Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers appliance repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Appliance Service Center Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Appliance Service Center Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Appliance Service Center Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1990 Business started: 11/01/1978 in PA Business incorporated 12/01/1978 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Deborah Hauck, Treasurer Mr. Dennis Hauck, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Deborah Hauck, Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Dennis Hauck, President
Business Category

APPLIANCES-MAJOR- SERVICE & REPAIR APPLIANCES-SMALL-SERVICE & REPAIR COMPACTORS-WASTE-SERVICE & REPAIR DISHWASHING MACHINES-SERVICE/REPAIR MICROWAVE OVENS-SERVICE & REPAIR WASHING MACHINES/DRYERS-SERVICE/REPAIR APPLIANCES-MAJOR-DEALERS COMPACTORS-WASTE-HSHLD-DEALERS DISHWASHING MACHINES-DEALERS GARBAGE DISPOSALS-HOUSEHOLD MICROWAVE OVENS-DEALERS RANGES & OVENS-DEALERS RANGES & OVENS-SERVICE & REPAIR REFRIGERATORS & FREEZERS-DEALERS REFRIGERATORS & FREEZERS-SERVICE/REPAIR WASHING MACHINES/DRYERS-DEALERS

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Checks, MasterCard, Visa, Discover

Additional Locations

  • 238 Brownsville Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15210 (412) 381-4104 (412) 381-0400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i was told by this company that i needed a compressor for my refrigerator and that i would have to send them a check in the amount of $323.42 for them to order. there service man came out and it turns out i need not need a compressor i needed some freon gas. when the service man left he told me i would be receiving a refund for around $200.00. i received a refund for $39.87 i have been calling ****** ***** at ************ who will not return my call.

Desired Settlement: i payed them $323.42 for compressor $250.00 labor $55.00 for freon recovery which non of this happened. there tech was at my house for 45 minutes so i owe $94.95 trip plus $55.00 for freon plus tax $160.45 $323.42 -39.87 =$283.55 - $160.45 they owe me $123.10

Business Response:

March 17, 2015
BBB of Western Pennsylvania
*** ******* ****** ***** *** *********** ** ***** *** ** ********

Dear ******** ****:

We received your letter in regards to *** ******* refund. I am not sure as to why he sent the letter to you, because on February 20th he spoke to the owner/service manager ****** ***** and came to an agreement for an additional $74.90 to be refunded to the original refund of $39.87. At this time ****** did explain that I was the person who did the refunds and wrote the checks and I was in the hospital with complications of the flu and would be out of the office for 2 weeks. I returned back to work March l0th and processed *** *******’s refund check for $74.90.

Today ****** contacted *** ******* concerning complaint letter and *** ******* said everything is settled and lie
accepted the refund amount discussed on February 20th. As of this date neither check we have sent to *** ******* have been cashed.

I am sorry I could nor contact *** ******* but I was very ill and hospitalized with complications from the flu.
****** is my husband/business partner and was spending time between work and caring for me. We are sorry if
*** ******* feels neglected in having his refund sent out sooner but due to the events it was not possible.

If there are any additional questions or concerns in regarding this customers complaint please contact me.
Sincerely,
******* ** ***** *****.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *******

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our ** dishwasher stopped working. We paid the Appliance Service Center to repair our unit. We were told the unit was now working. When we went to use it, the same problem occurred that we were having before the repair. Nothing was fixed. However, we were charged for the work when it wasn't even completed. The center claimed the charges were for labor and that is not refundable. However, we were not charged on a hourly basis. Also, we only owed the balance of the amount when the dishwasher was fixed. We paid the balance when we were told it was fixed. However, the unit is still not repaired and no one will assist us. ** says it is the service center that is at fault and the service center says it is **. I am unable to get resolution from anyone.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded since the repairs did not fix my unit.

Business Response:

l am sorry Ms. ***** is having additional problems with her ** dishwasher. We have sent our reports to the manufacture and have called their technical department with the service report for her unit Our company has had difficulty with ** recording our information and has gotten the "run around "and we have had problems communicating with them.

Finally due to Ms* ******s continuing issue with her ** dishwasher, the manufacture has authorized our company to send a technician out again to the ***** home to diagnose the unit and call ** technical department for assistance and comments on the dishwasher service record. This service trip and any parts will covered by the authorization. Service is scheduled for December 16th at the customer's

request.

Ms. ***** is requesting the $160.50 refunded to her for the labor she paid for the parts that we installed. The parts were supplied to her at no charge through a part warranty from **. At this time no refund is being processed for the service call, diagnostic and labor that were collected by our company. All additional labor and parts will be paid for by **.

 

******* ** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********My issue was that the company was refusing to come back to resolve my issue due to ** not responding. Since the service center has rescinded their request for me to get a 2nd opinion and are willing to see my repair through to completion, I am satisfied with the response.

Regards,

*** ***** *******

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to have the ice dispenser repaired on my refrigerator. When the repairman arrived he did not have the part and told me it needed to be ordered and the office would call me prior to ordered to give me a quote. They never called. When I called them back the person who answered the telephone said the part was not in yet. When I explained that it hadn't even been quoted she put me on hold. I was then quoted $276 to order the part and complete the job. Someone was to call me to schedule. After the repairman arrived and installed the part he told me that the job was $312. I disputed the price and he called his office. His office told him that my husband approved the increase in cost. I immediately called my husband while he was on the telephone with his office. My husband denied he called him about the price. He called him about the color. Appliance Service Center was trying to order a WHITE Handle. We needed a gray handle. They would not adjust the price and I ultimately paid the increase in price. AFTER the repairman left I noticed that they installed a BLACK handle on my STAINLESS refrigerator. So not only did they charge me more...they installed the wrong part. It looks rediculous.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund and/or the installation of the correct colored part.

Business Response:

I am sorry to hear that Ms. ********** was unhappy with the service she received by our company. When she placed her service call on the Kitchen-Aid refrigerator she was advised that the technician would have to inspect the unit and see what exact part would be needed. On 4/8/14 ****** ***** the service manager called and spoke to Mr. ********** about the dispenser chute kit price change and the ice dispenser paddle being discontinued in Apollo gray. The customer was advised that we could get the ice dispenser paddle in black. It was explained that it would work the same but just a different color and therefore making the ice dispenser functional again. Mr. ********** authorized the special order and we proceeded to order the parts needed to repair their refrigerator.

Ms. ********** wants us to put on the original color paddle but it is no longer available. How can we install something that we cannot get? I have enclosed documentation that the Ice dispenser paddle part # ********* is discontinued and not available for purchase. This was explained to her husband.

I have enclosed the memos our system automatically dates and time stamps for our notes. The customer invoices with signatures and part vendor documentation showing part discontinued.

Ms. ********** requested her ice dispenser to be repaired and Mr. ********** authorized the special order of the parts so no refund is being offered and the gray ice dispenser paddle part is not available to be exchanged.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My husband says this was NEVER authorized. When the parts manager called my husband he said "the WHITE paddle is not available." My husbands response was "good...because it's stainless. Manager also didn't say there was a price increase.

Regards,

****** **********

 

 

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company to repair our dryer and when we first contacted them, we were told that it would only be $96.25 (diagnosing the problem)UNTIL the dryer was fixed to our satisfaction. When the service man came out to do the job, he said that we definitely needed one part and MAYBE two parts. These parts were not in stock, so they needed to be ordered and our service technician GUARANTEED us that he would be back out NO LATER than 8/6/13 to finish the repair. The job was going to cost $329.54 and the tech said that he couldn't order the parts unless I paid 1/2 the total bill ($165.00). This is after I was told that we would only be charged $96.25 until the repair was complete. On 8/6/13 (the date the job was GUARANTEED to be completed) I phoned the company to find out why i had not been contacted about finishing the job. The very rude receptionist named Patty told me that the part wasn't even in the store yet and that I would "Just have to wait" When I explained that the tech told me that he GUARANTEED the job to be finished by 8/6/13, she told me that there was nothing that she could do, so i asked to speak to a manager. I was put into a voicemail, so I left a message explaining the problem and requesting a call back on that business day. I was never contacted by a manager and I paid $165.00 for poor customer service and a dryer that is still not fixed. Unacceptable. Do not trust this company.

Desired Settlement: Since I was lied to about the date of service, and what I would have to pay prior to the job being completed, I am requesting that the remainer of the job be completed and I will not be charged the additional $164.54 (remainer of balance). The total cost of parts is $147.48, so I think that the company should compensate me by taking care of the remainer of the labor cost. This is more than fair due to the inconvenience and poor customer experience that I experienced from this company.

Business Response:

In response to ******* ********** complaint on her ********* dryer, the unit’s repairs were completed on August 8th and she was given a $ 10.00 discount for her inconvenience.

Our service call and diagnosis is $96.25 including tax. The technician quotes the total job after the initial diagnosis. Our policy is to collect 'A of the job total is the customer agrees to the repairs. At no time did our technician promise her he would be back because he does not do the scheduling and does not know when the part will arrive at our shop from the distributor’s warehouse. I am sorry Ms. ******** assumed the part would arrive on Saturday but we are not even open over the weekend. In fact the part was delayed for several days as it was directly shipped from the manufacture as it was out of stock at all of our distributor’s locations. Our service manager spoke to the customer and explained her of the delay and if she wanted to cancel the order she would only be responsible for the initial service call and diagnosis fee of $96.25 and she said she wanted to go ahead with the repair. As stated before she received a $ 10 discount for her inconvenience and at this time or files are closed for

this repair.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Appliance Service Center Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)