Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pennsylvania Infrared Asphalt Repair Inc

Phone: (412) 277-4258 Fax: (412) 220-2402 116 Fryes Ln, Mc Donald, PA 15057 http://www.pittsburghasphaltrepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pennsylvania Infrared Asphalt Repair, Inc. provides customers with infrared asphalt repairs as well as conventional repairs. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pennsylvania Infrared Asphalt Repair Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pennsylvania Infrared Asphalt Repair Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pennsylvania Infrared Asphalt Repair Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 12, 2012 Business started: 02/15/2012 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA090570.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Melanie Ann Alfieri, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melanie Ann Alfieri, President
Business Category

ASPHALT MANHOLE COVERS


Additional Locations

  • 116 Fryes Ln

    Mc Donald, PA 15057 (412) 277-4258

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with this company to have a curb put in at the end of my driveway, so the water would flow to a drain at the end of my drive way. One of the items the contract stated was they would install the curb over the stone at the end of the driveway. When they came out to do the work, the owner said that "Install curb over stone" did not mean install over the stone, but in front of the stone. When I kept stating the contract called for it to be put over the stone, the owner stated that I was "just trying to get something for nothing" from him and he was ready to pack up his equipment and go home. Since he had already made cuts in the drive way, I could not very well have him leave and had to have him finish the job. In addition to the curb, they also patched a couple areas to help the flow of water to the drain.I had agreed that I did not expect a warrenty on the curb or that a quarantee that the water would be directed to the drain. But I was not told that he was also not going to quarantee his workman ship as well. During the winter about 80-90 % of these seams have spread opened, and I called the company to let them know. The owner said it was my land that was falling over the hill side and not his work that caused the driveway / patches area to split.

Desired Settlement: Pennsylvanis Infrared Asphalt Repair has already stated to me that they would just pack up and go home in the middle of a job, and has told me that I am not honest (trying to get something for nothing), so I do not want this company back on my property. I want to get a estimate from an other company to repair the seam areas correctly and to have Pennsylvanis Infrared Asphalt Repair, Inc pay for this to be done.

Business Response: During the estimation process and during the initial site visit, the customer explained that the water is eroding his hillside and he needs the water to be redirected to the drain, thereby helping to control the eroding hillside.  


When we arrived to start the work, it was apparent that the hillside and bottom part of the driveway needed the base material repaired, before we start the asphalt work.  This is when we stated to the customer that it needed to be reevaluated and we left the property.  The property was not touched by anyone on the crew and no repairs were started.  

When we feel there is a base problem that we cannot fix ourselves, we always call an excavation company to reevaluate.  

The customer met with the excavation company.  They explained that the excavation would cost over $2500 to repair and stabilize the base before any asphalt work was to be done.  The customer explained to us and the excavation company that he was not financially ready to complete the repairs needed.  It was at this time that we continued with our schedule and let the excavation company know that the customer was not interested.  Within the week, we were contacted by the customer to complete the repairs.  We stated that we would not complete the repairs because they will fail.  The customer stated that he understood the issues at hand but needed to do this.  The customer asked "if I put in writing that I understand the warranty issues, will you try to repair the driveway?"  We agreed and he signed the estimate, "No Warranty Expected," along with the written warranty information, and also line item warranty information.  

Our warranty states that we will not cover the base issues. We made the best effort to let the customer know that they have a base problem and any services performed will not be guaranteed.

Consumer Response:

 

 

The eroding hillside was not and is not affecting the driveway at the time of the work or at this time. The driveway work was to keep the hillside from getting worse by directing the water to the drain.

 After I accepted the quote, the company came out and stated repairs on the original quote would not do what was required to get the water to the drain, and that additional work for more money would be required. As he stated, they left and sent people out to quote the additional work. I rejected the additional work.

 I then requested they do the work they had stated on there original quote and I would state that there was not warranty guarantee. My understanding was that the guarantee refereed to the water going to the drain, not the quality of work being performed.

 The company's quote contained items to install the curb (Install curb over stone) and a patch at the bottom of the drive to redirect the water to the drain with no warranty that the water would go to the drain. Also to replace and repair damaged asphalt at the bottom of the driveway. (new asphalt will be seamless and thermally bonded). Since the curb is not over the stone and the seams are separated, they must not have been thermally sealed.

 This response from the company also does not address the issues of what happened once they came back to start the work from the original quote. It was during this visit that they did in fact state that I was being dishonest by trying to get something for nothing because I wanted the curb installed over the gravel as stated in the quote. It was also at this time after the work had been started that he threatened to just pack up his equipment and go home. Since the work had been started it gave me no choice but to have him continue with the work.

 

Business Response: The repair had two reasons for being done, to help direct the water to the drain and to remove the damaged asphalt.  The asphalt damage consisted of a depression that fell below the lip to the drain, making the water puddle and not enter the drain.  The area was, is , and will continue to sink and move until the area is repaired from the base up.  The ground under the repair will move and crack all seams unless it is stabilized.  This is why the customer was referred to the excavation company.  He was told that the base needed repaired by both the excavation company and our company.


The signed estimate includes warranty information and the last line reads:

This warranty shall not include depressions, or areas of settlement, or areas of cracking caused by lack of proper compaction of the base or sub-base material.
 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pennsylvania Infrared Asphalt Repair Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)