Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pittsburgh Pirates

Phone: (412) 323-5000 Fax: (412) 323-5024 View Additional Phone Numbers 115 Federal St  PNC Park - Accounts Payable, Pittsburgh, PA 15212 http://www.pittsburghpirates.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers National League Baseball.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pittsburgh Pirates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pittsburgh Pirates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pittsburgh Pirates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1961 Business started: 01/01/1887
Business Management
Mr. Kenneth Curcio, Vice President/Finance Mr. Dick Freeman, Vice President Mr. Steven Greenberg, Vice President/Marketing Mr. James D Plake, Vice President Fin&Admin
Business Category

ATHLETIC ORGANIZATIONS

Alternate Business Names
Pittsburgh Associates

Additional Locations

  • 115 Federal St
    PNC Park - Accounts Payable

    Pittsburgh, PA 15212 (412) 323-5000 (412) 321-2827

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi I was a season ticket holder for the Pittsburgh Pirates Baseball team. Last October I purchased the Full postseason package . I also purchased the individual game ones also. I was under the assumption that I would be refunded the amount if the Pirates didn't make it to the games i purchased. Upon just reciveing a letter in the mail this past week, I called and asked to be refunded my overpayment. When I called **** ********* at 4********* he advised me that i should of read the small print when i bought the tickets beucase it says i am to late. I then asked for his supervisor *** ******** . He gave me his number at ###-###-#### I called this number and left a detailed message but have not heard anything back. I feel this is a total ripoff and abuse of small print

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the full amount left on my account... Over $1500...

Business Response:

I am the Senior Vice President of Business Affairs & General Counsel for the Pittsburgh Pirates (the “Club”) and I am in receipt of your letter dated February 27, 2015, which references a previous letter. I should note that we did not receive this letter until March 4, 2015. The letter includes information related to Mr. *** ******, who claims that he is owed a $1,600 refund. We have reviewed the facts related to Mr. ****** and his purchases.

Mr. ****** was a season ticket holder in 2034 and again is a season ticket holder in 2015. For the 2014 postseason, Mr. ****** purchased a 2014 Post-Season “Strip” at a cost of $1,705. A “Strip” is a sequence of tickets for a particular seat or seats (usually the same seat or seats as the purchaser’s regular season tickets) that assumes that the Pirates will play all possible postseason home games. This is necessary because, at the time of sale, there is no certainty about the number of home games that the Pirates will play in the postseason. Purchasers are told that the Strips must be paid for up front, and then if any or all of the games are not played, they will have the option to receive a refund of those amounts, or they can roll those amounts into the costs of their 2015 season tickets. Mr. ****** received electronic communications from the Pirates to this effect before he purchased his postseason Strip.

Because the Pirates were eliminated after the Wild Card game, $1,581 of the $1,705 amount was eligible to be refunded to Mr. ******. In order to receive that refund, season ticket holders needed to inform the Pirates of such a request by December 1, 2014. If no refund request was received, season ticket holders were told that those monies would be rolled over to the appropriate 2015 season ticket costs. Mr. ****** did not request a refund from the Pirates in 2014. The Pirates attempted to contact Mr. ****** on November 5, 2014, November 19, 2014 and December 2, 2014, but despite leaving messages on each of those occasions did not receive any instruction or refund request from Mr. ******. As a result, the $1,581 has been rolled over and applied toward the costs of his 2015 full season tickets, the total cost of which is $3,894. Taking out the $1,581 applied to that account as a result of the postseason games not played, Mr. ****** has an outstanding balance on his account of $2,313.

Separately, we should note that in addition to his postseason “Strip”, Mr. ****** purchased $424 worth of 2014 postseason tickets for individual games. $156 of that amount was for tickets the Wild Card game, which was played. The remaining $268 dollars was for future games that were not played. Unlike with postseason strips, sales for individual postseason games are automatically refunded to the purchaser, and Mr. ****** did receive a refund of $268 on October 16, 2014.

We trust that this clears up any misunderstanding between Mr. ****** and the Club, and we look forward to an exciting 2015 season.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased memberships for both my children in the Bucaroos Kids Club for $25 each, total of over $50 with taxes and everything. I contacted them multiple times because we did not receive any of our ticket vouchers or anything else promised to us with our "Gold Membership". They apparently completely ignored my attempts to contact them and we are going on months now with no word or anything in the mail.

Desired Settlement: We would AT LEAST like a refund since we did not receive anything that we were supposed to.

Business Response:

I am the Vice President & General Counsel of the Pittsburgh Pirates (the “Pirates”) and I am in receipt of your letter of September 8, 2014, referencing Complaint ID ******** from ******* *********. We looked into the circumstances related to Mr. *********’s inquiry in response to his Complaint. Our records indicate that on July 17, 2014, two weeks after Mr. ********* purchased the Gold Membership in the Buccaroo Kids Club, the Pirates sent to Mr. ********* the items necessary to fulfill that Gold Membership. We further have no record of his contacting the Pirates to let us know that he did not receive these items.

Nonetheless, we now understand that, for whatever reason, he did not receive these items. We have reached out to Mr. ********* directly to offer him a variety of options, including the choice to have his money refunded. We trust that these options will resolve the issue, and we look forward to working with Mr. ********* directly.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 5 tickets April 28,2014 for $113. I noticed on April 29th that I was double charged. I contacted the person who was in charge of the promotion ****** *******. She did not respond right away and the extra charge of $113 posted to my account May 2. My husband and I have called and emailed her various times about this issue and were told by her that we were getting the money back or that she was looking into it.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $113 refunded and I believe they owe us something(free item or discount) for our trouble. At this time this really created a financial hardship.

Business Response:

My name is ***** ***** and I am the Vice President & General Counsel of the Pittsburgh Pirates. I write in response to your letter of May 19, 2014 regarding complaint ID ********. We have reviewed the information submitted by Ms. ********* and have determined that as of May 21, 2014, the additional charges on Ms. *********’s credit card have been refunded. The Pirates regret the length of time necessary to effectuate this resolution but maintain that it was always the intention of the Pirates to reverse the additional charges. We believe this resolves the matter, but as a gesture of good faith, the Pirates will reach out to Ms. ********* and invite her back to a game at PNC Park at no cost to her.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying for weeks to work with my contact, (name available but removed from the public posting) to get an overcharge issue resolved, but all communication has stopped. I have sent emails and left a voicemail with no response. The email address on the BBB listing does not work.I threw out the first pitch on April 24th of this year as part of a charity auction benefiting the ***** ** *****. My original agreement, and another email confirmed closer to the date, stated that extra tickets would be $16 each. I ordered 14 extra tickets for my friends, and was instead charged $30 apiece. The original email is pasted below: "Your prize will include four (4) complimentary tickets, which I will have with me when you arrive. If you need to purchase additional tickets, you may do so through me and the tickets will all be seated together (these tickets cost $16.00 a piece)"

Desired Settlement: My original agreement, and another email confirmed closer to the date, stated that extra tickets would be $16 each. I ordered 14 extra tickets for my friends, and was instead charged $30 apiece. "Your prize will include four (4) complimentary tickets, which I will have with me when you arrive. If you need to purchase additional tickets, you may do so through me and the tickets will all be seated together (these tickets cost $16.00 a piece)"I should receive a credit of $196 to my credit card.

Business Response:

My name is***** ***** and I am the Vice President & General Counsel of the Pittsburgh Pirates. I write in response to your letter of May 13, 2014 regarding complaint ID ********. Upon receiving the Complaint, we immediately looked into the matter and took action by processing a refund of $196.00 to Ms. ****’s credit card. This was an unintentional oversight, and the Pirates appreciate Ms. ****’s understanding in this matter.

9/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I continually receive unwelcome solicitations from***************************** of the Pittsburgh Pirates. I have previously replied to this address informing that per the ******** **** **********************************************************************************, it is required to, Tell recipients how to opt out of receiving future email from you.Per following the instructions on ************************************************ to report SPAM, I have filed a complaint with the FTC. However, with this complaint there are not any measures to ensure any follow up. And as I continue to receive unwelcome solicitations I gather no specific action has been taken.

Desired Settlement: First I request, per the ******** ***, the Pittsburgh Pirates modify all solicitation e-mails to include instructions how to opt out of further e-mails. Preferably, they would not even send out any solicitations without first explicit consent to do so such as an option. And as they have proven irresponsible with my personal information, I request next they permanently purge any and all contact information they have about me.

Business Response:

I am the Club’s Vice President & General Counsel and I write regarding Complaint ID *******. 

We have reviewed the information submitted by Mr. *******. Mr. ********* had attempted to reach out to Mr. ******* to follow up on tickets that Mr. ******* had previously purchased to a Pirates game. The Pirates strive to provide first-class customer service, but unfortunately mistakes are made occasionally. In this instance, it seems that Mr. *******’s request to be removed from the contact list fell through the cracks. We have made the necessary adjustments and will not be contacting Mr. ******* again in the future. 

Regards, 

***** ***** 

Vice President & General Counsel 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

Their response does not confirm they have fulfilled any of my requested desired outcome items – that my contact information has been purged from their records, & their future solicitations will conform to the *** **** ***. 

Their response also contains irrelevant & misleading information, that, yes, I did previously purchase tickets to a specific game.  However, I did not receive what they call ‘follow up’ on that transaction, instead I received unwelcomed solicitations to make additional purchases. 

Also, if the Pirates want to proclaim they ‘strive to provide first-class service’, they should confirm that they will not make future solicitations unless a customer explicitly chooses to receive them – not simply because they force customers to provide an e-mail address to make a ticket purchase in the first place, & then use that information for future solicitations. 

 

Cheers,

**** *******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pittsburgh Pirates
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)