BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Pittsburgh Pirates?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pittsburgh Pirates

Phone: (412) 323-5000 Fax: (412) 323-5024 View Additional Phone Numbers 115 Federal Street  PNC Park Accounts Payable, Pittsburgh, PA 15212 http://www.pittsburghpirates.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers National League Baseball.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pittsburgh Pirates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pittsburgh Pirates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1961 Business started: 01/01/1887
Business Management
Mr. Kenneth Curcio, Vice President/Finance Mr. Dick Freeman, Vice President Mr. Steven Greenberg, Vice President/Marketing Mr. James D Plake, Vice President Fin&Admin
Business Category

ATHLETIC ORGANIZATIONS

Alternate Business Names
Pittsburgh Associates

Additional Locations

  • 115 Federal Street  PNC Park Accounts Payable

    Pittsburgh, PA 15212 (412) 323-5000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (412) 321-2827(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 5 tickets April 28,2014 for $113. I noticed on April 29th that I was double charged. I contacted the person who was in charge of the promotion ****** *******. She did not respond right away and the extra charge of $113 posted to my account May 2. My husband and I have called and emailed her various times about this issue and were told by her that we were getting the money back or that she was looking into it.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $113 refunded and I believe they owe us something(free item or discount) for our trouble. At this time this really created a financial hardship.

Business Response:

My name is ***** ***** and I am the Vice President & General Counsel of the Pittsburgh Pirates. I write in response to your letter of May 19, 2014 regarding complaint ID ********. We have reviewed the information submitted by Ms. ********* and have determined that as of May 21, 2014, the additional charges on Ms. *********’s credit card have been refunded. The Pirates regret the length of time necessary to effectuate this resolution but maintain that it was always the intention of the Pirates to reverse the additional charges. We believe this resolves the matter, but as a gesture of good faith, the Pirates will reach out to Ms. ********* and invite her back to a game at PNC Park at no cost to her.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying for weeks to work with my contact, (name available but removed from the public posting) to get an overcharge issue resolved, but all communication has stopped. I have sent emails and left a voicemail with no response. The email address on the BBB listing does not work.I threw out the first pitch on April 24th of this year as part of a charity auction benefiting the ***** ** *****. My original agreement, and another email confirmed closer to the date, stated that extra tickets would be $16 each. I ordered 14 extra tickets for my friends, and was instead charged $30 apiece. The original email is pasted below: "Your prize will include four (4) complimentary tickets, which I will have with me when you arrive. If you need to purchase additional tickets, you may do so through me and the tickets will all be seated together (these tickets cost $16.00 a piece)"

Desired Settlement: My original agreement, and another email confirmed closer to the date, stated that extra tickets would be $16 each. I ordered 14 extra tickets for my friends, and was instead charged $30 apiece. "Your prize will include four (4) complimentary tickets, which I will have with me when you arrive. If you need to purchase additional tickets, you may do so through me and the tickets will all be seated together (these tickets cost $16.00 a piece)"I should receive a credit of $196 to my credit card.

Business Response:

My name is***** ***** and I am the Vice President & General Counsel of the Pittsburgh Pirates. I write in response to your letter of May 13, 2014 regarding complaint ID ********. Upon receiving the Complaint, we immediately looked into the matter and took action by processing a refund of $196.00 to Ms. ****’s credit card. This was an unintentional oversight, and the Pirates appreciate Ms. ****’s understanding in this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I continually receive unwelcome solicitations from***************************** of the Pittsburgh Pirates. I have previously replied to this address informing that per the ******** **** **********************************************************************************, it is required to, Tell recipients how to opt out of receiving future email from you.Per following the instructions on ************************************************ to report SPAM, I have filed a complaint with the FTC. However, with this complaint there are not any measures to ensure any follow up. And as I continue to receive unwelcome solicitations I gather no specific action has been taken.

Desired Settlement: First I request, per the ******** ***, the Pittsburgh Pirates modify all solicitation e-mails to include instructions how to opt out of further e-mails. Preferably, they would not even send out any solicitations without first explicit consent to do so such as an option. And as they have proven irresponsible with my personal information, I request next they permanently purge any and all contact information they have about me.

Business Response:

I am the Club’s Vice President & General Counsel and I write regarding Complaint ID *******. 

We have reviewed the information submitted by Mr. *******. Mr. ********* had attempted to reach out to Mr. ******* to follow up on tickets that Mr. ******* had previously purchased to a Pirates game. The Pirates strive to provide first-class customer service, but unfortunately mistakes are made occasionally. In this instance, it seems that Mr. *******’s request to be removed from the contact list fell through the cracks. We have made the necessary adjustments and will not be contacting Mr. ******* again in the future. 

Regards, 

***** ***** 

Vice President & General Counsel 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

Their response does not confirm they have fulfilled any of my requested desired outcome items – that my contact information has been purged from their records, & their future solicitations will conform to the *** **** ***. 

Their response also contains irrelevant & misleading information, that, yes, I did previously purchase tickets to a specific game.  However, I did not receive what they call ‘follow up’ on that transaction, instead I received unwelcomed solicitations to make additional purchases. 

Also, if the Pirates want to proclaim they ‘strive to provide first-class service’, they should confirm that they will not make future solicitations unless a customer explicitly chooses to receive them – not simply because they force customers to provide an e-mail address to make a ticket purchase in the first place, & then use that information for future solicitations. 

 

Cheers,

**** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2011 Delivery Issues
1