Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Baierl Automotive Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Baierl Automotive Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Baierl Automotive Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1962 Business started: 01/01/1962
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD019241L.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD000543L.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD030428.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD030936.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is BR025221.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is BR025338.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD020694L.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD017475A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lee Baierl, President/CEO Mr. Bob Baierl, Vice-President Mr. William Baierl, Senior Executive of Management Mr. Craig W McMillen, Treasurer/CFO Mr. Douglas Mulligan, Secretary/Vice President of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lee Baierl, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Craig W McMillen, Treasurer/CFO
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES - NEW TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Baierl Acura Baierl Cadillac Baierl Chevrolet Baierl Fiat Baierl Ford Baierl Kia Baierl Mitsubishi Baierl Scion Baierl Subaru Baierl Toyota

Additional Locations

  • 10432 Perry Hwy

    Wexford, PA 15090 (888) 273-6151 (724) 935-3711

  • 10486 Perry Hwy

    Wexford, PA 15090 (724) 452-7530 (724) 940-2085 (866) 938-0458 (888) 586-4369

  • 10785 Perry Hwy

    Wexford, PA 15090 (724) 935-4641 (724) 940-2197 (888) 588-5707

  • 11410 Perry Hwy

    Wexford, PA 15090 (724) 940-2007 (877) 830-5064

  • 19045 Perry Hwy  Route 19

    Mars, PA 16046 (724) 772-1600 (866) 638-2507

  • 540 S Main St

    Zelienople, PA 16063

  • 7475 Mcknight Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15237 (412) 548-0886

  • 9545 Perry Hwy

    Pittsburgh, PA 15237 (724) 741-1295 (724) 935-8100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Baierl Honda leased me a brand new car 2 years ago. The numerous times I have called their office I have gotten voicemail, attitude, and a nuisance feeling. I felt more like a bother than a valued customer. That being so, I sought out another dealership who has been nothing but helpful and friendly. During our new relationship, I decided that I wanted to lease a new honda through this new dealership. Upon running a carfax on my car it was found that my title was branded due to a fraudulent mileage. When I called Baierl they said there was nothing they could do because they didn't have the title ( and this was only after I called for two hours), they didn't offer to look into it or apologize until after I told them I was no longer going to be a customer. Then they said they would offer me a better deal and the title would be no problem. Unfortunately, it is a problem. It's missing a number, branded, and unless I use Baierl my car is worthless. I am reporting them for their lack of help, disinterest, and lies about my title. They have treated me like pieces of gum stuck on a tire and could care less about admitting their mistake and taking care of the problem it has caused me.

Desired Settlement: A new title and relinquish from the lease. Money towards my new car that I am going to lose out on bc of November terms. A frank and sincere apology.

Business Response: In speaking with our Sales Manager **** ****,  he has assured me that ****** ** **********'s title has be corrected.  The state had made a mistake on the mileage when they were recording it.  We believe no further action is needed on our part.  Please let me know if we need to do anything further. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** **********

10/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 2, 2014 brough car into Baierl Acura to evaluate problem with knock, shaking in front of car at speeds of 60+ m/hr and cruching sound coming from right front wheel area when turning the vehicle.Service advisor informed me after evaluation that all tests did not identify any problem except visual evaluation revealed leaking front axles and they should be replaced. I inquired whether that would resolve knock and sound when turning vehicle. He indicated maybe. I agreed to the repaires and had them performed on Aug 15, 2014 after the parts arrives at Baierl. I found the same problem existed after spending $962.59.I took car to **** **** ********** for spin balancing of tires to see if the shaking was because of tires. Service was performed and the Service Advisor indicated that mechanic found serious issue with left front lower ball joint that needs attention. They were not sure how a trained mechanic could miss such obvious problem Distrusting Baierl Acura Service, I contacted Acura and they suggested that I either return the car to Baierl to remedy the original service request from August 2nd or take car to different Acura Service Center for evaluation.I took my car to ***** ***** on August 26, 2014, where an evaluation was performed and I was informed that the problems I was experiencing were because the front lower ball joint and control arms have excessive play and need to be replaced. Again the ***** staff were not sure how a trained acura mechanic could miss such a problem. Repairs Cost $1216.96. I have since driven the car R/T to Asheville, NC over 1200 miles and no more front wheel knocks or sounds. At this time I will reserve my thoughts on this issue with Baierl service staff to poor training.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund on the work performed at Baierl Acura that that was relevant to resolving the original problem I requested on August 2, 2014.

Business Response: In reviewing this complaint I see we repaired leaking in both front axles of which the technician did not gaurentee that this would fix the noise.  The customer agreed to the repairs after he was told this.  We belive the repair of the axles were needed.  Mr. ******* did not give us a chance to remedy the problem as was suggested as an option from the Acura manufacturer.  Work was done on his vehicle that was needed.  We do not concur with him on his desired settlement.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I clearly understand the basis of their response, but the fact remains that the repair in no way fixed the problem and when two separate auto service departments, one an Acura Certified Service Dept and the other a independent Service Center were able to identify the real problem on first review and road test and wondered why it wasn't  obvious to trained mechanics at Bariel.

I thanks the BBB for its efforts but I will take this matter to the highest level that I can at Acura USA.

Regards,

******* *******

8/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I scheduled an appointment at baierl fiat for a state inspection and emission. The manager called to reschedule my appointment because apparently they were moving locations (although he didn't actually tell me this until I called after arriving at my appointment to find an empty service center.). Then, once I went to check in, they told me the manager never put my appointment on file but they could squeeze me in.c after 4 long hours of waiting (they told me it would be 2 hours) they went to ring me up and the customer service rep and the manager could not figure out how to use the computer causing the checkout process to take an additional 20 minutes and ending with them just charging my credit card promising an invoice in the mail. Then, the very next day, I turn on my car only to have the engine start shaking and the check engine light flashing. I called Baierl Fiat to let them know and the only thing they did was deny responsibility. I asked if Fiat had road side assistance and the clerk simply responded "uh, I don't know." Then, I was out on the phone with the technician who I described the issues and he tells me he isn't responsible but to drive it in to be looked at. I then proceeded to call another fiat dealer who said the Baierl technician was completely wrong and that when the check engine light is flashing the car should not be driven at all but towed....that driving it would cause even more damage. The Baierl Fiat "customer service" was top 3 worst experiences I've ever had. Instead of offering solutions they were quick to deny responsibility. It just seems like quite a coincidence that my car was running perfectly fine until I had it inspected by the technician at Baierl Fiat. I would never recommend anyone get their car serviced there unless you want to incur even more costs to have someone else fix their mistakes!

Desired Settlement: I paid $50+ for the inspection and who knows how much the total will be once it's fixed by the other Fiat dealership. I think Baierl should be responsible considering it was likely their technician who caused the problems.

Business Response:

We maybe guilty of not having a flawless transition when we moved our Fiat service department.  However, we don't agree with the assumption that our technician inspecting the vehicle had anything to do with the check engine light coming on.  Although we recognize the frustration of the customer with the service process, we were never given the oppurtunity to correct the problem.  To this date we do not know the extent or actual cost of the repairs.  We may consider reimbursing her for the cost of the inspection.

 

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my Honda Odyssey in because there was a leak (among a couple other minor things) in one of the tires. It would lose 10 PSI in about 3-4 days, so I would have to fill it twice a week. I noticed there was no mention of the tire on the invoice. I asked about the tire, and ***** said "Oh, we fixed it for free; the tire just needed to be re-mounted. Well, 3 days later, the tire pressure monitor lights up again. We bring it back again, and this time they said the sidewall was damaged, and I'll need a new tire. But, since the tire 60 percent of the tread remaining, he recommended I get two tires so the one opposite will match for handling/performance reasons. They told me both tires had 5/32 inches or 60% of their usable life/tread remaining. These are run-flat tires and are fairly expensive. The bill came to about $650. Three days later the monitor signals low pressure once again (losing 10 psi just like before). I tried to call the service manager four times, but could only get voicemail, where I left a message asking for a return call, but never got a return call. We finally just brought the car in. This time, they figured out it was just the valve stem leaking, but had already discarded my old tires so they wouldn't compensate me, even partially for their blunder that cost me $650. Even if their claim that the sidewall was damaged was true, which I have no reason to believe at this point, the fact is I asked them to remedy the leak, and the leak was coming from the valve stem, not the sidewall. They performed unnecessary services claiming they were necessary to remedy the leak.

Desired Settlement: I would be satisfied with reimbursement pro-rated for the amount of tire wear. I also acknowledge that they eventually fixed the leak in the valve, for which I am willing to concede another $50, which would easily be in line with what a tire retailer would charge. This amounts to $650/2, less $50, or $275 total. Of course, any additional compensation for the nuisance and inconvenience would go a long way towards me recommending them or doing business with them again, but that's up to them.

Business Response:

Sorry for the late response.  Attached is a reponse from our service manager **** *******.  In his response he states that he thought the service advisor handled things correctly under the circumstances.  Please let me know if you need any additional information.

Thank you,

 

***** ** ********Treasurer/CFO

Baierl Automotive

 

Consumer Response:

Baierl's does not adequately resolve the issue.

Their report states:

"The customer came in for a slow leak in a tire. On that particular visit, we performed a dunk test of the tire and found no leak." What ***** told us was that they inspected the tire, found no problems with it, unmounted it, cleaned the rim and remounted it, then tested it and found no leaks after doing so. So how is it that they missed the alleged nail in the tire and sidewall damage that they so diligently caught the second time around?


 Additionally, I inspected the readily visible portion of the tire myself before taking the car in for service, and found no nail near the sidewall in question. I did not inspect the inside sidewall, as that would have required jacking up the car and/or removing the wheel. However, their claim was that the nail was near the very same outside sidewall that I inspected. The sidewall damage they refer to was barely a scuff, and had been there for at least a year before any leakage problems started. I would like to also note that the scuff was noted in a previous state inspection as not being a safety concern. Again, the tire received a clean bill of health from their very own technicians, noting that there was no leak coming from the tire or sidewall based on the dunk test, the very first time I brought it in.


Secondly, my request was for them to fix the leak. This is the only thing I asked them to do. The leak persisted, with exactly the same leak rate (10 pounds every 3 days) after they replaced the tires. While I appreciate them "looking out for the safety of the customer", in the end, it is still my decision, not theirs, and they received my authorization under the false pretense that replacing the tires was necessary to fix the problem I asked them to fix. In my opinion, the tires were safe, and the story of a nail is fiction. In the past, when there was a damaged tire, the facility personnel would save the tire and show me the damage. I have to ask myself why Baierl didn't do this?


One thing that Baierl and I agree on, is that the leak was coming from the TPMS sensor and/or valve stem, and not the tire. We also agree that the tires still had at least half their tread life remaining. We also agree that I brought the car in to have the leak fixed, and nothing more.


So, if they changed tires for any reason other than to remedy the leak, they did not have my authorization. If they believed changing the tires would fix the leak, they were wrong and should not charge me for their mistake.  Either way, I should not have been charged, or at least been given the opportunity to make my decision based on facts rather than incorrect assumptions and/or misleading dialog.


Lastly, Baierl responds that the sensor costs $60, plus installation, however, the receipt says they only needed to replace the TPMS Grommet Ring (not the entire sensor), which should be a much less expensive part (see attached invoice).


My position remains unchanged - I feel they should reimburse me for the remaining tire life, namely 50% of the cost to replace the two tires, less the cost to repair the valve. In approximate terms, this would be $700/2 - $50 = $300.


Regards,

******* *****

 

 

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used Hyundai from Baierl Toyota when I turned in a vehicle I leased from the same dealership. After cleaning it for the first time I noticed a blue stain on the rear leather seat that was not disclosed to me at the time of purchase when I drove the car off of the lot after dark. I presented the problem to Baierl Toyota who reluctantly removed the rear seat for over 8 weeks as they tried to fix the problem. When I got the seat back I was told that the foam was replaced and the leather cover painted. At the time it seemed that it solved the problem. In the months following their intervention, I noticed that the stain again seeped through the leather and the paint began to peel as my rear seat is heated. The condition has continued to deteriorate. I brought the car back to the dealership at which time the Toyota service manager immediately reacted belligerently telling me that if I brought a lawsuit he has receipts to prove that he replaced the whole seat, told me I was accusing him of lying, and the general manager refused to accept my complaint letter. After doing my own research, I found out where they purchased the foam for my car which proved that the service manager was indeed blatantly lying to me. They only purchased the foam, not a complete replacement seat which failed to correct the issue. I have then tried to contact *** ******, who is the point person for Baierl dealerships. A written letter with full documentation of all voicemails, pictures, and a timeline of the complaint was ignored. I tried to schedule a meeting with him and the receptionist only provided an email address, which I emailed and again was ignored. It is disappointing that they would treat any customer this way, let alone a returning customer. Additionally, for a woman-friendly dealership I experienced drastically different customer service when I was there by myself as a young female and when I was there with my father.

Desired Settlement: Firstly, I would like an apology for the disrespectful customer service I received and an apology for trying to cover my complaint with lies, while also ignoring all of my communications. If the company has integrity, I would like the leather cover replaced, which is what should have happened in the first place. As the condition of my seat continues to deteriorate, the trade-in value of my vehicle is at risk. Painting the leather cover was an incorrect choice for a heated seat to begin with.

Business Response:

There are two different components to this customer statement that need addressed.  First, there is a question about disclosure.  Part of our process involves showing or demonstrating aspects of the vehicle.  This involves the customer having a chance to drive and see the vehicle first hand.  I cannot speak to whether Ms. ******* followed the usual path of a customer with this phase, but I am completely aware that the Toyota store followed the documentation portion of disclosure to educate the customer.  Several documents are included to demonstrate this type of disclosure.  First, the Buyer’s Order, signed by Ms. ******* indicates she knows she’s purchasing a used vehicle.  Secondly, we provide a separate warranty disclosure that indicates the 2011 Hyundai carried the balance of its factory warranty as part of the transaction.  Finally, we have a copy of the vehicle’s history report in the transaction documents.  I assume that she was given the opportunity to review them because it is customary, but the paper is not signed.  Through the sales process that occurred well over a year ago, we disclosed plenty of vehicle information to Ms. *******.  If somehow we failed to show this stain on the back seat of her vehicle, I believe that our willingness to fix the problem at no charge demonstrates are integrity.

Ms. ********* main complaint is that we merely replaced the foam in here rear seat and tried to “paint” the leather seat cover.  This fact is incorrect.  Attached to this response is a copy of our purchase order, *****, as well as a copy of the invoice from Wright Hyundai.  The documents indicate that our Toyota store ordered a complete pad assembly and leather cover for the rear seat.  Wright Hyundai’s invoice notes that these items were specifically for her vehicle by displaying last 8 digits of the vehicle identification number in the top section.  I apologize that Ms. ******* perceives that we held her back seat hostage for 8 weeks, but the shipment of these parts from Korea is outside of our control.  We processed the order for the parts in a timely manner, and unfortunately, Hyundai was unable to send the replacement items quickly.   Furthermore, the customer was neither charged for these replacement parts nor any labor associated with changing the components on the previously damaged seat. 

At one point in the customer statement, Ms. ******* acknowledges that the repair we made worked, and that over time, the problem resurfaced.  Her letter referenced that is started to resurface after spending time in Arizona.  Given that we replaced the entire seat and cover, this issue is not something related to our work, and I would recommend that she address it with Hyundai, as it may stem from a problem with the heated seats or possibly from some other component or issue.

The final line of the customer’s statement bothers me more than the rest of the information presented because it’s personal not product related.  Communication is a two way process.  Our team members, who Ms. ******* references in both her statement and her letter, may have not found the right way to convey what we were trying to do to assist her with this issue.  Then, once we repaired the vehicle, maybe we weren’t hearing the right things to help guide her with the ownership of the Sonata.  If in some way our organization made Ms. ******* feel that she was less important than any other group of customers or that she was treated in appropriately, I apologize.  The Toyota store has already reviewed this interaction once, and we will use it again for training purposes to see why our perception is different than the customer’s thoughts presented.

*** ******

Consumer Response:

Invoice ***** curiously shows the purchase of Hyundai Sonata parts.  The documents provided therefore do not show that “the Toyota store ordered a complete pad assembly and leather cover for the rear seat”.  The parts shown on this invoice are for a Hyundai Sonata.  The cover listed is a cloth product as well, and I think we can all agree my problem is with a leather seat.  The dealership must be confused because they even called out my “ownership of the Sonata” in their response to my complaint, when I would have hoped by this point that they realize I bought an Elantra off of them.  I have educated myself enough to know that several Hyundai cars share the last numbers of their VIN, as is the case with my car, and the reason why Baierl ordered the wrong parts to begin with.  I already alerted Baierl to the fact that wrong parts were ordered in my original letter from September stating that I “was told the delay was caused by the ordering of foam for the wrong Hyundai model”, as my salesperson admitted that to me when the “fixed” seat was first installed.

 To be clear, the Hyundai part numbers in question are:

From the invoice: ***********                    Hyundai Sonata Rear Seat Pad

***************            Hyundai Sonata Rear Cloth Cover

The parts that would actually fit in my car:

*********** Hyundai Elantra Rear Seat Pad

*************** Hyundai Elantra Rear Seat Leather Cover

I hope that Baierl provided false documentation in an innocent error.  I again ask the dealership to please thoroughly research the problem.   I also encourage them to look through the paperwork on my car, because since Baierl ordered parts for the wrong model car one can assume that they should have documentation that the parts were presumably returned to ****** Hyundai making this whole invoice null and void.

If my case is being used “for training purposes”, I would recommend researching customer complaints thoroughly before providing an inaccurate invoice for work that was not actually completed because it does contribute to a customer feeling “less important than any other group of customers or that she was treated inappropriately”.  Also, in the future, show customers the respect of spelling their surnames correctly because in the complaint response Baierl did just that, and when coupled with multiple grammatical errors it tells a customer that this complaint response was not given adequate attention.

Finally, for clarification, I spent time in Arizona while my car spent time in a climate-controlled garage here in Pittsburgh.

I do thank Baierl for their response, as my last two communications were ignored.  I also appreciate the apology, which is the first that I have heard from their organization.  However, I still eagerly await a more accurate portrayal of the issue from them.  I do find it positive that in their complaint response they thought replacing the leather cover was an appropriate intervention.  I agree it is appropriate and I look forward to that actually happening in the future.

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

Business Response:

This message serves as the second response to this matter.

The documentation provided with our initial response shows the complete detail that we have regarding the seat replacement.  Our records do not contain a credit memo from Wright Hyundai for the parts listed, but in an effort to get additional detail, we approached Wright's parts team.  A representative from Wright explained that the records they have regarding this purchase by our Toyota store were no longer available.  Therefore, if our records are incorrect, as presented, they have at very least been consistent from the beginning of the interaction, and our ability to get additional detail is limited.  Nothing was done intentionally to hide anything from the customer.

From our perspective, there are two possible solutions to this matter.  It’s up to the customer to choose one or propose a different alternative.  First, Baierl will again replace the seat for the customer at no charge.  The customer can select any Baierl facility, and the chosen store will order the necessary items.  Please realize that whatever time is tied to securing the parts is out of our control, but upon receipt of the parts we will schedule the work with the customer.  We propose this option so that if the customer feels uncomfortable with the Toyota store or the people involved, it takes that out of the equation.  The second option is that the customer can have the vehicle repaired at any Hyundai store she’d prefer.  This choice take Baierl completely out of the equation.  She can instruct the dealer to do the repair work, and we will pay the amount listed in our attachment for the parts required ($750.23) as well as one half of the labor required.  This process will be handled through a purchase order or a check directly to the other dealer.  If the customer has a different suggestion, we will listen.

We apologize again for our part of this misunderstanding.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I do greatly appreciate the response from Baierl.  I accept their offer to replace the seat with a few conditions.

·        I accept the replacement of the seat if that means a new leather cover and new rear pad.

·        I would like the main Baierl dealership to perform the replacement, which in my understanding is Baierl Chevrolet located on Perry Highway in Wexford.

·        I am happy to stop by the dealership with my car to ensure that the appropriate Elantra parts are ordered if there is still any confusion about what exact parts are required.  Again, the invoice (priced at 750. 23) is not for parts for a Hyundai Elantra.  In my last response to the dealership I outlined which parts I believe are needed and upon investigation they retail for more than that.   I am expecting that both a gray rear leather cover to match my car’s existing interior and a rear seat pad will be replaced.  I understand the time it takes to acquire the part is out of their control, but I expect it be honestly communicated to me.

·        When the parts arrive, I would appreciate a call from Baierl to schedule an appointment with me.  I have seen my rear seat removed very quickly and assume this replacement can occur while I wait.  I would like to remind them that my rear seat is heated and the rear heating element needs to be functional after the replacement.  After the work is finished, I would like to see the completed replacement seat and the damaged parts before they are disposed of.  Documentation of the parts order and the seat replacement in some written form is requested as not requesting such paperwork in the past from a Baierl service department has caused me quite a headache. 

·        If the replacement does not occur as expected, I will not consider this complaint resolved.

I am very happy that it seems as though I have finally been referred to someone in the Baierl organization who understands that this has been quite a hassle for me and is finally willing to do what is right.  I appreciate the impending replacement and am looking forward to a better customer service experience this time around.

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

 

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a certified used car from honda approximated around Sept 3,2013. Beautiful car was displayed on the showroom floor. After 3 weeks I went to start it and the battery was dead.I was told by the dealership that I didn't drive enough miles so when I got to work everyday I let the car run for about 30 minutes. I didn't know how old the battery was so I purchased another and it ran for a couple weeks and then this one went dead. I then took the car to be checked and had to purchase a rental car because thats what they said I had to do. Went to pick up the car, they replaced some sort of relay and said everything looked good. When I went to start the car the idle was so bad I asked one of the repair man to come look at it and he said " I never heard a honda do that before" so needless to say my car stayed to be fixed again and now they had to give me one of their loaner cars cause I had turned in the rental car already. I drove the car for several weeks when yes the battery died yet again. Bought a bigger battery and it happened again. It's an electrical problem that they said they didn't know how to fix. Numerous phone calls lead to no one calling me back at all. It appeared they were not wanting to stand behind their product and I was stuck. I had been a loyal honda customer for around 15 years. What a pity!!!!!! I have a dependable car now, no more begging people to take me to work or jump starting the battery after work at 12am. This has been a real nightmare for me.

Desired Settlement: I put 7,000.00 down on the car I definately want that money back!!!! And the amount I paid out of pocket for the 2 batteries and rental car fees.

Business Response:

The attached files show this customer's history from our computer system.  The 2009 CR-V was purchased on 9/3/2013, and the transaction cleared the accounting office on 9/13/2013 as shown on the first page.  The second page shows the notes from the repair orders associated with the vehicle after that date.  The orders acknowledge that the customer had problems with the battery and electrical components.  The records indicate that we replaced electrical relays.  They also indicate that we neither observe any unusual draw on the battery nor could duplicate the problem when we had the chance.  We are willing to stand behind any diagnosis and repair work when given the chance.

According to the customer's statement, it seems that she no longer owns this vehicle.  Therefore, we cannot offer to do anything further with the vehicle itself.  Any money associated with the deposit during the transaction for the car would flow through to the next transaction as part of the traded asset.  Consequently, we will not reimburse her for the down payment as requested.  We are, however, willing to look at the inconvenience endured by the customer during her short ownership period.  Our records indicate that the customer chose to go elsewhere to purchase the batteries in this vehicle.  Regardless, we are willing to reimburse her for the price of the rental vehicle provided the need for this expense stems from our work.  We will also cover the charge associated with one battery.

Please submit the documentation for these expenses, and we will issue you a check for the appropriate amount.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Documents requested are attached.

Regards,

 

******* *****

 

 

 

2/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised a $50 Weekend Get Away Hotel Card with test drive of a car at the dealership. I went and test drove the car but because of the poor sales service I received I did not purchase the car. I asked about the Hotel card I was to receive and was told they would send it out. It has been over a month and I have not received the Hotel Card that was advertised in an email that was sent to me from the dealership. I have also not received any response from the dealership on if they were going to send it. This is considered by law false advertisment. They advertised that if you test drive a car with them they would give you this. Action needs to be taken agains them for breaking the law.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to send me the $50 Weekend Get Away Hotel Card or a gift card comparible to this as promissed. If they can not do this legal action needs to be taken for the false advertisment.

Business Response: The business has indicated it mailed the giftcard last week.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

11/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: went to dealership on 11/07/13 to view Toyota Tundra on showroom floor, had a price 0f 34,900 and 0% for 60 month, went home and requested internet price, contacted by *** *******, given price of 33,600,called Mr. ******* and made an offer of 35,000 out the door with 0% for 60 months, was told he would get back to me, he did with a price of 36,000 out the door and that the 0% for 60 months has been removed from the vehicle and is not a valid offer,(bait and hook or false advertising or somebodys mistake)they should have made good on their offer.5

Desired Settlement: Dealership honcho's should be made aware of how the internet department does business

Business Response:

The attached documents from our Toyota store discuss our position with Mr. ******** complaint.  We apologize for any issue, but there was no bait and switch involved in this potential purchase.  The documentation makes that point very clear.  Our offer extended to the customer, using the under the current programs, stands provided that he is interested in the vehicle and the vehicle is still available.

*** ******

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 2005 ***** hybrid that was claimed by the salesman/dealer to have undergone a full service checkover before sale. in fact the salesman, a *** **********, during the closing process on the car made the statement that bierl would stand behind the car for some reasonable time without defining the time nor putting it in writing hence this is legally a claim only. the statement was made though. he said bierl's reputation was at stake, that is one of two reasons, the other being 6 previous ***** autos, purchased elsewhere over 35 years past that were completely trouble free. both closed the deal. If fact at the sale he they tried to sell me an extended warranty which I declined due to previous excellent experience with Hondas and the statement that bierl would stand behind the car as stated earlier. in my mind that meant probably 3-4 months for any major issues and less time with minor ones. I paid over well over market value at a figure of $7250. being assured the car was solid. after the said I found out the higher price was due to a hybrid battery change the cost of which was being reclaimed. the total battery replacement was not revealed, while the replacement is good, it should have been disclosed to me. knowing that I would have given some additional thought to the future soundness of the car. in 30 days, of which I was in the hospital for at least 7days the car was only minimally driven by my wife. in 30 days after the sale they identified that the complete catalytic emission system failed. at they in turn wanted $2000 to repair a 30 day only car. people would not return my calls and only when they did they 1st claimed they had no responsibility. while this was unacceptable, I wanted to negotiate up to a 50-50 split, the most I could get from them was 20% of $2000. this was also not acceptable. I can buy the same parts they claim are over $1200 for about $600 online . Then I would install which I am ca, but should do neither on a misrepresented c

Desired Settlement: fix the problem entirely at their cost or buy the car back a my purchase cost. I also want to talk with *** ******, the CEO, to express my dissatisfaction with the way this was poorly handled and explain the damage this will do to baierl in publicity if this is not handled ethically and right, am a highly experienced chemical engineer with outstanding mechanical skills and knowledge, including automobiles. I am also logical and ethical. I will not be brushed off nor cheated.

Business Response:

Baierl Automotive is in receipt of the consumer complaint referenced in the subject above, and while Mr. ********* contends wrongdoing on our part, we disagree with his assessment.

The paperwork for Mr. *********'s transaction makes it very clear that he was purchasing an 8 year old ***** Civic Hybrid with 108740 miles in "AS IS" condition. Our internal repair order shows that we performed our standard used vehicle inspection before offering it for sale. The vehicle passed the state and the emissions test at that time. We also include a copy of the ****** vehicle history report that was in the deal folder and should have been presented to Mr. ********* at time of sale. It show the background on the vehicle available to the general public. Mr. ********* accepted the terms of the sale as noted by his signature on our purchase order, which we include.

In addition, we attached a copy of the Used Vehicle Buyer's Guide, which was posted on the car and signed by Mr. *********, and it also clearly states that the customer was purchasing an "AS IS" vehicle.

As for his desired resolution, Baierl Honda, and every other store in our auto group, stands behind the safety and quality of the vehicles that we represent for sale. We offered some assistance to him with the repairs on this vehicle, even though we had no obligation. The vehicle was purchased without any warranty. It is also clear that the amount offered to assist with this repair was insufficient in his mind. Our repair service is always available, and it is our assertion that the amount is appropriate.

If Mr. ********* desires a vehicle with a more comprehensive warranty or vehicle with a service agreement attached, we are willing to assist in that process as well at any of our franchises

Thank you for your assistance in resolving this matter

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 Acura TSX from Baierl Acura in Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA in June of 2011. Ive taken my car to Baierl Acura for service on 17 November 2011 at 7658 miles, 19 April 2012 at 14868 miles, 19 October 2012 at 21873 miles, 17 January 2013 at 26751 miles, 14 February 2013 at 28310 miles, 20 March 2013 at 31006 miles, 20 May 2013 at 33700 miles, and 17 June 2013 at 35094 miles.At the 20 May 2013 service, I reported a rattling/rumbling/squealing sound with the first start of the day. Baierl was unable to diagnose and fix the problem. I reported the problem again with the 17 June 2013 service. Baierl was still unable to diagnose and fix the problem.Since Baierl was unable to determine the cause of the rattling sound upon engine start, I took my car to a different Acura dealer on 11 Sep 13. The service team at that dealer diagnosed the problem within 10 minutes! Acura had issued a Technical Service Bulletin for VTC actuators identifying the problem and recommending the appropriate solution. While my car was at the other Acura dealer, I also requested an A-1 maintenance service that was due (car has 38815 miles). A few minutes after putting my car on the lift and elevating it, the technician returned to the waiting area to get me. I followed him to the car, looked at the underside of the engine area where he was pointing, and discovered zip ties holding something in place! To my shock and horror, the technician explained that apparently a Baierl technician stripped the screws out of the splash guard and, rather than initiating a proper repair with the appropriate parts, used zip ties to hold it in place. Baierl Acuras utilization of zip ties on my car is completely unacceptable. I purchased an Acura from an Acura dealer. I take my car to an Acura dealer so that it will be serviced by a certified Acura technician and, if needed, Acura parts will be used for any repairs. A Baierl Acura technician broke the splash guard on my car, failed to fix it, then put on zip ties instead of Acura parts to hold the broken piece in place.

Desired Settlement: I no longer trust Baierl. My preferred resolution is to have another Acura dealer perform the repair and Baierl pay for it.My second choice is to have Baierl perform the repair at no cost to me and provide a loaner or rental car to me while the repairs are taking place. Once the repair is complete, I will take the car to another Acura dealer for verification that the repair was made and with the proper Acura parts.

Business Response:

I spoke w ***** ******** of Baierl today, he is going to call you to make the situation correct. I told him that we did speak and that I told you I would be requesting him to call you.

 

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I broght my truck to Baierl Ford to have special ordered parts from there parts department installed and to have reverse band tightened while apart. The service writer ***** called when it was done to tell me there was no adjustment and tried to sell me a reman transmission. When i went to pick it up there was no reverse at all, a tire was flat, and the ****** license plate cover that was on it when i brought it in was missing and replaced with a Baierl license plat cover. I spoke with the service manager *** he said " go back to diag school for transmissions, changing over the license plate is something they just do, what are we suppose to check your tire pressure everyday", then hung up on me very unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund 402.80, a plug in the tire that developed a flat while it was there, and the ****** license plate cover reinstalled how it was when i brought it there.

Business Response:

Our Ford service team indicated that this customer diagnosed the problem associated with the truck.  The customer brought the truck to our facility to have parts he ordered/supplied installed.  We installed these parts as directed.  The problem persisted, and the customer did not want to pursue our possible solution.  We deserve to be compensated for the work performed.

I apologize if our service manager came across as offensive.  We have discussed this interaction directly with him.  

If the truck tire still needs repaired, we are willing to assist the customer for a reduced fee.  A leaky tire can occur for many reasons.

As for the license plate frame that the customer mentioned, we do not have a supply of ****** frames.  I am certain that either of the ****** **** locations would gladly provide the customer with a new one at no charge.

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2011 *** in for a routine B1 service. After the service was almost complete the service advisor came out and stated I needed to be concerned that I needed a Transmission flush. I pointed out that I thought Honda Transmissions did not require a flush, in fact it is not recommended. I told him I thought it was a drain and refill only. He stated I was wrong and it was called out as a check on the B1 service.1. I checked the maintenance manual and called Honda corporate. I was correct a Flush is not required or recommended it could be bad for a tranny. Only a drain and fill is required at most. 2. They also stated if I needed a tranny service at 30K miles there may be a transmission problem.Unfortunately Honda Corporate says this is between me and the dealer since they are an independent dealer.I believe either they did no maintenance or did not recommended maintenance. That may be harmful.

Desired Settlement: 1. A refund.2. An apology for lying to me.3. Assurance that if I have any transmission problems they will repair them at no cost.

Business Response:

This incident is more a problem with communications than anything else.  Our service manager, **** *******, spoke to the customer today about the interaction with our service writer.  Amil apologized for how our writer presented the possible service choices to Mr. **********.  We make recommendations.  Ultimately, the individual chooses if work is appropriate for the vehicle.  In this case, we didn't do a good job with presenting the details.

We are issuing the customer a refund for the disputed amount.  The check will be mailed in the next week.

 

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 2003 ****** *** off of them 7/15/2013 and then picked it up on 7/18/2013. I had to wait a couple of days to pick it up because the vehicle need a few repairs done to it.They had to replace the break drums and did a repair on the steering colum,I do not know what they did exactly.On Monday 7/22 I came out of work oat 2:30 am and the car would not start..I had to call and pay for a tow truck to pick it and me up,I had to wait for hours to get picked up because of the time.I paid to have it put on a diagnostics computer at * * ******** to find the problem.The anti theft had been engaged.The mechanic asked were my key FOB was,I told him I never received one.The next day I call Baierl Ford to locate my key FOB.They found it and I had to go pick it up.Three nights later on 7/25 the car did the same thing,I did what the mechanic told me to do if the car would not start,again the car had to be towed because it would not stsrt.Again diagnostics were run on it and the same code came up.They over rode the code and the car started,I changed the battery in the key FOB thinking that might be the problem.Then on 8/1 the car would not start again,so I called ******'s to tow it to the shop once more.Once more diagnostics were run the error code this time came up that something was wrong with the crankshaft censor. I do not remember exactly how the code was worded.I called ***** * from Baierl Ford and told him something needs done with this car,I have only had it for 2 weeks at this point and have had to have it towed and diagnosed 3 times! He said there is nothing they can do for me,I am on my own!Is the some kind of ;aw for used cars? This is just ridiculous!

Desired Settlement: I would like for the car to be repaired at Baierl Ford's cost if the warranty I bought covers the repairs I think Bairerl Ford should pay the deductible.

Business Response:

The following correspondence is the email I received from our Ford store concerning this matter.  I assume that the matter has been closed for some time. 

*** ******

-----Original Message----- 

***, the customer complaint from ******* ******* has been resolved. We towed in her 03 ******, and diagnosed a faulty crank sensor. We did the repair with no charge to the customer. I wasn't sure if you were informed of the outcome.  

 

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution of my original complaint is satisfactory to me. Unfortunately on Thursday August 22 2013 the transmission started slipping which was not listed on my complaint. I will NEVER purchase another vehicle from them, nor will I recommend them to anyone. The only reason I purchased the ****** *** from the is because the say they sell CERTIFIED used cars. Obviously the vehicle was not looked at very carefully. Now I will have to have the transmission repaired, I have only owned the vehicle for a little over a month. I am not happy at all. Thank you BBB, If not for you nothing would of got repaired.  

Best Regards,

****** *******

 

 

 

7/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2011 Honda Civic in for state inspection in Feb. My steering wheel and brake pedal were vibrating so I knew that there was something wrong with the brakes. My state inspection was completed the next day and the front brakes were fixed. Upon driving my car out of Honda's parking lot upon pick up I noticed that the steering wheel was shaking even harder than before and the brake pedal was vibrating madly. I thought this was odd since my brakes were supposedly fixed and my inspection was complete. I had a paper in my hand stating everything else was fine with the car except for a little wear on my tires. It was a very snowy afternoon so I drove my car the 10 min home and immediately called to report that something was wrong. Made an appt to bring the car back just a few days later. After I dropped the car off, the very next day I got a call that my rear brakes were shot!! I'm baffled and upset at this point. How could a reputable service department not only not mention to me that anything was wrong with my rear brakes, but let me drive off their lot with a job unfinished and possibly put me in harms way?! Unacceptable. They fixed the brakes. I picked the car up. A week later something still felt wrong. Took a test drive with a service guy who said the problem was with my i was still experiecing was with my tires and that he admits the brakes "were an oversight". I had already figured this out. Just completely baffled at how this could happen? Lost my faith completely in the work of the service department when they can overlook a problem as big as this. You would think they would want to make sure everything is in perfect working order before deaming a job complete. In my case even just driving it from the service garage to the parking spot they placed it in should have sent up red flags!! I was bothered by all of this so I decided to write an email to corporate to get some answers. I got a call back and was apologized to and promised a credit for the incomplete work.

Desired Settlement: The credit I was promised 2 mos ago by corporate who did apologize. I was told I should not have to pay for a job that was left incomplete. It was pointed out to me by **** the Manager at Baierl that he already did the second brake job at no cost to me to "help me out". Thank you, but helping me out would have been doing it right the first time. It was highly inconvenient being without a car for days at a time, not to mention the worry over whether my brakes were truly in working order.

Business Response:

The customer correctly notes that the work performed on her 2011 Civic was unacceptable.  When her vehicle came back to the repair shop, we fixed the rear brakes at no charge to the customer, and apologized for the oversight.

Concerning the credit promised to ******* by a member of our staff, no person in service or sales has knowledge of the making this promise.  ******* has been unable to tell us, the sales person or the service team, who promised the any additional credit for the services that were required.  The work performed on the rear brakes was something for which the customer should have paid, but in good conscience, we did not want the payment, and it should show a sign of goodwill in this case. 

Also, our service manager has tried to speak with her several times since receiving this notice, and to date the only contact he's made resulted in her wanting to call us back because  the timing wasn't appropriate to speak.  We have not heard anything else from the customer.

Our service manager is instructed to offer the customer $150.00 in free service at the store in addition to what we already have done for her, but we are unable to make contact.

Thank you for your assistance with this case.

2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service