged. that is what I was told and the car fax that was given to me stated. when I went to trade my vehicle in at another dealership I was informed by their car fax that mine was created by the dealership and that it was incorrect. I found out my vehicle was wrecked multiple times and their were things that were damaged. I was lied to and do not want to pay for a unsafe vehicle. it has never ran wonderfully since the day I bought it.

Desired Settlement: I would like something done about this whether I get the total amount that I've put down and paid for this vehicle or replacement I don't want a unsafe multiple wrecked vehicle.

Business Response: I am writing to you in response to Ms. ***** complaint.  Ms. ***** stated that we gave her a Carfax at the time she purchased her vehicle.  We found that to be untrue.  We reached out to Carfax directly and they were able to confirm that there was not a Carfax pulled for this car until last week.  I pulled one then to look at it myself.  There is know way for us to know if a car was ever in an accident unless we pull a carfax.  Unfortunately, sometimes that is not even a 100% accurate.  It is not uncommon for independent shops to fail to report claims.  We generally only pull a carfax if the customer requests that we pull one for them. 

I was able to confirm that before she purchased the vehicle we did a full Used Car evaluation and put brand new Inspection and Emmision stickers on the car.  If you should have any questions or need any additional information I can be reached at ###-###-#### Ext *****

Sincerely,

**** ***
General Manager
Century 3 Chevrolet
###-###-####

I had bought a vehicle a 2011 Chevy Cruze and I was told it was a 1 time owner, never been in any wrecks or damaged. that is what I was told and the car fax that was given to me stated. when I went to trade my vehicle in at another dealership I was informed by their car fax that mine was created by the dealership and that it was incorrect. I found out my vehicle was wrecked multiple times and their were things that were damaged. I was lied to and do not want to pay for a unsafe vehicle. it has never ran wonderfully since the day I bought it.

11/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership web site shows a lease on a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado Double Cab for $199 a month with $0 cash due at signing. I spoke with ****** who handles internet calls and confirmed with her manager that this is a accurate ad. I met with salesman, ****** *****, and he said it requires a trade in or cash to qualify for the deal. When I questioned the ad, he said that all dealerships advertise this way to get people in the door.

Desired Settlement: Remove deceptive ad from company web site.

Business Response:

This is in response to the advertisement that Mr. ****** had an issue with.  The advertisement is correct in saying there is No Money due @ signing.  It was explained wrong to Mr ******.  The problem with getting him to the 199.00 a month as advertised is he did not qualify for a couple of the Incentives offered by the Manufacture.  I have removed the Ad from our website until I can rectify the disclaimer.  I apologise  for any confusion this may have caused.  If you have any questions feel free to call me at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

**** ***
General Manager
Century 3 CChevrolet

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed contract to purchase 2014 Jeep Compass (used). Two weeks after driving vehicle home received call from dealer that the loan was not approved and that I would need to sign another contract for different finance company.This illegal practice is called "yo-yo scam".

Desired Settlement: Return Jeep and retrive trade-in car.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

I am writing your office in regards to a complaint filed with your office by ***** ********.  Miss ******** came in and purchased a 2014 Jeep Compass.  When she left with the Jeep we had secured a loan for her.  When we sent the contract into the bank for funding they returned the contract to us for a discrepancy on the value of the Jeep.  The bank was unable to Book the Jeep out because there was not a value in any of the NADA guides.  The bank then manually calculated a value and that changed the structure of the deal.

We then secured another approval from another bank and were able to resign the customer at a much lower payment and significant savings to *****.  It was never our intention to have the car returned but we gave her the opportunity to return the car or sign a contract with much better terms than the original.  She came in this week and chose to keep the Jeep at a considerable savings.

 If you have any questions feel free to call me at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

**** ***General Manager

Century 3 Chevrolet

###-###-####

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yes i bought a car from this company and it had a dent in the door along with scratches on the trunk; the way my husband works it was hard for us to get it back up there to get fix so this past week we dropped off our car to get it fixed (first complaint is they give us a used car that was almost on empty we call back and we have to fill it up with gas) second they said the car would be done tuesday which it wasn't and then i call wednesday to see what is going on and they have no record of my car being there and i am transferred to all these departments and find out the car is done, they should call the customer to tell them its done. Well my husband goes and picks up the car didn't really get a good look at it cause he was heading to work but while at work he looks at what they did and they didn't fix the problem just covered it up with paint; so i call the sales person that sold us the car and he wasnt much help at all said i have to speak with a manager this is just crazy this place

Desired Settlement: i would like the work done on my car to be right i am very unhappy

Consumer Response: There was no contract its just that after we purchased the car the man that sold us it said he would get it worked i mean common sense is that they would buff these out and they are not very friendly people to deal with.  Also when we bought the car we were told we would be getting free oil changes for life and that is not not the case they make alot of false statements i just want these scratches and the dent fixed better its a brand new car

Business Response:

I am writing to you in regards to a complaint filed with your office by **** ******.  We recently repaired her car as we agreed to do at the time of their purchase.  According to her Salesman, she called after the repairs were done to express her dissatisfaction with work performed.  **** ***** (Salesman) told her that we would be happy to look at it again and try to fix it to her satisfaction.

We recieved her complaint before we had the chance to repair it again.  We are more than willing to make it right, we just need her to bring the vehicle back in.  Mr. ***** has already reached out and left them a voicemail to schedule another repair. 

If you have any questions feel free to call me at ###-###-#### Ext ****.

Sincerely,

 

**** ***

General Manager

Century 3 Chevy

###-###-####

 

 

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to be serviced at this dealership on Friday at 1pm. I was called at 4pm that same day to be told that my car was ready for pickup, when I arrived I was told that during the test drive that my brake line "SNAPED" and that I was unable to stop my car, therfore, it was unsafe to drive home. I was then told that this matter was not at fault of the service center and needed to be repaired before removing my vehicle from the property. He had no idea when this could be fixed! I was so infuriated because I knew that this happened in the possesion of the mechanic and I wasnt at fault. They then locked the service area up where I could not get my belongings out of MY car nor could the find the keys or bill of sale so that i could have my vechicle towed home at my own expense. I was left there 35 mins. away from my home with no way to get to my house and no way to get my belongings. Finally a person from the Sales dept. gave me a ride home and i was without transportation. I had to contact GM directly and talk to corporate so that this issue cold be handled. Once GM talked to the store they QUICKLY went to try to solve the issue. They found that the Mechanic WAS at fault and that he infact did cause the damage to my brake line. They Fixed my car and sent me on my way in the next day. I still was NEVER compinsated for the frustration and the embarrasment that they company put me through, not to mention, that the accusations that were made. I just wish that they had better service and wouldnt try to TRICK their customers into paying for something that they are responsible for.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be fairly compinsated for all the time and anguish that was put upon me in those two days. Also for the False accusations and HORRIBLE customer service.

Business Response: I am writing in regards to *** ******* complaint filed with your office.  When we originally looked at the car we did not think the mechanic had done anything to cause the line to snap.  After further inspection by our Shop Foreman he determined the mechanic had caused the line to snap.  We found this out and were repairing the issue before she called GM.


We fixed the repair at No-Charge to her.  We also took $100.00 Off of her bill for other repairs she had done for compensation.  I believe that is more than enough for her troubles.

Sincerely,

**** ***
General Manager
Century 3 Chevrolet

1/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service