BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Centennial Chevrolet?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Centennial Chevrolet

Phone: (724) 438-2577 Fax: (724) 437-1544 5209 Pittsburgh Road Ext, Uniontown, PA 15401 http://www.dayauto.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale and service of Chevrolets..

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Centennial Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Centennial Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 25, 1990 Business started: 08/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Pennsylvania Vehicle Emissions Inspection and Maintenance Program
1101 S. Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17104
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-265-0921
Drivecleanpa@state.pa.us

Business Management
Mr. William Numrich, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Numrich, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS


Additional Locations

  • 5209 Pittsburgh Road Ext

    Uniontown, PA 15401 (724) 438-2577

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/31/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August 2013 I purchased a 2013 Sonic in a hurry! I had a rental car that needed to go back and my sister was in ICU on life support. With that being said, I got the car, put my 2000.00 down and went back to the hospital! After my sister passed a few weeks later, I wanted to look at my contract because I didnt understand how with putting 2k down and 1k work place incentive my car payment was so high. Well I look in my glove comparment and NO contract...just a pink slip transferring my plates! I contact them three times and get NO contract. I finally contacted the Finance company and they sent me a copy. MUCH to my surprise I have three service contracts totalling almost 2800 on my loan. Contracts I did not want nor agree to getting! So I contacted the Warranty company and finance company, they assured me I could cancel these contracts. Just write letters stating I want them cancelled and I'll be refunded. So I did this and ******** contacted me and let me know they are cancelled. A week later I recieve a letter from them that they sent to the dealership stating the contracts are cancelled to issue a refund. I contacted them a few weeks later to find out the progress, nothing had been issued. I waited another four weeks and ****** at Centennial assured me the check was in route! That's been five weeks ago. I called the finance company (**) and they have not recieved it and neither have I. I just spoke with ******** once again and they said that Centennial was credited this back in October and would be on their NOV statement that I should have recieved my refund by now that they got it...She told me to contact them and tell them that I spoke with them and that they should have sent this refund by now! I'm getting nowhere with these people and it's been four months. I had to finance this extra money on my LOAN without my knowledge and I'm paying for it...I want my money back! Please take care of this, I'm tired of dealing with them! Its my money, the services are cancelled.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund. It's almost $2800.00! I cancelled them as soon as I realized that I had been charged for them (and didnt ask for them) and the warranty company said that was fine I could cancel them! NOW I want my money back. That's money that I had to "borrow" from the finance company and that I'm paying back and that I need to pay on my car!! I just want my refund, the services are cancelled and they have no right to keep my money! It's been four months!

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by ****** ***** ****** against Centennial Chevrolet in Uniontown, PA.

 

Back in August of this year, Ms. ****** purchased a 2013 Chevrolet Sonic from Centennial Chevrolet.  It was financed through ** *********.  At that time, she purchased an extended service agreement which was also financed with her vehicle through ** *********.  Sometime later, she decided to cancel this service agreement and she wanted the refund to be sent directly to her.  Because the agreement was financed with her vehicle, the refund proceeds would have to be sent to ** ********* and that amount would be applied directly towards the principle balance of her auto loan. 

 

I just checked with my Finance Manager and with my Office Manager.  Ms. ******’s service agreement was cancelled as she demanded and a refund check was sent to ** *********.  A note was attached to the proceeds check requesting the amount to be applied to the principle balance of her loan.  She should be able to call ** ********* later next week to verify that this process occurred as I’ve described.  Above all else, I genuinely apologize for any unnecessary delays in finalizing her request!

 

I sincerely hope that this reply is suitable for your records and it properly addresses the complaint.  Should you need to discuss this matter in greater detail, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####…

 

Sincerely,

 

 

****** ******

General Manager

Centennial Chevrolet

Route 51 – North

Uniontown, PA  15401

Consumer Response:

I had contacted ******** on Friday and they said that the credit was issued to Centennial in October and appeared on their Novemeber statement. I contacted ** on Friday as well and they had not recieved the refund. I did NOT demand that it be sent to me....why would I continue to contact the finance company to see if the refund had been issued back to them to be taken off of my principle!  You may also call the finance company if you desire, they have record of each time that I had called to see if they had recieved the money towards my priniciple for the cancelled contracts in September! As of Friday, they had NOT been recieved it...and no letter was recieved on my end stating that either.

When the money is applied to my loan at ** I will gladly accept this...otherwise, until it is...it's been since Sept and I was assured by Centennial in November that the check was in route and the finance company has never recieved it and it's the third week of December.  I did ask for it to be refunded to me...I took out the loan for the car and have to pay it back...she said it couldnt be done...I did not demand it be sent to me...I said whatever needs to be done, just refund the money!  That's why I have been contacting the Finance company every couple weeks, because they have not recieved it.

Regards,

****** ******

 

Consumer Response:

I just spoke with ** financial and only two of the contracts which I had paid for have been refunded. They have not refunded the $520 for the Car Care contract that I also requested be cancelled as soon as I received my “contract” from the finance company with the things I did NOT ask for!
 
** said they have NOT received this refund, so what do I do now? They probably have no intentions on refunding it as it was a FIGHT for three months and a complaint to BBB to get the ones that were refunded! This place does not run a “legit” business….I realize that I may have signed the loan agreement, but he never ask me if I wanted those contracts NOR did he state I was purchasing them, which is probably why I didn’t get a COPY of my original signed loan agreement and why I kept wondering why my payment was so high and NO answers from them! And then they would NOT send me the signed loan agreement and I had to get it from the Finance company myself otherwise, I would have NOT known about these charges or extended warranties! I only wonder how many others they do this too!

I surely didn’t have $3000 off (2000 down and 1000 work incentive) taken off my car purchase price only to have it added back on by them….this is ludicrous. So when will the other money be returned?? Or are they just “forgetting about that one”??

 Thanks for all your help!
I hope I can save someone else from this ridiculous stuff!

 ****** ******

Business Response: check was sent 12-13-13, payment is up to ** Finance to process to loan.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 1998 **** ****** from Centennial Chevrolet on December 6, 2011. At the time of purchase the ****** Report did not state that the vehicle had any Total Loss at that time. The dealer also stated that the vehicle was not a Total Loss or R-Title. On August 3, 2013, I attempted to trade in vehicle at another dealership and was told they were unable to buy the vehicle because of it being a Total Loss according to ****** Report. Upon receiving ****** Report from the dealership I then discovered it was a Total Loss as of December 15,2010. Reading further on ****** Report this information did not become available to ****** until February 25,2013. I believe this was something hidden from the ****** Report and from me at the time of purchase. Now at this time I am unable to trade this truck in on a new vehicle due to me being sold a Total Loss vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have what was paid into vehicle refunded back to me and have Centennial take back truck and get rest of loan out of my name and into theirs.

Consumer Response: I do not except this offer from Day Centennial.  I took the documents from their response and attempted to trade vehicle in again at another dealership and they would not except it.  Even with the documents from Pa Registration not showing it as a total loss the ****** report shows it and they will not be able to resale it with the total loss being on there. They gave me the option to buy another vehicle without trading the truck in.  I then took the vehicle back to Day Centennial to see what they could do with the situation.  They were unable to do anything for me. Basically I was told I didnt have good enough credit to finance another vehicle through them, even though I am able to at another dealership.  So in the end I am still stuck with a total loss vehicle I can do nothing with. I feel this is there responsibility to make right due to the fact that they are the ones that sold the vehicle to me and had me believe there was no damage to the vehicle at this time of purchase. I was also told that prior to selling any vehicle Day Centennial thoroughly checks over them for issues. If this was done they should have noticed the vehicle had been repaired or previously damaged. Even if they were unable to sell me a vehicle, I feel they should have made it right by purchasing the vehicle back from me for the amount I have paid into it or atleast whats owed on it to get this burden off my back so I can purchase a vehicle elsewhere.
 
I would really like to resolve this in a civil manner with Centennial and not have to make it a legal matter, but I will if need be.

Business Response:

This reply is in response to the complaint filed with your office by***** ***** ********* against Centennial Chevrolet in Uniontown, PA.  

 

Ms. ********* purchased a 1998 **** ****** from Centennial Chevrolet on December 6, 2011.  Her purchase was financed through ****** ********** Corporation and, at the time of the sale, this ****** had a clean Carfax Report.  After reading the complaint filed by Ms. *********, we contacted Carfax and asked them to conduct a thorough title search on this vehicle in order to determine what might have happened.  A copy of their findings is attached to this response.  

 

As unfortunate as it may be, their research indicates that the Carfax Report that was available to Centennial (and to Carfax) at the time that Ms. ********* purchased the ****** from us did NOT show any type of accident or vehicle loss.  Apparently, there was a delay of sorts from the numerous data resources that supply this type of information to Carfax which prevented Carfax from reporting any type of vehicle loss prior to February of 2013.  A letter of understanding from Carfax is attached to this reply that explains their position in detail.  Furthermore, as of August 20th, PA’s Online Registration System shows that her truck title has NO branding codes whatsoever (copy attached), which further indicates that her truck does have a clean title.  Under these circumstances, I would find it hard to hold either party accountable for the delayed actions of Carfax’s vendors.   

 

That being said, if Ms. ********* would like to pursue another vehicle purchase of some kind at Centennial – or at any other Day location for that matter, we would be glad to extend every professional courtesy to Ms. ********* to make this opportunity as friendly as possible.  If this is something that appeals to Ms. *********, she should see me, personally, about exploring those options in greater detail so that I can put her in contact with the right people at the location(s) that she chooses. 

 

I sincerely hope that this reply is suitable for your records and it properly addresses the complaint.  Should you need to discuss this matter in greater detail, I can be reached throughout the day at ###-###-####… 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

****** ******

General Manager 

Centennial Chevrolet 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.