Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pittsburgh Penguins

Additional Locations

Phone: (412) 642-1800 Fax: (412) 642-1859 1001 5th Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15219 http://www.pittsburghpenguins.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers national league hockey play.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pittsburgh Penguins meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pittsburgh Penguins include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pittsburgh Penguins
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1966
Business Management
Mr. Dave Soltesz, Vice President Advertising Mr. Howard Baldwin, President Ms. Elaine Heuselder, Secretary Mr. Phil Langen, Vice President/Public Relation Mr. Garvin Warden, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Kuzinski, Director of Finance
Principal: Mr. Dave Soltesz, Vice President Advertising
Business Category

ATHLETIC ORGANIZATIONS

Alternate Business Names
Pittsburgh Hockey Associates

Additional Locations

  • 1 Chatham Ctr Ste 400

    Pittsburgh, PA 15219 (412) 642-1800

  • 1001 5th Ave

    Pittsburgh, PA 15219

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pittsburgh Penguins organization has ignored my complaint about the locations of my seats at Consol Energy since they moved to Mellon Arena in 2011.Our Full Season seats at Mellon Arena were in Section * the last row in Seats numbered 3, 4, 5 and 6. Although the number started with number 3 they were isle seats. They were numbered incorrectly due to the curve of the arena. When they were assigning seats, I called the Penguins organization several times to confirm that these were isle seats to ensure that the new seats would be isle seats. I called every two weeks as this was explained to me to be the schedule they were using to assign seats. No one called me back, I had to call them. Each off season, I went through the process for requesting seat re-assignment in my Section for which I pay a premium. They claimed that they would put a note about my request in case future tickets became available. I have no evidence of this and no one ever contacted me with an offer. I consistently called over the years with no assistance. In year three, they offered me seats in a different Section that was not the Premium seating. This was not the product I had paid and I did not consider it an even exchange.Earlier this year, I learned that the seats next to ours, on the isle became available and another season ticket holder switch to those tickets. Apparently the note meant nothing. After years of frustration, I am forced to submit my complaint in a more formal manner.

Desired Settlement: Isle seats in my Premium Section

Business Response:

In response to this complaint, we understand that we were unable to keep all season ticket holders that previously occupied an aisle seat in Mellon Arena on an aisle seat location in CONSOL Energy Center. Due to larger sections in CONSOL Energy Center, we have fewer aisle seats and unfortunately could not accommodate everyone. In the locations that did not have enough aisles, we assigned aisle seats based off of seniority. Although they were displaced from an aisle, we kept them near an aisle by placing them only two seats over in the double attack end zone. Since then, we have offered them aisle seats in other areas to attempt to accommodate their request, but they have declined.

Last summer we partnered with a company called ******* who enabled us to move our season ticket holder relocation process online.  This allowed Season Ticket Holders to see ALL of our available inventory in real time.  Previously, if you submitted a request to relocate, we would only contact you if we found something similar to what you had requested.  Therefore, this process is much more transparent for our Season Ticket Holders and allows them the flexibility to choose their own seats. We were excited to offer this new benefit to them.  Prior to us starting this process, we sent a detailed letter to all Season Ticket Holders explaining how the process would work.  In the letter we explained that even if you had previously submitted a request to move your seats, we encouraged you to login and view available inventory, as new locations would continuously open based on other season ticket holder relocations.  I have attached the letter we sent to all Season Ticket Holders.  We tried to stress, as one ticket holder moves their seats to a new location, their old seats immediately become available for everyone else to see.  Because of this, we allowed season ticket holders to log in as many times as they’d like until the deadline. We received several positive comments on this new process and will continue offering this tool during each off-season. We understand it is still a new product, so we are always happy to assist season ticket holders to ensure they can find the best available seats.

****** ******
Director of Ticket Sales
Pittsburgh Penguins

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This Penguins Organizatin response continues to ingore the complaint.

They claim in their response that "assigned aisle seats are based off of seniority".  I have been attending Penguins games for over a decade, purchased 4 FULL season ticket packages at premium seat prices, and should have been given seniority consideration. They made a mistake.  Over the past three years, I repeatedly tried to ask for assistance on correcting this mistake, but the customer service staff refuses to provide alternatives in the premium seat level.

I understand that correcting a mistake is difficult.   Customers don't expect you to be perfect, we expect you to fix things when they go wrong.

In Lemieux's January 2013 statement to Penguin Fans, he states "We want to thank you for your patience and you loyalty to the Penguins.  We hope to repay it many times over."  I am highly disappointed that these are just words.

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pittsburgh Penguins
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)