BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Nittany Pointe?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Apartments 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nittany Pointe meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Nittany Pointe include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Nittany Pointe include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 18, 2001 Business started: 01/01/2000 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Deborah Love, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Deborah Love, Manager
Business Category

APARTMENTS STUDENT HOUSING APARTMENT FINDING & RENTAL SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • 200 Campus View Dr

    Altoona, PA 16601 (800) 295-7179

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (814) 940-6101(Phone)
  • (814) 940-6103 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During my son's spring break his apartment flooded. Nittany Pointe put the kids up in a hotel very far from campus with no means of transportation. They had to walk very far in unsafe conditions to get the bus. They only gave them a $50.00 gift card for a week of being there without food. They allowed them back in the apartment on a Friday afternoon but had in the process of cleaning run fans consistantly to clean up the flooding. Because of that they were supposed to pay the electric. We were asked to forward the bill to them and they would take care of it for us. I forwarded the bill as soon as it was received in April. It was for 134.44. They still have not paid and will not take any of my calls. I need help to get them to respond they are affecting my credit.

Desired Settlement: They need to pay the bill to *******. In the amount above 134.44.

Business Response:

I am responding to complaint ID number ********.  We did have a water issue in this apartment and we took care of the problem immediately.  There was minimal damage done to this particular apartment, but we did place the students in the first available hotel in the area. 

 

The gift cards were given to the residents as a gift, not as a supplement for food.  We are required to place the students in a hotel until the remediation is complete; and that is what we did.

 

As far as the electric bill; I forwarded it to my billing company to pay it and I thought it was paid.  I received an e-mail the other day and found out that they did not pay it as of yet, but they are going to pay it. 

 

Thank you,

 

 

******* ** ****

Community Manager

Nittany Pointe Apartments

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I am mostly concerned with the electric bill that has not yet been paid.  I would like a date as to when to expect the payment since I had to pay this in the meantime. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: our son **** signed a lease for nittany pointe in altoona pa and i am his mother and a signer on the lease. **** was attending**** ***** ********** ******* at the beginning of august 2013 and was suppose to attend **** ***** ********** altoona with his housing at nittany pointe altoona for the entire school year of 2013 - 2014. however 3 weeks into his first semester his high school sweetheart became pregnant and **** had to take on the responsibility of becoming a father so after the first semester he came back home to allentown pa and is finishing his second semester at **** ***** ********** lehigh valley campus. as soon as he became aware of this new situation he went to the office at nittany pointe and spoke to a lady about moving out and wanting someone to take over his lease and the lady told him his name would be the 3rd male on the list. we waited until the semester was over and in the beginning of the second semester and i called nittany pointe to talk to the office manager about****** situation and she would not take my call. one of the office people gave me the name ******* parker at *********** at corporate office. **** called ******* on 1/27/14 for the next three days and left a message but she never returned his phone calls. on 1/31/14 i called nittany pointe back and got another person at corporate level her name is mary at ###-###-####. i called mary on 2/3/14 and left a message and i have not gotten a call back from anyone.this is a serious matter that **** has obligations for his child to care for and he's paying for a room at 550.00 amonth when he could be paying for his child's insurance instead of qualifying for welfare.all i wanted to ask was could they get him out of his lease because of this serious situation or can something be worked out. **** is still attending **** ***** but because of his obligations to his family he had to move back home and go to a **** ***** satelite campus.hes 19yrs old trying to call someone and they don't call him back.unexceptable

Desired Settlement: not looking for refund.get **** out of lease as of start of 2nd semester.keep deposit if you wish but **** has a family to take care of.he didn't drop out of college or go to another college.he moved back home to take responsibility of his family.still attending *** but at lehigh valley campus.he can't pay 550.00 amonth and support a family and go to school.**** is a good kid.no returned phone calls to **** from ******* or ****.the kid never had a cance to explain his situation. disappointed!

Business Response:  Sorry for the delayed response. I was out of state on business for the past week. I do apologize for

taking so long to get back to you on this issue.

I am aware of the situation with **** ************* and it is an unfortunate problem for ****. I do want to

assure you that although I may understand the strain this has put on ****, he did in fact sign a legal

 binding contact and is bound to this contract payment schedule until May 1, 2014.

**** was put on our sublease list in September, however, no one called to take over his lease and sublet

the apartment from him. We never give a number as to where the students on our sublease list are. This

is not the way we handle this situation.

Again,

 

our policy is as stated, our lease is a legal and binding contract and can not be broken unless

 

someone agrees to take over that lease. Therefore, the only option I have is to require that **** be

responsible for his lease until May 1,2014 and make the necessary payments due.

Thank

 

you,

 

******* ** ****

Community Manager

Nittany Pointe Apartments

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter was a resident at the apartments for the school year 2012/2013. Part of the rent payment is if you pay the semester in full you get a $100 discount. Jan 2013 I paid the bill, the lost the paperwork, filled it out again, stated did not accept ******** ******* (paied with *** 1st semester), then charged cc wrong amount, then charge balance. Received a bill end of July for 978.87. I made multiple phone calls, told to email, emailed 7x with no reply from company, got a call from collection agency. I have no problem paying what I owe, but I want the late charges removed, and the $100 dollar discount deducted, the dispute removed from my credit report. I would like this all in writing. I have proof of the email's ect...

Desired Settlement: I have no problem paying what I owe, but I want the late charges removed, and the $100 dollar discount deducted, the dispute removed from my credit report. I would like this all in writing. I have proof of the email's ect...

Business Response:

Our apartments are leased from August to May. The first lease payment is due on or before August 1st and last payment is due on or before May lat. The initial payment from this tenant was not received until September 17*. In order to be eligible for the $100.00 discount the tenant must make the semester payment on or before August l3t. Therefore this tenant was no longer eligible for the $100.00 discount.

On September 17, 2012 this tenant paid $2,975.00 on her account. This amount was $15.00 short to cover the entire first semester payment because it was paid by credit card which includes a $15.00 transaction fee. This amount would have covered the months of August, September, October, November and December 2012. Payment for January 2013 would have been due January 1st. No payment was received on this account until February 11th, On February 11th payment in the amount af $1,415.00 was received. In the month of March no payment was received. Then in the month of April payment in the amount of $1,465.12 was received on April 5th. No payment was received for May 2013. The late fees start at $35.00 and have a maximum of $185.00. Late fees totaling $425.00 were added to the account due to several occurrences of nonpayment.

Due to nonpayment this account was sent to collections. The amount remaining due on this account is $978.87 minus the $350-00 security deposit, leaving a balance still due of $628.87.

Thank you for your time. Should you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Consumer Response:

In regards to the September payment, when my child moved in, in August, the day she got the key to her apartment, we filled out a form for payment of the entire month. We received a notice 3 weeks later saying it was not paid. When I spoke to the office they had lost our paper work. The said that they would still give me the discount and not charge the late fee.  I filled out the payment slip for the 2nd semester in December. I did not recieve any contact from Nittany point until January. In January they told me that they do not accept ******** ******* as payment for rent. I explained to then that they did last semester because that is how I paid previously. They kept insisting that they did not. I faxed them proof that they accepted ** the previous semester based on this the again told me I would not recieve a late fee and would get the $100 discout. They did not bill my credit card until February. I again called them, it took 4 phone calls left with the answering service before someone called me back. I explained that they were supposed to bill the entire semester minus the discount and with no late fee attached. They apolpgized and did not put another payment through until APril.  I am not paying $425.00 in late fees and I expect the $200 discount for the semesters since the error was on the part of Nittnay Pointe.  If you take the $978.87 less the security deposit of $350 less the late fees of $425.00 less the discount of $200, I owe them $3.85 and that is all I am willing to pay.

Regards,

********* *****

 

 

Business Response:

As stated in my original letter. Initial payment must be made on or before August 1st in order to be eligible for the discount. - This resident did not attempt to make initial payment until August 24*, as per notes in the file. Also, the discount states as follows: save $100.00 when paying by semester. There is only one $100.00 discount that is discounted from the initial payment if that payment is made on or before August 1st. This would not have been a payment for September. The payments are due on the first of each month August through May. If paying by semester the payments are due August 1* and January The only $200.00 discount is if the entire lease balance is paid on or before August l»t.

When the initial payment was made the company did accept ******** *******. The company discontinued the practice of accepting ******** ******* late in 2012. When this practice was discontinued every employee was instructed that we no longer accepted ******** *******.

This resident was never eligible for either the $200.00 discount or the $100.00 discount. The late fees are due and payable due to nonpayment in January, April and May. The amount remaining due on this account is $978.87 minus the $350,00 security deposit, leaving a balance still due of $628.87.

Thank you for your time. Should you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,

**** ****

Assistant Property Manager Nittany Pointe Apartments ###-###-#### ###-###-####-f

Consumer Response:

I did submitt the payment for the apartment before August 1st. When we came to move in later in the month we were told that the paperwork had been lost.   I again filled out the paper work for payment. At that time they also told us they would honor the $100 discount since they are the ones that lost the paperwork. I doubt very much they would have given us the key to the apartment if we had not paid.  I submitted the payment for Jan thru May in December, we were not told until January that they did not accept ******** *******. If fact the representative for Nittnay argued with me and stated they never accepted ******** *******, which they clearly had. They entire semesters rent was supposed to pe paid at that time. It was again an error in the management by Nittany point that it was not done. I was again told that we would get the $100 discount since it was again an error on their part.  When I received the bill from Nittnay in August I was unclear as to how that balance of $628.87 was calculated. I made multiple phone calls to Nittnay Point, the messages  were taken by the answering service and required repeated phone calls before I recieved a return call. The return call was from a student who could not help me. The student provided me with**** ***** email address and refused to supply a phone number. I emailed Ms. **** my questions. She emailed me a list of charges and credits from January. There was nothing in regards to billing from August to January. When I reviewed the charges I had multiple questions. These questions I emailed to Ms. **** approximately 6 x over the course of the next couple of weeks. She did not respond to any of my further email. She has acted in a completely unprofessional manner that has reflected our experience with the poorly manage Nittany Pointe.  I am not responsible for the late charges and expect Nittany to honor the fact that the employees that represent them told us that we would get the discount..

 

Regards,

********* *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

7/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nittany Pointe took away a $200.00 discount because a checked bounced wtihout notifiying me or being able to provide me with any "fine print" that stated that the discount would be voided if this type of situation were to arise. Secondly, Nittany Pointe wants to collect a "late fee" for not paying charges on my account in a timely manner. I have reached out to Nittany Point at least 12 times via email, phone and their answering service and did not receive any type of response until 07/18/2013. I had questions about my account and did not want to make any payments before I knew exactly what I was paying for. I also did not receive a detailed statement that exactly outlined the charges until 07/18/2013.

Desired Settlement: 1. I would like to receive the $200 rental discount reapplied to my account. When I received notice that my check was declined, I was not told that I would loose the $200 discount. I would have just paid my rent every month instead of at one time if I knew I would not be getting any discount.2. I would like the $185 late fee removed from my account due to the fact that Nittany Pointe management blatantly ignored my attempts at communicating with them.

Consumer Response:

I do not think it is fair that I did not receive the $200 rental discount due to a bounced check for a number of reasons.  I fully understand why the bounced check could in fact disqualify me for the discount.  I am perfectly fine with paying the $50 NSF fee.  The problem I have is that I was not told that I would not be eligible for the discount because of the bounced check.  If I knew I would not be qualified for a discount, I would have just made the monthly payments instead of payig one huge lumpsum.  

I believe that I should not be charged a late fee because I plainly did not receive a reponse regarding my questions about my statement.  After I received a detailed explanation of the charges I sent the payment out.  The payment should arrive any day now.  Who is going to pay for things they have many questions about?  

Regards,

***** ***

 

 

Business Response:

I am writing in response to a complaint received in regards to bounced check. It is our practice to notify residents when a check has been returned due to non-sufficient funds. This person was notified that his check was returned. Once the person is notified, they need to replace that check with another check or credit card for the full amount. We have no say in when we receive the information from the bank as to whether or not a check has bounced. In this case, it was received after the first month that the rent was due; therefore, this excludes him from the $200 discount which needed to be paid by August 1,2012.

He will not be received this discount of $200 because of the check issue.

All previous residents are told to e-mail us with questions regarding their last invoice from the security deposit. We have a total of 620 residents that we need to respond to and this is the best way to handle it. This person did send the e-mail and we sent out a detailed invoice to him.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

10/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service