BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania

This Business is not BBB accredited

Mazzei & Associates

Additional Locations

Phone: (412) 765-3606 Fax: (412) 765-1917 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 8485 , Pittsburgh, PA 15220

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mazzei & Associates include:

  • Failure to have a required competency license.
  • Government action(s) against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 10, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Disciplinary Board of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
601 Commonwealth Ave., Suite 5600 , Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.padisciplinaryboard.org
Phone Number: 717-231-3380
Fax Number: 717-231-3381
The number is 83775. On 2/10/2014 BBB confirmed that Disciplinary Board of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania suspended the license of Mazzei & Associates.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Mazzei, Esquire
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Mazzei, Esquire
Business Category

ATTORNEYS - BANKRUPTCY & TAXES ATTORNEYS

Alternate Business Names
Law Offices Of Mazzei & Associates

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Walnut St

    Johnstown, PA 15901 (814) 539-6619

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    101 N Main Street Ste 205

    Greensburg, PA 15601 (724) 836-0360

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1040 3rd Ave

    Duncansville, PA 16635 (814) 949-2370

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    110 East Diamond Street

    Butler, PA 16001

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    125 E North Street Ste 530

    New Castle, PA 16101 (724) 656-8007

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    212 State Street

    Belle Vernon, PA 15012 (724) 929-8004

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    223 Chestnut St

    Meadville, PA 16335 (814) 337-7377

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22868 Route 68

    Clarion, PA 16214 (814) 226-6717

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2510 O'Neil Blvd

    White Oak, PA 15131 (412) 765-3606

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3610 Cherry Street

    Erie, PA 16508 (814) 866-1850

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    416 Second Avenue

    Tarentum, PA 15084 (724) 226-4174

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    700 Turnpike St, 2nd Floor

    Beaver, PA 15009 (724) 773-8003

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    700 Turnpike Street

    Beaver, PA 15009

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Brant Bldg, 118 S. Kimberly Ave2nd Floor

    Somerset, PA 15501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Commerce Towers, 300 North 2nd St7th Floor

    Harrisburg, PA 17101 (717) 213-4132

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    First Natl Bank Bldg, 7 W State St3rd Floor

    Sharon, PA 16146 (814) 337-7377

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Landmark Bldg, 75 E Maiden StSuite 209

    Washington, PA 15301 (724) 228-0995

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Midtown Bldg, 547 Philadelphia StSuite 502

    Indiana, PA 15701 (814) 539-6619

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Natl City Bank Bldg, 315 2nd AveSuite 306

    Warren, PA 16365 (814) 723-4370

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Natl City Bldg, 2 West Main St

    Uniontown, PA 15401 (724) 434-5595

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 8485

    Pittsburgh, PA 15220

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 8485

    Pittsburgh, PA 15220

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Westgate Inn, 307 Route 6 West

    Coudersport, PA 16915 (814) 274-8505

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Williamsport Bldg, 460 Market StSuite 209

    Williamsport, PA 17701 (570) 321-0113

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 405-0935(Phone)
  • (412) 765-1096 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a free consultation with Attorney ***** on Friday, 2/7/14. I signed paper to go ahead with the bankruptcy and give my credit card information for an $800 deposit. I was told I would receive a call on Monday, 2/10/14 with instructions. I did not receive a call and became uneasy. Tuesday, 2/11/14 I called and left a message for the attorney as I had decided to change my mind. By the time he called back, I had already spoken with **** ****** who asked that I dont speak to anyone but him from now on and talked me out of cancelling and convinced me to let him process my $800 payment and take the required online course. I told him my biggest concern was losing my credit union account because I had been with them for a long time. He advised I get a bank account elsewhere. I tried, but could not because of credit issues. I spoke with Mr. ****** a few more times on 2/11/14 and 2/12/14. He told me not to worry and convinced me to just go ahead with the bankruptcy. He said he would go over my credit reports with me, but was unable to because his internet was down. Finally on 2/12/14 I sent an email asking that he cancel my bankruptcy. Up until this point he was very helpful. I was told that I had to wait for an invoice to be created and the bookkeeper would issue my refund. I left several messages for the bookkeeper ******** and when I finally spoke to her, she said she had not yet received an invoice, but once she did she would let me know. I asked when I would receive my refund and she said it should be in time to go out with the end of February checks on the 23rd or 24th. When I finally spoke to **** ****** regarding the invoice, he said it would be created this week, but it never was. I asked that the invoice be itemized so I could see what I was being charged. When I asked about it again, he said the invoice would not be created until March 1. I asked why the delay and he just replied that it would be created on March 1 and my refund would be issued once approved.

Desired Settlement: I am just in the dark about what I am being charged for and I would really like all or most of my money back as soon as possible since no work was really done on my case. I feel like I am getting the run around since I decided to cancel.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your letter to me dated. February 18, 2014. Thank you for providing me with the opportunity to respond to Ms. *********’s complaint. For the following reasons, I believe the complaint should be dismissed:

_ Ms. ********* met with Attorney ******* *****, an associate attorney of the law firm on February 7, 2014 in our Johnstown, Pennsylvania location. During the consultation, Ms. ********* discussed her financial issues with Attorney *****., and her options were provided. It was decided upon by Ms. ********* that she would file a chapter 7 bankruptcy case in order to eliminate the high amount of unsecured debt she had. Ms. ********* agreed to pay a total of One Thousand Eight Hundred Dollars ($1,800.00) for representation in the chapter 7 case, an amount that included costs and fees for the representation.

After explanation of the process and the fees, Ms. ******* to entered into a legal fee agreement, which itemized the fees and costs for services to be provided. Ms, ********* was also provided with, and signed, a Statement of limitations and Liabilities, which provided her with a further explanation of what was to be expected. The Statement clearly provides that no refunds will be provided if the client decides to change her mind after entering into the agreement, as services would be provided upon execution of the agreement. A copy of the legal fee agreement and Statement of Limitations and Liabilities is attached, hereto and marked as Exhibit “A”

Ms. ********* provided a retainer payment in the amount of $800,00 on February 11, 2014 and agreed to make monthly payments in the amount of $200.00 until such time as her balance was paid in full.

On February 10,2014 and again on February 11,2014, **** ******, a paralegal with the firm who was assigned to prepare her petition, spoke at length with Ms. ********* regarding the process of proceeding with her case. On February 12,2014, Ms. ********* informed the office that she no longer wished to proceed with her bankruptcy case and requested a refund. Ms. ********* then proceeded to call the office two (2) additional times on February 12, 2014 (despite the fact that the legal fee agreement she signed stated that all calls would be returned within reasonable promptness). Mr. ****** spoke with Ms. ********* at length again both telephonically and. by electronic mail on February 12, 2014. Despite this, Ms. ********* called the office on February 13,2014 and again on February 14, 2014. On or about February 14, 2014, Ms. ********* spoke with ******** ********, the bookkeeper for the firm. Mrs, ******** informed her that a billing invoice would need to be prepared for services performed on her case (per hex agreement) and a refund should be sent to her by the end of February. Mr. ****** also made Ms, ********* aware on February 14, 2014

that a billing invoice would be prepared and his letter via electronic email also stated that the billing invoice would need to be processed and would then be sent to her along with a refund check.
 

 

 

A billing invoice was prepared on February 19, 2014, reviewed by Attorney ********, and sent to Ms, ********* on February 25, 2014, which itemizing all services performed on her case to date, with a refund of Six Hundred Thirty-One Dollars and Thirty Cents ($631.30). A copy of the billing invoice is attached hereto and marked as Exhibit “B.”
 

 

Ms. ********* to continued to call the office on several occasions demanding a refund after she was repeatedly told that she would receive an invoice and a refund of the remainder of the unused fees by the end of the month, which is what had, in fact, occurred.

In my opinion, the filing of the complaint by Ms. ********* was premature, unwarranted, and unnecessary. The complaint was filed after the date she was informed that she would receive the billing invoice and refund check.

If you have any questions regarding this matter, or if I can provide you with any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Respectfully,

******* ****** Attomey'at'Law

 


 

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service