BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Mr. Appliance?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mr. Appliance

Phone: (412) 931-0903 Fax: (412) 931-0785 652 Center Ave, West View, PA 15229

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This sole proprietorship offers sales & service of reasonably priced refurbished appliances with warranties. A Family owned service company supplying a two hour window with phone call on repair jobs. Delivery Available.in-home repairs of major appliances and used appliance sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Appliance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Appliance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 04, 1993 Business started: 03/06/1993
Business Management
Mr. Edwin J Moore, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edwin J Moore, Owner
Business Category

APPLIANCES-MAJOR- SERVICE & REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
Moore & Moore Appliance Service

Additional Locations

  • 652 Center Ave

    West View, PA 15229 (412) 931-0903

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a technician out to service our washer which was not running through cycles properly and remained full of water after completing a cycle (we'd have to run it from between 5-6 spin cycles to get water out)and clothes became damaged throughout the process. They said it was a problem with the pump and belt and replaced both parts - the first load of wash and nothing was fixed, still full of water and same situation. A sr. technician was sent out and saw the washer full of water. He did not know what the problem was and tightened one coil assuming that may be the answer - it was not and the washer was still full of water. We called management to ask for a refund since nothing was working and we did not want more technicians coming out not knowing what the issue was. After no word from the manager after calling three times, he finally called to say our washer was fixed, we change our story and are liars - hung up the phone and refused to give a refund or continue a discussion (it was appalling). We offered to pay for the parts but are certainly not paying for a washer in which the technicians did not identify or fix the problem after three visits.

Desired Settlement: We want a refund of the labor - we said we would pay for the parts although the machine does not work, but we would like a refund of what we paid to Mr. Appliance

Business Response:

Dear BBB.                                                                                                                              6/20/2014

 

            In regards to ****** ***** complaint ID#********.  I will issue a refund of $106.41 if Mr. ***** agrees to it.  Mr. ***** blatantly lied over and over, and I don’t deal with people who disrespect me by lying to me.  We did the repair we were contracted to do.  It is not unusual for other problems not to show up when we make repairs.  It is customary for us to do those repairs at much lower rates or free depending on the problem.   On 5/23/2014 ***** found the Maytag Washer was not draining completely leaving about 2 inches of water.  The tech removed all of the hoses looking for restrictions but found none the Tech didn’t remove the inner tub to look for possible clothing in the outer tub because he would then have to install new tub seals which are very expensive.  ***** ordered a pump and belt since the belt was worn.   He filled and drained the washer 2 times and said it was draining slowly possibly leaving a small amount of water in the tub.  The pump is mounted directly to the motor so even if the washer didn’t spin or the belt was bad it should still drain unless the pump is damaged or there is a restriction.  **** went back on June 4th  to install the pump and belt and everything worked for him when he tested it.  The customer called back and said the washer wasn’t Draining at 8.30 pm after we were closed insisting we get the tech back out that night.  When we called the following morning we were able to set up for June 7th.  ****** found nothing wrong he also found no water in the tub and suggested that maybe it wasn’t spinning all of the water out of the clothing so he adjusted the idler spring that puts tension on the belt to make it reach full speed spin quicker.  On June 10th  we received a call on our answering service that the customer wanted a full refund since it still wasn’t working and he bought a new machine. 

Mr ***** told my office that he replaced the washer on the tech George’s recommendation and requested a full refund.  The tech told Mr. ***** before he adjusted the idler pulley that he found no problem.  He told me he would never tell a customer to replace a working machine.  The customer at that time told him he wanted a full refund even though the washer was working fine.  ****** told him he saw no reason for a refund.  Mr. ***** told me the washer was full of water when ****** went to look at it but ****** told me there was no water in it except what is supposed to be in the outer tub.  ****** did run the washer with a full tub of water and it drained in less than 2 minutes, which is good.  ****** didn’t charge for the trip.  Mr. ***** told me that ****** told him he didn’t know how to fix this machine.  When what ****** actually told him was that he found nothing wrong with the machine.  Mr. ***** told me that he went away the day after ****** was there and when he came home 5 days later the clothing in the washer was soaking wet.   Mr. ***** replaced the washer on June 10 th according to his message with our answering service 3 days after ****** was there.  Mr. ***** said the belt was burned off the machine because he found it when the delivery company hauled it away, but that was impossible because the belt is in the internal cavity and not accessible under the machine, the belt can’t get out of the machine with out removing panels.  There where a lot more lie’s.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me (although not the truth, I just don't have the time to continue arguing this matter with a new baby that arrived last week.  We simply will not be doing business with this organization in the future).

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Mr. Appliance to diagnose a problem with my washing machine. It would not turn on. The technician came to my home and checked the electronics. He said that I had to replace all of the electronics of the washing machine for $450. I told him that I would think about it. I was charged $74.95 for this diagnosis. I looked at the washing machine myself and saw that the power button was not aligned properly. I made the adjustment, and it worked perfectly. I contacted Mr. Appliance to discuss the misdiagnosis. I was told by the office manager that she would speak to the technician and the owner and call me back. I have not been in contact since. I am looking for a refund of the $74.95 because the diagnosis of the problem was incorrect. I can't even imagine paying $450 for parts and labor for something that wasn't broken to begin with! If they intend to keep me as a customer, they would admit the mistake, stand by their work, and refund the fee.

Desired Settlement: If they intend to keep me as a customer, they would admit the mistake, stand by their work, and refund the fee. I would continue using their services in the future if they stand by their service.

Business Response:

I am sorry that Mr ****** is unhappy with our service. The tech did diagnose the problem properly.-The screen was dead indicating the board problems. Had a power on button been stuck there would have been an indication on the screen of E2, E15 or SR

These are normal error codes your board puts on when a button is stuck. If a button is stuck but there is no display there is a problem with the boards listed. On occasions the

boards can be rebooted by unplugging the machine and leaving unplugged for a period of time but that is no indication that the boards are good. To the contrary that indicates the board are not bleeding off static electricity and they have bad bleed down resistors and me blank board indicates the drop down transformer that takes 120 volts and drops it

down to low voltage for the board is overheating.

I am sorry but we are not going to refund your service fee since our servicer did his

job.

***** ***** Owner Moore & Moore Appliance Service LLC DBA:Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh


 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The problem with the machine was not the electronics.  The power button was misaligned.  It is inappropriate to tell a customer to replace all electronic parts when there is no problem with the electronics at all.  Since I aligned this power button properly, the machine has worked flawlessly for over a week.  This company is fleecing customers by telling them that they need to replace parts that are not needed.  In addition, the costs of the parts and labor far exceed the costs of the parts individually.  In this case, THIS WAS NOT AN ELECTRONICS PROBLEM.  It was a plastic button physically not making contact with the board.  No parts were needed to repair this problem.  They are using customers on the assumption that the customers have no knowledge of the products need serviced.    This business charges customers $74.95 to tell customers that they need to spend an additional $375 for parts and labor that they don't actually need.  Perhaps the technician was not thorough in his examination of the machine.  Honest mistakes happen.  Admit that this was a mistake and issue a refund.  It's the right thing to do.

Regards,

**** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service