BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Ultimate Auto Body Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers body collision services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ultimate Auto Body Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ultimate Auto Body Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 1991 Business started: 04/01/1978
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph J Sokolowski, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph J Sokolowski, President
Business Category

AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO SEAT COVERS, TOPS & UPHOLESTERY TOWING - AUTO TRUCK PAINTING & LETTERING WHEEL ALIGNMENT, FR & AXLE SRV-AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS


Additional Locations

  • 2312 S 18th St

    Pittsburgh, PA 15203 (412) 481-7110

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (412) 999-6044(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was hit in 2009 and Ultimate Auto Body rpaired the car and it has been back in for the same thing 2 times They have not fixed the car right as of yet and tody I took it backto them again like he told me too and then was told I d to wait another week for them to look at it.

Desired Settlement: What it will costme to get my car repaired elsewhere and for a rental car.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the Complaint filed against Ultimate Auto Body Inc.

on 11/18/2013. The 2007 Camry LE 4-door sedan was towed in from the Liberty

tubes on 7/19/2009. We did

over $10,000 in repairs to the damages on the vehicle.???

 

The service was done with quality and precision. The customer was completely

pleased and satisfied with the work we did restoring the vehicle to pre-accident

condition. The customers were so pleased with our craftsmanship that in fact

that the husband brought in his 2006 *** *** ****** cargo van 12/14/2011 with

$7,116.50 in damages. This vehicle was also completed with quality and precision

as all of our has/is done. The vehicle was picked up and the customer was

completely satisfied and happy with the quality in the job done. Now in regards to

this complaint coming up on five years after services were rendered. She got in

contact with us in August/September complaining that the right rear quarter panel

was rusting and the gaps surrounding the bumper cover were way out of alignment.

We then proceeded to have her bring the vehicle to the shop so we can asses what is

wrong. Once the vehicle was here for us too look at we assessed the someone hit the

back rear bumper which caused the bumper to be out of alignment and bowed the

right rear quarter panel causing the paint to split resulting in the panel to rust. We

then set it up to bring in for the repairs due to hearing the unfortunate passing of her

husband and since they have always been good customers we would help her out

as long as we did not have to buy parts. So we took care of the damages (for free)

to the quarter panel (repaired/painted) then tried to realign rear bumper cover until

we realized the bumper reinforcement was damaged and needed replaced.

At this point we informed of this and she would not accept that it was hit in the bumper

and the reinforcement was in need of replacing to correct the gaps alignment. We

then setup an appointment on 11/18/2013 for 9a.m to by and resolve this. She

failed to bring the vehicle in at the appointed time and arrived with the vehicle at 4p.m.

Our business closes 5:30 p.m. and this short amount of time was no where near the

time needed to complete such work, thus why we wanted it at 9 a.m. that morning.

She then demand to our employ that it HAD to be completed that day which was

already cutting in to our scheduling and with us

 

trying

to resolve this had to move current

 

jobs around to fit her in on that Monday. The rest of that week was completely booked

until the following Monday. Our employee informed us that she will be scheduled for that

following Monday. She would not accept this and demanded that we flilfill our service

that day due to her being at work. Then when sIte realized it

 

was not going to happen??

 

that day she made us feel insanely had that because her husband has passed away that

w&e obligated in doing this. She demanded to the employee that the owner will be

paying for all the work to be done and also to pay in flill the cost of a rental car so

she has temporary transportation during such. She did make it clear that since she

will have to wait a week that she wants the owner to pay as a punishment.

We feel that if this was truly related to the original job done that she would have

addressed these probLems with this vehicles not to long after it was completed.

This does not mean almost five years afterwards. We honor our warranty if it

pertains to the work we have done. The fact that they were happy and satisfied with the

original work done so much they brought theft cargo van for repairs and were satisfied

with that means to us that this was not in result from the work done. Our suspicion was

proved correct was we removed the rear bumper to inspect the mount for proper

alignment and noticed the bumper reinforcement was damaged at some point a

long time after the work we did on the vehicle. We ibel very bad for current situation

in life and tried to make things right for her however nothing we do seems to satis&

her and we still tried helping but she did not show up when she was scheduled for thus

we tried rescheduling. She would not accept this and walked out of the office threatening

us that we will be hearing from her lawyer.

We appreciate your time and effort in hearing our side of this dispute. We do

feel bad over this but as it appears some people can never be satisfied unfortunately.

Thank You,

 Ultimate Auto Body Inc.

 ###-###-####

Consumer Response:

In response to the letter you received from Ultimate Auto body, Inc., dated November 29, 2013.

I have only owned this car for four years, not five. Although the original repair work done in July 2009, appeared to be satisfactory, it was last year around September/October 201 when I noticed the rust and gaps surrounding the bumper cover and the alignment of the trunk not being correct. After trying to arrange an appointment to have Ultimate Auto Body, Inc., look at my car at that time, it took over a year to get an appointment to get my car into their garage to be reinserted for this issues that arose. The^had continuous reasons why the^couldn’t take it. First they said they would pick it up and when I would call to confirm, they had an emergency and couldn’t fit me I that day. Then they said I got the dates wrong for them to look at my car, which was not true. I have several witnesses to all of these claims. When they finally took my car in, it was the week of October 21,

2013. They told me it would be done in 3 days. It was not done until Friday, October 25, 2013. I was without my car for the entire week. When I did receive it back that Friday, I noticed that my trunk was still not fixed. I then talked to one of Ultimate Auto Body, Inc. employees about the trunk and he said he would fix it. My trunk lid would not open and it still does not. After speaking to the employee in person on that Friday, he told me to bring it back on Monday. He asked if I could bring it in at 9:00 am, to which I said no, I could not as I had to work all day. I had a friend with me that day and I asked this employee if I could bring it in at 5 .00 pm, after work, so that my friend could give me a ride home. This employee said yes, I could bring it in at 5:00 pm. I asked this employee if he would be there at 5:00 pm that day and he replied yes, he would. I was actually able to get there at 4:00 pm and the employee said I told you to bring your car in the morning, which we had already discussed that wasn’t possible which was why I asked to bring it in at 5:00 pm. I was then informed they could not look at my car until the following Monday, and that was when I left. I NEVER demanded the work be done that day. My car is rusting from the inside out. If the car was repaired correctly the first time, it should not be rusting from the inside out. The trunk is also rusting on the inside. They are also claiming I made them feel insanely bad because of my husband’s passing. That subject NEVER came into play. My husband’s passing was never brought into it. And I NEVER demanded anything. I also have two witnesses who will testify to that. I did mention a rent a car because they had my car last time for 5 days instead of 3 days. I’m not sure what they meant saying I made it clear since I had to wait that the owner will have to pay as a punishment. I never said that either. They have not addressed the problems with my car because I still have them. I am also enclosing pictures of my car and an estimate from another body shop. They told me they would not work on my car. They said the Unibody was bent and it was not fixed right the first time. Their suspicion was incorrect about the bumper. The only body shop to ever work on my car has been Ultimate Auto body, Inc..

My car was not hit again after they fixed it. And the bumper was never reinforced by anyone except Ultimate Auto body, Inc.. If the reinforcement was in need of replacement it is because Ultimate Auto Body, Inc. did not reinforce it in the first place. Ultimate Auto Body, Inc. did not try to make thing right. Also, if my car had been hit again, I would have turned it into m insurance company. You have my permission to contact them and see if any other claim was made on my car. If you need that information please contace me for it. I have contacted a lawyer in regard to this situation.

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

1