BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Appliance Service Center Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers appliance repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Appliance Service Center Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Appliance Service Center Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1990 Business started: 11/01/1978 in PA Business incorporated: 12/01/1978 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Deborah Hauck, Treasurer Mr. Dennis Hauck, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Deborah Hauck, Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Dennis Hauck, President
Business Category

APPLIANCES-MAJOR- SERVICE & REPAIR APPLIANCES-SMALL-SERVICE & REPAIR APPLIANCES-MAJOR-DEALERS

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Checks, MasterCard, Visa, Discover

Additional Locations

  • 238 Brownsville Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15210 (412) 381-4104 (412) 381-0400

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (412) 381-4104(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to have the ice dispenser repaired on my refrigerator. When the repairman arrived he did not have the part and told me it needed to be ordered and the office would call me prior to ordered to give me a quote. They never called. When I called them back the person who answered the telephone said the part was not in yet. When I explained that it hadn't even been quoted she put me on hold. I was then quoted $276 to order the part and complete the job. Someone was to call me to schedule. After the repairman arrived and installed the part he told me that the job was $312. I disputed the price and he called his office. His office told him that my husband approved the increase in cost. I immediately called my husband while he was on the telephone with his office. My husband denied he called him about the price. He called him about the color. Appliance Service Center was trying to order a WHITE Handle. We needed a gray handle. They would not adjust the price and I ultimately paid the increase in price. AFTER the repairman left I noticed that they installed a BLACK handle on my STAINLESS refrigerator. So not only did they charge me more...they installed the wrong part. It looks rediculous.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund and/or the installation of the correct colored part.

Business Response:

I am sorry to hear that Ms. ********** was unhappy with the service she received by our company. When she placed her service call on the Kitchen-Aid refrigerator she was advised that the technician would have to inspect the unit and see what exact part would be needed. On 4/8/14 ****** ***** the service manager called and spoke to Mr. ********** about the dispenser chute kit price change and the ice dispenser paddle being discontinued in Apollo gray. The customer was advised that we could get the ice dispenser paddle in black. It was explained that it would work the same but just a different color and therefore making the ice dispenser functional again. Mr. ********** authorized the special order and we proceeded to order the parts needed to repair their refrigerator.

Ms. ********** wants us to put on the original color paddle but it is no longer available. How can we install something that we cannot get? I have enclosed documentation that the Ice dispenser paddle part # ********* is discontinued and not available for purchase. This was explained to her husband.

I have enclosed the memos our system automatically dates and time stamps for our notes. The customer invoices with signatures and part vendor documentation showing part discontinued.

Ms. ********** requested her ice dispenser to be repaired and Mr. ********** authorized the special order of the parts so no refund is being offered and the gray ice dispenser paddle part is not available to be exchanged.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My husband says this was NEVER authorized. When the parts manager called my husband he said "the WHITE paddle is not available." My husbands response was "good...because it's stainless. Manager also didn't say there was a price increase.

Regards,

****** **********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company to repair our dryer and when we first contacted them, we were told that it would only be $96.25 (diagnosing the problem)UNTIL the dryer was fixed to our satisfaction. When the service man came out to do the job, he said that we definitely needed one part and MAYBE two parts. These parts were not in stock, so they needed to be ordered and our service technician GUARANTEED us that he would be back out NO LATER than 8/6/13 to finish the repair. The job was going to cost $329.54 and the tech said that he couldn't order the parts unless I paid 1/2 the total bill ($165.00). This is after I was told that we would only be charged $96.25 until the repair was complete. On 8/6/13 (the date the job was GUARANTEED to be completed) I phoned the company to find out why i had not been contacted about finishing the job. The very rude receptionist named Patty told me that the part wasn't even in the store yet and that I would "Just have to wait" When I explained that the tech told me that he GUARANTEED the job to be finished by 8/6/13, she told me that there was nothing that she could do, so i asked to speak to a manager. I was put into a voicemail, so I left a message explaining the problem and requesting a call back on that business day. I was never contacted by a manager and I paid $165.00 for poor customer service and a dryer that is still not fixed. Unacceptable. Do not trust this company.

Desired Settlement: Since I was lied to about the date of service, and what I would have to pay prior to the job being completed, I am requesting that the remainer of the job be completed and I will not be charged the additional $164.54 (remainer of balance). The total cost of parts is $147.48, so I think that the company should compensate me by taking care of the remainer of the labor cost. This is more than fair due to the inconvenience and poor customer experience that I experienced from this company.

Business Response:

In response to ******* ********** complaint on her ********* dryer, the unit’s repairs were completed on August 8th and she was given a $ 10.00 discount for her inconvenience.

Our service call and diagnosis is $96.25 including tax. The technician quotes the total job after the initial diagnosis. Our policy is to collect 'A of the job total is the customer agrees to the repairs. At no time did our technician promise her he would be back because he does not do the scheduling and does not know when the part will arrive at our shop from the distributor’s warehouse. I am sorry Ms. ******** assumed the part would arrive on Saturday but we are not even open over the weekend. In fact the part was delayed for several days as it was directly shipped from the manufacture as it was out of stock at all of our distributor’s locations. Our service manager spoke to the customer and explained her of the delay and if she wanted to cancel the order she would only be responsible for the initial service call and diagnosis fee of $96.25 and she said she wanted to go ahead with the repair. As stated before she received a $ 10 discount for her inconvenience and at this time or files are closed for

this repair.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1