Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

C Harper Autoplex

Phone: (724) 929-8000 Fax: (724) 929-4040 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 748, Belle Vernon, PA 15012 http://www.charper.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers New/Used Auto Sls/Svc/Bdy Shp/Prts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C Harper Autoplex meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C Harper Autoplex include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C Harper Autoplex
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1983 Business started: 09/19/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is MV014762L.

Business Management
Mr. Casey Harper, President Mr. James Waters, Controller Mr. Bill Wiel, Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Casey Harper, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Harper, C Autoplex

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 748

    Belle Vernon, PA 15012 (800) 400-8130 (724) 929-8000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: C. Harper engaged a third-party repair shop ******* ************** to repair a transmission problem with our 2011 Cadillac SRX in December of 2014. This was done because C. Harper stated that had recently lost their transmission technician. Upon returning the vehicle to our possession after approximately 7 weeks we noted new cosmetic damage to the interior of the car and abnormally loud banging noises coming from the underside and front of the car that did not exist when the car was left with C. Harper for repair. We returned the vehicle to C. Harper (in what was the first of three trips back) and they repaired the interior cosmetic damage and stated that the banging noises coming from the underside/front were due to the brake lines not properly being re-installed by ****** ************* They also tightened the sway bar links alleging to us that *****s did not put the car back together properly. Upon returning the vehicle to us (for the second time) the noises coming from the underside and front of the vehicle were much quieter, but remained. We returned the vehicle to C, Harper (in what was the second of three trips back) and they found that a heat shield was bent and they fixed it. Upon receiving the car back from C. Harper (now for the second time), we noted that they did quiet the noise coming from the underside (which presumably was the heat shield), but did not fix the noises coming from the front of the car. We returned the vehicle to C. Harper (in what was the third and final trip back for the same problem) and they stated that they "thought" it was the struts making the front end noise. After that diagnosis they quoted us a repair cost of approximately $1,500 to replace the struts and refused to repair the problem which we "inherited" from the work of their third-party repair shop, ****** *************. After C. Harper's refusal to repair the damage to our vehicle while in their possession and our refusal to accept their diagnosis and associated $1,500 repair cost, we picked up our car and expressed our dissatisfaction in their refusal to repair the car in writing via their standard comment card. To date, C. Harper has not reached out to us in response to our written expression of dissatisfaction even though they state repeatedly, both in person and in their paperwork, that their customer's "satisfaction is our #1 concern at C. Harper Auto Group." In order to repair the damage caused to our vehicle while in C. Harper's possession, we took the car to a reputable local mechanic. He was able to diagnose the cause of the front end noise and it was, in fact, the brakes. It was determined that the anti-rattle clips holding the front brake pads were damaged, presumably by ****** *************. This damage allowed the brake pads to move up and down and "rattle" when the car would go over abrupt bumps. It was also determined that all of the suspension components, including the sway bar links and struts (which C. Harper proposed to replace), were fine. Had we accepted C. Harper's proposed resolution to pay approximately $1,500 to replace the struts, we would have still had the problem which, at the end of the day, cost us less than $100 to repair. This complaint with the Better Business Bureau is not being filed because of money. Clearly, we have had to expend our own money to repair a problem that was caused by C. Harper (or more specifically their third-party repair shop). .This complaint is being filed because of C. Harper actions as they relate to failing to properly diagnose the damage caused by their third-party repair shop, failing to repair the damage caused while the vehicle was in their possession, and their subsequent attempt to charge us $1,500 for unneeded repairs. Lastly, they failed to honor their claim to make customer satisfaction their number one concern by not following up in any way after we sent in the comment card with our expression of dissatisfaction. From their inaction in following up with us we concluded that they did not care in any way about our satisfaction and, quite frankly, we expected much better business practices from a member of the Better Business Bureau.

Desired Settlement: Practice what they preach! C. Harper's actions in my case are a clear violation of their stated commitment to customer satisfaction. Had they subscribed to their commitment to make my satisfaction their number one concern, they would have followed up with me in some manner after my last service visit. Perhaps a re-thinking of their business approach when it comes to satisfaction surveys would help. It seems that the level of effort given to "good" service appointments far exceeds the level of effort given to "bad" service appointments.

Business Response: Better Business Bureau 06-02-2015
Customer Information
**** * ****** *** ********
*** ***** **
********* ** *****
To whom it may concern:
I understand that the customer is frustrated with the noises in his vehicle. The vehicle
is a 2011 Cadillac with 78,440 miles on it. Things wear out. The struts or the brakes did
not have to come apart to remove the transmission. The struts were worn out that’s why
we recommended them. As the vehicle ages and gets higher miles on it I am sure more
things will wear out. We also replaced a rear panel in the vehicle that the customer states
the third party shop damaged. That cost us about $200.00 dollars. You have to do nothing
in the rear of the vehicle to take out the transmission. The customer did not even buy the
car here. We do not have a transmission tech. We could have easily sent them down the
road to the next dealership but we did not. We have paid for and done as much as we are
going to do.
Thank you
*** ********
Service Director

Consumer Response:

The response by C. Harper dated June 2, 2015 does not address the primary issues associated with the subject complaint, specifically that they returned the car to our possession with a "new" problem that did not exist when we dropped the car off for transmission repair, that they failed to properly diagnose the cause of the problem, and that they quoted us nearly $1,500 for unneeded repairs. Furthermore, the response contains a number of misleading or false statements as follows:

1.   The response states that they "understand that the customer is frustrated with the noises in his vehicle." - This statement is misleading in that the primary frustration was with the "new" noises that did not exist before the car was dropped off for transmission repair.

2.   The response states that "the brakes did not have to come apart to remove the transmission." - This statement is misleading in that C. Harper stated to us that ****** ************* failed to re-anchor the brake lines properly and that was the cause of the loud banging noises when we first returned the vehicle after the transmission service. This acknowledgement by C. Harper is direct evidence that ****** ************* did disassemble the brakes to some degree when they worked on the car. Furthermore, C. Harper could not have any direct knowledge of the extent of brake disassembly unless they were present at ****** ************* when they were performing the work. 

3.   The response states that "the struts were worn out and that's why we recommended them." - This statement is false since it was determined by a third party mechanic that the struts were fine. It is also misleading in that they quote the car's mileage as a contributor for them wearing out without considering the type of mileage the car has experienced. Given its age, the car has been driven mostly highway miles which has much less of an adverse impact on the service life of struts than city miles.

4.   The response states that they "also replaced a rear panel in the vehicle that the customer states the third party damaged." - This statement is false in that the complaint does not allege that ****** ************* caused the damage. The complaint simply states that the damage was new and C. Harper repaired it. 

5.   The response states that "you have to do nothing in rear of the vehicle to take out the transmission." - This statement is misleading in that is related to the false statement presented in Item #4 above. it should be noted that work was performed by C. Harper on the interior of the vehicle on the same side the new interior damage was noted; that work was related to a recall for the driver's seat. From my perspective, who caused it is irrelevant and this particular issue was resolved to my satisfaction.

6.   The response states that "we have paid for and done as much as we are going to do." - This statement is misleading in that it has nothing to do with pertinent aspects of the complaint and infers that some form of compensation is sought through the filing of this complaint. The complaint specifically states that it is not about money. Furthermore, the acknowledgement by C. Harper that they have done as much as they are going to do is irrelevant since the problem has already been repaired.

Given the number of misleading and/or false statements described above,  I cannot accept C. Harper's response as a form of resolution to the complaint. I can only hope that any further response offered by C. Harper works toward the desired outcome as set forth in the original complaint filing. 

Regards,  
**** ******

Business Response: Better Business Bureau
I.D ********
**** * ******
To Whom It May Concern: 07-09-2015
After reviewing the last correspondence we continue to stand by our previous
explanation that the brake calipers and pads would not be affected during the removal,
repair and replacement of the transmission. As we have previously stated the vehicle is 4
years old and has over 78,000 miles on it. The issues that were present are considered
normal wear and tear for a vehicle of this age and mileage. We do apologize for any
inconvenience experienced by Mr. ******.
Thank You,
******* *****
Service Manager

Consumer Response:

While I do appreciate the apology for my inconvenience, the response by C. Harper simply restates their position without any direct rebuttal to the specific issues raised in the complaint. From my perspective, C. Harper has chosen the easy road as a business entity by simply restating their original position without any supporting rebuttal or pertinent acknowledgement of the facts surrounding the complaint. Unfortunately, their form of response was not unexpected given that any acknowledgement of wrongdoing would result in C. Harper admitting fault in matters related to problems which developed after my vehicle was left in their possession, including their failure to properly diagnose the cause of the "new" front-end noise, and their subsequent recommendation to perform unnecessary repairs based on their misdiagnosis. Given the nature of C. Harper's latest response, I see no practical way to resolve the complaint at this time and formally request that the Better Business Bureau maintain the complaint on file without formal resolution.

Regards,

**** ******

12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable